Verdadero Organic – Cigar Review

This week’s group cigar review is of the Verdadero Organic.  According to Verdadero, the Nicaraguan tobacco is completely organic and the soil is virgin.  Prior to lighting, the cigar has a sweet chocolatey smell and flavor.  The wrapper looks great and the draw is good after using a cutter.  Once lit up, we tasted creamy, cedary, and toasty flavors.  A slight bitterness and spice crept into the flavor profile later on.  Overall, the flavor are straightforward and not complex, yet very pleasant.  The construction was pretty good, the draw was a bit tight.  We liked the cigar and think it’s a good value for the price, it being organic helps too.

StraightUpCigars: Rating:
Flavor and Taste: 17/20
Construction: 9/10
Wrapper: 4/5
Price Point: 10/10
Would I buy a Box: 5/5
Total: 45/50

Terry1: Rating:
Flavor and Taste: 16/20
Construction: 8/10
Wrapper: 5/5
Price Point: 10/10
Would I buy a Box: 5/5
Total: 44/50


Sep 10 2013, 7:43 PM
StraightUpCigars: This Verdadero has a sweet tobacco smell to the wrapper and a distinct milk chocolate taste on the cold draw. Good draw after cutting, and a great looking wrapper.
Sep 10 2013, 7:44 PM
Terry1: The wrapper on the Verdadero Organic is very smooth and oily feeling. The aroma from the wrapper reminds me of a Hershey bar, a very distinct chocolate smell. Clipped the cap and the whole shoulder came off. Draw has a little bit of resistance and the same chocolate note as the wrapper.
Sep 10 2013, 7:44 PM
Terry1: Lighting up.
Sep 10 2013, 7:45 PM
StraightUpCigars: Me too.
Sep 10 2013, 7:47 PM
StraightUpCigars: Creeamy, cedary, and chocolatey to start. Definitely liking it.
Sep 10 2013, 7:47 PM
Terry1: Pretty good start! Getting a nice toasty sweetness, creaminess and some cedar.
Sep 10 2013, 7:50 PM
StraightUpCigars: Agreed. Liking it.
Sep 10 2013, 7:52 PM
StraightUpCigars: Mine has a cranberry-like bitterness to it. Not unpleasant, just different.
Sep 10 2013, 7:54 PM
Terry1: The sweetness is fading on mine. Lot’s earth and cedar. Some bitterness on the finish for me too.
Sep 10 2013, 7:55 PM
StraightUpCigars: The draw is a little difficult on mine, there is no shortage of tobacco in here.
Sep 10 2013, 8:01 PM
StraightUpCigars: I’m getting a really nice spicee making its way into the finish.
Sep 10 2013, 8:02 PM
Terry1: My draw is getting tighter. Burn line is about perfect. Went outside the man cave for a minute to kill a spider and the aroma of the room when I came back in is wonderful. Smells like roasted marshmallows.
Sep 10 2013, 8:02 PM
StraightUpCigars: Just dropped the first ash. It’s burning straight and slow.
Sep 10 2013, 8:05 PM
StraightUpCigars: The aroma is really good, you’re right. This is one that won’t scare away the other patrons of the bar you’re in.
Sep 10 2013, 8:11 PM
StraightUpCigars: Cedar and earth are increasing on mine. A little less sweet now.
Sep 10 2013, 8:12 PM
Terry1: This really is burning slowly. Sweetness comes and goes on mine. Agree on the earth and cedar and I’m not detecting any spice or pepper. I’m really surprised how nice the aroma is. It reminds me of a vanilla infused cigar.
Sep 10 2013, 8:15 PM
Terry1: If this cigar stays mild on the strength, this might be a good cigar to give my friend who only smokes those infused cigars. I’ve been tring to get him to smoke noninfused cigars but they’re usually too strong for him.
Sep 10 2013, 8:15 PM
StraightUpCigars: I know, I’m puffing on it like crazy and it is still only halfway.
Sep 10 2013, 8:16 PM
StraightUpCigars: Interesting, a transition stick. Verdadero for Acid users… like methadone for heroine.
Sep 10 2013, 8:18 PM
Terry1: Nice! The price is right on these too, about $3.50. Cheap enough to experiment with. I’ll have to order a fiver.
Sep 10 2013, 8:19 PM
StraightUpCigars: Yeah, these are really affordable, I paid $15 for a fiver on Cbid.
Sep 10 2013, 8:24 PM
Terry1: I’m reading the cigar description on CI’s site. I’m really surprised this is a Nicaraguan cigar. It’s nothing like what I expect a Nicaraguan cigar to taste like. I would have guessed Dominican.

