Perdomo Patriarch – Cigar Review

This week’s group cigar review is of the Perdomo Patriarch.  This is a budget friendly premium from Perdomo.  The triple fermented maduro wrapper looks great and well aged.  It has a sweet raisin smell and the draw is perfect after cutting.  The bold flavor profile hits you right off the bat: charred oak, cocoa, coffee, pepper, and creamy were all used to describe the initial flavors.  It ended with sweet coffee and cream flavors and a spicy finish.  The construction was perfect on our review sticks.  It’s worth noting that this full bodied stick did have some strength to it, it would be best for seasoned cigar smokers.  Overall, this Perdomo has excellent flavor, great construction, and a very fair price.  We highly recommend it!
StraightUpCigars – Matt: Rating:
Flavor and Taste: 18/20
Construction: 10/10
Wrapper: 5/5
Price Point: 9/10
Would I buy a Box: 5/5
Total: 47/50

Terry1: Rating:
Flavor and Taste: 18/20
Construction: 10/10
Wrapper: 5/5
Price Point: 9/10
Would I buy a Box: 4/5
Total: 46/50

IamDarren:

Flavor and Taste: 18/20
Construction: 10/10
Wrapper: 5/5
Price Point: 10/10
Would I buy a Box: 5/5
Total: 48/50


