Torano Master Maduro – Cigar Review

This week’s group cigar review is of the Torano Master Maduro.  It launched in 2010 and is a highly rated cigar amongst reviewers.  This cigar has a nice looking wrapper with only small veins.  It has a strong sweet smell to it and the draw is a bit tight after cutting.  The Master starts off with a charred wood and sweet coffee flavor.  The sweetness comes and goes after the first third and the flavor profile turned a little more bitter with pepper and spice.  All three sticks had imperfect construction, ranging from burn issues to a tight draw.  There were times when the flavor profile made this cigar a real standout, and at other times it really fell flat or was all out bitter.  We all agree that this one would benefit from more aging.  The bottom line is a cigar at this price point should not have these construction issues, buy at your own risk.

StraightUpCigars: Rating:
Flavor and Taste: 17/20
Construction: 7/10
Wrapper: 5/5
Price Point: 7/10
Would I buy a Box: 3/5
Total: 39/50

Terry1: Rating:
Flavor and Taste: 14/20
Construction: 6/10
Wrapper: 5/5
Price Point: 7/10
Would I buy a Box: 2/5
Total: 34/50

IamDarren: Rating:
Flavor and Taste: 17/20
Construction: 8/10
Wrapper: 5/5
Price Point: 7/10
Would I buy a Box: 3/5
Total: 40/50


