Torano Salutem – Cigar Review

This week’s group cigar review is of the Torano Salutem.  It has a nice looking wrapper leaf and a good draw after cutting.  After lighting it up, we are rocked by a ton of pepper and spice flavor.  That dry pepper flavor backs off and reveals a sweet creamy and earthy core with some subtle nuances.  Unfortunately the pepper came back and dominated the final third, just like the first.  Overall, we really liked that complex second third, but the other two thirds were very one-dimensional.  It wasn’t bad, but we’d choose a different cigar if we were reaching for a pepper bomb.

StraightUpCigars: Rating:
Flavor and Taste: 16/20
Construction: 10/10
Wrapper: 5/5
Price Point: 7/10
Would I buy a Box: 2/5
Total: 40/50

Terry1: Rating:
Flavor and Taste: 16/20
Construction: 10/10
Wrapper: 5/5
Price Point: 7/10
Would I buy a Box: 2/5
Total: 40/50

IamDarren: Rating:
Flavor and Taste: 14/20
Construction: 10/10
Wrapper: 5/5
Price Point: 7/10
Would I buy a Box: 2/5
Total: 38/50

 
7:37 PM
StraightUpCigars: The Torano Salutem has a nice chocolatey tobacco smell to the wrapper and the draw is perfect after cutting.
7:39 PM
Terry1: Mine is drawing perfectly too. Getting a barnyard note and some cocoa.
7:42 PM
StraightUpCigars: Atleast the band comes off easily, slid off with the cello.
7:43 PM
IamDarren: decent construction on mine. Perfect draw. Getting spice and earth on the cold draw
7:44 PM
StraightUpCigars: Lighting it up.
7:44 PM
IamDarren: light er up
7:46 PM
IamDarren: Whoa! Started to get some of that sweet cocoa you mentioned then was hit upside the head with spice and pepper.
7:46 PM
StraightUpCigars: Yep, mine is a total spice and pepper bomb right now, not at all what I expected.
7:47 PM
Terry1: That’s just what happened to me. First few puffs had some sweetness then bam, pepper bomb.
7:49 PM
IamDarren: if the pepper would just mellow out a little and bring back some sweetness it wouldn’t be that bad but right now it very dry and peppery.
7:50 PM
StraightUpCigars: Never would I have guessed this is what it would taste like when it smelled so sweet and mild.
7:50 PM
Terry1: I can detect the sweetness hiding behind the pepper. I agree if the pepper mellows some this could be a flavorful cigar.
7:52 PM
IamDarren: draw is still good and lots of peppery smoke… ash is starting to flower however.
7:53 PM
Terry1: The Salutem does have a dry profile.
7:55 PM
IamDarren: here is the CI description: “Smoothness, balance, texture, richness, and more – it’s all there and perfectly in sync. Expect notes of earth, coffee, leather, wood, nuts, caramel, and pepper.”
7:55 PM
IamDarren: ummmm, ok we can check off the pepper, whats next on the list?
7:56 PM
StraightUpCigars: Yeah, I let mine sit a minute while I gathered more layers and the pepper was backing off when I came back.
7:57 PM
IamDarren: i let mine rest while i was looking up the info (probably for almost a min.)When i picked it back up it was on the verge of going out but i did get some more smoothness and sweetness. But after a couple more quick puffs the pepper was right back on top.
[Delete]
7:59 PM
StraightUpCigars: That sweetness is back for me, but it’s taken on a fruity/tangy alsmost bittern form.
8:00 PM
Terry1: I bought this cigar because of that description. The pepper seems to ease back a little at the one inch mark. There’s an underlying sweetness and maybe an oak note.
8:01 PM
Terry1: No complaints on construction, even burn, solid ash and a good draw.
8:02 PM
StraightUpCigars: Same here, good construction so far.
8:03 PM
StraightUpCigars: Wow, where’d the pepper go on mine? So much sweet creamy flavor right now.
8:04 PM
IamDarren: mine is finally changing from a spicy black pepper to more of a slightly bitter peppercorn. There is a little sweetness that is mixing with the bitterness to give that tangy flavor you were talking about Matt. Still pretty dry, not any creaminess yet.
8:06 PM
Terry1: Mine is getting sweeter too. Still a bit dry for me but it is improving. Interesting transition from that pepper. It just mellowed out at the end of the first third.
8:09 PM
Terry1: Now I’m liking the Salutem. I’m getting an interesting tangy flavor like you mentioned. Can’t place it yet.
8:09 PM
StraightUpCigars: Mine is producing a lot of smoke, I like the fairly open draw on it.
