Obsidian White Noise – Cigar Review

This week’s group cigar review is of the Obsidian White Noise.  We enjoyed the original Obsidian, so we’ll see how this one compares.  The wrapper leaf looks good and the draw is flawless after cutting.  It smells and tastes like spicy tobacco.  Once lit up, we got a sweet cedar flavor with a cinnamon spice to complement it.  Rally nice start.  Each one of use had some construction issues: cracked wrappers and uneven burns.  Later on in the cigar it takes on a buttery and nutty flavor to complement the cedar and spice.  This cigar is STRONG.  One of the highest nicotine level cigars we’ve had.  We joked that they call it White Noise because that’s all you’ll hear after smoking it.  Overall, we liked the flavor and thought the cigar was excellent.  The construction issues really dragged it down from having a top notch score.  Regardless, give one a try!

StraightUpCigars: Rating:
Flavor and Taste: 18/20
Construction: 8/10
Wrapper: 5/5
Price Point: 10/10
Would I buy a Box: 5/5
Total: 46/50

IamDarren: Rating:
Flavor and Taste: 18/20
Construction: 8/10
Wrapper: 5/5
Price Point: 10/10
Would I buy a Box: 4/5
Total: 45/50

Terry1: Rating:
Flavor and Taste: 16/20
Construction: 9/10
Wrapper: 5/5
Price Point: 10/10
Would I buy a Box: 4/5
Total: 44/50


