Saint Luis Rey Serie G Maduro – Cigar Review 2

This is our second installment of the SLR G cigar review.  The first time it was also reviewed in group format, but as a blind taste test.  One suffered from construction issues and the others just suffered.  We wanted to see if the Saint Luis Rey Serie G Maduro would do better the second time.  It has an excellent looking wrapper and a slightly sweet tobacco smell to it.  Once we lit it up, coffee and earth flavors dominated with some sweetness.  The flavors fella little flat in the second third, but improved somewhat in the final third.  Some pepper and spice crept in later in the cigar.  Construction was pretty good this time around.  Overall, this was not a bad cigar in the mild/medium body category.  If the flavor was a little improved this cigar would have scored higher.


StraightUpCigars: Rating:
Flavor and Taste: 16/20
Construction: 9/10
Wrapper: 5/5
Price Point: 8/10
Would I buy a Box: 4/5
Total: 43/50

GaryInfusion: Rating:
Flavor and Taste: 18/20
Construction: 9/10
Wrapper: 5/5
Price Point: 7/10
Would I buy a Box: 2/5
Total: 41/50
IamDarren: Rating:
Flavor and Taste: 16/20
Construction: 10/10
Wrapper: 5/5
Price Point: 8/10
Would I buy a Box: 4/5
Total: 44/50

Terry1: Rating:
Flavor and Taste: 16/20
Construction: 10/10
Wrapper: 5/5
Price Point: 9/10
Would I buy a Box: 4/5
Total: 44/50


Jan 22 2013, 7:26 PM
GaryInfusion: The SLR G is a nice looking stick. This will probably be right up my alley. Nice and dark, not much oil. Actually the wrapper is a little dry.
Jan 22 2013, 7:27 PM
IamDarren: yeah its very toothy, kinda rough looking.
Jan 22 2013, 7:27 PM
IamDarren: got a great draw on mine
Jan 22 2013, 7:31 PM
IamDarren: i sure hope you get a good stick this time Terry!
Jan 22 2013, 7:32 PM
GaryInfusion: OK, I’m ready….Fire in the hole.
Jan 22 2013, 7:33 PM
IamDarren: lol, im ready. Everyone else ready to light up?
Jan 22 2013, 7:33 PM
Terry1: Yeah I do to. I was thinking this was the one you guys really liked and mine fell apart. It looks promising. Clipped the cap and the draw is about perfect. Lighting up.
Jan 22 2013, 7:33 PM
StraightUpCigars: Yeah, you’re due for a good one Terry.
Jan 22 2013, 7:34 PM
StraightUpCigars: Mine has a wonderful looking wrapper, one of the best wrapper leaves we’ve seen in a while. Small veins and very dark. A lightly sweet tobacco smell and a perfect draw after cutting it.
Jan 22 2013, 7:35 PM
IamDarren: just got mine toasted, lots of smoke. Creamy maduro flavor right off the bat with some spice.
Jan 22 2013, 7:37 PM
Terry1: First few puffs are really tasty. Getting some fruity sweetness, I’m thinking cherry. Very creamy smoke. A touch of black coffee and toast on the finish. Good start.
Jan 22 2013, 7:39 PM
GaryInfusion: Lit up PERFECT! Nice and flavorful, plenty of spice and a lot of coffee, right up my alley as I suspected. This should be good.
Jan 22 2013, 7:39 PM
StraightUpCigars: Right there with you Terry, Cherry sounds about right. Creamy with a tart sweetness. Mine has quite a bit of pepper and spice.
Jan 22 2013, 7:39 PM
StraightUpCigars: So what’s the story with these DArren, have they been aging since we did the first review, or are they new?
Jan 22 2013, 7:40 PM
IamDarren: getting pepper through the sinuses and also the black coffee on the finish. Still creamy and sweet at first. Very balanced flavors.
Jan 22 2013, 7:40 PM
GaryInfusion: It’s very nice through the nose. Just a tad spikey but nice.
Jan 22 2013, 7:42 PM
IamDarren: off topic: 90 percent of your taste buds are in your sinuses, just found that out the other day. If you plug your nose when you drink or eat something you won’t even taste it.
Jan 22 2013, 7:43 PM
IamDarren: plug your nose and take a puff, i bet you won’t taste much
Jan 22 2013, 7:44 PM
GaryInfusion: I’m at the inch marker and giving it my customary 5 minute rest and see how it comes back.
Jan 22 2013, 7:45 PM
Terry1: That pepper is long lasting in the sinus. Lots of tingle well after the retrohale.
