Nestor Miranda 70th Anniversary Domincan – Cigar Review

This week’s group cigar review is of the Nestor Miranda 70th Anniversary Dominican cigar.  These are a limited edition for Nestor’s 70th birthday, and the boxes of 12 are packaged in a box adorned with a Shelby Cobra – easily the coolest box ever made.  The wrapper of this cigar is quite toothy looking and has a barnyard smell.  The draw is very good for a cigar of this length after using a cutter.  Once lit, it started off cedary and creamy with some pepper and spice on the finish.  Later on the sweet creamy flavor faded and an earthy flavor came in while the spiciness increased.  Overall, this cigar had good construction and very balanced set of flavors.  No one flavor overpowered the others, and it remained delicious the entire time.  These cigars are expensive, but we feel they were worth it!

StraightUpCigars: Rating:
Flavor and Taste: 18/20
Construction: 10/10
Wrapper: 5/5
Price Point: 8/10
Would I buy a Box: 4/5
Total: 45/50

Terry1: Rating:
Flavor and Taste: 17/20
Construction: 10/10
Wrapper: 5/5
Price Point: 7/10
Would I buy a Box: 5/5
Total: 44/50


Oct 8 2013, 7:44 PM
StraightUpCigars: The Nestor Miranda 70 Dominican has a nice spicy tobacco smell to the wrapper. The draw is surprisingly good for a cigar of this length.
Oct 8 2013, 7:49 PM
Terry1: The Nestor Miranda 70 has two different cigars in the same car (box). The Domincan is made by La Aurora and features a San Andres wrapper with a Sumatra binder. The wrapper looks toothy with a barnyard smell to it. The 7 1/2 x 40 lancero has a perfect draw. I’m ready to light up.
Oct 8 2013, 7:50 PM
StraightUpCigars: Me too, lighting.
Oct 8 2013, 7:54 PM
StraightUpCigars: Starting off with a dry creamy and cedary flavor with some spice on the finish. Good smoke production.
Oct 8 2013, 7:55 PM
Terry1: I’m getting many different notes on the first inch. It’s hard for me to distinguish between them. There’s a wood note, a mild sweetness and a pepper zing that really hits the sinus. Draw is perfect. Burn’s even. Good start.
Oct 8 2013, 7:57 PM
StraightUpCigars: Agreed, my first few puffs were very sweet and airy, but it picked up fast.
Oct 8 2013, 7:59 PM
Terry1: I’ve got to say, I bought these cigars for the packaging. They did a great job creating a cigar box out of a model car. Very creative.
Oct 8 2013, 8:00 PM
StraightUpCigars: Did you get 2 different boxes, or do the different varieties come in the same box?
Oct 8 2013, 8:01 PM
Terry1: I got the black car. There were 12 cigars inside the car. Six Dominican and six Nicaraguan.
Oct 8 2013, 8:02 PM
StraightUpCigars: Were they only offered in this vitola?
Oct 8 2013, 8:03 PM
Terry1: Yep one size only. 1,000 boxes were made. I know they released 700 boxes. The other 300 are being saved for a later release.
Oct 8 2013, 8:06 PM
Terry1: Pepper is mellowing a little or my sinus is getting numb to it. Every few puffs I get this really nice blend of sweet and pepper. Makes it kind of savory.
Oct 8 2013, 8:06 PM
StraightUpCigars: I am having a hard time setting mine down, very creamy and earthy now, not much spice.
Oct 8 2013, 8:06 PM
StraightUpCigars: Perfect burn on it too.
Oct 8 2013, 8:09 PM
Terry1: Same here, perfect burn. Lot’s of creamy smoke. The flavors are meshing well which is a good thing imo. Nothing is dominating.
Oct 8 2013, 8:10 PM
StraightUpCigars: Yeah, super smooth medium body smoke. This is a good change of pace, too many Nicaraguan cigars lately.
Oct 8 2013, 8:14 PM
Terry1: I’m getting a smooth caramel sweetness along with the earthiness you mentioned and then about every third puff I get a blast of pepper to wake me up. Interesting balance of flavors. I’m liking it so far.
