Punch Bareknuckle – Cigar Review

This week’s group review is of the Punch Bareknuckle cigar.  This one has made somewhat of a splash since its release, so we are looking forward to giving it a try.  Prior to lighting the torpedo shaped cigar smelled like cocoa and it had a great draw.  Once we lit it up, we were immediately hit with a ton of pepper flavor.  Now, we have smoked peppery cigars, but this one is on a whole different level.  There was a very faint sweetness that crept in and back out of the flavor profile, but for the most part this cigar is all pepper.  The construction was good on all three of our sticks.  Overall, the Bareknuckle is a very full bodied and flavorful cigar, but is also one dimensional and lacks complexity.  This cigar is not for the faint of heart, it really is a bareknuckle punch to the sinuses.  We all agreed that it was worth trying, but this isn’t one we are going to go out of our way to buy again.

StraightUpCigars – Matt: Rating:
Flavor and Taste: 18/20
Construction: 9/10
Wrapper: 5/5
Price Point: 9/10
Would I buy a Box: 2/5
Total: 43/50

IamDarren: Rating:
Flavor and Taste: 17/20
Construction: 9/10
Wrapper: 5/5
Price Point: 8/10
Would I buy a Box: 2/5
Total: 41/50

Terry1: Rating:
Flavor and Taste: 16/20
Construction: 9/10
Wrapper: 5/5
Price Point: 9/10
Would I buy a Box: 1/5
Total: 40/50


