La Gloria Cubana Serie R Esteli – Cigar Review

This week’s group cigar review is of the La Gloria Cubana Serie R.  The Serie R has a super oily wrapper that has a pungent tobacco smell.  After cutting it, the draw is great and it’s worth noting that we also love the band on this cigar.  Once lit up, the flavors were charred wood with some spice and a very faint sweetness.  Right off the bat we noticed that the despite an open draw, we were having to double and triple puff to get enough smoke.  The ash was also very weak and you have to be careful or it would fall in your lap.  The cigar mellowed out in the second third and the flavors seemed better balanced, although unchanged.  In the final third, more of the same, although with an unpleasant bitterness later on.  Overall, we liked the flavor of second third, but the poor construction plagued this stick.  Larger vitolas are more prone to construction problems, and we feel this would be a better cigar in a robusto size.
StraightUpCigars: Rating:
Flavor and Taste: 15/20
Construction: 8/10
Wrapper: 5/5
Price Point: 6/10
Would I buy a Box: 2/5
Total: 36/50

IamDarren: Rating:
Flavor and Taste: 14/20
Construction: 6/10
Wrapper: 5/5
Price Point: 6/10
Would I buy a Box: 2/5
Total: 33/50

Terry1: Rating:
Flavor and Taste: 14/20
Construction: 7/10
Wrapper: 5/5
Price Point: 6/10
Would I buy a Box: 1/5
Total: 33/50


Feb 11 2014, 7:36 PM
StraightUpCigars: Mine has a very good draw after cutting, a SUPER oily and dark wrapper. It also has a very pungent tobacco smell to the wrapper.
Feb 11 2014, 7:39 PM
Terry1: Love the band. Modern and retro at the same time. Mine has a nice draw. Not getting much in flavor, just a general tobacco. The Serie R Esteli looks and feels well made.
Feb 11 2014, 7:42 PM
StraightUpCigars: Yeah, the band is on this is super cool, huge but not overstated.

