Ramon Bueso Odyssey Connecticut – Cigar Review

This week’s group review is of the Ramon Bueso Odyssey with Connecticut wrapper.  The golden brown wrapper has a sweet tobacco smell and the draw is just about perfect after cutting.  Once lit up, it has a sweet and creamy flavor with a lot of pepper and spice.  We were surprised how peppery this one is.  Later it developed into a sweet nutty and fruity flavor while retaining the pepper and spice.  Along with the bold flavors, it also was a high strength cigar that gave us a good buzz.  Overall, this cigar packed a ton of well-balanced flavor and the construction was good.  It is fairly strong, so don’t have this one on an empty stomach.  We loved it and hope you give it a try.

StraightUpCigars: Rating:
Flavor and Taste: 18/20
Construction: 9/10
Wrapper: 5/5
Price Point: 9/10
Would I buy a Box: 5/5
Total: 46/50

Terry1: Rating:
Flavor and Taste: 16/20
Construction: 10/10
Wrapper: 5/5
Price Point: 9/10
Would I buy a Box: 4/5
Total: 44/50

IamDarren: Rating:
Flavor and Taste: 17/20
Construction: 10/10
Wrapper: 5/5
Price Point: 9/10
Would I buy a Box: 5/5
Total: 46/50


Jul 2 2013, 7:47 PM
StraightUpCigars: I’m all set up here. Love the golden Connecticut wrapper. It has a super sweet tobacco smell. Good draw after cutting. I’m liking what I’m seeing so far.
Jul 2 2013, 7:51 PM
IamDarren: Yeah i really like the Connie wrapper on this one. Its not too light and has very minimal veins.
Jul 2 2013, 7:52 PM
IamDarren: semi-sweet and nutty on the cold draw
Jul 2 2013, 7:52 PM
Terry1: I agree Matt. Nice looking cigar. Mine has a perfect draw with a slightly sweet tobacco note. I’m ready to light up.
Jul 2 2013, 7:52 PM
IamDarren: ok, here comes the fire
Jul 2 2013, 7:54 PM
StraightUpCigars: Lighting up!
Jul 2 2013, 7:55 PM
Terry1: Nice start. Creamy, some sweetness, nutty and some spice in the sinus. Medium bodied.
Jul 2 2013, 7:57 PM
StraightUpCigars: Mine has way more pepper than I anticipated. Creamy with pepper and spice on the finish.
[Delete]
Jul 2 2013, 7:57 PM
IamDarren: yeah, good amount of spice kick from this stick. And just enough pepper and sweetness to compliment one another.
Jul 2 2013, 7:59 PM
Terry1: Yeah, the first couple of puffs I didn’t get much pepper. After a couple of minutes the pepper has become more pronounced. But there is enough sweetness to tone down the pepper burn. I’m liking it.
Jul 2 2013, 8:00 PM
StraightUpCigars: Totally agree with both of you. Nice start.
Jul 2 2013, 8:00 PM
IamDarren: great burn, good amount of smoke, going well so far.
Jul 2 2013, 8:01 PM
IamDarren: one thing is for sure, this is NOT your typical Connie cigar. Im glad blenders are finally pairing the wrapper with a fuller bodied filler.
Jul 2 2013, 8:03 PM
IamDarren: seems to be slightly on the acidic side if you smoke it fast
Jul 2 2013, 8:04 PM
Terry1: Careful with the ash. Mine fell off at half an inch.
Jul 2 2013, 8:06 PM
IamDarren: sweetness is coming through a little better now. It tastes light and fruity like nectar maybe. Still a bit of pepper in the sinus.
Jul 2 2013, 8:06 PM
Terry1: This cigar seems to get sweeter when I smoke slower.
Jul 2 2013, 8:06 PM
StraightUpCigars: Between the dry smoke and pepper, this is giving me the hickups!
Jul 2 2013, 8:06 PM
Terry1: LOL, that’s new!
Jul 2 2013, 8:06 PM
IamDarren: speed smoker
Jul 2 2013, 8:08 PM
IamDarren: some info
Jul 2 2013, 8:09 PM
IamDarren: Ramon Bueso utilizes a beautiful Connecticut wrapper grown in Honduras; a wrapper that the makers of La Gloria Cubana have also had their sights on. This wrapper conceals a binder from Jamastran and a thoroughly complex blend of long leaves from the best regions of Honduras, Nicaragua, and the Dominican Republic.
Jul 2 2013, 8:09 PM
IamDarren: this is the Toro, retail is 7.50
Jul 2 2013, 8:11 PM
StraightUpCigars: Big bursts of sweetness in the last puffs!