Mar 12 2013, 7:41 PM
StraightUpCigars: The Torano Master has a really nice sweet chocalatey smell to it. The dark wrapper has only tiny veins. The draw is a bit tight, but workable.
Mar 12 2013, 7:43 PM
Terry1: Wrapper does have a strong flavorful smell to it. The draw on mine is okay. Not getting anything on the cold draw.
Mar 12 2013, 7:45 PM
StraightUpCigars: Lighten her up.
Mar 12 2013, 7:47 PM
Terry1: The first few puffs taste a lot different than the smell off the wrapper. Smoke output is kindof light. Getting a charred wood note, some floral notes and black coffee.
Mar 12 2013, 7:48 PM
StraightUpCigars: Completely agree on the charred wood, I am getting some sweetness in there too. I think this one will take a few puffs before the flavors develop.
Mar 12 2013, 7:50 PM
Terry1: My cigar went out. Not sure why, maybe I didn’t toast it long enough. Now on the relight there’s more smoke. I’m getting the sweetness now and some pepper.
Mar 12 2013, 7:52 PM
StraightUpCigars: Really rich flavor profile, and I too am getting some pepper now.
Mar 12 2013, 7:55 PM
Terry1: Yeah I was a little worried about how this cigar started but after it heated up I’m getting a lot of flavors. I’m not noticing the char anymore and the sweetness has become more dominant.
Mar 12 2013, 7:56 PM
StraightUpCigars: Mine still has that char, I hope that sweetness starts to stand out like yours. I’m going to look up MSRP
Mar 12 2013, 7:57 PM
Terry1: The burn on mine is a mess. It’s running all over. I’m going to correct the burn and see if it will stay that way.
Mar 12 2013, 7:58 PM
StraightUpCigars: Mine is running a bit too ;( It looks like these are selling for about $6.50 a single, pretty middle of the road.
Mar 12 2013, 7:59 PM
IamDarren: have I missed anything
Mar 12 2013, 7:59 PM
IamDarren: how far in are you guys?
Mar 12 2013, 8:00 PM
StraightUpCigars: Not far, you have plenty of time.
Mar 12 2013, 8:00 PM
StraightUpCigars: Torano Master, been smoking for 10 mins
Mar 12 2013, 8:00 PM
IamDarren: ok, had to round up all the calves today, they are going to the sale tomorrow…. long day. Be ready in 5
Mar 12 2013, 8:03 PM
Terry1: The flavor on mine just switched back to the char and pepper. It’s pretty harsh on the throat. I was much happier five minutes ago.
Mar 12 2013, 8:03 PM
StraightUpCigars: Jeez, mine is now going in the opposite direction and the sweetness is really coming through with some cream and cedar flavor. I love this cigar right now!
Mar 12 2013, 8:04 PM
IamDarren: ok, lighting up. Part of the cap came off when i clipped but its holding up fine.
Mar 12 2013, 8:05 PM
Terry1: What happened to mine? No sweetness at all right now. I’m barely able to smoke it. It’s getting bitter.
Mar 12 2013, 8:07 PM
IamDarren: First few puffs are decent. Lots of rich earthy flavor. Got a slight oak char on the finish but there is a little sweetness to counteract it.
Mar 12 2013, 8:07 PM
Terry1: Darren I’m glad you were able to make it. I’m real curious how the cigar smokes for you. It’s almost a Jekyll and Hyde.
Mar 12 2013, 8:07 PM
IamDarren: sounds like you got some flavor transitions that aren’t so great
Mar 12 2013, 8:08 PM
IamDarren: i knew when i got this one that it was a Torano and that name is starting to sound a lot like Rocky if you know what i mean… but this is supposed to be his flagship blend so i had high hopes.
Mar 12 2013, 8:09 PM
Terry1: Okay I see a problem. I ashed and the about a quarter of an inch fell out. I’ve got a tunnell and what looks like a void. I’ll see if I can get it corrected.
Mar 12 2013, 8:09 PM
StraightUpCigars: Mine right now is great, earlier not so much. Burn has straightened itself out though.
Mar 12 2013, 8:11 PM
IamDarren: wow, just got a pepper blast but the sweetness also increased. Kinda hard to tell but it tastes a little like dark chocolate. Still have some charred oak on the finish.
Mar 12 2013, 8:12 PM
StraightUpCigars: I’m worried the tight draw will make for some bitter flavors later, but good so far. I have had issues with construction on Toranos in the past.
Mar 12 2013, 8:13 PM
Terry1: The cigar went out. I clipped the bad part off, purged, relit and now the cigar has that sweetness again. Flavors are much better. I wonder if mine developed that charcoal chunk you get once in awhile.
Mar 12 2013, 8:13 PM
IamDarren: well at least my draw is decent at the moment, but 2/3 having construction issues is not a good ratio.
Mar 12 2013, 8:14 PM
StraightUpCigars: Lots of pepper on the last few puffs. I’m in the second third now.
Mar 12 2013, 8:16 PM
Terry1: The pepper on mine is coming in stronger. Overwhelms the little bit of sweetness I had. Getting a bitter black coffee on the finish.
Mar 12 2013, 8:16 PM
IamDarren: im over a half inch in now and pepper has been cut in half. Getting more of a mild milk chocolate up front now with a bit of coffee and charred oak on the finish. Pretty decent flavor overall.
Mar 12 2013, 8:17 PM
StraightUpCigars: With all that tobacco packed in there it does smoke slow.
Mar 12 2013, 8:19 PM
IamDarren: gotta say its nice to start reviewing on the porch again without having to bundle up or freeze my ass off.
Mar 12 2013, 8:19 PM
Terry1: Amen to that!
Mar 12 2013, 8:19 PM
StraightUpCigars: That would be nice, tonight is supposed to be our last cold one for a while.
Mar 12 2013, 8:20 PM
IamDarren: i think its supposed to be in the 30s by morning but its still around 50 here
Mar 12 2013, 8:20 PM
IamDarren: tomorrow is going to be warmer
Mar 12 2013, 8:22 PM
