Iron Horse – Cigar Review

This week’s group cigar review is of the Iron Horse cigar.  This is a Famous Smoke Shop house blend that we’ve heard good things about.  It has a nice looking wrapper that has a chocolate smell.  The draw is good after using a cutter.  Once lit up, it starts out with a sweet coffee and earthy flavor with a tangy and somewhat bitter finish.  The pepper increased a little later in the cigar as well as the bitterness.  Overall, this is a decent and exceptionally cheap cigar.  As far as house blends go, it’s a standout.  We enjoyed the balanced flavor and smooth transitions.  If you can get past the cheesy name and band, then you should add a few to your humidor, we recommend it.

StraightUpCigars: Rating:
Flavor and Taste: 16/20
Construction: 9/10
Wrapper: 5/5
Price Point: 10/10
Would I buy a Box: 4/5
Total: 44/50

Terry1: Rating:
Flavor and Taste: 15/20
Construction: 10/10
Wrapper: 5/5
Price Point: 10/10
Would I buy a Box: 4/5
Total: 44/50

IamDarren: Rating:
Flavor and Taste: 15/20
Construction: 9/10
Wrapper: 5/5
Price Point: 10/10
Would I buy a Box: 3/5
Total: 42/50


Oct 14 2014, 7:53 PM
StraightUpCigars: Iron Horse has a sweet chocolate smell to the dark wrapper and a good draw after cutting.
Oct 14 2014, 7:56 PM
Terry1: I like the smell of the wrapper on the Iron Horse. I get that sweet barnyard smell. Draw is good on mine even though it feels tightly packed.
Oct 14 2014, 7:58 PM
IamDarren: Good construction, nice pack but has medium draw after the cut. Getting a rich earth and hint of chocolate on the cold draw
Oct 14 2014, 7:59 PM
Terry1: Lighting up.
Oct 14 2014, 8:00 PM
IamDarren: same here
Oct 14 2014, 8:00 PM
StraightUpCigars: Me too.
Oct 14 2014, 8:02 PM
StraightUpCigars: Nice earthy and creamy flavor to start. Easy to smoke.
Oct 14 2014, 8:03 PM
Terry1: Getting pepper, earth and some sweetness in the first few puffs. Lots of smoke.
Oct 14 2014, 8:03 PM
IamDarren: Earthy, a little cedar followed by a semi sweet chocolate. Just a hint of bitterness on the finish.
Oct 14 2014, 8:05 PM
IamDarren: already starting to switch to a coffee flavor now. Should have guessed it with that bitterness creeping in.
Oct 14 2014, 8:05 PM
StraightUpCigars: Wow, the first ashes just took a dunp on my computer, watch out.
Oct 14 2014, 8:08 PM
Terry1: I’m getting a lot of floral notes right now. The coffee for me is more like a cream and sugar kind of coffee. Not getting any real bitterness. Pepper is stings in the sinus.
Oct 14 2014, 8:10 PM
StraightUpCigars: Mine is very well balanced between a mild sweet and mild earthy flavor. I only notice the pepper when I retrohale.
Oct 14 2014, 8:10 PM
IamDarren: can’t nail down the flavor.. the coffee is coming and going along with the bitterness. Every puff seems different.
Oct 14 2014, 8:11 PM
IamDarren: from time to time I can detect that barnyard or over-ripe fruit flavor. Its not bad but it is mostly being covered up by that rich earthy flavor that hits the palate first.
Oct 14 2014, 8:13 PM
StraightUpCigars: I agree, I am getting some tanginess in the finish that lingers.
Oct 14 2014, 8:16 PM
StraightUpCigars: Pretty dry smoke on this one that leaves me thirsty.
Oct 14 2014, 8:17 PM
IamDarren: burn is a bit lopsided but not too bad, just dropped the first ash at about an inch. Cigar seems to be mellowing and I can’t discern what the flavors are except earthy with a hint of maduro sweetness.
Oct 14 2014, 8:17 PM
StraightUpCigars: P.S., dry smoke isn’t something I see as bad, especially if I’m trying to put on a buzz
Oct 14 2014, 8:18 PM
StraightUpCigars: It is hard to nail down flavors on this one, not too complex. I’d call it a meaty, rich flavor. I do like it quite a bit nonetheless.
Oct 14 2014, 8:19 PM
Terry1: Man that retrohale is brutal. I stopped for awhile and noticed more of the earth and sweetness. I’m liking it. Retrohaled the last puff and wham, the pepper makes my eyes water.
Oct 14 2014, 8:21 PM
IamDarren: Mabye its just me, but im starting to think that some aspects of the flavor have a lot to do with what I have had to eat and drink. Some of the cigars in my rotation seem to taste quite a bit different from one day to the next.
Oct 14 2014, 8:22 PM
StraightUpCigars: Are you saying it’s obvious I didn’t eat vegetarian tonight?
Oct 14 2014, 8:23 PM
