Te Amo Maduro – Cigar Review

This week’s group cigar review is of the Te Amo Maduro.  This cigar is comprised of all Mexican tobacco.   The wrapper leaf is very rustic looking and has a pungent tobacco smell.  After cutting, the draw is decent, if not a little on the loose side.  Once we lit it up it tasted of charred wood, earth, and sweet, all with a spicy finish.  Later, a bitterness came in, but was complemented by a coffee flavor.  All three of our cigars had construction issues, albeit fairly minor.  The individual flavors were nothing to write home about, but as a whole this is one of the most unique tasting cigars we’ve reviewed.  Overall, nothing about this fairly cheap cigar is that great.  With that said, the Mexican tobaccos provided a completely different flavor profile than we are used to and we enjoyed the change of pace.  We recommend this to veteran cigar enthusiasts who want to try something new.

StraightUpCigars: Rating:
Flavor and Taste: 16/20
Construction: 7/10
Wrapper: 4/5
Price Point: 10/10
Would I buy a Box: 4/5
Total: 41/50

IamDarren: Rating:
Flavor and Taste: 14/20
Construction: 7/10
Wrapper: 4/5
Price Point: 9/10
Would I buy a Box: 3/5
Total: 37/50

Terry1: Rating:
Flavor and Taste: 15/20
Construction: 8/10
Wrapper: 5/5
Price Point: 10/10
Would I buy a Box: 2/5
Total: 40/50