Jan 22 2013, 7:45 PM
StraightUpCigars: My first ash already dropped. About 1/4 in Watch your laptops!
Jan 22 2013, 7:45 PM
IamDarren: im probably 3/4 of an inch, burn is going great and the ash is holding tight.
Jan 22 2013, 7:46 PM
IamDarren: i don’t see how you can start such a great cigar and then have the patience to wait 5 min. I would last 1 maybe.
Jan 22 2013, 7:50 PM
GaryInfusion: Whoa, this is getting strong really quick. Super dense clouds.
Jan 22 2013, 7:50 PM
StraightUpCigars: Sweet name and avatar, Gary! I’m going to tweet about the forum, watch the viewers spike in a few minutes, we’ll see if any join.
Jan 22 2013, 7:51 PM
GaryInfusion: We all have our rituals. I like to see how it holds a flame, that’s why I give it a rest after the first inch
Jan 22 2013, 7:51 PM
GaryInfusion: I’m still holding a nice ash and it’s burning evenly
Jan 22 2013, 7:52 PM
IamDarren: yeah im over and inch now and mine is holding on well
Jan 22 2013, 7:53 PM
IamDarren: flavor seems to be mellowing a bit, not as much pepper
Jan 22 2013, 7:54 PM
Terry1: Construction is great on mine. Coffee and earth are dominating with just a touch of sweetness in the background. The pepper is still present in the sinus but, I agree, it’s mellowed now. I’m liking this cigar right now.
Jan 22 2013, 7:54 PM
IamDarren: the sweetness is interesting, its definitely got some raisin or something with a bit of tart
Jan 22 2013, 7:55 PM
StraightUpCigars: Other than the weak ash, my construction is great too. Sounds like we have 4/4 on construction this time around.
Jan 22 2013, 7:56 PM
GaryInfusion: Timber!!!! first ash is gone. I’m starting to get some wood, yeah you could call it tarty wood.
Jan 22 2013, 7:56 PM
GaryInfusion: Still has some good coffee to it.
Jan 22 2013, 7:59 PM
IamDarren: just lost my ash too, it was well over an inch though
Jan 22 2013, 8:01 PM
StraightUpCigars: 18 viewers and a temp crash of the SMF database, but no new members yet. It was worth a try.
Jan 22 2013, 8:02 PM
IamDarren: smoke output has dropped a little and mine has mellowed even more. I would say low end of medium at this point. Still very tasty. Approaching the halfway mark.
Jan 22 2013, 8:02 PM
GaryInfusion: I’m starting to get a little boat action (burning fast on one side)
Jan 22 2013, 8:03 PM
IamDarren: lol, boat action… thats too bad, maybe it will fix itself.
Jan 22 2013, 8:03 PM
GaryInfusion: The aroma is is starting to get the burnt electrical fire smell.
Jan 22 2013, 8:03 PM
StraightUpCigars: My smoke output is still good, but the cigar has mellowed a whole lot. A very different smoke than what we started with, but still good.
Jan 22 2013, 8:03 PM
GaryInfusion: Still has some great flavor
Jan 22 2013, 8:03 PM
GaryInfusion: Yeah big transition going into the 2nd
Jan 22 2013, 8:05 PM
IamDarren: i think im picking up some cedar up front now and then it fades into more of an earthy flavor. Still a hint of coffee on the finish.
Jan 22 2013, 8:07 PM
StraightUpCigars: Is it another cold one there Terry?
Jan 22 2013, 8:08 PM
GaryInfusion: This is going over the medium strength barometer.
Jan 22 2013, 8:08 PM
Terry1: Mine has mellowed too. The coffee is taking over the profile for me with an earthy finish. From where this cigar started the flavors are falling off fast. I’m about halfway.
Jan 22 2013, 8:11 PM
IamDarren: im across the halfway mark now. One thing is for sure, this puppy burns nice and slow.
Jan 22 2013, 8:11 PM
Terry1: It’s been cold for a couple of weeks. Single digits at night and around 20 during the day. We need a big storm to knock the high pressure that’s sitting on top of us out of here. Once the air clears it should jump into the low 40s. Hopefully it will happen by the weekend.
Jan 22 2013, 8:12 PM
IamDarren: ouch, we had a couple weeks of weather like that. Now its in the 20s at night and 40s during the day.
Jan 22 2013, 8:13 PM
StraightUpCigars: Yeah, that’s cold. Our two coldest nights have been last night and tonight, it’s about 15 here at the moment.’
