Xikar HC Series Habano Colorado – Cigar Review

This week’s group cigar review is of the Xicar HC Series Habano Colorado.  This fairly highly rated cigar is one we’ve been looking forward to trying out.  The nice looking wrapper has a sweet smell and the draw is perfect after cutting the cigar.  Once lit up, we were met with a sweet and chocolatey tobacco flavor with some spice on the finish.  It was medium bodied with near perfect construction.  The cigar’s flavor remained mostly the same throughout the cigar, which in this case is ok because it was delicious.  This is a fairly strong cigar with some nic-kick, especially for a medium bodied cigar.  Overall, we loved this cigar.  It offered a ton of flavor in a medium bodied package.  It is fairly priced at an MSRP of $8 (they can be had much cheaper than that if you look around).  We highly recommend it!

StraightUpCigars: Rating:
Flavor and Taste: 18/20
Construction: 10/10
Wrapper: 5/5
Price Point: 8/10
Would I buy a Box: 5/5
Total: 46/50
Terry1: Rating:
Flavor and Taste: 18/20
Construction: 10/10
Wrapper: 5/5
Price Point: 8/10
Would I buy a Box: 4/5
Total: 45/50

IamDarren: Rating:
Flavor and Taste: 17/20
Construction: 9/10
Wrapper: 5/5
Price Point: 8/10
Would I buy a Box: 5/5
Total: 44/50