Nov 5 2013, 7:51 PM
IamDarren: you guys got your cigars ready? Mine has a nice sweet cocoa smell to it. Decent draw after the clip.
Nov 5 2013, 7:51 PM
Terry1: Now the cigar. The Te-Amo is rustic looking. Has a nice barnyard smell to it. Construction and draw seem good. Cold draw has a dark chocolate flavor. Lighting up.
Nov 5 2013, 7:51 PM
IamDarren: lighting up
Nov 5 2013, 7:51 PM
StraightUpCigars: The Te-Amo has a very pungent tobacco smell to the wrapper. The wrapper leaf is a little fragile and cracked in a spot. The draw is on the loose side after cutting.
Nov 5 2013, 7:54 PM
IamDarren: wow, the resting smoke has a lot of barnyard smell to it. Flavor is pretty good though. Some earth. Some sweetness but its definitely not chocolate. Hard to place it.
Nov 5 2013, 7:56 PM
StraightUpCigars: I think a word Terry used earlier is the best to describe this cigar so far: rustic.
Nov 5 2013, 7:56 PM
Terry1: Wow, there’s some pepper in mine. Stings the sinus. Mainly an earthy flavor and some char. Okay start.
Nov 5 2013, 7:57 PM
StraightUpCigars: Bold charred wood flavor with some hay and spice.
Nov 5 2013, 7:58 PM
IamDarren: must be the char masking the sweetness because i sill can’t place it. I do like it though.
Nov 5 2013, 7:59 PM
Terry1: I sense a little sweetness way in the back. I’m hoping it gets stonger. If it does this may become a tasty cigar. Something like a sweet bbq.
Nov 5 2013, 7:59 PM
IamDarren: yeah i am starting to get a little pepper in the sinus now, just enough to compliment the sweetness
Nov 5 2013, 8:00 PM
IamDarren: maybe you are right Terry, its got a thickness to it like molasses but its unique. I get it more when i let the cigar rest for quite awhile and then take short puffs.
[Delete]
Nov 5 2013, 8:01 PM
StraightUpCigars: This one started out odd, but it’s coming together now. I like the flavor.
Nov 5 2013, 8:01 PM
Terry1: Yeah smoking slowly seems to help. I’m liking it.
Nov 5 2013, 8:02 PM
Terry1: Hard to take your time when it’s 40 degrees thou.
Nov 5 2013, 8:02 PM
IamDarren: no shit. im getting ready to drag over the propane heater
Nov 5 2013, 8:03 PM
StraightUpCigars: I’m getting ready to drag my ass to Lowes and buy one
Nov 5 2013, 8:05 PM
IamDarren: lol, yeah im not acclamated to these temps yet. Once i get to feeding cattle 40 seems warm.
Nov 5 2013, 8:05 PM
Terry1: Yeah 40 in the spring feels a lot warmer than 40 in the fall.
Nov 5 2013, 8:05 PM
StraightUpCigars: True story.
Nov 5 2013, 8:07 PM
IamDarren: just knocked the ash off and the burn is perfect. Draw is also good. Mine might be mellowing a bit.
Nov 5 2013, 8:08 PM
Terry1: I think I hit a small void by the wrapper. The burn is running up the side about a quarter inch. The flavor on mine seems to be fading as well. Which is too bad, I was liking it. Not so much now.
Nov 5 2013, 8:09 PM
StraightUpCigars: The burn is pretty wonky on mine too, but I’m liking the really rich flavor at the moment. I can taste some coffee flavor now.
Nov 5 2013, 8:12 PM
IamDarren: i really like the flavors on mine. The pepper has faded although there is still a dominant spice note. The sweetness is still the underlying flavor, with a richness that could be coming together to form a coffee flavor on mine too.
Nov 5 2013, 8:12 PM
IamDarren: im nearing the second third
Nov 5 2013, 8:12 PM
StraightUpCigars: Do your cigars “spark” likee a lit fuse when you take a draw? I noticed it when I lit up too.
Nov 5 2013, 8:13 PM
IamDarren: haven’t noticed it. My rh got pretty low last week so i had to add a small container of water to the humi.
Nov 5 2013, 8:13 PM
Terry1: I haven’t notice it on this cigar but I’ve seen that happen on others.
Nov 5 2013, 8:17 PM
Terry1: Burn corrected itself. Funny how the flavor changes with how often I puff. Let it sit and I get the sweetness, coffee and earthy flavors. Puff several times a minute and the flavors vanish.
Nov 5 2013, 8:18 PM
IamDarren: yeah this is a picky cigar, gotta give it some luvin
Nov 5 2013, 8:19 PM
StraightUpCigars: I agree Terry, you can pick your experience with this one.
Nov 5 2013, 8:19 PM
IamDarren: oh great, now the wind is picking up. Maybe if i would just enclose the porch i could make it work.
Nov 5 2013, 8:20 PM
StraightUpCigars: If you’re going to do that you could add a rug and put in a ceiling heater.
Nov 5 2013, 8:20 PM
IamDarren: we are planning to put a deck off the back of the house so i could move my grill over there. Im liking this idea the more i think about it.
Nov 5 2013, 8:24 PM
StraightUpCigars: I sit in an enclosed back porch. I’m going to add some kind of heater this year.
Nov 5 2013, 8:25 PM
Terry1: I added insulation to the shed this summer. Made a hugh difference on retaining the heat.
Nov 5 2013, 8:26 PM
IamDarren: just crossed the halfway mark. Flavors are changing. Spice is really taking over and giving it a dryness that i don’t like. Having to sip on my drink a lot more. Sweetness is fading in and out.
Nov 5 2013, 8:28 PM
IamDarren: also starting to get a funky aftertaste. Slightly bitter.
Nov 5 2013, 8:28 PM
Terry1: Mine is doing the same. Pepper is getting stronger and the cigar is leaving a dry bitterness in my mouth. I’m having to sip on my drink more often. Burn is near perfect, draw is still good. No strength detected yet. I’m over halfway.
Nov 5 2013, 8:29 PM
StraightUpCigars: Yep, dry bitterness, and letting it cool doesn’t seem to help it anymore. Going to purge it.
Nov 5 2013, 8:32 PM
IamDarren: i also purged and it did help a little, still getting some bitterness but the sweetness is back again.
Nov 5 2013, 8:33 PM
StraightUpCigars: It’s weird, after the purge I could taste that good flavor from the first half, but it was then quickly overpowered by the bitterness again.
Nov 5 2013, 8:35 PM
Terry1: I’m getting the same thing. I get a decent flavor on the draw then a bitterness is left behind.
Nov 5 2013, 8:36 PM
IamDarren: just looked up the info. These are infact a Mexican puro. All the tobacco is from the San Andres valley. You would think that they would be overly sweet.
Nov 5 2013, 8:37 PM
StraightUpCigars: Is tobacco from that region known to bee sweet?
Nov 5 2013, 8:39 PM
IamDarren: Most cigars that utlize the San Andres maduro wrapper have a unique sweetness to them. A lot of people think they taste very organic, like overly ripe fruit.
Nov 5 2013, 8:39 PM
IamDarren: lol, just read this post on famous… Been hooked on them for years” They taste and smell kind of like a donkey turd, they’re dried out, burn unevenly, and taste horrible… but I can’t get enough of them! TeAmo is a strange a wonderful cigar.
Nov 5 2013, 8:40 PM
StraightUpCigars: That’s funny!
Nov 5 2013, 8:40 PM
StraightUpCigars: So true, very unlike anything else and a change of pace… for better or worse.
Nov 5 2013, 8:40 PM
Terry1: This reminds me of Tatuaje’s La Casita Criolla which is 100% Connecticut Broadleaf. I think a cigar benefits from a mix of different tobaccos. One tobacco, imo, makes the cigar too one dimensional.
Nov 5 2013, 8:41 PM
IamDarren: i will say that the sweetness has returned and bitterness has dwindled for now. Hope it keeps going.
Nov 5 2013, 8:41 PM
IamDarren: i guess this brand has been around for a long time. At least 20 years from what i have read.
Nov 5 2013, 8:42 PM
IamDarren: almost an hour in and im just crossing into the last third. A+ for smoke time.
Nov 5 2013, 8:44 PM
StraightUpCigars: Very good smoke time. I need another beer, BRB.
Nov 5 2013, 8:44 PM
IamDarren: still sipping on my Jack and pepsi
Nov 5 2013, 8:45 PM
Terry1: I’m into the last third. Band popped off without incident. Flavors are about the same, some sweetness, char and coffee. Bitterness has subsided.
Nov 5 2013, 8:46 PM
Terry1: I’ve got Cap Morgan Black and Coke. Seems to be mixing well with the cigar.
Nov 5 2013, 8:46 PM
IamDarren: my band did not want to tear off so i just slid it off
Nov 5 2013, 8:46 PM
StraightUpCigars: I would not have guessed in a million years that the bitterness would subside, but it is not as bad now.
Nov 5 2013, 8:47 PM
StraightUpCigars: I think a mixed drink would suit this cigar better, you guys had the right idea.
Nov 5 2013, 8:47 PM
Terry1: Same here. The way the bitterness was building I thought I was going to sit this one down early.
Nov 5 2013, 8:48 PM
IamDarren: i have gotten addicted to Batch 19. If you guys haven’t tried it and you like a medium bodied lager its a winner.

