San Lotano Bull – Cigar Review

This week’s group cigar review is of the San Lotano Bull.  We are looking forward to trying the latest cigar in the San Lotano line!  This one has a great draw after cutting and a cedary/fruity smell to the wrapper leaf.  Once it up, it had some sweet cream flavor with a lot of spice.  The pepper built quickly until the flavor profile was dominated by a spicy pepper flavor.  It was every bit of full bodied and also produced a lot of smoke.  The construction remained perfect on all three sticks.  Overall this peppery stick is strong in both the flavor and nicotine.  It is a lot different than the other San Lotano cigars which were complex with subtle flavors, the Bull is one dimensional and powerful.  We enjoyed this one, and think it’s worth a try, but liked the other San Lotanos better.  Make sure you have a soda nearby to combat the strength!

StraightUpCigars: Rating:
Flavor and Taste: 17/20
Construction: 10/10
Wrapper: 5/5
Price Point: 8/10
Would I buy a Box: 3/5
Total: 43/50

Terry1: Rating:
Flavor and Taste: 16/20
Construction: 10/10
Wrapper: 5/5
Price Point: 8/10
Would I buy a Box: 2/5
Total: 41/50

IamDarren: Rating:
Flavor and Taste: 19/20
Construction: 10/10
Wrapper: 5/5
Price Point: 7/10
Would I buy a Box: 3/5
Total: 44/50


Aug 26 2014, 7:44 PM
StraightUpCigars: I love the fruity tobacco smell of the wrapper. Perfect draw after a fairly shallow cut. Can’t wait to light this one up!
Aug 26 2014, 7:47 PM
IamDarren: great draw on mine also. Im getting a hint of cocoa powder on the cold draw.
Aug 26 2014, 7:48 PM
Terry1: The cedar sleeve really imparts a nice smell to the wrapper. Impressed with the draw, perfect. I’m ready to light up.
Aug 26 2014, 7:48 PM
IamDarren: ok, here comes the flame
Aug 26 2014, 7:50 PM
IamDarren: lots of smoke, getting cedar and milk chocolate with a hint of pepper on the finish, yummy. Great Start.
Aug 26 2014, 7:51 PM
Terry1: Mine’s producing a lot of smoke too. Creamy, cedar and a zing of pepper. I’m liking the start.
Aug 26 2014, 7:51 PM
StraightUpCigars: Mine has started with an INSANE amount of spice. Mouth numbing spice and pepper. Not sure what is going on here.
Aug 26 2014, 7:54 PM
IamDarren: yeah, spice is building in flavor. Mine is still dominated by a sweet and creamy note but the spice and pepper are already picking up strength.
Aug 26 2014, 7:54 PM
Terry1: You’re right. It didn’t start peppery but the pepper is quickly building. Makes my nose and mouth tingle.
Aug 26 2014, 7:55 PM
IamDarren: love love love the construction on the San Lotanos. Perfect every time. Perfect draw, smoke production, burn and ash is holding tight at a half inch.
Aug 26 2014, 7:55 PM
StraightUpCigars: Luckily the spice on mine is retreating. Thank goodness, I’ve never tasted anything like the first 10 puffs, it was killer.
Aug 26 2014, 7:58 PM
IamDarren: right now the sweetness and spice are a perfect pairing. He did good picking the Sumatra wrapper for this one.
Aug 26 2014, 8:00 PM
StraightUpCigars: Mine tastes like a steak that has been rolled in ground black pepper. So peppery it’s hard to discern other flavors. I am enjoying it, just sounds very different than yours does.
Aug 26 2014, 8:00 PM
IamDarren: Info: This is the torpedo (6.5×54) and retails for around 9 bucks a stick.
Aug 26 2014, 8:01 PM
IamDarren: huh, im not getting much pepper except for on the finish and in the sinus.
Aug 26 2014, 8:02 PM
IamDarren: trying to decide if i should tap off the ash. Its holding firm at an inch.
Aug 26 2014, 8:03 PM
Terry1: I’m about an inch in and pepper is about all I get. Once in awhile I get a little sweetness. I’m thinking there are other flavor notes to get if the pepper backs off a little.