8:09 PM
StraightUpCigars: I am too, Terry.
8:11 PM
IamDarren: just crossed the halfway mark, starting to get a hint of earthiness, and maybe some nuts… hard to place but it is giving it just a touch of a buttery or creamy character. Still mostly dominated by peppercorn.
8:13 PM
StraightUpCigars: Not as dry as it started either.
8:16 PM
StraightUpCigars: Band came back off easily
8:16 PM
Terry1: Now I’m getting that earthy note and maybe some leather. Getting more creamy. Burn is still even. If I were to try this again I might be tempted to nip off the first inch of the cigar and go right to the sweet spot.
8:18 PM
StraightUpCigars: Just like the Camacho Diploma we smoked.
8:19 PM
IamDarren: for me the Diploma had more subtle flavors in the first third. This one was completely dominated by pepper.
8:20 PM
StraightUpCigars: True, but the construction made the first a nightmare.
8:20 PM
IamDarren: very true, im assuming this one has a lot less corojo in it
8:22 PM
StraightUpCigars: My battery life on the comp is way better in the cold, the fan doesn’t have to keep it cool
8:22 PM
IamDarren: lol, im glad those days are over for me
8:23 PM
StraightUpCigars: Weather or battery life issues?
8:24 PM
IamDarren: well i have plenty of power plugs in the shed and now have wifi so my problems are solved
8:24 PM
Terry1: My band came off cleanly. I’m starting to feel the nicotine. Burn and flavors are doing great.
8:24 PM
StraightUpCigars: I am too.
8:28 PM
StraightUpCigars: That pepper is creeping back, and unfortunately the tanginess is turning bitter on me.
8:33 PM
IamDarren: i have been trying to space out my draws and it helped for awhile. Now that i have a little over an inch left its getting strong and overly peppery again.
8:36 PM
StraightUpCigars: Not the biggest fan of this final third, but that second was right on the money.
8:36 PM
Terry1: I have about an inch left too. There’s only a hint of the pepper. No bitterness. I’m still liking the flavors but I am getting dizzy now.
8:40 PM
StraightUpCigars: I wish mine was like yours. I think mine has ran its course.
8:41 PM
IamDarren: There was about 1 inch of mine that tasted pretty good but the first and last thirds were overpowered by pepper.
8:43 PM
StraightUpCigars: I had more than that, luckily. I really liked the end of the first through the beginning of the last.
8:46 PM
Terry1: Mine stayed about the same after that first third. Very enjoyable. Smoke is getting hot.
8:48 PM
Terry1: I’m done. Interesting cigar. Not what I expected.
8:48 PM
StraightUpCigars: Not what I expected either, that was a serious curveball.
8:49 PM
IamDarren: i like a cigar with some pepper but mine was dominated by it. Every other aspect was good so i would definitely consider tying it again. I probably just got a stick with one extra leaf in there that made the difference.
8:51 PM
StraightUpCigars: Really tough one to rate, here goes nothing.
8:52 PM
IamDarren: Wow, i figured your scores would be higher
8:53 PM
StraightUpCigars: So tough to rate, had to balance a high scoring middle portion and a low scoring beginning and end. Just not one I would by regularly, but I’m glad to have tried it out.
8:55 PM
IamDarren: Same here. It wasn’t a flop but could use some tweaking. I detected some decent flavors in there but they were just overpowered for much of the smoke.
8:55 PM
Terry1: I agree it was tough to rate. I thought the flavors overall were good exept that first third. Construction was flawless. Wouldn’t be a high on my list to buy again.

Nov 25 2014, 8:00 PM

StraightUpCigars: The SLR Gen2 has a very oily wrapper leaf and a peppery smell/taste prior to lighting. After cutting it the draw is overly airy/loose. Hopefully that tightens up during smoking.

Nov 25 2014, 8:02 PM

IamDarren: Mine has great construction and a nice draw. Not much aroma from the wrapper. Cold draw has a bit of earth a spice.

Nov 25 2014, 8:03 PM

StraightUpCigars: Lighting er up

Nov 25 2014, 8:03 PM

Terry1: The draw on mine is a okay and I’m getting an earthy and generic tobacco note. Ready to light

Nov 25 2014, 8:03 PM

IamDarren: lighting up

Nov 25 2014, 8:07 PM

IamDarren: I think I may need an updated review list. Any of the sticks I sent out I didn’t include, just the ones that I got. Im sure I missed out on a few reviews.