Feb 26 2013, 7:37 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: This Perdomo has a really unusual sweet raisin smell. Real nice looking wrapper. Good draw after cutting. I think this may be a treat!
Feb 26 2013, 7:38 PM
IamDarren: lol, i see an extremely well aged wrapper, look at all those little specks! And I also really like the aroma on the wrapper. Gonna cut it.
Feb 26 2013, 7:40 PM
IamDarren: great draw, nice sweet creamy flavor. lighting up.
Feb 26 2013, 7:41 PM
Terry1: Cold draw is giving me the raisin Matt mentioned. Draw is a little snug. Rustic dark wrapper. Looks good to me. Lighting up.
Feb 26 2013, 7:43 PM
IamDarren: wow, already getting some charred oak and cocoa on the first couple puffs
Feb 26 2013, 7:45 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: Lit up easily and lots of smoke and flavor right off the bat…
Feb 26 2013, 7:47 PM
IamDarren: 1/4 inch in and some pepper is coming into play
Feb 26 2013, 7:48 PM
IamDarren: it took awhile to get mine lit but it has been producing clouds of smoke and good flavor.
Feb 26 2013, 7:48 PM
Terry1: First few puffs are giving me notes of pepper and the oak. Lots of creamy smoke for me.
Feb 26 2013, 7:49 PM
IamDarren: even quite a bit of resting smoke on mine
Feb 26 2013, 7:49 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: Jeez, real rich char flavor, some coffee and creamy flavor, and some pepper. I dig it so far.
Feb 26 2013, 7:50 PM
IamDarren: yeah im really liking the charred oak / sweet coffee flavor at this point. Very deep dark flavor.
Feb 26 2013, 7:53 PM
IamDarren: might be a quick burner, almost an inch in already.
Feb 26 2013, 7:53 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: I think you’re right. It is a pretty light weight cigar too, a lot of the Perdomos are.
Feb 26 2013, 7:56 PM
IamDarren: I have smoked a few of these already and they have all been good. This cigar is actually one of their more expensive sticks. The Patriarch line was created to honor Perdomo Sr. by Nick Perdomo Jr.
Feb 26 2013, 7:56 PM
Terry1: The pepper on mine is getting too strong. I’m hoping it mellows out some. Any other flavors that might be there are overwhelmed. The burn is straight thou.
Feb 26 2013, 7:57 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: No digging deep here. This stick is packing a very rich flavor profile for one that runs for $5 to $6 a single. This is the exact thing we are looking for on SUC, bang for your buck.
Feb 26 2013, 7:57 PM
IamDarren: im actually a big fan of Perdomo cigars. The Cabinet Oscuro is one of my favorites.
Feb 26 2013, 7:58 PM
IamDarren: going into the second third, just dropped the ash, and my pepper is mellowing out. Some more complexity coming through now.
Feb 26 2013, 7:59 PM
IamDarren: infact, the sweetness is really picking up and i can now taste a little raisin now.
Feb 26 2013, 7:59 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: Same here, I had a bit of bitterness creeping in for a minute, but it has all but faded at this point.
Feb 26 2013, 8:01 PM
Terry1: I like a lot of what Perdomo does. What I find interesting is how he puts three different wrappers on the same blend. Really shows how much the wrapper influences the cigar. Patriarch also comes in Connecticut and Corojo.
Feb 26 2013, 8:02 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: Good to know, so is this Oscuro or Maduro?
Feb 26 2013, 8:02 PM
IamDarren: Maduro. He also makes an Oscuro in another blend that CI sells. I get the Oscuros for under 3 a stick.
Feb 26 2013, 8:03 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: I am getting some SERIOUS sweetness in each puff at this point.
Feb 26 2013, 8:04 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: Unfortunately I’m nearing the halfway point already though.
Feb 26 2013, 8:04 PM
IamDarren: http://www.cigarsinternational.com/prodDisp.asp?item=CS-N2C&cat=3 they are pretty popular so they sell out quickly. I get them on the bid site.
[Perdomo Reserve Limited Oscuro Cigars – Cigars International]
Perdomo Reserve Limited Oscuro Cigars – Cigars International
Feb 26 2013, 8:05 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: I’ve had one of those, they are tasty. Perdomo as a brand is in my top 5 for bang for your buck.
Feb 26 2013, 8:06 PM
Terry1: You are way ahead of me. The pepper on mine has mellowed and now I’m getting more of the sweetness. Much better balance.
Feb 26 2013, 8:06 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: Have you tried a deeper cut or chewing it a bit Gary?
Feb 26 2013, 8:07 PM
IamDarren: tell you what Gary, I just got my cigarauctioneer shipment in. When i send out the review sticks I will send you another one. If you don’t like it after the first half inch you can trash it too.
Feb 26 2013, 8:07 PM
Terry1: I haven’t tried the Oscuro. I’ll have to pick some up on my next order.
Feb 26 2013, 8:07 PM
IamDarren: i just got another 10 pack Terry, i will send you one to try before you buy more.
Feb 26 2013, 8:08 PM
Terry1: Thanks I look forward to trying it.
Feb 26 2013, 8:09 PM
IamDarren: just crossed the halfway mark and im loving the flavor. A little charred oak but mostly super sweet coffee at this point.
Feb 26 2013, 8:09 PM
Terry1: It happens too frequently where one of us gets a bum stick.
Feb 26 2013, 8:10 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: Ever heard of this? http://www.cigarsinternational.com/proddisp.asp?item=CS-3JA&stext=perdomo
[Perdomo FRESCO Cigars – Cigars International]