Aug 26 2014, 8:04 PM
IamDarren: starting to pick up a bit of bitterness that lends itself to a coffee flavor, but sweetness and spice are still neck and neck.
Aug 26 2014, 8:05 PM
Terry1: My ash just fell off on it’s own when I set the cigar down.
Aug 26 2014, 8:06 PM
StraightUpCigars: Yeah, my ash got crooked, so I knocked it off.
Aug 26 2014, 8:06 PM
IamDarren: finally figured out how to get the humi to stay stable. I kept the humi beads but added a mason jar with water. Put a few drops of rubbing alcohol to keep away any mold and threw in a sponge to help with evaporation. Now I don’t have to add any water to my humi beads.
Aug 26 2014, 8:07 PM
Terry1: That’s sounds like a redneck kind of solution.
Aug 26 2014, 8:08 PM
IamDarren: lol, no doubt. But it works well. I have to add water to the jar every couple of months. Stays at 65% all the time now.
Aug 26 2014, 8:10 PM
Terry1: We’re so dry here I have to use the gel. It’s the only thing I’ve found that will release enough moisture in the air.
Aug 26 2014, 8:10 PM
StraightUpCigars: I’ve found that no matter how much open water containers I have in wooden humis, they won’t keep humidity for long. Coolerdors on the other hand are perfect.
Aug 26 2014, 8:11 PM
IamDarren: yeah, i think the woods soaks it up and leaks it into the room even with a good seal. I was so tired of baby sitting the water in my humi beads.
Aug 26 2014, 8:12 PM
StraightUpCigars: I hear ya. If I ever get a large humi I’ll definitely be getting one of those active humidifiers like a cigar oasis
Aug 26 2014, 8:13 PM
IamDarren: i did some research on water evaporation. Water has surface tension and doesn’t like to freely evaporate. The sponge soaks it up and lets it evaporate way faster. Same principle that most humidifiers use.
Aug 26 2014, 8:14 PM
IamDarren: im almost to the halfway mark. Not getting any more cedar. Now its more of an oak or leather flavor. Still not too much pepper.
Aug 26 2014, 8:14 PM
StraightUpCigars: Interesting about the sponge. I may try that technique..
Aug 26 2014, 8:16 PM
StraightUpCigars: Mine is still master of all things pepper, but it’s getting more and more tasty. I actually like letting this one rest in my mouth while typing, a lot of that is the vitola though.
Aug 26 2014, 8:16 PM
Terry1: Over the last five minutes the pepper has mellowed some. I’m now getting more of the sweetness and some char. Burn is near perfect. I’m liking it.
Aug 26 2014, 8:20 PM
IamDarren: second ash just fell off when i set it down. burn is still perfect
Aug 26 2014, 8:23 PM
StraightUpCigars: Did you guys know CI is owned by Scandanavian Tobacco ALA General Cigar?
Aug 26 2014, 8:24 PM
IamDarren: yeah i think so, I always wondered if they were really based in Scandanavia and if there was a reason why.
Aug 26 2014, 8:24 PM
Terry1: Wow I’ve got a long way to go and I’m feeling the nicotine already.
Aug 26 2014, 8:24 PM
StraightUpCigars: I didn’t realize that. Was poking around at cigar jobs and found that out.
Aug 26 2014, 8:25 PM
StraightUpCigars: I can feel it too, this is one strong and peppery cigar.
Aug 26 2014, 8:26 PM
IamDarren: im still waiting for mine to switch gears and offer up some more pepper…. Bring it on!
Aug 26 2014, 8:27 PM
IamDarren: interesting…. “the US. Scandinavian Tobacco Group is headquartered in Copenhagen, Denmark, and is owned by the Danish foundations Augustinus and Obel and the listed company Swedish Match.”
Aug 26 2014, 8:28 PM
Terry1: Mine has lost much of the pepper it had in the beginning. I can now retrohale without tearing up.
Aug 26 2014, 8:29 PM
StraightUpCigars: I cannot think of a more peppery cigar that we’ve had. This puts DPG sticks to shame.
