Torano Loyal – Cigar Review

This week’s group cigar review is of the Carlos Torano Loyal.  We’ve had mixed experiences with Toranos in the past, we’re always willing to give it another go though. This cigar has a nice looking wrapper with a barnyard smell to it.  The draw is a bit too tight after cutting.  Once lit up, the flavor is very earthy with some creaminess and sweet spice.  About this time construction issues began to plague our experience: cracked wrappers, burn issues, and tight draws.  These issues cause the flavor to waver from decent to intolerable bitterness throughout the cigar.  In addition, it tends to overheat so it must be smoked slow.  Overall, when it is good it is good, but it’s really bad when it is misbehaving.  We cannot recommend giving this one a try, there are better sticks out there.

StraightUpCigars: Rating:
Flavor and Taste: 16/20
Construction: 7/10
Wrapper: 4/5
Price Point: 7/10
Would I buy a Box: 2/5
Total: 36/50
Terry1: Rating:
Flavor and Taste: 14/20
Construction: 7/10
Wrapper: 4/5
Price Point: 7/10
Would I buy a Box: 2/5
Total: 34/50
IamDarren: Rating:
Flavor and Taste: 12/20
Construction: 7/10
Wrapper: 4/5
Price Point: 7/10
Would I buy a Box: 2/5
Total: 32/50


