Genesis – Cigar Review

Up for review tonight is a newer cigar by Ramon Bueso, the Genesis.  It has been pretty hyped up, so we are excited to give it a try.  Prior to lighting, we are very pleased.  The wrapper is extremely oily and it has a sweet and earthy aroma.  The draw is just about perfect as well.  Time to light up!  This is a flavor bomb right off the bat, dominated by cedar, earth, and espresso with some pepper on the finish.  The flavor is consistent, but oh so delicious.  The Genesis was perfectly constructed for all three of us.  Overall, this is a highly recommended cigar.  It has all the makings of the perfect SUC cigar, good construction, excellent flavor, and an affordable price.  You have to try the Genesis!

StraightUpCigars: Rating:
Flavor and Taste: 18/20
Construction: 10/10
Wrapper: 5/5
Price Point: 10/10
Would I buy a Box: 5/5
Total: 48/50

IamDarren: Rating:
Flavor and Taste: 19/20
Construction: 10/10
Wrapper: 5/5
Price Point: 10/10
Would I buy a Box: 5/5
Total: 49/50

Terry1: Rating:
Flavor and Taste: 18/20
Construction: 10/10
Wrapper: 5/5
Price Point: 10/10
Would I buy a Box: 5/5
Total: 48/50


Sep 4 2012, 7:29 PM
StraightUpCigars: Heading to the pit for the GENESIS!
Sep 4 2012, 7:31 PM
IamDarren: Just so you guys know im going to be smoking the torpedo. I only got 2 robustos in the sampler and now all i have is torps.
Sep 4 2012, 7:33 PM
IamDarren: i love the aroma on this sucker. A very nice mix of cedar and some dark earthy notes.
Sep 4 2012, 7:34 PM
IamDarren: A bit of sweetness too, maybe chocolate
Sep 4 2012, 7:35 PM
StraightUpCigars: WOW! Nice sweet earthy smell on this son of a gun. One of the oiliest wrappers I have ever seen too.
Sep 4 2012, 7:35 PM
Terry1: Good description. I get a sweet cedar and dark chocolate on the cold draw. Very nice!
Sep 4 2012, 7:36 PM
IamDarren: are we ready to light up?
Sep 4 2012, 7:36 PM
StraightUpCigars: I am. Pretty much the perfect draw prior to lighting.
Sep 4 2012, 7:36 PM
Terry1: Let’s do it.
Sep 4 2012, 7:39 PM
StraightUpCigars: Very flavorful start.
Sep 4 2012, 7:40 PM
IamDarren: Lots of smoke, tons of rich flavors. Im getting a cedar note followed by dark chocolate. However the chocolate is more sweet than bitter. Very nice.
Sep 4 2012, 7:40 PM
StraightUpCigars: Chewy texture to the smoke with a nutty, earthy, and chocolatey flavor.
Sep 4 2012, 7:41 PM
IamDarren: not much spice but a little pepper on the retrohale
Sep 4 2012, 7:42 PM
Terry1: Yeah, very full flavored start. I’m getting the sweetness and cedar and a light pepper. A black coffee note is coming through on finish. Very good start. I like the sweetness at the front.
Sep 4 2012, 7:43 PM
IamDarren: already starting to get some espresso now but not too strong. Still smooth and sweet.
Sep 4 2012, 7:44 PM
StraightUpCigars: Definitely espresso. Is this a Brazilian wrapper leaf?
Sep 4 2012, 7:44 PM
IamDarren: its a Connecticut Broadleaf
Sep 4 2012, 7:45 PM
StraightUpCigars: That’s a surprise. Tons of flavor from that sucker.
Sep 4 2012, 7:46 PM
IamDarren: By the look of it I would say it is a very high priming ligero that has been extensively fermented and aged. they did a great job with it.
Sep 4 2012, 7:47 PM
IamDarren: burn is going great on mine, and ash is still holding at half an inch. Lots of resting smoke.
Sep 4 2012, 7:47 PM
StraightUpCigars: Very firm ash and perfect burn.
Sep 4 2012, 7:47 PM
IamDarren: if these smoke like the others i have tried it should start to mellow a bit soon.
Sep 4 2012, 7:48 PM
StraightUpCigars: Hey, no spoilers!
Sep 4 2012, 7:48 PM
IamDarren: lol, ok ok
Sep 4 2012, 7:49 PM
Terry1: Mine’s burning great too. I’m starting to lose some of the sweetness and the pepper and espresso is picking up. Still smooth and producing lots of tasty smoke.
Sep 4 2012, 7:51 PM
IamDarren: these stay lit well, if you smoke it slow the spice and pepper are mellowed out more.
Sep 4 2012, 7:52 PM
StraightUpCigars: Mine has more pepper and spice creeping in right now than it did initially.
Sep 4 2012, 7:52 PM
IamDarren: ash just fell off at about an inch
Sep 4 2012, 7:54 PM