Oct 28 2014, 7:42 PM
IamDarren: Got mine clipped and out of the sleeve. Construction looks good. Medium draw.
Oct 28 2014, 7:42 PM
IamDarren: Getting a bright cedar and spice combo on the cold draw.
Oct 28 2014, 7:44 PM
StraightUpCigars: Fantastic looking wrapper leaf and nice spicy tobacco smell to it. Real good draw after cutting. Liking what I’m seeing.
Oct 28 2014, 7:46 PM
Terry1: Sleeve is a better description than band. Worked it off without damaging the wrapper. Nice draw with a cedar note. Ready to light up!
Oct 28 2014, 7:46 PM
IamDarren: Ok, here we go!
Oct 28 2014, 7:48 PM
IamDarren: Interesting, getting that mix of cedar and spice with a hint of pepper, but its all being delivered in a very creamy fashion… got a hint of sweetness as well.
Oct 28 2014, 7:49 PM
IamDarren: spice is powerful and tastes like cinnamon. Giving the smoke a dry character.
Oct 28 2014, 7:52 PM
StraightUpCigars: Nice start! Balance of creamy and spicy flavor that tastes real good.
Oct 28 2014, 7:53 PM
Terry1: Creamy smoke. Agree with the cinnamon, tingles the nose. Nice sweet cedar note in the aroma. I’m liking it.
Oct 28 2014, 7:54 PM
IamDarren: burn is a little uneven but not bad. Producing plenty of smoke.
Oct 28 2014, 7:55 PM
Terry1: Lost access to the site for a minute. Mine is burning uneven as well.
Oct 28 2014, 7:57 PM
StraightUpCigars: No burn issues on my end so far.
Oct 28 2014, 8:01 PM
IamDarren: mine is mellowing a bit. Ash is holding strong at an inch. Almost no pepper now and more sweetness. Very balanced.
Oct 28 2014, 8:01 PM
StraightUpCigars: The draw has just enough resistance to keep it from over-heating. It’s real enjoyable to puff on.
Oct 28 2014, 8:04 PM
Terry1: Just over an inch in and my cigar’s flavors are fading away. Pepper has gone into the background, some mild sweetness and generic tobacco note. Hopefully the second stage fires up and gets the flavors going again.
Oct 28 2014, 8:05 PM
IamDarren: Gotta give em credit for making a torpedo with a good draw. Like you said Matt, just enough resistance to keep it burning slowly. Flavors are slightly muttled but i have started retrohaling and that provides a nice spice kick on the finish.
Oct 28 2014, 8:07 PM
StraightUpCigars: I agree with you guys on the flavor being somewhat muted, BUT I like a mellow smoke every once in a while. This thing is so smokable.
Oct 28 2014, 8:08 PM
StraightUpCigars: First ash is getting long, still holding on there.
Oct 28 2014, 8:09 PM
IamDarren: mine just dropped off in the tray
Oct 28 2014, 8:10 PM
Terry1: Nice. I’ve tapped off twice now so I don’t wear it.
Oct 28 2014, 8:12 PM
StraightUpCigars: I should have done that, it ended up falling on the ground
Oct 28 2014, 8:15 PM
IamDarren: oh crap, wrapper just started to split, got about an inch long tear near the foot.
Oct 28 2014, 8:16 PM
StraightUpCigars: Just looked at mine and I’ve got a wrapper split too. Not causing any issues yet.
Oct 28 2014, 8:17 PM
IamDarren: crossing the halfway mark. Spice seems to be making a comeback
Oct 28 2014, 8:17 PM
Terry1: That’s coincidental. Mine was burning well but it looks like I have a void next to the binder and I now have a half inch run and getting worse.
Oct 28 2014, 8:18 PM
Terry1: Spice is coming back on mine. It’s tasting more like how it started. Much better.
Oct 28 2014, 8:21 PM
Terry1: Wow I’m impressed. The run stopped and the burn line caught up. It’s a little jagged buy it’s burning even again. Getting more of the sweetness now with that spice.
Oct 28 2014, 8:22 PM
StraightUpCigars: Nice! Mine has developed a very buttery texture and the flavor is really lingering between puffs.
Oct 28 2014, 8:23 PM
Terry1: Yeah, this is the best this cigar has tasted so far. Very nice.
Oct 28 2014, 8:24 PM
IamDarren: i was just going to say that mine is picking up a nutty flavor. Goes really well with the cedar and spice.
Oct 28 2014, 8:30 PM
StraightUpCigars: I’ve burned through the crack and it’s perfect now.
Oct 28 2014, 8:31 PM
IamDarren: mine has split a little further but is not affecting the draw or flavor at this point.
Oct 28 2014, 8:31 PM
IamDarren: nearing the last third
Oct 28 2014, 8:31 PM
IamDarren: almost an hour in and only 2/3 done… burning nice and slow
Oct 28 2014, 8:32 PM
Terry1: I’m starting to feel the nicotine now. Wasn’t expecting a strong cigar.
Oct 28 2014, 8:33 PM
StraightUpCigars: Yeah, construction has are both the negative and positive points tonight – nice slow burn but some issues.
Oct 28 2014, 8:39 PM
IamDarren: just starting to pick up the nicotine and a slight accidity
Oct 28 2014, 8:40 PM
StraightUpCigars: Nicotine isn’t too bad so far, but I do feel it.
Oct 28 2014, 8:40 PM
Terry1: That roasted nut flavor is coming through on mine.
Oct 28 2014, 8:42 PM
StraightUpCigars: Great smoke production as the draw opens up in this final third.
Oct 28 2014, 8:45 PM
Terry1: Man I’m buzzing now. Glad it’s about done.
Oct 28 2014, 8:46 PM
IamDarren: lol, same here… very unexpected for a mostly medium bodied smoke
Oct 28 2014, 8:49 PM
StraightUpCigars: I went inside to get a glass of water and got confused, so yeah it’s got some strength
Oct 28 2014, 8:49 PM
IamDarren: sorry, can’t understand you through the white noise in my head…
Oct 28 2014, 8:50 PM
StraightUpCigars: Lol!
Oct 28 2014, 8:50 PM
Terry1: Lol good one.
Oct 28 2014, 8:51 PM
Terry1: I’m just about done. That last third was the best tasting by far for me. Ended well.
Oct 28 2014, 8:51 PM
IamDarren: i am loving the transitions in this stick, almost done here too.
Oct 28 2014, 8:52 PM
StraightUpCigars: Yeah, this one has been all over the map. I’ve got some puffs left but am ready to rate it.
Oct 28 2014, 8:55 PM
StraightUpCigars: Wow only about $3.50 apiece too. Rating coming now.
Oct 28 2014, 8:57 PM
StraightUpCigars: Good scores and a good smoke. Very mild and very strong at times, all over the map. Fun stick!
Oct 28 2014, 8:57 PM
IamDarren: Really liked the flavor and complexity of this stick. With the low price point I may have to get a few more. Thanks for picking this one!
Oct 28 2014, 8:58 PM
Terry1: Overall a good cigar at a good price. First half flavor hurt my score at bit but the second half was great. Now I’m going to have to sit a minute before I try to stand up.


Related posts:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This blog is kept spam free by WP-SpamFree.