Nov 5 2013, 8:50 PM
StraightUpCigars: Batch 19 is pretty good. With a large selection of micro-brews available in St. Louis I don’t grab for the batch 19 often though.
Nov 5 2013, 8:50 PM
IamDarren: lol, yeah well its the best i can come up with in my little dinky town
Nov 5 2013, 8:52 PM
StraightUpCigars: Next time you’re in lawrence there’s a liquor store there with a better selection than anything here, I think it had Barrel in the name.
Nov 5 2013, 8:52 PM
IamDarren: St.Louis is a pretty neat city. Lots of culture there. I had a great time while I was there and might have to go back some time.
Nov 5 2013, 8:53 PM
StraightUpCigars: If either of you guys make it over here I’ll make sure to get you set up nicely.
Nov 5 2013, 8:53 PM
IamDarren: I was with a bunch of middle age farmers (most weren’t married) and all they wanted to do was go drinking and hit the strip club so I didn’t get to really enjoy it.
Nov 5 2013, 8:55 PM
IamDarren: the last half inch of my cigar has been alot like the first third with a little less pepper. Despite a little hiccup in the middle this cigar is not that bad.
Nov 5 2013, 8:55 PM
Terry1: Strength finally hit me. No flavor changes. Burn and draw still good.
Nov 5 2013, 8:56 PM
StraightUpCigars: I am actually having the burn issues Terry had earlier, really changes the flavor. Going to try to fix it so it ends well.
Nov 5 2013, 8:58 PM
IamDarren: this stick treads a fine line between good and bad. Going to be hard to rate i think.
Nov 5 2013, 8:59 PM
StraightUpCigars: I got the burn fixed, but now the bitterness is back. You’re right Darren, this one is back and forth.
[Delete]
Nov 5 2013, 9:00 PM
IamDarren: butterscotch… i think that is the sweet flavor that is trying to come through but the other flavors won’t let it. I could be crazy but thats what came to mind.
Nov 5 2013, 9:04 PM
IamDarren: just got some bitterness again. darn
Nov 5 2013, 9:05 PM
StraightUpCigars: I’ve had it with mine. Setting it down. What a strange cigar.
Nov 5 2013, 9:05 PM
Terry1: Mine didn’t get the bitterness again. I’m setting mine down too.
Nov 5 2013, 9:05 PM
IamDarren: yeah, i have some left but im heading in
Nov 5 2013, 9:07 PM
IamDarren: a little let down with this one but at least it wasn’t terrible
Nov 5 2013, 9:09 PM
StraightUpCigars: Let me explain my ratings. Nothing about this cigar is really that good (except the price). With that said, for somebody like us who thinks they’ve tried it all this is something new. Completely different.
Nov 5 2013, 9:10 PM
StraightUpCigars: I’d keep these in stock just for that reason.
Nov 5 2013, 9:10 PM
Terry1: I’d say try one before committing to a box. Not a bad cigar but for the price there are better choices.
Nov 5 2013, 9:10 PM
IamDarren: agreed. I honestly should probably knock it more, especially since I would probably never buy a box but I hate to be too biased. We have smoked a lot of really good stuff so its hard to compare.
Nov 5 2013, 9:12 PM
IamDarren: A lot of people gave this cigar a 9/10 in other reviews. It all depends on what you are comparing it to.
Nov 5 2013, 9:12 PM
StraightUpCigars: I wonder about those “other people”


Related posts:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This blog is kept spam free by WP-SpamFree.