La Perla Habana Maduro – Cigar Review

This week’s group cigar review is of the La Perla Habana Maduro cigar.  This cigar has a dark brown wrapper with a pungent chocolate smell.   The draw is good after cutting.  Once lit up, wee got a sweet fruity and earthy flavor with some pepper on the finish.  This flavor remained the same throughout the entire smoke, with some bitterness creeping in towards the end.  We had some relatively minor construction issues during the smoke.  Overall, this is a decent budget cigar that is easily had on the internet.  We wished it was more complex, the flavors remained static through the entire smoke.  Still, it’s a good buy at a cheap price.

Jul 16 2013, 8:49 PM
StraightUpCigars: Rating:
Flavor and Taste: 16/20
Construction: 9/10
Wrapper: 4/5
Price Point: 9/10
Would I buy a Box: 4/5
Total: 42/50

IamDarren: Rating:
Flavor and Taste: 15/20
Construction: 8/10
Wrapper: 4/5
Price Point: 9/10
Would I buy a Box: 3/5
Total: 39/50


Jul 16 2013, 7:37 PM
StraightUpCigars: This cigar has a very pungent and unique smell to it. The wrapper is a really nice dark and oily maduro. Draw is good after cutting it. I’m ready!
Jul 16 2013, 7:38 PM
IamDarren: whoa! gotta get set up first. Give me 3 min.
Jul 16 2013, 7:39 PM
StraightUpCigars: Whoops, sorry
Jul 16 2013, 7:44 PM
IamDarren: good construction on this torp. I thought i smelled chocolate on the foot but the cold draw reveals cocoa and spice. Nice combo. Ready to light up.
Jul 16 2013, 7:47 PM
StraightUpCigars: Me too, lighting!
Jul 16 2013, 7:49 PM
IamDarren: not getting much smoke output and draw is a little firm. Having to triple pull to get much smoke. Flavor is nice and sweet. Probably mild to medium bodied.
Jul 16 2013, 7:52 PM
IamDarren: also getting some spice and a little acidity. It tastes good, but isn’t wowing me yet.
Jul 16 2013, 7:52 PM
StraightUpCigars: Huh, that’s weird, my draw is a hair too open if anything. I like the flavor so far.
Jul 16 2013, 7:52 PM
StraightUpCigars: Getting some Earthy and fruity flavor with some spice on the finish. Medium bodied.
Jul 16 2013, 7:55 PM
IamDarren: i tried working the torpedo end to open it up and the draw did improve a little but smoke and flavor output has not improved. My cigar has already burned over a half inch which seems fast.
Jul 16 2013, 7:56 PM
StraightUpCigars: Real weird. I cut very shallow too. You never know what you’ll get I guess.
Jul 16 2013, 8:00 PM
IamDarren: im in an inch now and the smoke output has started to improve. Flavor is medium bodied at best but it has picked up a creaminess.
Jul 16 2013, 8:02 PM
IamDarren: yeah i am on the local FSA board now. I guess they recently upgraded to some new kind of software. Sounds like they are working out lots of kinks.
Jul 16 2013, 8:05 PM
IamDarren: im getting the fruity flavor now. Its a ripe fruit and earth mixture. Mild but tasty.
Jul 16 2013, 8:05 PM
StraightUpCigars: I am getting some pepper now. I am definitely enjoying this one so far.
Jul 16 2013, 8:06 PM
IamDarren: CI is pushing this brand pretty hard. I think you can get them pretty cheap, especially if you got them on cbid.
Jul 16 2013, 8:08 PM
StraightUpCigars: I wish I had more beer, about to kill my only one ;(
Jul 16 2013, 8:08 PM
IamDarren: stop by on your way home, i got a beer fridge out on my front porch from the 4th thats still half full.
Jul 16 2013, 8:09 PM
StraightUpCigars: Man, that sounds nice
Jul 16 2013, 8:10 PM
IamDarren: its been raining here so the last couple days have been very relaxing. I thought about lighting up one at about 5:00.
Jul 16 2013, 8:10 PM
IamDarren: I did get 2 sticks in yesterday.
Jul 16 2013, 8:12 PM
StraightUpCigars: What’d ja get?
Jul 16 2013, 8:12 PM
StraightUpCigars: Sorry, I thought you meant got new ones in. I
Jul 16 2013, 8:14 PM
IamDarren: I almost won a bid on some Padilla Crianza’s, but i have been holding back. We have some much new stuff, plus I have too many as it is in my Tower. I smoked a Diesel Unlimited and a SLR Serie G yesterday.
Jul 16 2013, 8:16 PM
IamDarren: Padilla just came out with this that new blend and Oliva is making them. Plus they are on the bid site so im trying to get some cheap.
Jul 16 2013, 8:16 PM
StraightUpCigars: I hear ya. I’ve been thinking about picking up somee new ones, but I have too many too. I’m really digging the tiny vitolas these days.
Jul 16 2013, 8:18 PM
IamDarren: Those Unlimiteds are aging extremely well. They have mellowed just enough to smoke earlier in the day.
Jul 16 2013, 8:19 PM
StraightUpCigars: Yeah, I only have a couple left
Jul 16 2013, 8:19 PM
IamDarren: sometimes i do wish he made them in a smaller size though
Jul 16 2013, 8:19 PM
StraightUpCigars: Yeah, the RG is annoying on them, I like the length. I wish I bought more of those LEC Fubar Fuertes
Jul 16 2013, 8:20 PM
IamDarren: I wonder how the new Puro Authentico Maddys are. I still have some of the originals and they are flavor bombs.
Jul 16 2013, 8:20 PM
IamDarren: those LECs were that good huh…. shoulda bought some for myself.
