Romeo y Julieta Romeo – Cigar Review

For this week’s cigar review we smoked the new release by Romeo y Julieta, the Romeo.  RYJ’s have been good to us in the past, here’s to hoping this one is the same way.  We were all pleased with the pre-lighting characteristics.  The wrapper was nice with minimal veins, it had a sweet barnyard smell to it, and the draw was pretty good.  After lighting it up we were met with a really pleasant bunch of flavors.  It was sweet and cedary with cream and some light pepper flavor to start.  The flavor remained largely the same until the second half of the cigar.  At this point a bitter acidity crept in that really left us disappointed.  The construction was great, none of us had major issues.  The first half of the cigar was the whole package with good flavor and mild/medium bodied smoke.  Unfortunately the second half left a bitter taste in our mouth (literally).  This is most likely due to the large 6×54 samples we were given.  We all agree that this would be a fantastic smoke in a smaller vitola.  Overall, we recommend it, just don’t buy the huge versions of the Romeo!

StraightUpCigars – Matt: Rating:
Flavor and Taste: 16/20
Construction: 10/10
Wrapper: 5/5
Price Point: 7/10
Would I buy a Box: 3/5
Total: 41/50

IamDarren: Rating:
Flavor and Taste: 14/20
Construction: 10/10
Wrapper: 5/5
Price Point: 7/10
Would I buy a Box: 2/5
Total: 38/50

Terry1: Rating:
Flavor and Taste: 15/20
Construction: 10/10
Wrapper: 5/5
Price Point: 6/10
Would I buy a Box: 3/5
Total: 39/50