Jul 2 2013, 8:12 PM
IamDarren: i agree, mine seems to switch back and forth every few puffs. A couple will be sweet and then the pepper will come back again.
Jul 2 2013, 8:12 PM
IamDarren: definitely complex
Jul 2 2013, 8:12 PM
Terry1: I have to second Matt on the dryness. Mine is doing the same, pepper-sweet. I’m nearing the end of the first third. Burn in near perfect.
Jul 2 2013, 8:14 PM
Terry1: I like it much better when it goes sweet. I get a nice nutty note with it. The pepper is a bit strong when it shows up.
Jul 2 2013, 8:14 PM
IamDarren: mine isn’t that bad but im drinking Pepsi so every time i take a sip my palate is refreshed.
Jul 2 2013, 8:15 PM
IamDarren: agree on the nutty flavor. Mine is a spice and nuts combination followed by a little pepper on the finish.
Jul 2 2013, 8:16 PM
StraightUpCigars: Don’t forget the sweetness
Jul 2 2013, 8:16 PM
IamDarren: lol, i know… too many flavors to describe very well
Jul 2 2013, 8:17 PM
IamDarren: it is a bit on the dry side but i really like the flavor combo. Sorta reminds me of a good Habano cigar only toned down a bit.
Jul 2 2013, 8:19 PM
IamDarren: and I Love the retrohale!
Jul 2 2013, 8:23 PM
StraightUpCigars: Yeah, this one is going well. Perfect construction and good flavors so far. The dry smoke isn’t my favorite, but that should improve.
Jul 2 2013, 8:24 PM
Terry1: I was thinking this would be a milder cigar but I’m only half way and I’m starting to feel the strength already. How about you guys? Am I just a whimp tonight?
Jul 2 2013, 8:25 PM
IamDarren: yeah im starting to salivate which usually means its got some strength to it. Although, mine seems to have mellowed just a little in the last half inch.
Jul 2 2013, 8:26 PM
IamDarren: almost to the halfway mark too
Jul 2 2013, 8:27 PM
IamDarren: i can’t place it but something herbal is coming through now and replacing the nuttyness.
Jul 2 2013, 8:29 PM
StraightUpCigars: Yeah, I think it has some strength, it sent me to the bathroom
Jul 2 2013, 8:30 PM
IamDarren: lol, are you feeling ok tonight?
Jul 2 2013, 8:30 PM
StraightUpCigars: I’m great now! A couple of pounds lighter.
Jul 2 2013, 8:32 PM
IamDarren: i have been on tractor rations for the last couple weeks. You don’t have time to get out and go #2 when you are in the middle of the wheat field. I have probable lost at least 5 pounds.
Jul 2 2013, 8:32 PM
StraightUpCigars: You’d think they have built in bathrooms by now.
Jul 2 2013, 8:33 PM
Terry1: Yeah it’s called a shovel and hole.
Jul 2 2013, 8:34 PM
IamDarren: there ya go. And if you forget to grab some tp or rags you have to wipe with whatever you can find….
Jul 2 2013, 8:35 PM
StraightUpCigars: I wiped with something that had touched poison ivy on a camping trip many moons ago. Not a fun next week.
Jul 2 2013, 8:35 PM
Terry1: This discussion just took a wrong turn.
Jul 2 2013, 8:35 PM
IamDarren: just dropped my second ash and i can definitely feel the strength building.
Jul 2 2013, 8:36 PM
StraightUpCigars: Good call Darren. Yep, good cigar.
Jul 2 2013, 8:37 PM
Terry1: I’m nearing the final third. The sweetness is all but gone on mine. I’m getting that acidic herbal note Darren mentioned and the pepper.
Jul 2 2013, 8:38 PM
IamDarren: wow, have you already removed the band? I still have an inch to go before i get to it.
Jul 2 2013, 8:39 PM
Terry1: Yeah I took the band off. Came off cleanly.
Jul 2 2013, 8:39 PM
IamDarren: the pepper is starting to tickle my throat. Still getting some sweetness, herbs, and spice.
Jul 2 2013, 8:39 PM
Terry1: Maybe that’s why the sweetness is gone. I’m smoking too fast.
Jul 2 2013, 8:41 PM
IamDarren: hey Terry, do you ever have time to smoke a cigar after lunch?
Jul 2 2013, 8:42 PM
Terry1: I do and I do have one in the afternoon once in awhile.
Jul 2 2013, 8:43 PM