IamDarren: im not getting a lot of pepper but with the larger ring gauge I think the torpedo isn’t quite as strong as the robusto.
Sep 4 2012, 7:55 PM
IamDarren: Still cedar up front, then a slightly sweet chocolate, and finally espresso and charred oak on the finish.
Sep 4 2012, 7:56 PM
Terry1: Yeah mine is getting spicy too. I’m trying to smoke slower as Darren suggested. Seems to be helping. I can detect some of the sweetness I got earlier.
Sep 4 2012, 7:57 PM
IamDarren: i am getting some spice clear on the end of the finish and on the retrohale
Sep 4 2012, 7:57 PM
StraightUpCigars: I dropped off the first ash and am in the second third. I’
Sep 4 2012, 7:58 PM
StraightUpCigars: I’m going to slow it down and decrease the pepper.
Sep 4 2012, 7:58 PM
Terry1: CI scored well on this one. Good cigar and the price of $3-$4 each on a box purchase really is surprising. Lots of flavor for a good value.
Sep 4 2012, 7:59 PM
IamDarren: its definitely a flavor bomb. My kind of cigar.
Sep 4 2012, 8:00 PM
StraightUpCigars: I think I could have another afterwards b/c they burn quick, except it seems pretty strong.
Sep 4 2012, 8:01 PM
Terry1: My ash just fell off at about an inch. The cherry is fairly flat suggesting all the tobaccos are burning even. Big plus on the blending and construction.
Sep 4 2012, 8:02 PM
IamDarren: yeah that was my only criticism about the robusto. For some reason the torps burn a lot slower. Im about a half inch from the halfway point.
Sep 4 2012, 8:02 PM
IamDarren: mine has mellowed out more. Very little pepper now. Getting more of the chocolate now with espresso on the finish.
Sep 4 2012, 8:06 PM
StraightUpCigars: Mine is quite tangy at this point with some espresso in there. Tastes like the strongest Nespresso blend Yes, I’m a coffee snob.
Sep 4 2012, 8:07 PM
Terry1: I’m at about half way and smoking slowly has really helped ease the pepper. I’m getting more of the chocolate and espresso now. And I’m starting to feel the strength. I might have to switch to a soda soon if it get any stronger.
Sep 4 2012, 8:08 PM
StraightUpCigars: I hear ya Terry… so….much…..ligero
Sep 4 2012, 8:08 PM
IamDarren: I hoping that this stick is going to be a prime candidate for aging. Since it is so full of dark flavors a little aging might mellow it a little.
Sep 4 2012, 8:09 PM
Terry1: Yeah ligero brings on the flavor…but at a price.
Sep 4 2012, 8:09 PM
Terry1: I agree this would probably age well.
Sep 4 2012, 8:09 PM
IamDarren: ahhh, i don’t mind a little nic kick
Sep 4 2012, 8:10 PM
StraightUpCigars: Very good point Darren, I can’t imagine how good this would be with some age behind it!
Sep 4 2012, 8:10 PM
IamDarren: Well i have a full box in the humi so we will se.
Sep 4 2012, 8:11 PM
IamDarren: Those Diesel Unlimiteds have aged very well. You guys should try the ones i sent in the pack. I think you will find they have mellowed a bit and picked up a lot more complexity.
Sep 4 2012, 8:13 PM
StraightUpCigars: I’ll add it to the “to smoke” pile.
Sep 4 2012, 8:13 PM
IamDarren: i would even suggest taking the plastic off for a few days prior to smoking to let them air out.
Sep 4 2012, 8:13 PM
StraightUpCigars: I have a small batch of cigars to send out, but it is just a handful right now. LFD sent me a bunch, but only 2 each. I’ll send them out but not for group review.
Sep 4 2012, 8:14 PM
IamDarren: sounds great Matt
Sep 4 2012, 8:15 PM
IamDarren: burn is going great, just crossed the halfway mark and the second ash is still holding on.
Sep 4 2012, 8:16 PM
Terry1: I just popped the band off. Came off cleanly. I’m getting a more earthy note to go with the espresso.
Sep 4 2012, 8:17 PM
StraightUpCigars: I’m in the final third. The nic is kicking in, but I quite like it I have a bitter earth flavor with the espresso. At this point I’m slouched in my seat enjoying this one quite a bit.
Sep 4 2012, 8:17 PM
IamDarren: lol, after a nice meal a little niccotine can be nice
Sep 4 2012, 8:19 PM
IamDarren: mine is still quite mellow, definitely more earthy now but still some sweetness with espresso on the finish.