Jan 22 2013, 8:14 PM
Terry1: Our ski resorts are in the 40s. The valley gets stuck with cold temps when high pressure is over us. Keeps the cold in and doesn’t let it escape.
Jan 22 2013, 8:15 PM
IamDarren: my draw was starting to get a little tight so i worked it in my fingers a little and it opened right up. Seems like the spice and pepper have also increased a bit.
Jan 22 2013, 8:15 PM
GaryInfusion: This reminds me of the CI special I got a few months back. LEC, Pioneer Valley etc…Maduro Torps. Started off great but this might be a tosser in a few minutes.
Jan 22 2013, 8:16 PM
GaryInfusion: Agree on the spice comeback
Jan 22 2013, 8:16 PM
GaryInfusion: Darren, what was the cost on these?
Jan 22 2013, 8:18 PM
IamDarren: I got a deal on a box of 25 for 80 bucks. Im looking up the retail price.
Jan 22 2013, 8:19 PM
IamDarren: I have been looking for some good Maduros to smoke any time of day. These fit the bill. I like the flavor, they burn pretty good and aren’t too strong. I had one the other day while i was checking cattle and didn’t even need a beverage.
Jan 22 2013, 8:20 PM
StraightUpCigars: Did any cows have babies?
Jan 22 2013, 8:20 PM
GaryInfusion: Cattle?
Jan 22 2013, 8:21 PM
Terry1: Into the final third and I’m getting some bitter tar on the end. Other than that I still get the coffee, slight sweetness and some spice. Burn and draw is still doing great. The strength is a solid medium for me which is good.
Jan 22 2013, 8:21 PM
IamDarren: I had 4 in the last 2 days. I will probably go check them again when we are done.
Jan 22 2013, 8:22 PM
StraightUpCigars: Cha ching
Jan 22 2013, 8:22 PM
GaryInfusion: I’m getting some ammonia build as suspected. Still ultra flavorful. I got a small build of licorice with the coffee.
Jan 22 2013, 8:22 PM
Terry1: How many calves are you expecting?
Jan 22 2013, 8:22 PM
IamDarren: retail on these is about 3.5 to 4 bucks.
Jan 22 2013, 8:23 PM
IamDarren: I have about 10 on the ground and am expecting another 50
Jan 22 2013, 8:24 PM
IamDarren: almost to the last third now, and i agree the body is building. Maybe medium full at this point. Very earthy with some sweetness, spice and coffee is getting stronger.
Jan 22 2013, 8:25 PM
IamDarren: these are actually a double maduro. Connecticut Broadleaf binder and wrapper.
Jan 22 2013, 8:26 PM
IamDarren: just got a hit of pepper on the retrohale
Jan 22 2013, 8:26 PM
GaryInfusion: Done and tossed. Nice gar buzz going on and Great flavor in the mouth right now. It burned pretty quick though.
Jan 22 2013, 8:26 PM
StraightUpCigars: Mine seems to be going in the other direction, the sweetness is really increasing, and there is a nice coffee flavor with just a tad of pepper and spice.
Jan 22 2013, 8:27 PM
GaryInfusion: I got an hour total smoking time so that’s OK by me.
Jan 22 2013, 8:28 PM
StraightUpCigars: Holy shit, you smoked through that fast! I’ve still got quite a chunk of cigar left.
Jan 22 2013, 8:28 PM
Terry1: Mine is like Matt’s. I have about an inch left.
Jan 22 2013, 8:29 PM
IamDarren: i have an inch until i get to the nub, maybe a total of 1.5″ of smokable cigar left.
Jan 22 2013, 8:29 PM
GaryInfusion: I had about an inch and a half left and did the flick of the index. The SLR G will NOT be among the brave warriors.
Jan 22 2013, 8:29 PM
StraightUpCigars: Yep, I just removed the first band (came off without a hitch BTW).
Jan 22 2013, 8:30 PM
GaryInfusion: You guys know me by now. I’m just SUC’n
Jan 22 2013, 8:30 PM
IamDarren: mine both slid off, one nice + of torps.
Jan 22 2013, 8:31 PM
IamDarren: BTW, Terry that was my last original PDR Oscuro. I hope its good. Its been in the humi a long time.
Jan 22 2013, 8:32 PM
IamDarren: you guys all got some different sticks. I tried to appeal to your taste buds
Jan 22 2013, 8:33 PM
IamDarren: Wow, just got a nice smoked hickory flavor on the finish that time
Jan 22 2013, 8:33 PM
StraightUpCigars: You did awesome! King Havano and a couple of MOWs, couldn’t ask for more. I meant to ask, what’s the MOW with the red ribbon?
