ORTSAC Habano – Cigar Review

This week’s group cigar review is of the yet to be released ORTSAC Habano.  The first thing we noticed on this cigar (other than the gaudy double band) is the attractive wrapper and sweet/earthy smell it has.   After cutting the draw was a little loose, but that’s better than being too tight.  After lighting up we were hit with a real blast of flavor.  Tons of pepper, cream, and spice.  It soon settled into a sweet spice with hazelnut flavor.  One of our review sticks suffered from construction issues, but that was the only downside we encountered.  Assuming a release price of around $7 per stick, this one is well worth it.  Give it a try!

StraightUpCigars – Matt: Rating:
Flavor and Taste: 18/20
Construction: 9/10
Wrapper: 4/5
Price Point: 9/10
Would I buy a Box: 5/5
Total: 45/50

Terry1: Rating:
Flavor and Taste: 18/20
Construction: 9/10
Wrapper: 5/5
Price Point: 9/10
Would I buy a Box: 4/5
Total: 45/50

IamDarren: Rating:
Flavor and Taste: 17/20
Construction: 7/10
Wrapper: 5/5
Price Point: 9/10
Would I buy a Box: 4/5
Total: 42/50


Feb 19 2013, 7:52 PM
Terry1: Wow. I like the smell of this cigar. I hope it tastes as good.
Feb 19 2013, 7:52 PM
IamDarren: im here… almost smashed the laptop on the floor but i resisted
Feb 19 2013, 7:53 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: It does smell nice, sweet and earthy. Good looking wrapper and good draw too.
Feb 19 2013, 7:53 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: Did you get one of those ID10T errors Darren?
Feb 19 2013, 7:54 PM
IamDarren: my wife never uses this thing so when i get on everything wants to update all at once. Plus its a slow POS.
Feb 19 2013, 7:54 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: Sorry, that jokes is better in person b/c you say: I, D, 10, T.
Feb 19 2013, 7:54 PM
IamDarren: yeah i got it
Feb 19 2013, 7:54 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: Lol!
Feb 19 2013, 7:55 PM
IamDarren: great draw on my stick, almost a little too loose.
Feb 19 2013, 7:56 PM
Terry1: Cold draw is the same. Lots of sweetness. My draw is about right for me.
Feb 19 2013, 7:56 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: Firmly packed cigar too. Well, I’m ready when you guys are. Lighting up!
Feb 19 2013, 7:57 PM
IamDarren: where’s the torch
Feb 19 2013, 7:58 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: Wow, I did not expect this much flavor right out of the gate. Pepper bomb with cream and spice flavor. It’s a nose burner.
Feb 19 2013, 7:59 PM
IamDarren: your tellin me! with my super loose draw i burned my tonge a little.
Feb 19 2013, 7:59 PM
Terry1: I agree. Lots of complex flavors at the start. Strong retrohale. Very nice.
Feb 19 2013, 8:00 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: I’m going to have to look these folks up again, b/c I forgot their story. These samples are from the manufacturer BTW, not sure of price.
Feb 19 2013, 8:03 PM
IamDarren: after the first few puffs it has settled into a very nice sweet habano spice. A little creaminess and maybe some hazlenut too. Flavors are very strong and right at the front of the palate.
Feb 19 2013, 8:03 PM
Terry1: I’ve smoked the original Ortsac 1962 and thought that was a very good cigar. This one is different but just as tasty, maybe even better. We shall see.
Feb 19 2013, 8:04 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: Not much info I could find from the manu other than they are made by Victor Vitale.
Feb 19 2013, 8:04 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: Retail looks like 6ish on singles.
Feb 19 2013, 8:05 PM
IamDarren: pretty good price if the flavors hold up and the burn keeps going well
Feb 19 2013, 8:05 PM
IamDarren: this one really flew under my radar. The name kinda threw me off.
Feb 19 2013, 8:06 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: Ort Sack?
Feb 19 2013, 8:06 PM
IamDarren: Castro
Feb 19 2013, 8:06 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: Oh…
Feb 19 2013, 8:07 PM
IamDarren: who wants to smoke something that is just his name backwards… kinda gimmicky i think
Feb 19 2013, 8:07 PM
IamDarren: lol, are you gonna give me shit tonight Matt?
Feb 19 2013, 8:08 PM
Terry1: Doing a quick check. It looks like this cigar is not available yet.
Feb 19 2013, 8:08 PM
IamDarren: ewwwwwww…. a PRE-RELEASE. Nice!
Feb 19 2013, 8:08 PM
IamDarren: we are in the big leagues now boys
Feb 19 2013, 8:08 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: Cool! I got them at Thanksgiving.
Feb 19 2013, 8:09 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: I should say during Thanksgiving.
Feb 19 2013, 8:09 PM
IamDarren: we wouldn’t want anyone to think your grammar sucks
Feb 19 2013, 8:10 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: What are you gonna give me shit tonight?
Feb 19 2013, 8:10 PM
IamDarren: of course not
Feb 19 2013, 8:10 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: I don’t want people to think I spend my Thanksgivings at lavish pre-release cigar partys!
Feb 19 2013, 8:11 PM
IamDarren: im almost an inch in and the ash is still holding one nicely. Flavors have mellowed a little. Pepper has subsided but the sweet spice is sill prevalent.
Feb 19 2013, 8:12 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: I like the way this one settled in. Nutty and woody flavors right now.
Feb 19 2013, 8:12 PM
IamDarren: how is our silent parnter coming along?
Feb 19 2013, 8:13 PM
IamDarren: Dammit! just dropped the ash in the wrong place
Feb 19 2013, 8:13 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: Your Ort Sack?
Feb 19 2013, 8:13 PM
IamDarren: how did you guess?!?
Feb 19 2013, 8:15 PM
Terry1: Mine is starting to burn a little crooked. The pepper has settled down. I’m getting some woody notes and I detect some mint. Loving this flavor.