Jun 18 2013, 7:41 PM
IamDarren: looks like a fairly well constructed stick. A few veins in the wrapper but not too bad. Tight pack, slightly firm draw.
Jun 18 2013, 7:42 PM
StraightUpCigars: Great looking wrapper on the Torano Loyal! Dark brown w/ only small veins. Very pungent barnyard smell to the wrapper. Draw is a bit tight after a deep cut, but the cigar is firmly packed.
Jun 18 2013, 7:43 PM
IamDarren: im really not getting much off the wrapper. An earthy/nutty flavor on the cold draw.
Jun 18 2013, 7:44 PM
IamDarren: well we have some more storms moving in tonight. Im hopeful that they don’t get here till after we are done.
Jun 18 2013, 7:44 PM
StraightUpCigars: Relentless storm season this year!
Jun 18 2013, 7:45 PM
Terry1: I like the graphics on the band. Barnyard from the wrapper. Draw is a little snug. I agree with the light nutty note on the cold draw. Ready to light up.
Jun 18 2013, 7:45 PM
StraightUpCigars: Lighting!
Jun 18 2013, 7:45 PM
IamDarren: bring on the torch
Jun 18 2013, 7:47 PM
StraightUpCigars: Real earthy, nutty, and creamy start. I like it. The draw is good after lighting it up.
Jun 18 2013, 7:48 PM
IamDarren: wow, very earthy start. Almost has that over-ripe taste. But its light enough and has some spice and sweetness to compliment it well.
Jun 18 2013, 7:49 PM
Terry1: Lots of flavor up front. Creamy smoke with hints of nuts and a toffee sweetness. A touch of black coffee bitterness on the finish. Very nice start.
Jun 18 2013, 7:49 PM
IamDarren: smoke output seems a little low on my stick but the draw is still pretty tight.
Jun 18 2013, 7:50 PM
StraightUpCigars: This is a two-puffer for me, plenty of smoke on the second puff.
Jun 18 2013, 7:51 PM
IamDarren: already starting to get some bitterness on the finish. Its not too bad but is washing out some of the other smoother flavors.
Jun 18 2013, 7:55 PM
StraightUpCigars: My ash is ghost white. Mine has a hint of bitterness too, hopefully it burns off.
Jun 18 2013, 7:56 PM
IamDarren: my ash is very white also, and seems to be burning a bit fast.
Jun 18 2013, 7:56 PM
Terry1: My draw started to get really tight. Cut off all I dare to and now it’s smoking better. The flavor has changed quickly on mine. The sweetness is barely there now. Earth and nuts are dominant. Bitterness comes and goes. Hopefully it stays in the background.
Jun 18 2013, 7:57 PM
StraightUpCigars: I just got a really nice burst of sweetness on the last 2 puffs. I think keeping this one cool is key.
Jun 18 2013, 7:58 PM
IamDarren: just noticed that my cigar has become really spongy. Thats kinda weird considering how firm it was to start.
Jun 18 2013, 7:58 PM
Terry1: POP! Wrapper just cracked just above the burn line. It’s about an inch long and is causing the wrapper to peel off.
Jun 18 2013, 7:59 PM
StraightUpCigars: I think this one wants to burn really hot.
Jun 18 2013, 8:00 PM
IamDarren: agreed, mine seems to really be heating up which is probably what caused Terrys crack.
Jun 18 2013, 8:01 PM
Terry1: You may be right. Seems with the tight draws and double puffing may be heating up the cigar too much and causing problems with the flavor and construction. I’ll try to slow down.
Jun 18 2013, 8:02 PM
IamDarren: once mine got spongy i worked it a little in my hand and it really opened up. Now i don’t have to double puff.
Jun 18 2013, 8:02 PM
StraightUpCigars: On a positive note, the ash hold really strong and the flavors are great on mine right now.
Jun 18 2013, 8:03 PM
IamDarren: my flavor has improved since the draw improved. Sweetness has come back and bitterness has faded.
Jun 18 2013, 8:05 PM
IamDarren: im thinking the construction issues we are having just about have to be from the way it was rolled. Its almost like there was not enough air flow to let the tobacco release its tar or ammonia or something.
Jun 18 2013, 8:05 PM
IamDarren: uh-oh, it just got dark and the wind is picking up
Jun 18 2013, 8:06 PM
StraightUpCigars: Yikes! Yeah, more construction issues from a Torano… go figure. I’m going to keep my fingers crossed that mine stays good the rest of the way.
Jun 18 2013, 8:07 PM
Terry1: I’m into the wrapper split now. It hasn’t spread but it looks like I’ll have to correct the burn a little. Smoking slower has helped the flavors. Getting more of the sweetness and toasty notes.
Jun 18 2013, 8:09 PM
StraightUpCigars: If you haven’t lost the first ash yet, go ahead and drop it b/c it will eend up in your lap!
Jun 18 2013, 8:12 PM
IamDarren: ok, im back. got the vehicles moved into the shed. My cigar has crossed the halfway mark and im getting ready to take off the back. Flavor are still decent (not great).
Jun 18 2013, 8:13 PM
IamDarren: band was fairly loose so i just slid it off
Jun 18 2013, 8:16 PM
Terry1: Mine is getting kind of flavorless at the halfway point. Hints of sweetness sometimes but mostly a dry tobacco flavor. It did burn through the crack in the wrapper.
Jun 18 2013, 8:16 PM
StraightUpCigars: Mine is very earthy, toasty, and nutty right now. Not and spice or sweetness. I’m trying hard not to let it overheat!
Jun 18 2013, 8:18 PM
IamDarren: i think they called it Loyal because you have be Loyal to Torano to continue smoking it
Jun 18 2013, 8:18 PM
IamDarren: my wrapper has started to split near the head. Don’t know why… maybe because i have been chomping a little.
Jun 18 2013, 8:18 PM
Terry1: Same here. I’m trying smoke slowly but keep it lit. A couple of times I came close. Flavors much better when it’s cooler but I’m not sure it’s worth all the effort.
Jun 18 2013, 8:20 PM
IamDarren: just went into the last third and got a blast of bitterness, tasted a lot like tar.
Jun 18 2013, 8:20 PM
IamDarren: it seems to be burning a lot faster. Pretty soon a flame is gonna shoot out…
Jun 18 2013, 8:21 PM
StraightUpCigars: Mine is still fairly tasty, but I haven’t gotten to the final third yet. Yeah, you have to be Loyal to smoke it this slowly
Jun 18 2013, 8:22 PM
IamDarren: im trying… if I smoke it any slower im gonna have to resort to inhaling the resting smoke.
Jun 18 2013, 8:25 PM
IamDarren: well crap, i waited a good 30 seconds to take a draw and got a bit of sweetness followed by tar. Sorry fellas, im gonna have to put mine down.
Jun 18 2013, 8:27 PM
Terry1: I’m not to that point yet. But it is aggravating. One puff is pretty good, the next two or three get bitter.
Jun 18 2013, 8:29 PM
StraightUpCigars: I’m not there either, mine is actually decent. Probably not a good sign that we are this good at working around poorly constructed sticks
Jun 18 2013, 8:32 PM
StraightUpCigars: I’d be very unhappy if I were a newer smoker and bought this big name cigar from a B&M.
Jun 18 2013, 8:33 PM
Terry1: It certainly shows well in the box. I’d buy it based off looks alone. Then be dissapointed.
Jun 18 2013, 8:34 PM
IamDarren: For me, Torano cigars seem to be very hit and miss. Even when i buy a fiver of a blend I like there might be 1 or 2 that are way better than the rest.
Jun 18 2013, 8:35 PM
IamDarren: I guess inconsistent would be the correct word.
Jun 18 2013, 8:35 PM
StraightUpCigars: Were your cigars box pressed only on one side?
Jun 18 2013, 8:36 PM
Terry1: Not that I noticed.
Jun 18 2013, 8:37 PM
StraightUpCigars: Mine seemed smooshed on one side. Not sure whose fault that would be, Cbid or Torano.
Jun 18 2013, 8:37 PM
IamDarren: honestly, when i first pulled mine out of the cello I thought it had a slight box press.
Jun 18 2013, 8:38 PM
IamDarren: looks like I came inside just in time. Its now raining outside.
Jun 18 2013, 8:41 PM
StraightUpCigars: My wrapper is cracking now. I’m about 1/2 through the final third.
Jun 18 2013, 8:41 PM
Terry1: I’m going to put mine down. The last five minutes or so were pretty good. Bitterness went away and it got all toasty and nutty. Too bad there was so much inconsistancy. This could have been a much better cigar. I wonder if more time would help.
Jun 18 2013, 8:42 PM
Terry1: By the way, I didn’t get any strength at all. Fairly mild cigar.
Jun 18 2013, 8:44 PM
StraightUpCigars: Good point Terry, very low strength cigar. Medium body too.
Jun 18 2013, 8:46 PM
StraightUpCigars: Overall, not a great cigar. Mine had some construction issues (your sticks were worse), flavor was good when it was good, bad when it was bad. Cigar must be smoked slow b/c it will overheat easily. Just not a cigar I would like to smoke again, or recommend to others, but I’ve had way worse.
Jun 18 2013, 8:46 PM
IamDarren: whats the price on these?
Jun 18 2013, 8:47 PM
StraightUpCigars: I only paid a hair over $3 ea, not sure on the retail price.
Jun 18 2013, 8:47 PM
Terry1: Good summary. Just another average cigar and with all that’s available, this one will be easy to forget.


Related posts:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This blog is kept spam free by WP-SpamFree.