Jul 16 2013, 8:21 PM
StraightUpCigars: Oh yeah. I thought I sent you one with the last package. I loved em.
Jul 16 2013, 8:23 PM
IamDarren: its probably in my review tray
Jul 16 2013, 8:23 PM
StraightUpCigars: Take it outta there, it’s all yours!
Jul 16 2013, 8:23 PM
IamDarren: lol, ok i will smoke it tomorrow
Jul 16 2013, 8:24 PM
StraightUpCigars: Do you guys spray poop on your corn?
Jul 16 2013, 8:25 PM
IamDarren: poop? you mean manure.
Jul 16 2013, 8:25 PM
StraightUpCigars: Yeah, that’s it.
Jul 16 2013, 8:26 PM
IamDarren: we don’t do much of it but the feedlots do it alot just because they have a lot of it and its free. You have to spread it in a special truck. Usually they do it in the winter and then plant through it later.
Jul 16 2013, 8:26 PM
StraightUpCigars: Huh. I had seen somebody doing that in WI before. Here in IA the whole northern half of the state smells like cow turds.
Jul 16 2013, 8:27 PM
StraightUpCigars: I passed a CAFO or two, but I think its from spraying on the fields.
Jul 16 2013, 8:27 PM
IamDarren: This year we tried a new fertilizer that we sprayed on the wheat called “Black Label” and it looks like tar. Its a special fertilizer that is make from human waste from what I am told.
Jul 16 2013, 8:28 PM
IamDarren: its main ingredient is humic acid I think
Jul 16 2013, 8:29 PM
StraightUpCigars: I think a good new crime punishment should be getting sprayed with black label.
Jul 16 2013, 8:31 PM
IamDarren: lol, well it just fertilizer derived from organic substances instead of urea. Basically they are finding that plants won’t take up nitrogen and other nutrients until they are converted to the form thats in Black Label. Normal fertilizer has to be converted by micro-organisms in the soil.
Jul 16 2013, 8:31 PM
StraightUpCigars: Huh. That was pretty over my head
Jul 16 2013, 8:33 PM
StraightUpCigars: My cigar is smoking like champ. I’m entering the final third and the bands came off easily. Starting to get some bitterness, but not too bad. Mostly earthy with some black coffee, pepper, and spice. I’d call it full bodied now.
Jul 16 2013, 8:33 PM
IamDarren: Soybeans actually have nodules on their roots where a certain kind of bacteria grow. They work with the soybean plant to make fertilizer. You can tell im a biology nerd…
Jul 16 2013, 8:33 PM
IamDarren: My cigar is staying in the medium range although im not as far as you. Once in awhile I get some bitterness on the finish but mostly just a lot of sweetness.
Jul 16 2013, 8:36 PM
StraightUpCigars: This is a pretty pungent cigar. I bet this hotel room is going to stink tomorrow
Jul 16 2013, 8:37 PM
IamDarren: its almost got that over-ripe barnyard type smell to it. It tastes good but i agree its a little pungent.
Jul 16 2013, 8:37 PM
StraightUpCigars: Oh yeah, no idea what is wrong with the forum, this time I didn’t break it. I need to make a call to the tech support team, not sure when I’ll get a chance to do that ;(
Jul 16 2013, 8:38 PM
IamDarren: ok i was wondering. I guess if we had a ton of pissed off members it would be a little different. Im surprised we haven’t attracted a few more people by now.
Jul 16 2013, 8:39 PM
StraightUpCigars: Yeah, we tried and tried. If you build it, they won’t necessarily come
Jul 16 2013, 8:40 PM
IamDarren: well its probably like the main site. At lot of people stop by to see whats new and check reviews but aren’t willing to get involved.
Jul 16 2013, 8:42 PM
StraightUpCigars: Right. The best example is giveaways. I ran the Screwpop punch giveaway simultaneous with the box of Recluse giveaway. Few people bothered to typee in an entry for the punch thingy, but about 100 did for the Recluse.
Jul 16 2013, 8:43 PM
IamDarren: well that Recluse giveaway was pretty badass
Jul 16 2013, 8:45 PM
StraightUpCigars: You woulda been one of those people!
Jul 16 2013, 8:45 PM
IamDarren: well free stuff is free stuff. If you are willing to reply to one you might as well reply to the other. Lazy asses…
Jul 16 2013, 8:47 PM
IamDarren: wrapper just started to split in the last third, probably from my attempt to open up the draw earlier. Also starting to pick up more bitterness now.
Jul 16 2013, 8:48 PM
StraightUpCigars: This thing is pumping out a bunch of rich flavor. Definitely all of full bodied. The bitterness has increased on mine, and I’m about ready to set it down. Nice cigar though. Mine has some wrapper split issues, but it’s in the last inch and a half anyways. Mostly perfect construction.
Jul 16 2013, 8:48 PM
IamDarren: same here, i can rate whenever you are ready
Jul 16 2013, 8:51 PM
StraightUpCigars: Overall, great price but the flavor could have used more transitions – not much for complexities. Good tasting and good construction. I’d buy another.
Jul 16 2013, 8:51 PM
IamDarren: Not bad for the price.
Jul 16 2013, 8:52 PM
StraightUpCigars: That pretty much sums it up.


Related posts:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This blog is kept spam free by WP-SpamFree.