Feb 11 2014, 7:48 PM
IamDarren: ok, just got set up
Feb 11 2014, 7:49 PM
Terry1: I’m going to light up.
Feb 11 2014, 7:50 PM
StraightUpCigars: Me too, it’s a biggie!
Feb 11 2014, 7:50 PM
IamDarren: no doubt, nice shiny wrapper though
Feb 11 2014, 7:51 PM
StraightUpCigars: Yeah, you can see your reflection in the oils.
Feb 11 2014, 7:53 PM
IamDarren: getting quite a bit of spice and charred wood flavor up front. Decent draw and smoke production.
Feb 11 2014, 7:54 PM
Terry1: Took a minute to get it going but lot’s of smoke for me now. Spice is out front, slight sweetness and a woody note. Good start.
Feb 11 2014, 7:54 PM
IamDarren: feel like im smoking a good bourbon
Feb 11 2014, 7:55 PM
StraightUpCigars: Lots of smoke here too, but you’re right Terry it’s not easy lighting this honkin beast.
Feb 11 2014, 7:56 PM
StraightUpCigars: This actually is similar tasting to a bourbon infused cigar I tried. I’m with you guys, charred wood and spice right now.
Feb 11 2014, 7:58 PM
IamDarren: watch the ash. mine just fell right off
Feb 11 2014, 7:58 PM
IamDarren: one of the sticks im gonna send you guys has been aged in rum barrels
Feb 11 2014, 7:59 PM
StraightUpCigars: Nice! You’ll have to remind me so I can drink rum that night.
Feb 11 2014, 8:00 PM
IamDarren: starting to get a little sweetness mixed in with the spice. Still dominated by charred wood flavor but its beginning to mellow just a bit.
Feb 11 2014, 8:00 PM
IamDarren: lol, you got it
Feb 11 2014, 8:00 PM
IamDarren: now if they just had a cigar aged in beer kegs you would be set
Feb 11 2014, 8:01 PM
IamDarren: aluminum may not impart a good flavor though
Feb 11 2014, 8:02 PM
Terry1: I need a flavor change. The charred wood and pepper is a bit overwhelming. It’s making my throat scratchy. I need some of that sweetness you’re getting Darren to balance this out.
Feb 11 2014, 8:04 PM
StraightUpCigars: Lol at Darren! Yeah, I’m ready for a transition too. Mine does have a hint of sweetness, but it comes through in a kind of bitter dark chocolate flavor.
Feb 11 2014, 8:04 PM
Terry1: You’re right about the ash. Barely an inch and it fell off in the bowl.
Feb 11 2014, 8:05 PM
IamDarren: yeah its a little on the dry side and flavors are very dark. I wish there was some more richness or something creamy to balance it out. Definitely a little “one note”. Getting close to the second third, maybe we will get a transition.
Feb 11 2014, 8:06 PM
IamDarren: my second ash just dropped on the floor and it disintigrated upon impact.
Feb 11 2014, 8:07 PM
IamDarren: i do think mine is continuing to mellow. Not getting any new flavors, just not so overpowering with the charred flavor.
Feb 11 2014, 8:07 PM
StraightUpCigars: Atleast it doesn’t leave a mess! This is a light and airy cigar when you consider how big it is, no wonder the ash is wimpy.
Feb 11 2014, 8:09 PM
Terry1: I wonder what made General to make a Nicaraguan puro out of the Serie R and not the Serie N. To me it makes more sense with the N.
Feb 11 2014, 8:09 PM
IamDarren: its funny how differently tobaccos burn. Some cigars (AJ’s in particular) have ash like a brick. I have been standing outside and dropped the ash and it didn’t even break apart.
Feb 11 2014, 8:10 PM
IamDarren: maybe they will if this one goes over well
Feb 11 2014, 8:11 PM
Terry1: The smoke is airy. I need to double and triple puff to get a good mouthful. I might have a small void that’s allowing too much air through.
Feb 11 2014, 8:13 PM
IamDarren: mine has started doing the same thing
Feb 11 2014, 8:13 PM
Terry1: The good news is mine has mellowed out. The pepper and wood notes are not near as potent. A light sweetness is coming through now. Much better.
Feb 11 2014, 8:14 PM
StraightUpCigars: The construction is great on mine, other than the loose ash. Even though mine is mellowed a bit, the flavor is every bit as bold as it was before – just with less pepper and spice.
Feb 11 2014, 8:15 PM
IamDarren: i pulled up a site to look at the stats on this stick and it asked me for my birthday to verify that I am 21. Is that not the STUPIDEST thing ever. Any idiot can put in an earlier birth date.
Feb 11 2014, 8:16 PM
IamDarren: looks like this is (at least for now) a B&M exclusive cigar
Feb 11 2014, 8:17 PM
StraightUpCigars: Interesting. I wonder why they would have it B&M only?
Feb 11 2014, 8:18 PM
IamDarren: wasn’t one of AJs sticks going to be a B&M exclusive and then after a year or so they brought it online?
Feb 11 2014, 8:19 PM
StraightUpCigars: Was that the Oval?
Feb 11 2014, 8:19 PM
IamDarren: yeah i think you may be right
Feb 11 2014, 8:20 PM
Terry1: Funny you mentioned the Oval. I squished my cigar down so it looks like the Oval and it’s now smoking better. Must be underfilled.