Sep 4 2012, 8:20 PM
IamDarren: i am getting a slight nic buzz now
Sep 4 2012, 8:22 PM
Terry1: Whew. I’m switching to a soda before I get to the point I can’t stand up.
Sep 4 2012, 8:23 PM
IamDarren: lol, good idea
Sep 4 2012, 8:25 PM
IamDarren: looks like some rain clouds moving in from the north, perfect evening to be out on the porch smoking a cigar.
Sep 4 2012, 8:26 PM
IamDarren: just moving into the last third. The spice is coming back now and the espresso is now the dominant flavor.
Sep 4 2012, 8:26 PM
StraightUpCigars: Yours really does smoke a lot slower. Mine is well into the final third.
Sep 4 2012, 8:27 PM
Terry1: We’ve had some intense storms. Rain plus burned up hillsides equals mudslides. Some neighborhoods are really getting hit hard.
Sep 4 2012, 8:28 PM
IamDarren: well keep on sending it my way, we need all we can get
Sep 4 2012, 8:29 PM
StraightUpCigars: Our weather has been crazy too, but it is back to normal now. Hot and humid.
Sep 4 2012, 8:31 PM
IamDarren: yeah its been really hot here but the last rain we got soaked in and it was only humid for about 3 or 4 days. Now its dry as a bone again.
Sep 4 2012, 8:31 PM
Terry1: I’m always amazed at how fast sugar conteracts the nicotine buzz. It’s only been a few minutes and already I’m feeling almost normal again. Thank god it works or I wouldn’t be able to fully enjoy some of these stronger cigars.
Sep 4 2012, 8:33 PM
IamDarren: yeah i usually go with pepsi or pepsi and jack when i smoke. Just a small sip is enough to cleanse the palate. For me, water still leaves a lot of aftertaste in my mouth.
Sep 4 2012, 8:33 PM
StraightUpCigars: I was on a whiskey/coke kick for a bit, but I’m back to good ole beer now.
Sep 4 2012, 8:35 PM
IamDarren: i love beer but for me beer and cigars just don’t mix well. I like cigars that are sweet with earth, cocoa or espresso, and some spice. Beer just adds a bitterness that i don’t like.
Sep 4 2012, 8:36 PM
Terry1: Speaking of beer. I went through the Coors brewery in Golden Co. My god the beer samples were good. They must tap directly into the copper kettles. Best beer I’ve tried.
Sep 4 2012, 8:36 PM
Terry1: I like rum with cigars. I like the added sweetness it seems to bring out in cigars.
Sep 4 2012, 8:36 PM
IamDarren: ok, im jealous
Sep 4 2012, 8:37 PM
StraightUpCigars: That sounds like fun. Coors is my cheapo of choice. It is what I am drinking right now.
Sep 4 2012, 8:37 PM
IamDarren: Coors is my favorite light to medium beer. However lately Guiness is my beer of choice. Its dark but oh so smooth.
Sep 4 2012, 8:38 PM
Terry1: I kept going back for the Blue Moon. My favorite.
Sep 4 2012, 8:38 PM
IamDarren: I recently had some Flat Tire and it was very good also.
Sep 4 2012, 8:40 PM
IamDarren: Boulevard is another one of my favorites.
Sep 4 2012, 8:40 PM
StraightUpCigars: Those are both good. Look for Bell’s and O’dells next time you’re at the store. Good stuff right there.
Sep 4 2012, 8:41 PM
StraightUpCigars: My cigar is all finished up. Damn good right down to the end.
Sep 4 2012, 8:41 PM
Terry1: I’m nearing the nub on this Genesis. Still providing lots of good earth and espresso flavors. Near perfect burn. I think we have another winner. Good pick Darren.
Sep 4 2012, 8:41 PM
IamDarren: Yeah i think the burn really slows down in the last third keeping it from heating up.
Sep 4 2012, 8:42 PM
IamDarren: I still have at least an inch left, but feel free to go ahead and rate it when you guys are done.
Sep 4 2012, 8:43 PM
StraightUpCigars: Definitely a winner. Excellent flavor, flawless construction, good value. It will score well.
Sep 4 2012, 8:44 PM
IamDarren: I will definitely keep my eye on Ramon Bueso. Im sure he is already working on a new blend.
Sep 4 2012, 8:48 PM
StraightUpCigars: Nice scores! Wow. What a pick Darren.
Sep 4 2012, 8:48 PM
Terry1: Hard to believe we can get a cigar with this much flavor and near perfect construction for the price they are being sold for. Hopefully they can keep them coming.


Related posts:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This blog is kept spam free by WP-SpamFree.