Nov 25 2014, 8:07 PM

Terry1: Starts off with light bodied airy smoke. Getting a mild sweetness and some pepper in the sinus. Finish is short. Hopefully more will develop as the cigar heats up.

Nov 25 2014, 8:08 PM

StraightUpCigars: I’m getting a thick and buttery smoke with leather and cedar. Some pepper and spice.

Nov 25 2014, 8:08 PM

IamDarren: mine starts with a mix of caramel and spice, maybe a hint of cedar. Mild to medium bodied. Starting to get a little pepper on the finish.

Nov 25 2014, 8:09 PM

IamDarren: yep, pepper is building in strength

Nov 25 2014, 8:10 PM

StraightUpCigars: I couldn’t dig up that list of cigars, do you still have it Terry?

Nov 25 2014, 8:12 PM

Terry1: Yeah I can send an updated list of what I have. Give me a few minutes and I’ll send it to both of you.

Nov 25 2014, 8:13 PM

IamDarren: thanks Terry

Nov 25 2014, 8:14 PM

IamDarren: things get so hectic in the fall that I have trouble keeping my day to day life organized

Nov 25 2014, 8:14 PM

StraightUpCigars: Yeah, you missed some reviews, and may have missed the list as well (can’t remember if that happened on the chat or not.

Nov 25 2014, 8:15 PM

IamDarren: don’t know about you guys, but im not getting much smoke production unless I smoke fast or double draw.

Nov 25 2014, 8:15 PM

StraightUpCigars: I’m the opposite, my draw is so open that I have massive clouds of smoke. Wish I would have used a punch.

Nov 25 2014, 8:16 PM

StraightUpCigars: Although my draw is slowly improving.

Nov 25 2014, 8:17 PM

IamDarren: think I had a plug. was rolling it in my fingers and found a hard spot. Got it opened up but cracked the wrapper in the process.

Nov 25 2014, 8:18 PM

StraightUpCigars: Flavors are a bit muted right now, definitely less flavorful than the start.

Nov 25 2014, 8:19 PM

IamDarren: mine is dominated by caramel and spice. Pepper is now gone. just dropped the ash

Nov 25 2014, 8:20 PM

Terry1: List is on it’s way.

Nov 25 2014, 8:21 PM

StraightUpCigars: alphabetical and everything...

Nov 25 2014, 8:21 PM

Terry1: I’m having the same issue with the smoke production. I feel like I need to double or triple draw to get a good mouthful of smoke. Draw itself is good.

Nov 25 2014, 8:22 PM

Terry1: I condensed my speadsheet.

Nov 25 2014, 8:22 PM

StraightUpCigars: Thank you. I’ll make sure I have the same list later.

Nov 25 2014, 8:24 PM

IamDarren: same here, we are getting enough sticks and they sit in the humi long enough that we are in dire need of a better organizing system. I guess that is a good problem to have

Nov 25 2014, 8:25 PM

StraightUpCigars: True. Good news is that we have made a nice dent and don’t have a ton left in the current queue.

Nov 25 2014, 8:25 PM

Terry1: That’s what I was noticing. Getting caught up a little.

Nov 25 2014, 8:26 PM

IamDarren: flavor is decent on my stick when I can get enough smoke to taste it. Burn is getting lopsided. Cigar is swelling near the foot which makes me think this is young or not properly fermented tobacco. Knowing how much I like the SLR maduro I am definitely being disappointed by this one so far.

Nov 25 2014, 8:27 PM

IamDarren: My cigars are going out ASAP. I just got my cigarbid order so I have another one to thow in.

Nov 25 2014, 8:27 PM

Terry1: Pepper has really lightened up on mine. Smoke is creamy with some faint sweetness to it. Not much else in flavor. Burn is near perfect for me.

Nov 25 2014, 8:29 PM

StraightUpCigars: Mine is getting better with each puff. I think the open draw is making for a higher temp burn, I’ve got a charred cedar flavor dominating – no sweetness.

Nov 25 2014, 8:34 PM

Terry1: I’m starting the second third. Pepper is coming back now. There’s a nice balance of pepper and sweet. I’m getting some earth and cedar on the finish. Right now is the best this cigar has tasted for me.

Nov 25 2014, 8:38 PM

StraightUpCigars: Same here, this is the best third, although I’m a bit ahead of you.

Nov 25 2014, 8:39 PM

Terry1: I probably got behind putting that list together.

Nov 25 2014, 8:40 PM

IamDarren: same here, into the second third. Had to make a burn correction and now it smoking better. A bit of creaminess mixed with leather now, not as much sweetness.