IamDarren: I think i want you do review the Don Sixto. With so many cigars in the review pile i thought it might be fun to let you and Matt each review one of my sticks. I had one the other day after lunch and it was pretty good.
Jul 2 2013, 8:45 PM
StraightUpCigars: Of course I’m up for it!
Jul 2 2013, 8:45 PM
IamDarren: Matt you can pick one of the Maddys. I was thinking either the Undercrown, Tempus Maduro, or the Asylum.
Jul 2 2013, 8:46 PM
Terry1: We do have a lot of review sticks now. I usually don’t review a single cigar but I would be willing to try it.
Jul 2 2013, 8:47 PM
IamDarren: To be honest I liked it enough to consider buying a box. So I wanted to get your thoughts.
Jul 2 2013, 8:47 PM
StraightUpCigars: I’m leaning towards the Tempus for some reason.
Jul 2 2013, 8:48 PM
IamDarren: Earlier I was thinking about sending out the Tempus as an unbanded review because it tasted a lot different from the original. That would be fine with me if you review that one.
Jul 2 2013, 8:49 PM
Terry1: I’ve been smoking slower in the last third and the flavors have come back to what they were before. Sweetness, nutty and some pepper. I must have been heating up the cigar too much and getting some tar.
Jul 2 2013, 8:49 PM
IamDarren: just removed my band, came off easily. Flavor is about the same. As long as I smoke it slowly the sweetness comes through. Im just crossing into the last third.
Jul 2 2013, 8:52 PM
IamDarren: burn has been pretty good. It got lopsided at one point but self-corrected.
Jul 2 2013, 8:52 PM
StraightUpCigars: Mine is sweet, nutty, and fruity with a little spice. Pretty darn good.
Jul 2 2013, 8:54 PM
Terry1: The strength seems to have leveled off too. I’m not noticing it as much as before.
Jul 2 2013, 8:56 PM
IamDarren: i think its just hiding. Im feeling very relaxed and starting to get the burps. Must be some nicotine in there.
Jul 2 2013, 8:57 PM
StraightUpCigars: I think we are just getting used to it.
Jul 2 2013, 8:57 PM
Terry1: I think you’re both right.
Jul 2 2013, 9:02 PM
Terry1: I’m getting close to the end. Good cigar. Nice flavors and no construction issues. I think Ramon Bueso is two for two now. He may be a blender to watch for.
Jul 2 2013, 9:03 PM
IamDarren: agreed, i think it is a very bold approach to a connie cigar that works very well.
Jul 2 2013, 9:04 PM
IamDarren: im in the last inch and it is heating up a bit. Having to smoke it very slow at this point.
Jul 2 2013, 9:05 PM
StraightUpCigars: Same here, enjoying the final third. Great pick!
Jul 2 2013, 9:06 PM
IamDarren: like Terry said, as good as the Genesis was I figured i couldn’t go wrong with this one. I went out on a limb and got a box. So if either of you want more just let me know.
Jul 2 2013, 9:07 PM
IamDarren: With all the flavor and strength i think this one might age very well too
Jul 2 2013, 9:08 PM
StraightUpCigars: Mine was starting to tunnel a bit, so I relit the edges and… amazing flavor! Very well balanced with the sweetness and spice.
Jul 2 2013, 9:09 PM
IamDarren: if this had a different wrapper it might be overpowering but you can really taste all the flavors and complexities with the milder wrapper.
Jul 2 2013, 9:11 PM
StraightUpCigars: You guys just let me know when you’re ready to rate, mine has a little bit to go.
Jul 2 2013, 9:11 PM
IamDarren: i am ready. not much left
Jul 2 2013, 9:11 PM
Terry1: I’m done with mine. I can rate when you are ready.
Jul 2 2013, 9:18 PM
StraightUpCigars: Nice scores!
Jul 2 2013, 9:18 PM
IamDarren: well glad we could get together and smoke another great cigar before the 4th. Im hoping to get several cigars in this week. Have to make up for lost time
Jul 2 2013, 9:19 PM
StraightUpCigars: This one packed a ton of flavor and was very well balanced. A couple of burn touchups from me, hence the 9/10 construction. Great cigar, and well worth the price!


Related posts:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This blog is kept spam free by WP-SpamFree.