Mi Barrio – Cigar Review

This week’s group cigar review is of thee Mi Barrio.  This one is made by Espinosa y Ortega and is all Nicaraguan tobacco.  It has a nice looking wrapper with a sweet cedar small.  It has a decent, but slightly loose, draw after cutting.   Once lit up we found this cigar to be mild bodied with a cedar and carmel flavor followed by some spice.  Later on, a charred wood flavor came in and the spice increased.  In the final third, it increased to medium/full body and introduced a coffee flavor.  The construction was perfect the whole way.  Overall, this cigar was a winner.  Great flavor and great construction, but a little pricey.  We recommend giving it a try.

StraightUpCigars: Rating:
Flavor and Taste: 18/20
Construction: 10/10
Wrapper: 5/5
Price Point: 8/10
Would I buy a Box: 4/5
Total: 45/50

IamDarren: Rating:
Flavor and Taste: 18/20
Construction: 10/10
Wrapper: 5/5
Price Point: 8/10
Would I buy a Box: 4/5
Total: 45/50

Terry1: Rating:
Flavor and Taste: 16/20
Construction: 10/10
Wrapper: 5/5
Price Point: 8/10
Would I buy a Box: 3/5
Total: 42/50


Aug 27 2013, 7:43 PM
StraightUpCigars: I love the sweet cedar smell coming from this one. Nice looking wrapper, decent draw after cutting. Good start!
Aug 27 2013, 7:43 PM
IamDarren: great draw after clipping mine, hard to place the cold draw flavor. Its got some spice.
Aug 27 2013, 7:44 PM
IamDarren: Famous doesn’t say who makes these which i find interesting. All Nicaraguan tobacco with a habano wrapper. Aged one year.
Aug 27 2013, 7:44 PM
IamDarren: im ready to light when you guys are
Aug 27 2013, 7:45 PM
Terry1: The wrapper smell is nice. Draw is a little loose for me. Not much of any flavor on the cold draw. lighting up.
Aug 27 2013, 7:45 PM
StraightUpCigars: Lighting
Aug 27 2013, 7:46 PM
IamDarren: lit up super easy, lots of smooth caramel flavor up front
Aug 27 2013, 7:48 PM
Terry1: Nice start. Smooth caramel, maybe some earth, very mild spice. Not what I expected. Lot’s of smoke, even burn.
Aug 27 2013, 7:48 PM
StraightUpCigars: Yeah, this one is a hot burner (mine has an open draw). Sweet, cedary, and earthy flavor with some spice. Good flavor
Aug 27 2013, 7:50 PM
IamDarren: cedar is really picking up. its getting really zesty. still sweet up front.
Aug 27 2013, 7:53 PM
StraightUpCigars: Yeah, I like that cedar flavor and overall mild body (good change of pace)
[Delete]
Aug 27 2013, 7:54 PM
IamDarren: : I knew this one wouldn’t be overpowering. I thought Terry might want something a little milder.
Aug 27 2013, 7:54 PM
Terry1: Pepper is making an appearance for me. I’m getting a black coffee note and a little sweetness. So far it’s good.
Aug 27 2013, 7:58 PM
IamDarren: might be getting a hint of pepper. lots of cedar and spice. Sweetness has started to subside. Possible transition into a coffee flavor.
Aug 27 2013, 7:58 PM
Terry1: I really didn’t smoke that many cigars at the festival. Three and they were all on the mild side. Which was on purpose. I got a lot of cigars that are new to me and I wasn’t sure how strong most of them were. Plus all the liquor I was sampling, I didn’t want to over do it.
Aug 27 2013, 7:59 PM
StraightUpCigars: That was probably smart, it would be easy to overdo it. Was there anyone blowing chunks?
Aug 27 2013, 7:59 PM
IamDarren: probably a smart move. Sounds like you had a blast chilling with the Botique guys.