Sep 10 2013, 8:26 PM
StraightUpCigars: Yeah, it definitely doesn’t have the pepper and spice you would expect. That is a surprise.
Sep 10 2013, 8:28 PM
StraightUpCigars: I’ve got some wrapper splits in the final third. It may be b/c I’ve been rolling it a lot to open up the draw though.
Sep 10 2013, 8:28 PM
Terry1: The marketing hype is funny, “planted in virgin soil”. If that’s true this is a one and done cigar. Ground is only virgin once, right?
Sep 10 2013, 8:30 PM
StraightUpCigars: Hmmm, good question. I guess they may have bought up a whole valley that will allow them to plant in virgin soil for a while? Who knows. Maybe it means no Nicaraguan guy has gotten on all fours and defiled the ground.
Sep 10 2013, 8:30 PM
Terry1: Lol. Good one.
Sep 10 2013, 8:31 PM
StraightUpCigars: Hehe, you can pretty much claim anything and have it be a half truth.
Sep 10 2013, 8:33 PM
StraightUpCigars: The flavor profile is pretty much the same as the second third, earthy, cedary, with some bitterness and a hint of sweetness.
Sep 10 2013, 8:34 PM
Terry1: My wrapper is still intact. I’ve been rolling the cigar to open the draw on mine too. Burn has been outstanding. Agree on the flavors. Getting more of the bitterness on the finish.
Sep 10 2013, 8:35 PM
Terry1: Popped the band off. Came off easily.
Sep 10 2013, 8:36 PM
StraightUpCigars: I have mentioned it before on the other organic reviews, I am a sucker for organic. We eat almost entirely organic. It is almost certainly a placebo affect, but it does seem there is something pure and straightforward about this cigar.
Sep 10 2013, 8:39 PM
Terry1: Yeah, it’s a lot better than what I expected. I’d like to know what “organic” farming really is? The wrapper is flawless. I would think that without pesticides you’d have a losing fight with the bugs putting holes in the leaves.
Sep 10 2013, 8:42 PM
StraightUpCigars: Yeah, I think organic varies depending on who you talk to.
Sep 10 2013, 8:43 PM
StraightUpCigars: There are alternatives to pesticides we use on our little garden, but I’m not sure what (or if they do) they use on a large scale.
Sep 10 2013, 8:43 PM
StraightUpCigars: One would have to think there is less regulation over the word organic in Nigaragua than here, but then again many “organic” products have been debunked here too.
Sep 10 2013, 8:44 PM
Terry1: Organic and virgin soil may both be loosely defined in Nicaragua.
Sep 10 2013, 8:46 PM
StraightUpCigars: Now why did you have to spoil my hopes and dreams?!?!
Sep 10 2013, 8:49 PM
Terry1: My wrapper is starting lift at the head as I get through the final third. The cap and shoulder fell off when I cut it. I’m surprised it hasn’t unravelled earlier with all the rolling I’ve been doing to keep the draw open.
Sep 10 2013, 8:50 PM
StraightUpCigars: Yeah, my wrapper… doesn’t exist anymore. I barely have anything left on it though, I’ll actually be letting it die after the next two puffs.
Sep 10 2013, 8:54 PM
StraightUpCigars: Yep, mine’s toast. Pretty good smoke time out of a torpedo.
Sep 10 2013, 8:56 PM
Terry1: Still very mild in strength. I’m putting mine down too. Good simple flavors. Great burn. Great value. My only reservation is the draw. We only smoked two samples, I wonder if you bought a box if some would be too plugged to smoke?
Sep 10 2013, 8:59 PM
Terry1: I’ll have to pick up a fiver and see if my friend likes them. If not, I’ll have a few more to try.
Sep 10 2013, 8:59 PM
StraightUpCigars: Very well said. Flavor was straightforward, but good. Decent construction, I wish the draw was a little more open, but long smoke time is a fair trade off. Great value stick.


Related posts:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This blog is kept spam free by WP-SpamFree.