Value Line Nicaraguan #100 – Blind Cigar Review

This week’s group cigar review is of the Value Line Nicaraguan #100.  We formatted this as a blind review.  It is an unbranded cheapie sold by famous that has mixed reviews, so we’re interested in putting the debate to rest.  The cigar seems well constructed with a good draw and the wrapper has a cedary smell to it.  Once lit up, we got a lot of pepper flavor with some sweetness and a spicy finish.  The cigar produced a ton of smoke.  Midway through we got a floral flavor, and towards the end a coffee flavor dominated. Overall, the construction was great and flavor was even better!  We think these are a steal… whoever makes them.  Give them a try!

StraightUpCigars: Rating:
Flavor and Taste: 17/20
Construction: 10/10
Wrapper: 5/5
Price Point: 10/10
Would I buy a Box: 5/5
Total: 47/50

Terry1: Rating:
Flavor and Taste: 17/20
Construction: 10/10
Wrapper: 5/5
Price Point: 10/10
Would I buy a Box: 5/5
Total: 47/50

IamDarren: Rating:
Flavor and Taste: 16/20
Construction: 10/10
Wrapper: 5/5
Price Point: 10/10
Would I buy a Box: 5/5
Total: 46/50


Mar 18 2014, 7:47 PM
StraightUpCigars: Let’s move forward with this one. All set up. I really like the cedary smell to the wrapper. The wrapper, I guess, is a darker Habano. What do you guys think?
Mar 18 2014, 7:49 PM
StraightUpCigars: When did you buy this Terry?
Mar 18 2014, 7:50 PM
IamDarren: hmm, not getting any spice notes from the cold draw. Im going with a lighter maduro.
Mar 18 2014, 7:51 PM
IamDarren: ok, maybe a hint of spice. But it still tastes more like a maduro cigar to me on the cold draw
Mar 18 2014, 7:51 PM
StraightUpCigars: That could be. Let’s see how it smokes.
Mar 18 2014, 7:51 PM
Terry1: I bought it almost a year ago. It looks like a well constructed cigar. I’m leaning towards the Habano. Draws well. No distinct flavors on the cold draw. Lighting up.
Mar 18 2014, 7:53 PM
IamDarren: wow, lots of spice on the first couple draws. You guys may be right. Lots of spice and sweetness right from the start.
Mar 18 2014, 7:53 PM
StraightUpCigars: Lighting too.
Mar 18 2014, 7:56 PM
Terry1: Yeah, nice start. Lots of flavor and smoke. Easy draw. Nice sweetness. I’m liking it.
Mar 18 2014, 7:57 PM
StraightUpCigars: Yep, this is tasting awfully Habano to me. Some pepper and spice with a hint of sweetness. No shortage of smoke, but it looks like it will be a fast burner.
Mar 18 2014, 7:57 PM
StraightUpCigars: I tried using the Wayback Machine, but couldn’t find this cigar. Guess it will remain a mystery!
Mar 18 2014, 7:58 PM
IamDarren: so Terry what was the premise of the blind taster? If you liked it are you supposed to contact Famous and ask what it was?
Mar 18 2014, 7:59 PM
Terry1: I found some info about this cigar but I don’t know how to post the URL. It’s on Puff.com.
Mar 18 2014, 8:00 PM
Terry1: I’m behind on the tech tuff, I know.
Mar 18 2014, 8:00 PM
IamDarren: http://www.puff.com/forums/vb/general-cigar-discussion/323648-famous-smoke-cigar-advisor-blind-taster.html
Mar 18 2014, 8:00 PM
IamDarren: is that it?
Mar 18 2014, 8:01 PM
Terry1: That’s it! Thank you.
Mar 18 2014, 8:03 PM
IamDarren: totally reminds me of the Puros Huerfanos cigar that I reviewed before. They took a well known manufacturer that had overruns or cigars with too many imperfections and sold them cheap under another name… only this time they just took off the bands.
Mar 18 2014, 8:04 PM
StraightUpCigars: I’m confused by the post, but I guess these are the cigars. http://www.famous-smoke.com/value+line+nicaraguan+no.+100+robusto+cigars/item+31351
[Value Line Nicaraguan #100 Robusto Cigars – Natural Bundle of 20]
Value Line Nicaraguan #100 Robusto Cigars – Natural Bundle of 20
Mar 18 2014, 8:04 PM
StraightUpCigars: Still doesn’t say what brand made them.
Mar 18 2014, 8:04 PM
IamDarren: mine has mellowed just a little and is tasting quite good at the moment. Perfect burn line and draw.
Mar 18 2014, 8:05 PM
StraightUpCigars: Corojo wrapped makes sense. The pepper has faded fast and this cigar is mellowing. Great even burn.
Mar 18 2014, 8:05 PM
Terry1: Not sure if it’s the Value Line Nicaraguan. If it is I like it. Wouldn’t have guessed a corojo wrapper.
Mar 18 2014, 8:06 PM
IamDarren: i would want to call and make sure before ordering more but this would make a great budget smoke.
Mar 18 2014, 8:06 PM
Terry1: Makes you wonder what the cigar really is since it was an overrun and cost $150 a box.
Mar 18 2014, 8:07 PM
StraightUpCigars: I have a suspicion that this is a Rocky Patel.
Mar 18 2014, 8:08 PM
Terry1: He has the volume and the Famous connections.
Mar 18 2014, 8:09 PM
IamDarren: would this be the same cigar just in a different size: http://www.cigaradvisor.com/articles/reviews/cigars/cigar-of-the-week-famous-value-line-nicaraguan-no.-300-toro
[Cigar of the Week: Famous Value Line Nicaraguan #300 Toro | Cigar Advisor]
Cigar of the Week: Famous Value Line Nicaraguan #300 Toro | Cigar Advisor
Mar 18 2014, 8:11 PM