Aug 27 2013, 8:00 PM
Terry1: Didn’t see anyone that sick but there were a few staggering around and all red faced.
Aug 27 2013, 8:01 PM
Terry1: It’s funny too see these guys in person. Pete Johnson was a lot heavier than he looks in his picture. Matt Booth looked like Krusty the Klown in a polo shirt.
Aug 27 2013, 8:01 PM
IamDarren: did you make any purchases, or were you content with all the free stuff?
Aug 27 2013, 8:04 PM
Terry1: The bag had 50 cigars in it. I didn’t buy a box but I did pick up some samplers. Bought the yet to be released box set called “six shooter” from Crowned Heads. Has two of each of his blends. I bought a five pack of Asylum directly from Tom Lazuka. That was interesting.
Aug 27 2013, 8:04 PM
StraightUpCigars: Holy crap! 50 stogies is insane.
Aug 27 2013, 8:05 PM
Terry1: Yeah after six hours the bag got heavy!
Aug 27 2013, 8:05 PM
IamDarren: VIP kicks ass
Aug 27 2013, 8:05 PM
IamDarren: so Tom is an interesting fella…
Aug 27 2013, 8:06 PM
IamDarren: into the second third. Sweetness is making a comeback. Also starting to pick up a leathery flavor.
Aug 27 2013, 8:08 PM
IamDarren: looks like this cigar is made by Espinosa Y Ortega.
Aug 27 2013, 8:08 PM
StraightUpCigars: Yeah, mine is sweet and earthy with some spice, still good flavor, I’d still call it mild.
Aug 27 2013, 8:08 PM
Terry1: Yeah he is. It was towards the end of the show and the crowd was thinning. We talked quit a bit. He was telling me about the different blends and how the new Straight Jacket is a solid 9 out of 10 on the strength meter. He also went into his relationship with Eiroa. Would have been a good interview if I took notes.
Aug 27 2013, 8:10 PM
IamDarren: I was wondering… I thought that cigar was made by Christian.
Aug 27 2013, 8:11 PM
Terry1: It is. They are partners of some type in the distribution company.
Aug 27 2013, 8:12 PM
IamDarren: I suppose when Christian left Camacho he had to partner up with some friends.
Aug 27 2013, 8:12 PM
IamDarren: Its a heck of a cigar so im sure its gonna work out great for the both of them.
Aug 27 2013, 8:13 PM
Terry1: This cigar is developing a slight floral note. Pepper has really faded. Still some sweetness, coffee and earth. No strength for me yet.
Aug 27 2013, 8:14 PM
IamDarren: i think the flavor is really improving. Im getting more of the habano spice from the wrapper that i love. Decent amount of sweetness to back it up with some coffee and leather in the background.
Aug 27 2013, 8:15 PM
StraightUpCigars: Yeah, I wouldn’t say improving but developing into something different. Charred wood flavor with coffee and the sweetness is all but gone. I like that it’s changing.
Aug 27 2013, 8:17 PM
Terry1: I’m glad you mentioned charred wood because I get that every few puffs. The sweetness comes and goes too.
Aug 27 2013, 8:20 PM
IamDarren: seems to be heating up a bit, more time between draws yields a more creamy, sweet flavor
Aug 27 2013, 8:22 PM
Terry1: The VIP area had unlimited access to Patron and Pyrat products. I think I drank what the extra VIP ticket cost.
Aug 27 2013, 8:23 PM
IamDarren: nice, glad you got your money’s worth
Aug 27 2013, 8:23 PM
StraightUpCigars: Those are some liquors I don’t ever see myself spending the money on otherwise, it’s a neat thing to be able to try them with the price of your ticket.
Aug 27 2013, 8:24 PM
IamDarren: My brother in law bought my son a bottle of Knob Creek with his name and date of birth on it. We aren’t going to open it until his 21st birthday. That is going to be one awesome bottle of whiskey.