Feb 11 2014, 8:20 PM
IamDarren: im sure its all a marketing ploy. They probably put it there first to see if it sells so they don’t waste a bunch of money on production. Then if it sells they can probably negotiate a better price to the online retailers.
Feb 11 2014, 8:21 PM
StraightUpCigars: You might bee right, it may be a way to gain leverage over the ruthless online retailers.
Feb 11 2014, 8:22 PM
IamDarren: im starting to get more sweetness and less spice. Its coming across as a dark chocolate flavor with the charred wood coming in on the finish. Nearing the halfway mark.
Feb 11 2014, 8:23 PM
Terry1: Just ashed in my lap. Tap often with this one.
Feb 11 2014, 8:24 PM
IamDarren: also still having to double draw to get much smoke
Feb 11 2014, 8:29 PM
StraightUpCigars: For how light the cigar is and how loose the ash, it sure does burn slowly.
Feb 11 2014, 8:29 PM
Terry1: I’m okay with the smoke flavor but the aftertaste in my mouth tastes like I licked the ashtray. Not so good. About halfway and I’m getting a slight sweetness and the wood notes.
Feb 11 2014, 8:29 PM
IamDarren: there isn’t much of a cherry on this stick. I think its burning very cool. Probably why we are having issues with smoke production too.
Feb 11 2014, 8:31 PM
Terry1: At least the band pulled off easily.
Feb 11 2014, 8:37 PM
Terry1: Boy I’m getting tired of puffing. Whenever I set the cigar down to type it’s like the cigar goes out and I need to puff many times to get it going again. I hate baby sitting a cigar to keep it lit.
Feb 11 2014, 8:37 PM
StraightUpCigars: I am definitely not having the smoke production or cherry issues that you guys are. It’s interesting, mine actually got over-humidified in my travel humidor, which is definitely a factor. Sadly, I brought the Nestor Miranda Regional with me and it got moldy… I don’t think I have another one.
Feb 11 2014, 8:39 PM
IamDarren: darn thats too bad. Mine was around 60% i think.
Feb 11 2014, 8:41 PM
IamDarren: im nearing the last third and my smoke production has started to pick up. It has started picking up that creaminess that i was hoping for. Still getting some of that charred flavor but its being complimented by the sweet spice. I wish the first half of the cigar was like this.
Feb 11 2014, 8:42 PM
StraightUpCigars: This is definitely the best tasting portion of this cigar. It has some serious strength to it, I’m buzzed.
Feb 11 2014, 8:43 PM
Terry1: I’m into the last third. Yeah I agree I’m getting buzzed too.
Feb 11 2014, 8:45 PM
IamDarren: not buzzed yet but starting to salivate a lot more
Feb 11 2014, 8:46 PM
Terry1: I also agree this third is the best tasting. More of the sweetness less of the charred wood note.
Feb 11 2014, 8:51 PM
StraightUpCigars: I have the opposite problem you guys are having, I can barely see through the fog in my room!
Feb 11 2014, 8:51 PM
StraightUpCigars: So… much… smoke…
Feb 11 2014, 8:54 PM
IamDarren: im starting to get a bitter note. Flavors have really dropped off.
Feb 11 2014, 8:56 PM
IamDarren: dang, going to have to relight
Feb 11 2014, 8:58 PM
IamDarren: must have hit a void or something. now that its relit is smoking like a freight train.
Feb 11 2014, 8:59 PM
Terry1: I’m setting mine down. I’m just about to the nub. It’s getting too strong for me. I’m sweating and it’s only about 45 degrees. This one is kicking my butt.
Feb 11 2014, 9:00 PM
IamDarren: cap was coming loose so i just pulled it off. Low and behold there is at least 2 large stems in this one
Feb 11 2014, 9:01 PM
IamDarren: now im starting to get a funky ammonia taste
Feb 11 2014, 9:01 PM
StraightUpCigars: This one is a beast. It has one of the fullest bodied flavor profiles I’ve ever experienced right now. It’s ramped into full bitter spice flavor. Craziness. I really liked that second third though.
Feb 11 2014, 9:02 PM
IamDarren: i would say the peak flavor was right around the halfway mark on my stick
Feb 11 2014, 9:03 PM
StraightUpCigars: I don’t have much left, going to rate it now.
Feb 11 2014, 9:04 PM
StraightUpCigars: This is no N, but atleast the wrapper isn’t dyed
Feb 11 2014, 9:07 PM
StraightUpCigars: This is yet another cigar gifted by General that I would prefer to try in a smaller vitola. Overall, it was an excellent second third, but it is not one I’d recommend.
Feb 11 2014, 9:07 PM
Terry1: Too much puffing for me. If I had a choice between the Esteli and the Serie N I’d take the N every time.
Feb 11 2014, 9:07 PM
IamDarren: I think this one is only available in large RG sizes


Related posts:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This blog is kept spam free by WP-SpamFree.