Jan 22 2013, 8:34 PM
IamDarren: I got 2 of those AJ oval samplers. It is a special MOW with a special Maduro wrapper. Its not a production cigar. I really liked the first one so i sent you the second.
Jan 22 2013, 8:35 PM
StraightUpCigars: VERY cool. Looking forward to that one. I remember having the first MOWs when they were hot off the presses and being relatively unimpressed. I don’t know if I have changed or if the cigars are improved, but I really like them now.
Jan 22 2013, 8:37 PM
GaryInfusion: Oh, that MOW Puro Authentico was FANTASIC!!! For a small stick it lasted a LONG time.
Jan 22 2013, 8:38 PM
IamDarren: for a long time that was AJs own personal cigar. I guess people liked it so much that he was convinced to make it a production stick. Im glad he did
Jan 22 2013, 8:39 PM
IamDarren: so Gary, i take it your not one of those guys that gets a toothpick to smoke the last half inch of a cigar.
Jan 22 2013, 8:39 PM
GaryInfusion: Thanks Darren on the ship out. Thanks for the share on the SLR G but it really wasn’t to my liking. Somepositive and negatives.
Jan 22 2013, 8:40 PM
IamDarren: can’t win em all
Jan 22 2013, 8:40 PM
GaryInfusion: I ALWAYS take the roach clip to something that I fall in love with.
Jan 22 2013, 8:41 PM
IamDarren: lol, i have never tried it. im afraid that i will suck up an ember or something.
Jan 22 2013, 8:42 PM
IamDarren: burn is getting a little wonky on mine but the flavor is nice and bold, almost like the beginning.
Jan 22 2013, 8:42 PM
StraightUpCigars: Mine is smoking really well right now. Ridiculous smoke output and a sweet woody/coffee flavor to boot. Seems like this one is going to go oput with a bang.
Jan 22 2013, 8:43 PM
GaryInfusion: Hey, I’m not blaming you, you didn’t grow it or roll it or ship it. Decent gar but the SLR G has the markings of a cheap bone. $3.50 – $4.00 it fair. I’d price it @ $2.25 while watching a few baby cattle drop.
Jan 22 2013, 8:43 PM
Terry1: I’m setting mine down. Good cigar. Interesting journey. Started strong, got mellow in the middle, then came back in the final third. Just starting to feel the nicotine. I liked this one.
Jan 22 2013, 8:44 PM
StraightUpCigars: Yeah, this one has some strength to it. I’d put it at medium strength.
Jan 22 2013, 8:45 PM
GaryInfusion: I’d put it at Medium-high
Jan 22 2013, 8:46 PM
IamDarren: medium full to start, faded to low medium, and has built back to where it started. Infact the last couple puff have been very spicy, leaving my lips tingling.
Jan 22 2013, 8:46 PM
IamDarren: i have not gotten any bitterness
Jan 22 2013, 8:47 PM
StraightUpCigars: Same here, which is surprising b/c I feel like I smoked it fairly quickly.
Jan 22 2013, 8:47 PM
Terry1: I did with the tar build up but I was careful and it didn’t come back.
Jan 22 2013, 8:48 PM
IamDarren: i guess my taste buds just like the flavor combo in this one. I really enjoyed it. Like i said earlier, lately i have been looking for rich maduros that don’t punch me in the gut.
Jan 22 2013, 8:48 PM
StraightUpCigars: Well, I’m going to rate it, mines about tapped out.
Jan 22 2013, 8:49 PM
IamDarren: im ready to rat
Jan 22 2013, 8:49 PM
IamDarren: rate
Jan 22 2013, 8:52 PM
GaryInfusion: Looks like I’m the low guy. I guess I’m the cigar snob tonight.
Jan 22 2013, 8:52 PM
IamDarren: well you gave it 18/20 on flavor, not too shabby
Jan 22 2013, 8:53 PM
IamDarren: another thing i like is the pleasant aftertaste
Jan 22 2013, 8:53 PM
GaryInfusion: Catch you guys soon. Gonna do a few personal reviews on the sticks Darren send me….Later
Jan 22 2013, 8:53 PM
IamDarren: later Gary!
Jan 22 2013, 8:53 PM
StraightUpCigars: Later Gary, glad you could join us.
Jan 22 2013, 8:55 PM
GaryInfusion: The devil made me do it.
Jan 22 2013, 8:55 PM
Terry1: Great cigar Darren. I’m glad I got to try it again. I’m going inside to warm up. See you guys next week. Glad you could join us Gary.


Related posts:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This blog is kept spam free by WP-SpamFree.