Dec 4 2012, 7:30 PM
IamDarren: maybe its just me but the foot smells like cocoa powder…
Dec 4 2012, 7:31 PM
IamDarren: im even getting cocoa on the cold draw
Dec 4 2012, 7:33 PM
IamDarren: very solid construction on my stick with a nice medium draw
Dec 4 2012, 7:35 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: Definitely a cocoa smell to the wrapper and nice looking wrapper leaf too. I am getting some spice on the cold draw. Draw is good after a shallow cut. I’m ready when you guys are!
Dec 4 2012, 7:36 PM
IamDarren: im ready if Terry is
Dec 4 2012, 7:36 PM
Terry1: Nice looking oily dark wrapper. Clipped the end and the draw has the right resistance. I taste a slightly sweet cocoa on the cold draw. Let’s light up.
Dec 4 2012, 7:39 PM
IamDarren: wow, not what i expected after the cocoa on the cold draw. Lots of spice and pepper up front with a slightly sweet and creamy finish. Also getting a hint of coffee on the finish i think.
Dec 4 2012, 7:40 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: First couple of puffs were mute, but now the pepper has kicked in hard! It is earthy and peppery with a hint of sweetness. Finish is all pepper and spice for me.
Dec 4 2012, 7:40 PM
Terry1: I agree. I’m getting a pepper punch to start with and a bitter black coffee on the finish. Plenty of smoke output.
Dec 4 2012, 7:41 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: Man this thing has a lot of pepper, it is tingling my sinuses.
Dec 4 2012, 7:42 PM
IamDarren: definitely full bodied at the start!
Dec 4 2012, 7:42 PM
IamDarren: the sweetness is starting to inch its way in though and I am getting a cocoa or chocolate note on the finish now.
Dec 4 2012, 7:44 PM
IamDarren: the pepper can really take over and cover it up especially when you retrohale
Dec 4 2012, 7:44 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: I’m not even going to try retrohaling, every puff I take feels like I did retrohale!
Dec 4 2012, 7:44 PM
IamDarren: pussy
Dec 4 2012, 7:44 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: This cigar makes me feel like a pussy!
Dec 4 2012, 7:45 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: Ridden hard and put away wet…
Dec 4 2012, 7:45 PM
IamDarren: when i get the cocoa flavor on the end it is very satisfying, honestly im liking it a lot
Dec 4 2012, 7:46 PM
IamDarren: are you alive over there Terry?!?
Dec 4 2012, 7:47 PM
Terry1: LOL. Yeah, I’m trying to figure out what I’m tasting. Just breathing the smoke in the room is making my nose tingle. I’ll pass on the retrohale. I do get a slight sweetness and the cocoa.
Dec 4 2012, 7:48 PM
IamDarren: burn is going great, about a half inch in and the ash is tight and the burn line is razor sharp.
Dec 4 2012, 7:49 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: This thing is kicking my ass, I hope it takes it down a notch! I need a better ventilated smoking room…
Dec 4 2012, 7:49 PM
IamDarren: keep it comin!
Dec 4 2012, 7:49 PM
Terry1: Mine is burning good but the ash is loose for me. It fell off when I set the cigar down.
Dec 4 2012, 7:51 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: If you are loving this you should join a fight club or something Darren. My first ash already dropped too Terry.
Dec 4 2012, 7:51 PM
Terry1: I’m thinking I’ll have to open a Coke before we get to the end.
Dec 4 2012, 7:52 PM
IamDarren: since the pepper is mostly up front its not coming off harsh at all for me. It just smacks your palate and then quickly backs off and leaves just enough sweetness to cleanse the palate for the next puff. I like a good firecracker stick from time to time. Definitely clears out the sinuses.
Dec 4 2012, 7:53 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: Yeah, sticking a firecracker in your nose clears your sinuses too, but we don’t do that.
Dec 4 2012, 7:54 PM
Terry1: I get some nice flavors whenever that pepper subsides. If I smoke slow I find the pepper calms down a little. I detect a sweet cedar and the coffee.
Dec 4 2012, 7:54 PM
IamDarren: ash just dropped off at an inch
Dec 4 2012, 7:55 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: I am now getting some of that coffee you guys mentioned in the beginning.
Dec 4 2012, 7:56 PM
Terry1: My draw is starting to close on this belicoso. I’m going to try clipping more off.
Dec 4 2012, 7:56 PM
Terry1: Much better but if it happens again I don’t have much left to clip.
Dec 4 2012, 7:57 PM
IamDarren: i have to say that the pepper is really unique to this cigar because you would think it would leave a dry aftertaste but infact it almost switches to a citrus tang right before the coffee comes in.
Dec 4 2012, 7:58 PM
Terry1: You say it and I taste it now. Power of suggestion?
Dec 4 2012, 8:01 PM
IamDarren: as i get to the halfway mark i think the pepper is actually subsiding a bit, maybe the citrus has been there i just haven’t tasted it until now.
Dec 4 2012, 8:01 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: Yeah, the pepper has given way a bit, but still the predominant flavor.
Dec 4 2012, 8:03 PM
Terry1: I’m about halfway and I’m getting almost a jalapeno pepper heat in my mouth. Not unpleasant yet but it could be if it keeps up.
Dec 4 2012, 8:04 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: Nice straight burn line, but man that ash falls off quick!
Dec 4 2012, 8:04 PM
IamDarren: my second ash is still holding strong, no complaints here.
Dec 4 2012, 8:05 PM
Terry1: Mine is loose. It drops off at about half an inch.
Dec 4 2012, 8:06 PM
Terry1: I don’t remember having a cigar with this much pepper spice. I retrohaled once and now my nose is running, my lips are tingling and my mouth is on fire. Where’s the chips and salsa?
Dec 4 2012, 8:07 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: I can’t think of one either. This makes DPG’s seem like a cake walk.
Dec 4 2012, 8:09 PM
IamDarren: i still think this one i blended quite well for a peppery stick. Most DPG sticks leave a dry charred flavor in your mouth after all the pepper and this one doesn’t. So basically, if you like a peppery stick this is the ticket.
Dec 4 2012, 8:10 PM
IamDarren: just dropped the second ash going into the last third
Dec 4 2012, 8:11 PM
Terry1: This isn’t really my flavor profile but I am enjoying this journey but it’s not one I’d take too often.
Dec 4 2012, 8:12 PM
Terry1: And I’d agree, if you like peppery sticks this one is pretty good.
Dec 4 2012, 8:12 PM
IamDarren: im wondering if they came out with the Uppercut thinking it would satisfy the full bodied fans and it didn’t live up to its name so they release this stick.
Dec 4 2012, 8:12 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: I’m with you Terry. This one is very unique and I’ll be glad to say I finished one. I just don’t think this caters to many smokers, it is just too extreme.
Dec 4 2012, 8:14 PM
IamDarren: whew!! pepper seems to be ramping back up in the last third. That retrohale just made me sneeze.
Dec 4 2012, 8:15 PM
IamDarren: for those of you out there who have gotten a nasty cold and are stuffed up…. this cigar paired with some peppermint schnapps should clear you right up!