Aug 27 2013, 8:25 PM
StraightUpCigars: That is really cool! How do you get that? That would be a good groomsman gift.
Aug 27 2013, 8:25 PM
Terry1: That’s great idea. Not sure if I could keep my hands off it thou.
Aug 27 2013, 8:26 PM
IamDarren: He contacted them and was able to get them to print off a custom label with everything printed on it. I thought it was pretty darn cool.
Aug 27 2013, 8:26 PM
IamDarren: Yeah i have to stare at in the back of the china cabinet every day…
Aug 27 2013, 8:27 PM
Terry1: George Rico was telling me he is working on a project where the consumer can create a custom blend from a menu and they would make it for you. That would be interesting.
Aug 27 2013, 8:28 PM
IamDarren: didn’t CI or Cigar.com have a blendlab that worked in a similar way? They would have to be careful i think. Some people don’t like too many options.
Aug 27 2013, 8:29 PM
Terry1: I agree, you could end up with a custom stick of crap.
Aug 27 2013, 8:30 PM
StraightUpCigars: Yeah, I’m up in the air with that idea. Sounds great on paper, but how can you make a good blend without tasting the tobacco options first?
Aug 27 2013, 8:30 PM
Terry1: He didn’t go into any details like how many choices there would be or the price.
Aug 27 2013, 8:31 PM
IamDarren: I watched a show about how Costco became so huge. One of the things they pointed out is that people don’t like lots of options. If they put one large bottle of advil on the shelf instead of 3 different sizes of bottles, people actually bought more bottles because they didn’t have to choose.
Aug 27 2013, 8:32 PM
StraightUpCigars: Interesting. So a simpler home page could actually keep people on SUC longer…
Aug 27 2013, 8:32 PM
Terry1: Band came off without any issues. Flavors are consistant. They’re just shifting back and forth between the charred wood/earthy note and a sweet cedar.
Aug 27 2013, 8:33 PM
IamDarren: i suppose it could. I think people don’t like to spend a lot of time on any page. If they have to much info to scroll through they loose interest. Just my opinion. However, i don’t think that SUC is that bad compared to a lot of other sites.
Aug 27 2013, 8:34 PM
Terry1: I thought it was interesting when I searched for information about the cigar festival last week my review from last year was the first post. Makes me feel like someone read it.
Aug 27 2013, 8:35 PM
StraightUpCigars: We’d have to ask other people… we know this site like the back of our hand
Aug 27 2013, 8:35 PM
IamDarren: Thats pretty badass Terry
Aug 27 2013, 8:35 PM
StraightUpCigars: That’s really cool, Terry. People definitely have read it. SUC’s page rank is pretty strong on google searches.
Aug 27 2013, 8:36 PM
IamDarren: Someone told me that you can hire people to make sure that your site is always in the first page on Google when certain things are searched for….. I wonder how that is possible.
Aug 27 2013, 8:37 PM
StraightUpCigars: It’s called SEO )search engine optimization). There are a number factors: overall popularity, number of sites linking to it, number of keywords used, etc. I know more about this crap than I’d like to
Aug 27 2013, 8:38 PM
IamDarren: Definitely getting that charred oak flavor now in the last third. However, im not getting any more strength or bitterness so im happy.
Aug 27 2013, 8:39 PM
IamDarren: I do know that the more times you link to the SUC site the higher up it is on a Google search if you are making the search from the same PC or IP. Pretty smart i think.
Aug 27 2013, 8:39 PM
Terry1: I agree. Final third for me and I’m not detecting any strength. I was expecting the cigar to get bitter by now with how the flavors have been shifting around.
Aug 27 2013, 8:41 PM
Terry1: Interesting. I’ll do the same search with my work computer and see if my post is still number one. I rarely link to SUC with it.
Aug 27 2013, 8:42 PM
IamDarren: And now whenever I pull up a site with a Google ad I usually always get cigar advertisements. I think they have it figured out. Google is gonna take over I think. Microsoft and Apple better look out.