IamDarren: lol, you said it not me It seems to me that the amount of pepper in a stick is what changes the most for me.
Oct 14 2014, 8:24 PM
IamDarren: Seems like if I smoke right after a meal i don’t get much pepper in a normal stick but if I have the same cigar in the middle of the day when im not salivating the pepper can be more intense
Oct 14 2014, 8:24 PM
IamDarren: you guys better start working on the band, mine is having glue issues
Oct 14 2014, 8:24 PM
Terry1: I was reading Famous about this cigar. I like Sumatra wrappers. Doesn’t say who makes it but the price is nice at about $2.70.
Oct 14 2014, 8:25 PM
StraightUpCigars: I was just about to ask who makes it, couldn’t find out.
Oct 14 2014, 8:25 PM
Terry1: My band popped right off. No issues for me.
Oct 14 2014, 8:26 PM
IamDarren: Did I pick these up or someone else? I could swear I have had these in the humi before.
Oct 14 2014, 8:26 PM
StraightUpCigars: I’ll be our control for eating before the review, I am always scarfing down dinner right as 7:30 hits lately.
Oct 14 2014, 8:26 PM
StraightUpCigars: You picked them up.
Oct 14 2014, 8:26 PM
Terry1: At this price I’m thinking there are going to be some inconsistencies.
Oct 14 2014, 8:26 PM
IamDarren: ok, then these have several months of aging on them. I think i got these back when we had a fourth chat member.
Oct 14 2014, 8:27 PM
StraightUpCigars: Wow, these have been around for a while.
Oct 14 2014, 8:29 PM
IamDarren: I have some that have been in the humi since before I upgraded to the cabinet. I will do some digging and send you guys a few with “extensive” aging
Oct 14 2014, 8:31 PM
IamDarren: infact, i just saw a few of those Padilla Habanos that first put AJ on my radar. That was back when he was mainly just making cigars for other companies. Shortly after he came out with the Diesel.
Oct 14 2014, 8:31 PM
StraightUpCigars: Nice. So far I’d put this in the excellent good gar category.
Oct 14 2014, 8:32 PM
IamDarren: since mine has mellowed the flavor has been very enjoyable. Semi sweet, earthy, mabye a hint of cedar or something to keep it from being too rich.
Oct 14 2014, 8:40 PM
StraightUpCigars: Forgot to mention, my band came off without issues luckily.
Oct 14 2014, 8:41 PM
Terry1: Wow I’m beginning to feel the nicotine on this one. I still have another third to go.
Oct 14 2014, 8:43 PM
IamDarren: mine is still chugging right along, still enjoying it. Had a phone call but now im back.
Oct 14 2014, 8:43 PM
Terry1: Pepper has mellowed out. I can retrohale without that stinging nasal sensation. Lots of good flavors coming through now.
Oct 14 2014, 8:44 PM
StraightUpCigars: Other than that first ash soiling my computer/clothes, I’ve had no construction problems. It’s smoking well right now.
Oct 14 2014, 8:44 PM
IamDarren: Im starting to remember when i got these I smoked one a couple weeks after getting them and there was a decent amount of pepper, so im betting that some aging has helped this stick.
Oct 14 2014, 8:50 PM
StraightUpCigars: Mine has a bitterness coming into play. Nothing bad yet, just a little bitter.
Oct 14 2014, 8:51 PM
IamDarren: was just about to say the same thing. While still mellow its getting a dry acidity to it that is detracting from the sweet note I was getting earlier.
Oct 14 2014, 8:53 PM
Terry1: I’m not getting bitterness yet.
Oct 14 2014, 8:57 PM
Terry1: Getting down to the nub. Strength is up there for me. Burn was perfect the whole time. I’m still getting the same good flavors.
Oct 14 2014, 8:58 PM
StraightUpCigars: Bitterness increased on mine. I think I will set it down now before it taints an otherwise decent smoke.
Oct 14 2014, 8:58 PM
IamDarren: same here, think i may put mine down. Maybe a half inch left but don’t want to coat my palate with bitter flavor.
Oct 14 2014, 8:59 PM
Terry1: Let’s rate it then.
Oct 14 2014, 9:02 PM
StraightUpCigars: Not bad scores. The price is the most exceptional part of this cigar. It makes a good yard gar.
Oct 14 2014, 9:03 PM
IamDarren: If that last third would have kept going as well as the first 2 it would have been really good
Oct 14 2014, 9:03 PM
Terry1: Decent cigar. Had some good flavors and some transitions with the pepper. Great construction. I can recommend trying it expecially for the price.

 


Related posts:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This blog is kept spam free by WP-SpamFree.