Feb 19 2013, 8:20 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: The wrapper leaf is a little thin on this one, I’ve got some cracking. The burn is still straight though. I agree with Terry, the flavor is awesome at this point!
Feb 19 2013, 8:21 PM
IamDarren: yeah Gary is REALLy missing out.
Feb 19 2013, 8:23 PM
IamDarren: mine seems to be changing flavors a little. The spice is now more of a baking spice. There is also some floral notes coming in now. I think i may even taste the mint.
Feb 19 2013, 8:23 PM
Terry1: I’m like speed smoking this cigar. I’m already at the first band. Burn straightened out on it’s own. I’m getting a lot of mint and once every few puffs a blast of pepper. Smoke is creamy and no strength so far.
Feb 19 2013, 8:24 PM
IamDarren: ash started flowering like crazy on mine. Im also almost to the band. The bands did come off with ease.
Feb 19 2013, 8:26 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: The ash does drop fast. I’d say I’m entering the final third too at this point. I think I would call it mild/medium body.
Feb 19 2013, 8:28 PM
IamDarren: check out those Primer Mundo Ligas on the cigarmonster deal. Those must be new…
Feb 19 2013, 8:28 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: You said we need to save one or more of these for a group review, right Gary?
Feb 19 2013, 8:30 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: U.S. made cigars too. $8 a pop, though. I can live without those Primer Mundos.
Feb 19 2013, 8:30 PM
IamDarren: a tad bit expensive for my blood. interesting blend though with dual binders
Feb 19 2013, 8:31 PM
IamDarren: wtf, my cigar has just started trying to go out on me
Feb 19 2013, 8:31 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: And entubar as well. Smoke it faster then!
Feb 19 2013, 8:31 PM
Terry1: In the last few puffs, I’m getting the floral notes Darren mentioned. The pepper has mellowed to more of a bakers spice. Still a little sweetness on the finish.
Feb 19 2013, 8:34 PM
IamDarren: whoa… after a relight i just got a huge blast of pepper again
Feb 19 2013, 8:37 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: Pepper is coming back here too in this last third.
Feb 19 2013, 8:37 PM
Terry1: Tapped the ash off a minute ago and now it’s starting to flower. I’m into the final third and a slight bitterness is creeping in. Kind of ruining the wonderful flavors up to this point.
Feb 19 2013, 8:38 PM
IamDarren: yeah im starting to get some strength, no bitterness yet but its defenitely ramping up.
Feb 19 2013, 8:39 PM
Terry1: Yeah I’m starting to feel the some strength too.
Feb 19 2013, 8:40 PM
IamDarren: the draw is still very loose and im staring to get a lot of heat. Still over an inch left to go
Feb 19 2013, 8:42 PM
IamDarren: almost went out again and after taking three draws to get it going again i got some bitterness
Feb 19 2013, 8:42 PM
IamDarren: think i may call it quits
Feb 19 2013, 8:42 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: Well, I call dibs on your humidor then.
Feb 19 2013, 8:42 PM
IamDarren: lol, nice try
Feb 19 2013, 8:43 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: Damn.
Feb 19 2013, 8:44 PM
IamDarren: its sad to say but other than my entertainment center my cigar cabinet is becoming one of the most valuable things in my home. I would probably cringe if i added the value of all the sticks in there.
Feb 19 2013, 8:44 PM
Terry1: I’d like to try this one again with about a year of age on them. Might cure some of the bitterness at the end and maybe some of the burn problems.
Feb 19 2013, 8:45 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: I think you’re right Terry. I hear ya Darren, I’ve got 1000’s worth of cigars in $15 coolers.
Feb 19 2013, 8:45 PM
IamDarren: yeah i can’t figure out why the last third kept going out on me. It defenitely wasn’t because of the draw.
Feb 19 2013, 8:46 PM
IamDarren: knowing my luck i will prbably get beetles or some kind of fungus that will wipe out my whole collection.
Feb 19 2013, 8:48 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: Don’t say that! Just keep your house air conditioned in the summer, I heard higher temps is what really causes them to hatch.
Feb 19 2013, 8:49 PM
IamDarren: Yeah the wife likes to freeze me out in the summer so that won’t be a problem. Plus i try to leave on all the cellos.
Feb 19 2013, 8:51 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: Well, mine is about gone. I loved the flavor the whole way through. The ash was weak, but that’s my only complaint on construction other than slightly thin wrapper leaf. With retail probably being b/n 6 and 7 on singles, I think this one will be a success.
Feb 19 2013, 8:51 PM
Terry1: I’m nearing the end. Smoking slower helped with the bitterness. I’m still getting some mint, nutiness and some spice. Interesting flavors from this cigar. Glad I could try it. I’d buy more when they become available.
Feb 19 2013, 8:53 PM
IamDarren: despite the loose draw most of mine was very good, i would be up for trying more especially if they had a little more aging.
Feb 19 2013, 8:53 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: I’m going to rate ‘er
Feb 19 2013, 8:56 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: Pretty good scores! Maybe we’ll get the chance to have another one one of these days.
Feb 19 2013, 8:57 PM
Terry1: I like getting surprised by a new stick. This one was a good one.
Feb 19 2013, 8:58 PM
IamDarren: yep, not bad at all especially if the price stays at or below 6 retail
Feb 19 2013, 8:59 PM
Terry1: Big thanks to Victor Vitale for providing a sample for us to try!


Related posts:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This blog is kept spam free by WP-SpamFree.