Aug 27 2013, 8:42 PM
StraightUpCigars: Darren is right, but I bet it is still the first result. Your article is an SEO wet dream, all the key words and an in depth write up. Presumably some forum posts linking to it also.
Aug 27 2013, 8:44 PM
StraightUpCigars: I’ve read som ein depth articles on SEO, there are hundreds of factors and each one has a weight applied to it. The algorithm is always changing and Google protects it carefully.
Aug 27 2013, 8:45 PM
Terry1: I wonder if the festival sponsors read my article because all of my complaints from last year were addressed this time around. Garbage was quickly picked up, there were more ashtrays and they were emptied often.
Aug 27 2013, 8:45 PM
StraightUpCigars: Google sends out “Google bots” every day to scan through all the code of every website and updates its page ranks accoringliy.
Aug 27 2013, 8:45 PM
IamDarren: I used to think that Google would always be an internet/software giant but now they have the Chromebook and I hear its doing quite well.
Aug 27 2013, 8:46 PM
IamDarren: less than an inch left on mine and flavor is still great. Gotta love a cigar that delivers until the end.
Aug 27 2013, 8:46 PM
StraightUpCigars: Such a pleasant cigar. I’d call it medium/full at this point. Rich coffee and earth flavor. Surprisingly, some sweetness is back
Aug 27 2013, 8:48 PM
Terry1: I agree. It’s not exactly in my flavor profile but I’m liking it. Good change for me.
Aug 27 2013, 8:48 PM
IamDarren: these actually retail for 8 to 10 bucks a stick. I got them for less but they are still on the high end i think.
Aug 27 2013, 8:50 PM
Terry1: The band sure has a lot of artwork on it. I like it.
Aug 27 2013, 8:51 PM
StraightUpCigars: Good all the way to the nub. I just set mine down.
Aug 27 2013, 8:53 PM
IamDarren: same here, just burnt my fingertips a little on the last puff. Good to the end.
Aug 27 2013, 8:54 PM
Terry1: I’m about done. Burned great all the way to the end and it had an interesting flavor combination.
Aug 27 2013, 8:55 PM
StraightUpCigars: You brought up something interesting, we never once mentioned construction. That’s a good thing!
Aug 27 2013, 8:55 PM
IamDarren: yep, no issues at all. Burn was straight, ash held well, no wrapper cracks.
Aug 27 2013, 8:56 PM
Terry1: Made up for the problems I had with last weeks cigar.
Aug 27 2013, 8:56 PM
StraightUpCigars: Lol!
Aug 27 2013, 8:58 PM
IamDarren: I am going to the festival next year Terry, you can count on it. Maybe Matt will go too….
Aug 27 2013, 8:58 PM
StraightUpCigars: Pretty good scores. I loved the mild and pleasant first half. The second half transitioned into a richer flavor profile. Low strength, good construction, it’s hard to knock any points off.
Aug 27 2013, 8:59 PM
Terry1: I’d love to see you there. Worth the trip.
Aug 27 2013, 8:59 PM
Terry1: I knocked a couple of points off the flavor. I thought it was good but not one I’d want to smoke very often.
Aug 27 2013, 9:00 PM
IamDarren: yeah it was a little different. But that was because it was so complex i think. I wouldn’t smoke it all the time but a nice change up once in awhile.
Aug 27 2013, 9:01 PM
IamDarren: off topic, but did you guys see Top Shot. I can’t wait for the finale.
Aug 27 2013, 9:01 PM
StraightUpCigars: I would love to go next year. I don’t make promises that I can’t keep, so let’s talk about this next June. Suz and I are talking about a trip west next year already anyways.
Aug 27 2013, 9:02 PM
Terry1: It was a complex cigar. Better than what I was expecting. Thanks for picking them out and letting us try it.


Related posts:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This blog is kept spam free by WP-SpamFree.