Terry1: For just over a dollar per stick, this cigar is not smoking or tasting like a cheap yard gar. The pepper has faded some on mine. Getting a nice blend of spice, sweet, coffee. Burn is near perfect.
Mar 18 2014, 8:12 PM
StraightUpCigars: I concur Terry, good gar.’
Mar 18 2014, 8:12 PM
IamDarren: same here. Great flavor, sweetness is really at the forefront and is mixing with the spice nicely. Also starting to pick up just a hint of coffee as well.
Mar 18 2014, 8:13 PM
Terry1: I’ve got two more of these. Now do I take a chance and buy a bundle? I could smoke the two side by side and see if they’re the same.
Mar 18 2014, 8:14 PM
IamDarren: looks like Tabacalera Protalasa makes many of the Famous Value Line cigars so thats about as good as we are going to get on the blend. Cigar Advisor says its is mostly Nic Habano fillers with a Corojo wrapper. I guess that would make it a Nic puro.
Mar 18 2014, 8:14 PM
StraightUpCigars: I can’t find anything on Tabacalera Protalasa. I wonder if they just make cigars for big names, like Rocky Patel for instance?
Mar 18 2014, 8:15 PM
IamDarren: where was that Conuco made? I remember it having a similar sweetness to this one.
Mar 18 2014, 8:16 PM
IamDarren: that one is acutally made by Rocky but has a huge blend of tobaccos
Mar 18 2014, 8:17 PM
IamDarren: just crossed the halfway mark and burn is still very good although a bit fast. Starting to get more of a chocolatey sweetness with a bit of coffee in there as well.
Mar 18 2014, 8:18 PM
StraightUpCigars: Man, mine just really ramped up the coffee flavor. I’m a little past halfway, been liking this cigar!
Mar 18 2014, 8:21 PM
Terry1: Agree. I’m liking it as well. The pepper is coming back on mine.
Mar 18 2014, 8:25 PM
Terry1: I’m getting an interesting floral like note. Can’t quite place it but it goes well with the sweet and pepper.
Mar 18 2014, 8:25 PM
StraightUpCigars: The construction is flawless, lots of smoke, perfect burn, easy draw. That’s sometimes hard to come by on these cheaper sticks.
Mar 18 2014, 8:26 PM
IamDarren: im starting to get something new as well. Its slightly bitter on my stick. Hoping that it does not turn bitter because its still quite good.
Mar 18 2014, 8:30 PM
StraightUpCigars: Mine’s close to finished. There is some bitterness there, but nothing too bad. I actually kind of like it on this stick.
Mar 18 2014, 8:31 PM
Terry1: Into the final third. I wonder if this cigar seems to be smoking fast because we’re so use to the larger ring guages.
Mar 18 2014, 8:31 PM
Terry1: I’m not getting any bitterness. Flavors are complex and tasty.
Mar 18 2014, 8:31 PM
StraightUpCigars: That could be a factor. Roughly 50 min smoke time for a robusto isn’t the worst, although a little short.
Mar 18 2014, 8:33 PM
Terry1: I’m thinking I’ll buy the bundle. If it sucks I know two people I can send them too.
Mar 18 2014, 8:34 PM
IamDarren: lol, thanks
Mar 18 2014, 8:34 PM
StraightUpCigars: Lol!
Mar 18 2014, 8:35 PM
IamDarren: in the last third and im getting mostly a slightly bitter coffee note now. Still not too bitter but is borderline.
Mar 18 2014, 8:37 PM
Terry1: Mine still has no bitterness, mostly a creamy sweet coffee. There is a touch of strenth coming through in this last inch.
Mar 18 2014, 8:38 PM
StraightUpCigars: I think you smoked it slower… I should have tried that Mine is kaput, just set it to rest.
Mar 18 2014, 8:38 PM
Terry1: Yipee! I won the the Gen2 five pack. I’ll be getting thoso out to you when I get them.
Mar 18 2014, 8:38 PM
StraightUpCigars: Nicely done! Thanks!
Mar 18 2014, 8:39 PM
IamDarren: yeah i let mine sit for a fill min and the next puff had almost no bitterness.
Mar 18 2014, 8:39 PM
IamDarren: hey thats great, thanks Terry. I had some humidity issues awhile back that I have fixed so i didn’t want to send mine out until it had stabilized.
Mar 18 2014, 8:40 PM
IamDarren: They are bagged and ready to go as soon as I get a chance.
Mar 18 2014, 8:41 PM
Terry1: I’m done. Good cigar. Much better than what I was expecting.
Mar 18 2014, 8:41 PM
IamDarren: you guys are gonna sh1t when you smell those Spectres. Caught me way off guard.
Mar 18 2014, 8:42 PM
IamDarren: about to burn my fingers. Im ready to rate whenever you are.
Mar 18 2014, 8:42 PM
Terry1: What’s the wrapper?
Mar 18 2014, 8:42 PM
IamDarren: i think it has mostly to do with the “unique” filler.
Mar 18 2014, 8:43 PM
StraightUpCigars: I’m intrigued! Rating now.
Mar 18 2014, 8:45 PM
IamDarren: what a great value smoke. I just hope that it is infact the same cigar as the bundle.
Mar 18 2014, 8:46 PM
Terry1: Agree. I’m curious enough now to give the Value Line a try. What a great everyday smoke if it’s the same thing.
Mar 18 2014, 8:48 PM
StraightUpCigars: Yeah, these are a steal. Hopefully they are what we think they are!
Mar 18 2014, 8:48 PM
Terry1: And we didn’t lose the review like last week!
Mar 18 2014, 8:48 PM
StraightUpCigars: Nice detective work figuring it out.


Related posts:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This blog is kept spam free by WP-SpamFree.