Nov 25 2014, 8:42 PM

IamDarren: got another crack in the wrapper but binder is holding fine

Nov 25 2014, 8:44 PM

StraightUpCigars: That’s good. I haven’t had any wrapper issues and the burn is even. Just have that loose draw.

Nov 25 2014, 8:47 PM

Terry1: No construction issues on mine either. Flavors are getting lighter. About all I can taste is a mild sweetness. Unfortunately I’m losing interesting in the Gen2. I’m still having to double puff, maybe that’s affecting the flavors.

Nov 25 2014, 8:51 PM

Terry1: Bands popped off cleanly. I’m starting to feel the nicotine. I’m surprised that a strong cigar has so little flavor.

Nov 25 2014, 8:52 PM

StraightUpCigars: Mine’s getting a bit bitter in this final third, which isn’t a surprise considering how hot it’s burning. The resting smoke alone creates a cloud, even when I let it sit.

Nov 25 2014, 8:52 PM

IamDarren: im going into the last third now, seems to be burning faster now that I am getting more smoke production. Flavors keep mellowing. Hoping it will kick it up a notch in the last third.

Nov 25 2014, 8:52 PM

Terry1: I’m getting a touch of bitterness too.

Nov 25 2014, 8:54 PM

StraightUpCigars: This one is a real shocker the other SLR was decent. Not sure what happened here.

Nov 25 2014, 8:56 PM

IamDarren: smoke production has dropped off again... grrr

Nov 25 2014, 8:56 PM

Terry1: Check this out. https://autos.yahoo.com/blogs/motoramic/see-an-epic-semi-jump-for-a-world-record-—-with-an-f1-car-underneath-133347469.html?.tsrc=attm

Nov 25 2014, 8:57 PM

IamDarren: wow, looks like that truck may need some work after that!

Nov 25 2014, 8:58 PM

StraightUpCigars: That’s insane.

Nov 25 2014, 8:58 PM

Terry1: Yeah I don’t think they’re driving that home.

Nov 25 2014, 8:59 PM

StraightUpCigars: Not sure which vehicle I

Nov 25 2014, 8:59 PM

StraightUpCigars: d rather be in

Nov 25 2014, 9:00 PM

IamDarren: considering it probably about threw the driver out of the cab in the semi.... I think I would take the car

Nov 25 2014, 9:00 PM

Terry1: LOL Good point. Car would be better.

Nov 25 2014, 9:01 PM

IamDarren: i would really like to build one of these... would be SOOOOOO fun: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0uu5CgAC5Dg

Nov 25 2014, 9:04 PM

StraightUpCigars: That’s crazy. I found this drone video of some huge mud rally... that’s a whole weird world I didn’t know existed

Nov 25 2014, 9:04 PM

IamDarren: about an inch left and mine just went out. was getting bitter without much other flavor, deciding if i even want to relight....hmmmm

Nov 25 2014, 9:05 PM

StraightUpCigars: Not trying to influence you, but mine is about done as well.

Nov 25 2014, 9:06 PM

Terry1: Some sweetness has retuned on mine but I’m getting the hiccups from the strength. I could set mine down anytime.

Nov 25 2014, 9:08 PM

Terry1: That little car looks like a lot of fun. I’d do that over the mud.

Nov 25 2014, 9:09 PM

StraightUpCigars: I think I’ll go ahead and get it rated.

Nov 25 2014, 9:10 PM

StraightUpCigars: Rating:
Flavor and Taste: 15/20
Construction: 6/10
Wrapper: 5/5
Price Point: 7/10
Would I buy a Box: 1/5
Total: 33/50

Nov 25 2014, 9:11 PM

IamDarren: Rating:
Flavor and Taste: 12/20
Construction: 5/10
Wrapper: 4/5
Price Point: 6/10
Would I buy a Box: 1/5
Total: 28/50

Nov 25 2014, 9:11 PM

Terry1: Rating:
Flavor and Taste: 14/20
Construction: 9/10
Wrapper: 5/5
Price Point: 7/10
Would I buy a Box: 1/5
Total: 36/50

Nov 25 2014, 9:12 PM

StraightUpCigars: Wide range of scores. A real shocker that this didn’t end up batter than the original. Was really looking forward to this cigar too.

Nov 25 2014, 9:12 PM

Terry1: I didn’t have the construction issues that you two had but with the lack of flavors combined with the strength I’d have to pass on this stick.

Nov 25 2014, 9:13 PM

IamDarren: same here, its hard to believe this is made by the same folks that make a cigar which i keep a box of in the humi...


Related posts:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This blog is kept spam free by WP-SpamFree.