Oct 8 2013, 8:17 PM
StraightUpCigars: I completely agree. The only thing I will add is mine has a cranberry-like tart bitterness to it.
Oct 8 2013, 8:22 PM
StraightUpCigars: Still great construction on mine, plenty of smoke and an even burn.
Oct 8 2013, 8:26 PM
Terry1: Mine is performing well too. Flavors are remaining pretty consistent. I do feel a hint of strength. I’m enjoying this cigar so far.
Oct 8 2013, 8:34 PM
StraightUpCigars: I’m surprised, I’d call this full bodied now. Quite a bit of pepper and coffee flavor.
Oct 8 2013, 8:36 PM
Terry1: I’m into the second third and I’m noticing the the sweetness has really faded and more of the earthy notes are dominating. And I agree, there’s some coffee notes now. Burn is becoming a little uneven at this point.
Oct 8 2013, 8:38 PM
StraightUpCigars: I think I’ve been smoking faster because mine is firmly in the final third now. I have a hard time setting it down, I really like it.
Oct 8 2013, 8:41 PM
Terry1: Glad you like it. I’m enjoying it too. These were fairly expensive and I couldn’t try one before I bought the box. I’m glad the cigars are decent.
Oct 8 2013, 8:42 PM
Terry1: Burn corrected itself and the band popped easily.
Oct 8 2013, 8:43 PM
StraightUpCigars: I was just looking them up… holy cow. Thank you for the expensive treat, very glad I like them!
Oct 8 2013, 8:44 PM
Terry1: When I bought the box I kept thinking how much of the cost went into the car and how much into the cigars. Luckily some of the cost went into the tobacco.
Oct 8 2013, 8:44 PM
Terry1: We should smoke the other blend soon to compair.
Oct 8 2013, 8:45 PM
StraightUpCigars: I have a Nestor Miranda bobble head sent to me by Barry, formerly A Cigar Smoker, who now works at Miami. You want it?
Oct 8 2013, 8:46 PM
Terry1: That’s too funny. What a weird thing to get sent to you! If you don’t want it I’ll put it next to the car.
Oct 8 2013, 8:47 PM
StraightUpCigars: Done, it’s yours
Oct 8 2013, 8:47 PM
StraightUpCigars: It was the weirdest thing, it was sent in it’s own box with no cigars or anything… those guys are crazy over there!
Oct 8 2013, 8:51 PM
Terry1: That’s cool to know he follows the site.
Oct 8 2013, 8:53 PM
StraightUpCigars: Yeah, I think there’s a large “silent” following.
Oct 8 2013, 8:55 PM
Terry1: Nearing the last inch and I’m starting to feel the strength. Flavors are now earthy with some coffee. Pepper and sweetness have really faded.
Oct 8 2013, 8:56 PM
StraightUpCigars: Yeah, this one has some strength to it for sure.
Oct 8 2013, 8:57 PM
StraightUpCigars: I have about 1/2 an inch of smokeable left. Burn is still razor straight, can’t say enough about the construction of mine.
Oct 8 2013, 9:01 PM
StraightUpCigars: The bitterness on this one never got bad, even though I smoked it like I was being timed. Really fun vitola.
Oct 8 2013, 9:02 PM
Terry1: I agree. No construction issues. Good flavors with a bit of a transition. I enjoyed it.
Oct 8 2013, 9:03 PM
Terry1: Whew. I just got hit by the strength. Me head is swimming now. Glad I’m almost at the nub.
Oct 8 2013, 9:04 PM
StraightUpCigars: I hear ya. Me too. Here come the ratings.
Oct 8 2013, 9:06 PM
StraightUpCigars: I really liked this cigar. Good flavor and enough complexity to keep it interesting. Unusual vitola that made it fun to smoke. It is very pricey, but this is one that is worth the higher price tag.
Oct 8 2013, 9:07 PM
Terry1: Good comments. I agree. Cigars lived up to the box.


Related posts:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This blog is kept spam free by WP-SpamFree.