May 14 2013, 7:45 PM
StraightUpCigars: I got the HC Habano Colorado cut, it has a perfect draw. Really nice looking dark wrapper w/ virtually no veins worth mentioning. It has a slightly floral smell to it.
May 14 2013, 7:46 PM
StraightUpCigars: My only complaint is the foot band had too much glue and left some residual after I removed it.
May 14 2013, 7:46 PM
IamDarren: mine slid of nice and easily with no residue, getting ready to cut it.
May 14 2013, 7:46 PM
Terry1: Nice looking cigar. I’ve had the HC Connecticut and the HC Criollo but not the HC Habano. I get a sweet chocolate on the cold draw and a perfect draw. Ready to light.
May 14 2013, 7:47 PM
IamDarren: oh yeah, great draw. Touch of spice with some sweet chocolate. Lets light up, shall we.
May 14 2013, 7:49 PM
IamDarren: oh yeah, great flavor on the first couple puffs. Sweet with some light chocolate or cocoa. Only a hint of spice. Right in the medium bodied range.
May 14 2013, 7:50 PM
StraightUpCigars: Nice start. Sweet tobacco with some chocolate and a mildly spicy finish.
May 14 2013, 7:50 PM
Terry1: Very nice start. Lots of sweetness and light spice on the finish. Plenty of smoke.
May 14 2013, 7:52 PM
IamDarren: the habano wrapper is giving it a zesty quality. The chocolate quickly fades and is replaced with sweet spice. Nice combination.
May 14 2013, 7:54 PM
StraightUpCigars: It’s been a while since we had a good habano. Loving the flavor on this thing.
May 14 2013, 7:55 PM
IamDarren: so how you guys been? I feel like its been a long time since we were able to get together.
May 14 2013, 7:56 PM
Terry1: Initial flavors have faded in the first few minutes. Along with the sweet spice, I’m noticing an earthy and black coffee note now. I’m liking the complexity.
May 14 2013, 7:57 PM
StraightUpCigars: It has been a while. Been well. Only negative to report is all the rain left us with a bit of mold in the basement I need to take care of.
May 14 2013, 7:58 PM
IamDarren: send some rain my way. It was 95 here today with a 35mph wind. Starting to bring back memories of last year.
May 14 2013, 7:58 PM
Terry1: I’m getting ready for the cigar festival in Boulder. Tickets went on sale Friday. Trying to decide if I should do the VIP this year. Still looking for a hotel.
May 14 2013, 7:59 PM
IamDarren: definitely go VIP. I still remember your comments from last year. They got all the good cigars, good food, and shade.
May 14 2013, 8:00 PM
StraightUpCigars: That sounds like fun, can’t believe that is upon us already.
May 14 2013, 8:00 PM
IamDarren: I think Matt should go and represent SUC!
May 14 2013, 8:01 PM
Terry1: They have the cigars you’ll get this year posted on the website. Takes some of the mystery away but it makes it easier to pull the trigger when you know you are getting some good cigars.
May 14 2013, 8:02 PM
StraightUpCigars: I’d love to, but money will actually be tight this year unlike in the past. We got furloughed at work
May 14 2013, 8:03 PM
IamDarren: ahhhh, its just money. You can always borrow more. Cigar events only come around….. once a year…
May 14 2013, 8:04 PM
StraightUpCigars: Terry will do a good job of representing anyways!
May 14 2013, 8:05 PM
Terry1: I should do better than last year now that I know what to expect. Looks like they are having more vendors showing up this year.
May 14 2013, 8:05 PM
Terry1: Hopefully some big names will attend.
May 14 2013, 8:06 PM
Terry1: Ash just fell off at the one inch mark. Spice is getting noticable stronger now. Burn is perfect.
May 14 2013, 8:06 PM
StraightUpCigars: My cigar is actually heating up quite a bit, I think because I’m having a hard time setting it down. It’s developed a buttery texture to the smoke that I like.
May 14 2013, 8:06 PM
IamDarren: Terry, btw… I think you are gonna love the Odyssey. I am having to limit myself because they are sooo good any time of day. Im thinking i might send you guys a coulple.
May 14 2013, 8:07 PM
Terry1: That’s going on my must try list then.
May 14 2013, 8:08 PM
StraightUpCigars: They’re pretty pricey!
May 14 2013, 8:09 PM
IamDarren: I got a decent deal on a box. 75 shipped.
May 14 2013, 8:09 PM
StraightUpCigars: Not bad at all.
May 14 2013, 8:09 PM
IamDarren: for the Toros
May 14 2013, 8:10 PM
Terry1: I really hate to say this but I’m feeling the strength already and I’m not even through the first third. Loving the flavor thou, getting more chocolate now.
May 14 2013, 8:11 PM
IamDarren: same here, its getting richer. Starting to get a new spice chocolate combo. Can’t pin it down but its tasty. Finish is lasting longer too.
May 14 2013, 8:12 PM
StraightUpCigars: Yeah, I can feel the strength creeping up. I agree, the flavor is outstanding though. I am smoking fast, I’m not far from the halfway point already.
May 14 2013, 8:13 PM
Terry1: I know what you mean. There’s a flavor I can’t identify. Maybe a sweet floral note?
May 14 2013, 8:14 PM
StraightUpCigars: I think I taste that, I know I smelled it before lighting.
May 14 2013, 8:16 PM
IamDarren: maybe i am crazy but im getting mocha. Creamy and sweet but with a slight chocolate and coffee finish. A little spice mixed in to add complexity too.
May 14 2013, 8:17 PM
Terry1: Boy the ash is barely hanging on. Less than an inch this time. Darren I’m getting the same flavors. Nice!
May 14 2013, 8:18 PM
StraightUpCigars: I know I have talked about how we like to flip things for extra cash. Well, I’ve really ramped that up big time with my extra day off. I started doing designer ties now. I’ve got 100’s of nice ties for super cheap if you guys are in the market
May 14 2013, 8:20 PM
IamDarren: 100s, nice. I wish i had more opportunities to wear them
May 14 2013, 8:20 PM
Terry1: I wear a lot of ties. I’m interested. Do you have pictues of them?
May 14 2013, 8:21 PM
StraightUpCigars: Yeah, I haven’t worn a tie in 2 years, but I couldn’t pass on the opportunity of this liquidation lot. I have everything from Gap to Gucci, all were for sale at one time in big stores. Nothing over $20.
May 14 2013, 8:21 PM
StraightUpCigars: I’ll email you tonight Terry.
May 14 2013, 8:21 PM
Terry1: Sounds great.
May 14 2013, 8:22 PM
Terry1: Over half way now and I’ll say this HC Habano is much better than the Connecticut or Criollo blend.