IamDarren: almost an inch in, burn is perfect and the ash is holding strong and looks great.
Mar 12 2013, 8:23 PM
Terry1: What the hell? Now the sweetness is back and the pepper has faded. It’s like there’s a leaf inside that’s not burning right.
Mar 12 2013, 8:23 PM
IamDarren: lol, it just super complex
Mar 12 2013, 8:23 PM
StraightUpCigars: Mine is wanting to go out on me, it’s really a workout
Mar 12 2013, 8:24 PM
Terry1: And there’s some power in this cigar. I’m really starting to feel it. I’m near the end of the second third.
Mar 12 2013, 8:24 PM
StraightUpCigars: Every few puffs the flavor is superb though. If it stays this way, it will be hard to rate.
Mar 12 2013, 8:27 PM
IamDarren: into the second third now, and its still transitioning. Pepper is still there but is sorta mixing with some spice. With all the other flavor its really hard to nail down but it is pleasant. Still great draw and lots of smoke output.
Mar 12 2013, 8:29 PM
StraightUpCigars: I think I’d call this one medium bodied, but it’s hard to say for sure b/c I am struggling a bit to get a solid pull on it.
Mar 12 2013, 8:30 PM
IamDarren: sorry guys, its pretty sad when the tobacco is really good but the construction sucks on 2/3 sticks. This is my third one and the last one I smoked had construction issues too.
Mar 12 2013, 8:31 PM
StraightUpCigars: No need for apology, it’s really a shame they jammed so much tobacco into each stick.
Mar 12 2013, 8:31 PM
Terry1: Mine is drawing fine and since the relight, the burn has behaved. Right now I’m getting a slight sweetness, a woody note, maybe earth. Flavors are pretty good right now. I just wish the whole cigar tasted like this.
Mar 12 2013, 8:32 PM
IamDarren: i will say that the first one i smoked and this one have both had a near perfect draw and smoked well.
Mar 12 2013, 8:32 PM
IamDarren: well at least the first half of this one anyway
Mar 12 2013, 8:33 PM
StraightUpCigars: I just went all out and cut real deep. The draw is tremendously improved, this should really help.
Mar 12 2013, 8:34 PM
IamDarren: are you still using a punch or have you gone to a guillotine?
Mar 12 2013, 8:34 PM
StraightUpCigars: Guillotine, I have a couple different ones. Trying out a new one tonight – Adorini cutter.
Mar 12 2013, 8:34 PM
StraightUpCigars: I still like to punch when doing non-review sticks.
Mar 12 2013, 8:37 PM
IamDarren: still been thinking about trying a v-cut but i have had such great luck with my Palio that i haven’t been willing to fork out the dough.
Mar 12 2013, 8:37 PM
StraightUpCigars: I have a cheap v-cut, I don’t care for them. I’d rather use a punch for a smaller hole.
Mar 12 2013, 8:39 PM
IamDarren: i have a lot of torps and the Palio is perfect for them but im thinking that the capped cigars might behave better with a punch.
Mar 12 2013, 8:40 PM
IamDarren: nearing the band now and the flavor has fallen off a little. Still getting the oak and spice but its not as sweet.
Mar 12 2013, 8:41 PM
StraightUpCigars: Mine is pretty flat as well. I do notice some strength like Terry mentioned earlier.
Mar 12 2013, 8:42 PM
Terry1: I’m going to have a hard time scoring this one. The last third has been pretty good. Flavor and construction wise. That first half was miserable.
Mar 12 2013, 8:44 PM
IamDarren: just got a pepper blast
Mar 12 2013, 8:45 PM
StraightUpCigars: And I just had my first taste of coffee on that last draw. I have about 3/4 inch to go on this one.
Mar 12 2013, 8:46 PM
Terry1: Not sure if it’s my imagination but I get a minty note every now and then.
Mar 12 2013, 8:47 PM
StraightUpCigars: That’s not just you, I have picked up on it too, very faint.
Mar 12 2013, 8:48 PM
Terry1: Construction issues aside this cigar has been complex in the flavor.
Mar 12 2013, 8:50 PM
IamDarren: into the last third now, burn is getting a little wonky but flavor has improved slightly. Getting a hint of coffee again and a bit of sweetness.
Mar 12 2013, 8:50 PM
StraightUpCigars: Yeah, flavor was real good at times, real awful at others. Construction was real good… awful at other times. I don’
Mar 12 2013, 8:50 PM
StraightUpCigars: t know how to score it.
Mar 12 2013, 8:51 PM
IamDarren: well i got a 10 pack of these so hopefully a bit of aging will help with the flavor
Mar 12 2013, 8:53 PM
Terry1: I’m setting mine down. Getting too short to smoke. I agree I think a little more age would help.
Mar 12 2013, 8:55 PM
IamDarren: i can rate whenever you guys are ready. Flavor has really improved in the last half inch. It seems like it might end similar to how it began.
Mar 12 2013, 8:55 PM
StraightUpCigars: Mine’s only got a couple of puffs left as well. I’m going to rate it.
Mar 12 2013, 8:58 PM
StraightUpCigars: Close to a respectable score of 40, but the construction kills it on value. I can’t justify the middle of the road price with low-grade construction. I think I was generous on the flavor score b/c it has moments of glory.
Mar 12 2013, 8:58 PM
IamDarren: well said
Mar 12 2013, 8:59 PM
Terry1: I gave the flavor a 9 on the second half and a 5 for the first. It would have scored higher with me if the the whole cigar performed like the second half.
Mar 12 2013, 8:59 PM
StraightUpCigars: That’s a fair way to score. I think it earned its scores across the board. If only Torano would read this review and fix their rampant construction issues!
Mar 12 2013, 9:00 PM
StraightUpCigars: Them and Alec Bradley… and Rocky Patel


Related posts:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This blog is kept spam free by WP-SpamFree.