Aug 26 2014, 8:29 PM
Terry1: I wonder how much of the market they control. Sounds like a big company.
Aug 26 2014, 8:31 PM
IamDarren: yeah i just looked them up on the Wiki. It was a British company to start and they started acquiring a bunch of other cigar and pipe tobacco companies. They just renamed it to Scandanavian Tobacco so they could put all the companies under one Company.
Aug 26 2014, 8:32 PM
IamDarren: still, I think it was an interesting choice for a name
Aug 26 2014, 8:32 PM
StraightUpCigars: They’re huge. They snapped up General a few years ago like they were nothing. They keep adding brands to the General name too.
Aug 26 2014, 8:33 PM
IamDarren: another reason to stockpile cigars, when they own all the big companies they will control the supply and the price.
Aug 26 2014, 8:33 PM
Terry1: Made it to the band. It popped off cleanly. Flavors about the same. Some sweetness and pepper. The char is gone now.
Aug 26 2014, 8:34 PM
IamDarren: im getting a little char now, but just enough to add complexity. Still loving the flavor on my stick. A little more pepper would be nice.
Aug 26 2014, 8:36 PM
StraightUpCigars: I’d love to trade cigars for a minute Darren. Mine is good, but almost entirely 1 dimensional. That’s fine if you know what you’re getting into, but surprising in the San Lotano line where the other sticks are complex with subtleties.
Aug 26 2014, 8:37 PM
IamDarren: hey Terry, i was gonna ask if you got to try any premium liquors while you were there? Been looking for something new to try.
Aug 26 2014, 8:37 PM
StraightUpCigars: I’m glad you’re getting a similar thing Terry, confirming that my taste buds aren’t whacked out.
Aug 26 2014, 8:38 PM
Terry1: It’s interesting to see our results. Mine seems to be in between yours and Darrens.
Aug 26 2014, 8:39 PM
Terry1: That is another reason I couldn’t fly. I brought back 8 bottles of whiskey. Yes I tried a lot of new whiskeys not available here. Angels Envy, Four Roses, jim Beam Signature, Leopold Brothers and Peach Street to name a few.
Aug 26 2014, 8:40 PM
IamDarren: damn… i am so jealous right now.
Aug 26 2014, 8:40 PM
Terry1: Angels Envy is by far my favorite.
Aug 26 2014, 8:41 PM
IamDarren: i will look that one up for sure
Aug 26 2014, 8:41 PM
StraightUpCigars: Wow, that sounds awesome. I’ve got to be honest, I’d be more interested in trying the drinks out since we’ve already tried most of the cigars out there
Aug 26 2014, 8:42 PM
Terry1: It’s finished in port barrels. Really mellows out the whiskey and gives it a nice sweetness, delicious!
Aug 26 2014, 8:43 PM
Terry1: The event has almost as many liqours to try as cigars. I tried a lot of them. Whiskey, rum, tequila and vodka. Most were very good.
Aug 26 2014, 8:43 PM
IamDarren: im really fond of the new Crown Royal. I believe it is finished in cognac barrels.
Aug 26 2014, 8:44 PM
Terry1: I just finished off a bottle of the Crown Royal Maple. It was good but a little on the sweet side. Smells like breakfast.
Aug 26 2014, 8:44 PM
IamDarren: damn, its not available in Kansas. But you can order it online..
Aug 26 2014, 8:46 PM
IamDarren: looks like Angels Envy is 42 bucks for 750ml
Aug 26 2014, 8:46 PM
Terry1: That’s about what I paid in Colorado.
Aug 26 2014, 8:46 PM
StraightUpCigars: I tried this recently. Bought it on a recent camping trip only b/c I found the name comical, only to find that it’s good and has really good reviews https://www.danmurphys.com.au/product/DM_49640/mount-gay-eclipse-rum-700ml.jsp;jsessionid=71BBC83039DC9602E9B299099EBC1F5E.ncdlmorasp1308?bmUID=kvWbMyX&utm_campaign=bazaarvoice&utm_medium=SearchVoice&utm_source=RatingsAndReviews&utm_contentefault
[Mount Gay Eclipse Rum 700mL | Dan Murphy’s | Buy Wine, Champagne, Beer & Spirits Online]
Mount Gay Eclipse Rum 700mL | Dan Murphy’s | Buy Wine, Champagne, Beer & Spirits Online
Aug 26 2014, 8:46 PM
IamDarren: i love shopping online
Aug 26 2014, 8:47 PM
Terry1: That’s good to know. Mount Gay is available here. I’ll have to pick up a bottle.