May 14 2013, 8:24 PM
IamDarren: i think i just crossed halfway and im still really liking mine. Lots of flavor but not too much strength. Very good.
May 14 2013, 8:24 PM
StraightUpCigars: Yeah, this is a real knockout!
May 14 2013, 8:24 PM
StraightUpCigars: To give you an idea, I am about ready to remove the band already
May 14 2013, 8:25 PM
IamDarren: still an inch to go before i remove mine
May 14 2013, 8:26 PM
Terry1: Same here. Matt’s speed smoking tonight. I started drinking a soda and the strength is tolerable for me now.
May 14 2013, 8:26 PM
StraightUpCigars: This is one of those rare cigars that doesn’t turn bitter when you speed smoke. If anything it has improved the flavor. Really rich flavorful smoke.
May 14 2013, 8:27 PM
Terry1: Accept for the loose ash the construction on mine has been great. I agree this is a flavorful cigar.
May 14 2013, 8:28 PM
IamDarren: im enjoying my Bird Dog and Pepsi. Really bringing out the flavor in this cigar. Im just enjoying the whole experience at this point.
May 14 2013, 8:28 PM
StraightUpCigars: The great thing about this one is it offers all this flavor, yet I still consider it medium bodied. This is really a cigar everyone could enjoy.
May 14 2013, 8:29 PM
IamDarren: Im glad Xicar didn’t just throw together something so their loyal customers would try a new cigar. They really did some good blending with this one.
May 14 2013, 8:32 PM
Terry1: Band came off without a problem.
May 14 2013, 8:34 PM
StraightUpCigars: So I won’t be able to make it next week. We are heading back to Alabama, this time with my family, for vacation.
May 14 2013, 8:34 PM
IamDarren: so Terry and I can review the Emelio?
May 14 2013, 8:34 PM
StraightUpCigars: Lol, yeah
May 14 2013, 8:35 PM
Terry1: That worked out well. Emilio next week then.
May 14 2013, 8:36 PM
IamDarren: If you want to, I hoping to get my sticks sent out this week if I get the time.
May 14 2013, 8:38 PM
StraightUpCigars: That would be fine. The P.O. knows where to put them.
May 14 2013, 8:40 PM
IamDarren: i was hoping we might get more people to join the forum to trade with but it has been pretty stagnant lately.
May 14 2013, 8:41 PM
IamDarren: nearing the last third and mine is heating up a bit. Starting to get a bit of char flavor. Mabye a little less sweetness too.
May 14 2013, 8:42 PM
StraightUpCigars: Yeah, things have been dull. I accept responsibility for that, I haven’t been keeping up with reviews (I’m posting one now). We have about 5 reviews backlogged. Its a vicious cycle, lack of action makes it stale, stale environment makes for a lack of action.
May 14 2013, 8:42 PM
Terry1: Mine too. Nearing the nub and the sweetness has faded. Getting more of the coffee and earth I got earlier.
May 14 2013, 8:43 PM
IamDarren: yeah but we are getting quite the list of cigar reviews. You would think we would get more hits from people searching for cigar reviews.
May 14 2013, 8:43 PM
IamDarren: just noticed that my burn is getting lopsided, i think i will go ahead and do a touch up before i get too close to the nub.
May 14 2013, 8:45 PM
StraightUpCigars: Mine is still pretty straight, really well constructed stick. Not too much tobacco left to get lopsided though
May 14 2013, 8:47 PM
Terry1: So is Bird Dog a whiskey?
May 14 2013, 8:48 PM
IamDarren: yeah, but the regular Bird Dog has a little Blackberry flavor added. Just enough to take the edge off.
May 14 2013, 8:49 PM
Terry1: Never tried it. I’ll have to look for it.
May 14 2013, 8:50 PM
StraightUpCigars: I had one of the smoothest whiskies the other night. Templeton Rye. A couple of ice cubes in there and you can drink it like water.
May 14 2013, 8:50 PM
IamDarren: I have heard Rye whiskey is very smooth. Might have to try that one.
May 14 2013, 8:51 PM
StraightUpCigars: I think it’s expensive, but its the best I’ve ever tried.
May 14 2013, 8:51 PM
IamDarren: You would think if Rye is that good, that Wheat would be good too.
May 14 2013, 8:52 PM
StraightUpCigars: Just avoid sourdough!
May 14 2013, 8:52 PM
IamDarren: lol, ok
May 14 2013, 8:53 PM
Terry1: Hey what do you know, Bird Dog is sold in Utah. I’ll have to go get a bottle this week.
May 14 2013, 8:54 PM
StraightUpCigars: Let me know what you think. I always like to try new whiskey.
May 14 2013, 8:55 PM
IamDarren: I was very tempted to try that moonshine. My local liquor store got some of the flavored moonshine in the mason jars. I used to watch Moonshiners. I bet it would be strong though.
May 14 2013, 8:56 PM
StraightUpCigars: Try it! I loved the bottle I got. It’s really not as strong as you would think. It’s not like everclear or anything.
May 14 2013, 8:56 PM
IamDarren: Really… well ok then. I will pick up a jar next time. What flavor did you try?
May 14 2013, 8:57 PM
StraightUpCigars: I had blackberry. I think it was 90 or 100 proof.
May 14 2013, 8:57 PM
Terry1: I’ve been working my way through a bottle of Ellington Reserve. I find it to be a good sipping whiskey. That one is not available here. I have to get it when I travel.
May 14 2013, 8:58 PM
Terry1: By the way my cigar is done. It started to burn my fingers. Hated to put it down.
May 14 2013, 8:59 PM
IamDarren: same here, im ready to review when you are.
May 14 2013, 8:59 PM
StraightUpCigars: I just set mine down too. Never had the Ellington.
May 14 2013, 9:00 PM
StraightUpCigars: MSRP is something like $8, but they can be had much cheaper than that these days.
May 14 2013, 9:01 PM
Terry1: A little pricey but worth it.
May 14 2013, 9:01 PM
IamDarren: i heard they were a little on the high side but i agree, they are pretty darn good
May 14 2013, 9:02 PM
StraightUpCigars: I think this should be on most people’s must try list. Medium body with more flavor than a lot of full bodies pack. Great construction. Worth the price. Good cigar.
May 14 2013, 9:02 PM
IamDarren: agreed, i would consider buying a box
May 14 2013, 9:02 PM
StraightUpCigars: That’s a pretty good construction score Darren
May 14 2013, 9:02 PM
Terry1: I agree. Good flavorful cigar.
May 14 2013, 9:03 PM
IamDarren: and not just flavorful, but a great combination. The flavors work well together


Related posts:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This blog is kept spam free by WP-SpamFree.