Perdomo FRESCO Cigars – Cigars International
Feb 26 2013, 8:10 PM
IamDarren: i do wonder if the larger manufacturers have cut back on quality control to sell a cheaper product. Too bad.
Feb 26 2013, 8:10 PM
Terry1: I’m nearing the halfway point and I agree, the flavors are really good. Getting some meaty char, some sweetness, coffee.
Feb 26 2013, 8:12 PM
Terry1: I tried a Fresco in the Connecticut shade wrapper. Really bland. Wouldn’t try again. But it comes in maduro. May be better.
Feb 26 2013, 8:14 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: Good to know Terry. There’s a whole lot of new Perdomos I haven’t tried yet, I’ll have to add that maduro to the next order.
Feb 26 2013, 8:14 PM
IamDarren: acutally they just released a short filler cigar made from scraps of the Liga Privada line. Thought about trying one.
Feb 26 2013, 8:16 PM
Terry1: Last year I tried a Rocky Patel Nording that was supposed to mimick pipe tobacco. It was okay. Not one I’d smoke on a regular basis.
Feb 26 2013, 8:16 PM
IamDarren: well Gary looks like those Captain Black cigars have some good reviews. Maybe you should put together some sticks for us longfiller snobs to try out
Feb 26 2013, 8:17 PM
IamDarren: aproaching the last third the burn has slowed a bit. Great flavor. Its picking up a very buttery character that is nice.
Feb 26 2013, 8:17 PM
Terry1: Darren, are you referring to the Papa Fritas? I heard they were pretty good. Small but packed with flavor.
Feb 26 2013, 8:18 PM
IamDarren: yeah, i think they are only available in a corona size
Feb 26 2013, 8:21 PM
Terry1: I’m liking how the Patriarch is changing. Very creamy now with a nice sweetness and woody character. Burn and draw has been near perfect for me.
Feb 26 2013, 8:23 PM
IamDarren: one thing i might add. My humi has been at 60rh for the past couple weeks. I just haven’t taken the time to add water. I have a humi gauge in my home since i use a humidifier and the last couple weeks have acually been around 70rh with all the wet weather. Im wondering if letting a stick set out in this weather might acually be a bad thing.
Feb 26 2013, 8:24 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: That’s highly possible, it has been a moist couple of weeks. Humi’s work both ways.
Feb 26 2013, 8:26 PM
IamDarren: into the last third now. still a ton of super sweet smoke. Maybe a little less coffee now and more of a sweet cedar.
Feb 26 2013, 8:26 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: Yeah, mine is extremely sweet with coffee flavor and some pepper on the finish. Excellent final third.
Feb 26 2013, 8:27 PM
IamDarren: i have read on some forums where guys swear by having an old 50 to 100 count humi just for dry boxing. I have never tried it though.
Feb 26 2013, 8:28 PM
Terry1: Never had to worry about too much humidity here. If I dry boxed a cigar it would turn to dust.
Feb 26 2013, 8:29 PM
IamDarren: have you been missing out on all this weather?
Feb 26 2013, 8:29 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: Yeah, that is basically what I do. I have a 300 ct. upstairs that I keep at low humidity with my go to cigars in it and our review sticks.
Feb 26 2013, 8:30 PM
Terry1: Yeah. It’s been cold but the storms we’ve had have been wimpy. It’s supposed to be 50 degrees this weekend. Woohoo!
Feb 26 2013, 8:35 PM
Terry1: Well into the final third now and suddenly I’m feeling the nicotine. Crept up on me this time and bit me.
Feb 26 2013, 8:36 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: Yeah, this one has a bit of strength to it. I am quickly losing motivation to finish the review posting I’ve been working on in the background
Feb 26 2013, 8:36 PM
IamDarren: got about a half inch left on mine and im still lovin it. May have to burn my fingers a little on this one
Feb 26 2013, 8:37 PM
IamDarren: if i smoke it to the nub i may acutally get an hour out of this one. The first half was pretty fast but it has slowed down.
Feb 26 2013, 8:39 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: This one did slow down. I don’t have much left on it, but an hour smoke time is not bad for this stick. It really went out with a bang and will score very well with me.
Feb 26 2013, 8:40 PM
IamDarren: i liked it enough that i found a pick to use so i can smoke the last quarter inch.
Feb 26 2013, 8:41 PM
Terry1: LOL I’ve never tried to do that. Usually the nub gets so hot it burns.
Feb 26 2013, 8:42 PM
IamDarren: getting a lot of sweet spice here at the end. super complex
Feb 26 2013, 8:42 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: I’m with you Terry, sometimes it’s just time to let it go…
Feb 26 2013, 8:43 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: I’m going to get some ratings down.
Feb 26 2013, 8:43 PM
IamDarren: ok, well when i say quarter inch i mean that there is probably half to 3/4 of an inch left but i would normally put it down due to burning my fingers.
Feb 26 2013, 8:43 PM
IamDarren: but im ready to rate when you fellas are.
Feb 26 2013, 8:45 PM
IamDarren: 99 percent was great in my book
Feb 26 2013, 8:45 PM
IamDarren: lets make a bet. I bet you 3 cigars from my humi of your choice that you like the one im going to send you.
Feb 26 2013, 8:46 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: This was a stellar cigar and exactly what we are after on SUC. Tons of medium/full body flavor, perfect construction, fair price.


Related posts:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This blog is kept spam free by WP-SpamFree.