Aug 26 2014, 8:49 PM
IamDarren: only an inch or so left on mine and if anything it is mellowing. Mostly Sweet with a spice zing. A bit of char and pepper on the finish.
Aug 26 2014, 8:50 PM
StraightUpCigars: Wow! Speed smoker! Mine still has atleast an inch and a half of smokeable left.
Aug 26 2014, 8:51 PM
IamDarren: mine has been excellent, really sorry you guys haven’t had the same experience.
Aug 26 2014, 8:51 PM
StraightUpCigars: My pepper has mellowed just enough that I can make out a nice rich char and earthy flavor that I can only equate to a steak.
Aug 26 2014, 8:51 PM
Terry1: Yeah Darren is way ahead of me. Pepper has really mellowed. Mostly sweet now and the char has come back. I’m liking it but I think I’m going to have trouble standing up after this one.
Aug 26 2014, 8:52 PM
StraightUpCigars: I have actually really enjoyed this, except for the first set of puffs which were intolerable. Just hard to swallow given how different it is from the other San Lotano sticks.
Aug 26 2014, 8:52 PM
IamDarren: i think he named it the bull for a reason. Im sure its supposed to satisfy the full bodied enthusiasts.
Aug 26 2014, 8:53 PM
Terry1: Yeah compared to the other San Lotanos this one is more one dimensional and stronger.
Aug 26 2014, 8:54 PM
StraightUpCigars: I’m right there with you Terry. The thought of standing up to grab another beer is downright frightening.
Aug 26 2014, 8:54 PM
IamDarren: Pepper is a tricky flavor to add to a cigar. I think Camacho walks a think line with it. It can really drown out a lot of other flavors when it dominates.
Aug 26 2014, 8:55 PM
IamDarren: im also really starting to feel this one. Been spitting after every puff in the last third.
Aug 26 2014, 8:55 PM
Terry1: I will add I have enjoyed this cigar. Not sure I would buy a box at $9 a stick given the strength and the overwhelming pepper flavor.
Aug 26 2014, 8:57 PM
StraightUpCigars: That is the truth Terry. I can’t imagine this cigar as anything other than a nightcap, try having this one on the golf course and you’ll end up barfing in the woods while looking for your last shot.
Aug 26 2014, 8:57 PM
IamDarren: starting to burn my fingers, time to lay mine down to rest.
Aug 26 2014, 8:57 PM
Terry1: Lol that would be me.
Aug 26 2014, 9:02 PM
StraightUpCigars: I’ve got about 3/4 of an inch to go, I think it’s safe to rate at this point.
Aug 26 2014, 9:03 PM
IamDarren: im good, you guys can finish
Aug 26 2014, 9:03 PM
Terry1: Okay I’m done. It’s getting too hot to smoke. And I’m seeing double. I’m ready to rate.
Aug 26 2014, 9:06 PM
IamDarren: now we can all go pass out, lol
Aug 26 2014, 9:06 PM
Terry1: Wow I think the lack of pepper on yours Darren really helped the overall flavor. I’d still recommend trying it. Just as long as you like a stong peppery stick.
Aug 26 2014, 9:07 PM
IamDarren: yeah, go in expecting a pepper bomb and hope for a stick like mine
Aug 26 2014, 9:07 PM
StraightUpCigars: Lol! Seriously, passing out doesn’t sound too bad
Aug 26 2014, 9:07 PM
StraightUpCigars: I think the key for this one is to know what you’re getting yourself into. I think it’s deceiving having this as part of the San Lotano line b/c it’s nothing like the others. With that said, this very full bodied and very full strengthed cigar is fun to smoke!


Related posts:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This blog is kept spam free by WP-SpamFree.