Humo Jaguar – Cigar Review

This week’s group cigar review is of the Humo Jaguar cigar.  This one has a slightly mottled wrapper with a spicy tobacco smell.  It is very firmly packed with tobacco and the draw is a bit tight after cutting, so cut it deep!  Once we lit it up, we were met with an earthy and spicy flavors and a little sweetness.  One of the cigars had a wrapper that split, but it burned past the problem spot eventually.  Later in the cigar, some coffee flavor crept in, but so did some bitterness.  Overall, this one had decent flavor and construction, but it didn’t have much wow factor.   This one is all right, but there are better values out there.

StraightUpCigars: Rating:
Flavor and Taste: 16/20
Construction: 8/10
Wrapper: 4/5
Price Point: 7/10
Would I buy a Box: 2/5
Total: 37/50

Terry1: Rating:
Flavor and Taste: 16/20
Construction: 9/10
Wrapper: 4/5
Price Point: 7/10
Would I buy a Box: 2/5
Total: 38/50


Jul 23 2013, 7:47 PM
StraightUpCigars: The Humo Jaguar has a decent looking wrapper (a little mottled), a spicy tobacco smell and taste, and the draw is a little tight but acceptablee prior to lighting.
Jul 23 2013, 7:53 PM
Terry1: Cigar looks well made. It feels like there’s a lot of tobacco stuffed into it but the draw on mine is about perfect. I get a slightly sweet note on the cold draw. I’m ready to light up.
Jul 23 2013, 7:53 PM
StraightUpCigars: Cool, lighting up!
Jul 23 2013, 7:56 PM
StraightUpCigars: Nice creamy and spicy tobacco flavor to start. Medium/full body right off the bat.
Jul 23 2013, 7:57 PM
Terry1: I heard a pop as I lit up the cigar. I’ve got about an inch crack from the foot. Spicy flavors to start with.
Jul 23 2013, 7:58 PM
StraightUpCigars: Raw deal. A little TOO much tobacco in yours.
Jul 23 2013, 7:59 PM
Terry1: Yeah. The crack is expanding as it’s heating up. I’m hoping I can keep it from traveling up the cigar. So far it hasn’t affected the draw or flavors.
Jul 23 2013, 8:00 PM
Terry1: Looks like the crack hit the seam so I might be okay in a few minutes as the burn catches up.
Jul 23 2013, 8:01 PM
StraightUpCigars: Nice. I went ahead and did a pretty deep cut, it seems to have solved my draw issue.
[Delete]
Jul 23 2013, 8:04 PM
StraightUpCigars: I have got the brightest red cherry on mine, I’m going to let it simmer. It was starting to overheat.
Jul 23 2013, 8:05 PM
Terry1: So far lot’s of spice, an earthy note and some sweetness is creeping in. I’m liking the Humo Jaguar but not loving it.
Jul 23 2013, 8:06 PM
StraightUpCigars: Agreed. Hopefully it throws us a curveball here, because it is somewhat run of the mill at the moment.
Jul 23 2013, 8:13 PM
Terry1: I’m impressed with the construction. The cigar quickly burned up the cracked side then stopped at the seem. The rest of the cigar caught up and now it’s burning evenly. I really thought I was going to have to do a major burn correction.
Jul 23 2013, 8:15 PM
StraightUpCigars: My draw is still a hair too tight, but I think I just got the flavor turn I was looking for. Getting some charred oak flavor that kicks it up a notch. Tasting pretty good.
Jul 23 2013, 8:17 PM
Terry1: Yeah mine is tasting okay. Nothing special, earth, some spice and tobacco. I’m a little disappointed thou. Wasn’t this the winning cigar at some Honduran cigar festival? I was expecting more. Maybe it will get better.
Jul 23 2013, 8:18 PM
StraightUpCigars: I don’t recall, but I know this one is talked about a lot… could just be the retailers doing the talking though
Jul 23 2013, 8:25 PM
StraightUpCigars: Letting mine cool between puffs is really helping. Even with a tight pack and tight draw it still wants to overheat.
Jul 23 2013, 8:29 PM
Terry1: I’ve slowed down too. I’m getting some coffee flavor now and a little sweetness. Flavor is much better. I must have smoked too fast and overheated the cigar.
Jul 23 2013, 8:30 PM
StraightUpCigars: The ash is dropping pretty quickly on mine, watch your laptop!
Jul 23 2013, 8:32 PM
Terry1: Band came off easily. I’ve always wondered if it’s harder to attach a thin band like what’s on this cigar or the really big bands.
Jul 23 2013, 8:33 PM
StraightUpCigars: I’d have to guess this would be harder, it would be so easy to overdo it with the glue.
Jul 23 2013, 8:34 PM
Terry1: I’d have to agree. If it was me putting on bands I’d have glue on every finger and all over the cigars.
Jul 23 2013, 8:35 PM
StraightUpCigars: Lol, I’d get my hands stuck to my junk when I went to the bathroom.
Jul 23 2013, 8:36 PM
Terry1: Lol. “a little sappy, a little full.” Christmas Vacation.
Jul 23 2013, 8:38 PM
StraightUpCigars: Nice!
Jul 23 2013, 8:41 PM
Terry1: Starting the final third and the cigar is getting a little bitter. No problems with the burn or draw. Strength is starting to become noticable.
Jul 23 2013, 8:42 PM
StraightUpCigars: I certainly feel the strength. I’m still smoking slow and mine is bitter as well. It’s not showing any signs of clearing up either.
Jul 23 2013, 8:43 PM
StraightUpCigars: It’s so damn hot here my computer feels like it is overheating
Jul 23 2013, 8:46 PM
StraightUpCigars: I purged it and let it cool back down, first couple of puffs were fine and now it is bitter again.
Jul 23 2013, 8:48 PM
Terry1: Yeah I’m fighting it too. I’ll have a couple of puffs that taste fine then a couple of bitter puffs.
Jul 23 2013, 8:49 PM
StraightUpCigars: It’s weird sometimes the bitterness takes on a dark coffee flavor, other time it is intolerable.
Jul 23 2013, 8:50 PM
Terry1: I’m not a fan of Honduran tobacco in general. The Humo Jaguar hasn’t changed my mind.
Jul 23 2013, 8:52 PM
StraightUpCigars: For the most part I agree, IIRC there are a couple of RYJs that I like with Honduran tobacco in them.
Jul 23 2013, 8:53 PM
Terry1: I’m about done. Take the random bitterness out and this was an okay cigar. It has a nice blend of coffee, earth and wood when you can taste them. Construction on mine was about perfect. Strength is in the upper medium range. I’d smoke this one again but I wouldn’t buy a box of them.
Jul 23 2013, 8:54 PM
StraightUpCigars: Well said, I completely agree. Lots of room for improvement, but completely smokeable.
Jul 23 2013, 8:59 PM
StraightUpCigars: Definitely worse out there, just middle of the road. Glad we gave it a try though so we could see what the “hype” was about.
Jul 23 2013, 9:00 PM
Terry1: I agree. Kind of an average cigar. I probably would have enjoyed it more if my expectations weren’t so high to start with.


Related posts:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This blog is kept spam free by WP-SpamFree.