Oct 9 2012, 7:36 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: My Romeo has pleasant sweet and cedary smell. Really smells aged. Draw is a little tight prior to lighting. It’s a big cigar, hope it burns well!
Oct 9 2012, 7:36 PM
IamDarren: which Romeo is it guys? im having trouble finding it since i re-organized everything
Oct 9 2012, 7:36 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: It has a gold and red label with roMEo scattered across it.
Oct 9 2012, 7:39 PM
IamDarren: is it the big sucker
Oct 9 2012, 7:39 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: Oh yeah.
Oct 9 2012, 7:39 PM
Terry1: Mine has what I call that classic barnyard aroma. Smells well aged and fermented. My draw is on the snug side as well. Lots of tobacco packed into this one.
Oct 9 2012, 7:41 PM
IamDarren: lol, my first week back and you make me smoke a tobacco log… At least i only had to walk 5 feet to get it. Headed outside now.
Oct 9 2012, 7:41 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: These are samples straight from the factory. They’re really pushing these suckers, I see them all over in the cigar stores.
Oct 9 2012, 7:42 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: Like you haven’t been smoking cigars for the last 2 weeks Darren, what a crock
Oct 9 2012, 7:45 PM
IamDarren: honestly i have probably smoked 4 cigars in the last 2 weeks
Oct 9 2012, 7:46 PM
IamDarren: im getting a little earth and barnyard smell from the wrapper and some cedar on the cold draw. Ready to go.
Oct 9 2012, 7:47 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: Lighting up too
Oct 9 2012, 7:49 PM
Terry1: Make sure your lighter’s full before lighting this one up. It took me some time to get an even burn.
Oct 9 2012, 7:49 PM
IamDarren: got a little bitterness at first but it seems to be mellowing out quite nicely. Good amount of smoke.
Oct 9 2012, 7:49 PM
IamDarren: Im using a propane torch so im good
Oct 9 2012, 7:50 PM
IamDarren: very interesting, im getting a blend of cream and pepper right up front. Thats something new.
Oct 9 2012, 7:51 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: Nice sweet cedar and cream to start. Pretty smooth smoking at this point. Mild bodied.
Oct 9 2012, 7:52 PM
Terry1: Nice amount of smoke. Very flavorful. I’m getting the sweet cedar too.
Oct 9 2012, 7:58 PM
IamDarren: this cigar is treating me pretty well for such a large ring gauge. The flavors of cream, cedar, and pepper are mixing very well and the draw is perfect.
Oct 9 2012, 7:59 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: My draw has worked out well. It being fairly tight keeps this large RG cigar from burning too fast. Great flavor.
Oct 9 2012, 8:04 PM
Terry1: I’m liking this cigar more than I thought I would. Simple flavors but I’m liking them. Starting to get a mild spice in the retrohale.
Oct 9 2012, 8:06 PM
IamDarren: same here, decent flavors for a milder cigar. And one thing i haven’t mentioned, the ash looks great and is holding strong.
Oct 9 2012, 8:06 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: Yep same as you guys. This one is really shaping up to be a good one. A little spice is creeping in and I am noticing the pepper Darren mentioned more.
Oct 9 2012, 8:09 PM
IamDarren: decided to go ahead and tap the ash off and i have a pointy cherry. I guess the center isn’t burning quite as fast as the wrapper.
Oct 9 2012, 8:11 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: I noticed that too. I haven’t checked it out yet, but I’m guessing this one is mostly (or all) Dominican tobaccos. There’s a lot of it in there too with the way this one is burning slow!
Oct 9 2012, 8:13 PM
Terry1: Same here. Burn is doing really well. My wrapper is showing a crack right about half way. Not affecting the cigar yet but I’m watching.
Oct 9 2012, 8:13 PM
IamDarren: yeah its definitely not getting spongy like alot of other big RG cigars do when you burn into them.
Oct 9 2012, 8:17 PM
IamDarren: wrapper: Ecuadorian Habano, Filler: Dominican Piloto and Olor
Oct 9 2012, 8:18 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: I’m in the second third now. My burn is still good and I only have one tiny crack right by the burn line. Hope it holds up!
Oct 9 2012, 8:19 PM
IamDarren: no cracks here, and a perfect burn line. However, the ash just dropped off at only 1/2 inch so be careful.
Oct 9 2012, 8:21 PM
IamDarren: Terry, did you get a chance to check out the Cult. They are priced high but it looks like one you would probably enjoy.
Oct 9 2012, 8:22 PM
IamDarren: I would say that I just crossed the halfway point. The pepper seems to have actually faded a bit and has been replaced with more sweetness.
Oct 9 2012, 8:23 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: Mine is mellowing too. Picking up on a fruity acidity.
Oct 9 2012, 8:24 PM
Terry1: I haven’t heard of the Cult. The pepper on mine was building until I neared the halfway point and now it’s gone.
Oct 9 2012, 8:24 PM
IamDarren: http://www.cigar.com/cigars/viewCigar.asp?brand=1325
Oct 9 2012, 8:26 PM
IamDarren: there was a box pressed version on the daily deal the other day that were going for 3.50 a sick on a 10 pack. I was very tempted.
Oct 9 2012, 8:26 PM
Terry1: Yeah that does sound good. Cool looking box!
Oct 9 2012, 8:27 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: Very cool. For some reason the story smells fishy to me I think they embelish a little.
Oct 9 2012, 8:27 PM
IamDarren: lol, yeah im wondering what “small factory” they are talking about.
Oct 9 2012, 8:28 PM
IamDarren: kinda like Black Crown, they won’t tell you where they are made.
Oct 9 2012, 8:29 PM
IamDarren: nevermind, they must have updated the info. The Black Crown is made at Raices Cubanas factory.
Oct 9 2012, 8:30 PM
Terry1: I’m getting the pepper again along with the sweetness. I’m also starting to feel some of the strength. This may not be as mild as I first thought.
Oct 9 2012, 8:31 PM
IamDarren: mine has only mellowed a bit. Im kinda hoping it does change a little in the last third. After smoking for almost an hour im getting a tad bit bored.
Oct 9 2012, 8:31 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: Yeah, while mine is just mild/medium bodied, the tobacco is strong. Definitely a nic kick to it.
Oct 9 2012, 8:32 PM
IamDarren: watch the band, its stuck on pretty good.
Oct 9 2012, 8:33 PM