Dec 4 2012, 8:15 PM
Terry1: I’m into the final third and now I’m starting to feel this stick. I got further than I thought I would with how this started. Time for some sugar.
Dec 4 2012, 8:16 PM
Terry1: I will say it’s keeping me warm. Good cold weather stick. It’s like a good shot of whiskey.
Dec 4 2012, 8:17 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: I had this one with a whiskey/coke and I am swimming. Plus, my eyes are watering and nose is running. Bring this one to the bar and you will be sitting by yourself in no time!
Dec 4 2012, 8:17 PM
Terry1: LOL that’s a good visual.
Dec 4 2012, 8:19 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: I think I am a sad case right now
Dec 4 2012, 8:19 PM
IamDarren: At this point all im getting is jalapeno pepper. The sweetness is gone and a slightly bitter finish has replaced it.
Dec 4 2012, 8:21 PM
IamDarren: how many cigars a week are you smoking now Matt? I find that if i don’t smoke at least three a week the stronger cigars seem a lot stronger than normal.
Dec 4 2012, 8:22 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: 2/week average this time a year. I am really only finding time to smoke on eon the weekends.
Dec 4 2012, 8:22 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: I am getting a lot of charred flavor, you name it, if it’s charred and bitter I am tasting it. Charred oak, charred coffee, charred char.
Dec 4 2012, 8:23 PM
IamDarren: lol dang that sucks
Dec 4 2012, 8:23 PM
IamDarren: mine has lots of pepper but no char yet
Dec 4 2012, 8:24 PM
Terry1: I’m not getting the char either. Just lots of pepper.
Dec 4 2012, 8:24 PM
IamDarren: so i probably shouldn’t try to get any of the Diesel Wicked…. They sound like a pepper bomb
Dec 4 2012, 8:25 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: I don’t know that it sucks. I really don’t know how I feel about this cigar. I like it because it is one of the more unique cigars we have reviewed, but I hate it because it is so one dimensional.
Dec 4 2012, 8:25 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: Pepper bombs aren’t bad, look back on my DPG reviews, I can enjoy them. This one is different, it is a pepper nuke!
Dec 4 2012, 8:27 PM
IamDarren: i think you should smoke one of the stronger DPG sticks tomorrow and tell me if its how you remember. I would be willing to bet that you find it is almost as strong as this one.
Dec 4 2012, 8:28 PM
IamDarren: but i could be wrong, that does happen on occation
Dec 4 2012, 8:29 PM
IamDarren: i am outside too and don’t have to constantly inhale the resting smoke
Dec 4 2012, 8:29 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: You may be right, but I don’t think so I am convinced this is the pepper bomb to end all pepper bombs. Somebody on puff said the Cu Avana Punisher is a beast.
Dec 4 2012, 8:30 PM
IamDarren: yeah i have heard that too
Dec 4 2012, 8:30 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: Being indoors could be a big factor, good call.
Dec 4 2012, 8:30 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: Has the soda helped Terry?
Dec 4 2012, 8:32 PM
Terry1: I’m inside too and the smoke is almost toxic. The soda has helped. The nicotine is under control but it doesn’t do much for the pepper.
Dec 4 2012, 8:33 PM
IamDarren: i will admit that this last half inch is kicking my A$$.
Dec 4 2012, 8:34 PM
IamDarren: and my damn dog ran by and bumped my drink off the table so im sipping the last little bit that didn’t spill.
Dec 4 2012, 8:34 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: That dog cracks me up, I loved when he ran by smelling like skunk, although I’m sure you did not find it as amusing
Dec 4 2012, 8:35 PM
IamDarren: yeah, and she loves to run up and rub on my leg which was not funny when i started smelling like skunk.
Dec 4 2012, 8:36 PM
Terry1: I’m setting mine down. I did nub it. Interesting cigar and I’d probably try it again if I happen to get one say in a sampler but I wouldn’t buy a bunch of them. Too much pepper for me.
Dec 4 2012, 8:37 PM
IamDarren: yeah im at the nub too and im surprised that the pepper didn’t stop me sooner but since it didn’t leave a dry burning sensation in my mouth i kept coming back for more.
Dec 4 2012, 8:39 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: I have a feeling this one stunk up the house. I’m going to get the wrath of Susie when I get upstairs and worse yet there will be two of her because I’m buzzing so hardQ
Dec 4 2012, 8:41 PM
IamDarren: lol, i didn’t get a big nic kick. Sorry bro
Dec 4 2012, 8:42 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: I wouldn’t have either if I wasn’t sitting in a room full of this habanero smoke.
Dec 4 2012, 8:43 PM
IamDarren: when i was smoking in the basement i got a cheap honeywell air purifier and kept it going all night. It helped a little.
Dec 4 2012, 8:43 PM
Terry1: Good cigar to smoke if you wanted some alone time.
Dec 4 2012, 8:44 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: Lol! I used to leave the fans running for a couple hours, but lately I just close up shop right away and the smell is gone in 2 days.
Dec 4 2012, 8:45 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: Ready for some numbers?
Dec 4 2012, 8:45 PM
Terry1: Let’s rate it.
Dec 4 2012, 8:46 PM
IamDarren: btw the price for this stick is 8 bucks
Dec 4 2012, 8:47 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: They have 5ers on CI for $28 right now, I’m going to go off of that price.
Dec 4 2012, 8:49 PM
IamDarren: wow Matt! still gave it an 18/20 for flavor
Dec 4 2012, 8:50 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: I am really glad I tried this one. It rocked my socks off, like the name implies. Completely unique in flavor, albeit one dimensional. I do not see myself buying a box, had this been the cigar for me it would have scored better.
Dec 4 2012, 8:50 PM
Terry1: Lot’s of flavor just dominated by that pepper. I kicked it down because of lack of complexity.
Dec 4 2012, 8:50 PM
IamDarren: so you like pepper, but you need other flavors to tame it down and add complexity
Dec 4 2012, 8:51 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: I like flavor, especially when it comes in droves like this cigar. I would have appreciated more complexity, but there was SO MUCH flavor to this one.
Dec 4 2012, 8:52 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: It was not really my cup of tea, so I chose to put the subjective part of the review into the “would I buy a box” category.
Dec 4 2012, 8:53 PM
Terry1: Definately a final cigar of the day type of cigar. It would overwhelm everything else you tried to smoke later.
Dec 4 2012, 8:53 PM
IamDarren: maybe if you smoked this one and a candy bar stick at the same time! that would be fun
Dec 4 2012, 8:55 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: Good point Terry, smoke this one at the beginning of a barbecue and your next cigar is hosed.


Related posts:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

Spam Protection by WP-SpamFree