Terry1: I slid mine off the end.
Oct 9 2012, 8:37 PM
IamDarren: i agree, i think the strength is starting to build on my stick as i approach the last third.
Oct 9 2012, 8:37 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: It is on good! I’m off for a bathroom break (this is a big cigar!) be back in a min
Oct 9 2012, 8:38 PM
IamDarren: i will save a seat for ya
Oct 9 2012, 8:39 PM
IamDarren: wow, i just looked up the price of the Padilla Habano. I bought a box a few years ago when they were introduced for like 50 bucks. The price has tripled since then.
Oct 9 2012, 8:40 PM
Terry1: Yeah I think cheap Padillas are a thing of the past.
Oct 9 2012, 8:41 PM
IamDarren: I think once everyone found out that AJ made them it shot up.
Oct 9 2012, 8:41 PM
Terry1: I’m switching from water to a soda or I’m not going to make it.
Oct 9 2012, 8:43 PM
IamDarren: lol, i just start with soda. I think i have done it for so long that i can differentiate the flavor that it adds. Mostly sweetness. I like it cause cola seems to cleanse the palate a lot more than water. I hate that toasty/cottonmouth i get after smoking awhile with water.
Oct 9 2012, 8:43 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: I’m back. Got that band off finally. I haven’t given up hope on this cigar, but this may be another case of it being too big for its own good. The flavors of the first half were awesome! Right now it is blah.
Oct 9 2012, 8:45 PM
IamDarren: Mine has strengthened a bit, definitely getting some spice now especially on the retrohale. Its giving it a slight acidity that i don’t really care for.
Oct 9 2012, 8:45 PM
Terry1: Yeah for all the strength it’s not translating into flavor. I’m just getting a cedar note now.
Oct 9 2012, 8:46 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: Mine has atleast transformed into a charred cedar flavor, which is fairly tasty. That acidity is not as pleasant as it was 20 minutes ago, though.
Oct 9 2012, 8:47 PM
IamDarren: glad I wore a decent coat. This week has been freakin cold. I think we have had frost for 3 nights in a row.
Oct 9 2012, 8:47 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: Same here. I think out tomoato plants are about toast.
Oct 9 2012, 8:48 PM
IamDarren: I hate to say it but the acidity is starting to make me think there might be some tar buildup. With this large of a smoke its bound to happen.
Oct 9 2012, 8:49 PM
IamDarren: yeah, i blew some air through it and then took a draw and it improved… thats a pretty good sign.
Oct 9 2012, 8:51 PM
Terry1: Mine is still smoking pretty good. Flavors are mild and I’m not getting any harshness, yet. I did have to do a minor burn correction when I reach where it was cracked.
Oct 9 2012, 8:52 PM
IamDarren: the last few puffs since i purged have been better. The sweet cedar came back and the acidity has backed off a little.
Oct 9 2012, 8:54 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: I just purged as well. Good call, definite improvement.
Oct 9 2012, 8:54 PM
IamDarren: just my 2 cents but i think the cigar companies are pushing these large RG cigars because they have a better profit margin. It cost so much per cigar whether its big or small because of the rolling process and they charge a lot more for the big RGs.
Oct 9 2012, 8:56 PM
Terry1: Damn I just ashed myself. As packed as this cigar is the ash sure drops off easily.
Oct 9 2012, 8:59 PM
IamDarren: Bitterness is coming back again and i have almost an inch left to go. I think i may call it quits soon.
Oct 9 2012, 9:02 PM
Terry1: That’s too bad. Mine is still giving a mild sweet cedar flavor. I am getting a little bored with it. A shorter size would be better.
Oct 9 2012, 9:03 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: Yeah, I hear ya guys. Not sure why they push these large RG’s. They really put a damper on an otherwise great cigar.
Oct 9 2012, 9:07 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: I must say, I don’t think these are the “new age” RYJ’s they are billed as, rather more of an homage to a legendary line of cigars. Solid and pleasant flavor from a well constructed cigar… atleast for the first half before the 56 RG kicked in.
Oct 9 2012, 9:09 PM
IamDarren: It smokes fairly slow so I think a smaller RG would really improve the whole experience.
Oct 9 2012, 9:10 PM
Terry1: Are you guys smoking the churchill? Because I think I have the toro. Maybe the reason I’m not getting the bitterness,
Oct 9 2012, 9:12 PM
IamDarren: ? i dunno, were they all the same size Matt?
Oct 9 2012, 9:13 PM
Terry1: The toro is 6 by 54. Still big but not as big as the churchill size at 56.
Oct 9 2012, 9:14 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: They are all toro. 6×54 sounds right. I may have exaggerated with the 56 RG thing
Oct 9 2012, 9:19 PM
IamDarren: there is no way mine was a 54 RG, im gonna find a ruler
Oct 9 2012, 9:19 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: Uh, here he goes…
Oct 9 2012, 9:21 PM
Terry1: I’m getting towards the end and it’s getting hot so I’m setting mine down.
Oct 9 2012, 9:22 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: Yeah I set mine down a couple minutes ago. Ready to rate them?
Oct 9 2012, 9:22 PM
Terry1: Yeah, let’s rate it.
Oct 9 2012, 9:27 PM
IamDarren: Even though it seems like a low rating, if it were a different vitola i would definitely recommend this to a new cigar smoker that wanted a good mild/medium smoke.
Oct 9 2012, 9:27 PM
Terry1: I got another one of these in the Festival packet. I’m thinking I’ll smoke the first half then pitch the rest.
Oct 9 2012, 9:28 PM
IamDarren: lol
Oct 9 2012, 9:29 PM
IamDarren: the first 2/3 lasts for about an hour so its really not a loss.
Oct 9 2012, 9:29 PM
Terry1: Yeah this was a slow burner.
Oct 9 2012, 9:29 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: Lol! I hear ya guys. The first half was a big factor in my ratings. Sick of the large RGs!
Oct 9 2012, 9:31 PM
IamDarren: some smoke better than others. The Diesel Unholy Cocktail is a 5×56 and i don’t mind the RG on that one so it depends on the blend and smoke time i think.
Oct 9 2012, 9:32 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: Agreed. I think the length of 5 makes a big difference too. The Nubs smoke well and some of those a 60+ RG.


Related posts:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This blog is kept spam free by WP-SpamFree.