Garo Double Habano – Cigar Review

This week’s group review is of the Garo Double Habano cigar.  The wrapper of this cigar is super oily and has a sweet tobacco smell to it.  The draw is just about perfect after using a cutter.  Once lit up, we were hit with a TON of sweeet and creamy flavor and a spicy finish.  This is a real flavor bomb!  The flavor progresses into earthy with a sweet bitterness like black coffee.  The construction remained perfect throughout the smoke.  Overall, this Garo one of our favorite budget cigars we’ve ever reviewed.  Extremely flavorful and extremely cheap… sounds like a winner to me!  Give one a try.

StraightUpCigars: Rating:
Flavor and Taste: 17/20
Construction: 10/10
Wrapper: 5/5
Price Point: 10/10
Would I buy a Box: 5/5
Total: 47/50
Terry1: Rating:
Flavor and Taste: 17/20
Construction: 10/10
Wrapper: 5/5
Price Point: 10/10
Would I buy a Box: 5/5
Total: 47/50


Jun 25 2013, 7:44 PM
StraightUpCigars: The Garo Double Habano has a super oily wrapper that is bursting with sweet and spicy tobacco smell. It draws nicely after cutting.
Jun 25 2013, 7:44 PM
StraightUpCigars: It’s pretty impressive! I’m ready to light er up.
Jun 25 2013, 7:45 PM
Terry1: Nice looking cigar. Has a sweet barnyard smell to it. I agree wrapper is oily. Perfect draw, slight resistance. I’m ready.
Jun 25 2013, 7:46 PM
StraightUpCigars: Cool. Lighting!
Jun 25 2013, 7:49 PM
StraightUpCigars: Oh the humanity! A ton of flavor from this stick. Sweet and creamy with a spicy finish.
Jun 25 2013, 7:50 PM
Terry1: Very smooth and creamy start. Lots of flavor. Plenty of sweetness. Wasn’t expecting a flavor bomb.
Jun 25 2013, 7:51 PM
StraightUpCigars: Me neither. Nice start. Real rich and earthy too.
Jun 25 2013, 7:52 PM
Terry1: Rich is a good description.
Jun 25 2013, 7:55 PM
Terry1: This one is challenging me. Notes of sweetness and earth on the draw, then an easy spice in the sinus. Very good.
Jun 25 2013, 7:58 PM
StraightUpCigars: I agree, rich and meaty smoke is thee best description I’ve got right now.
Jun 25 2013, 8:01 PM
Terry1: The burn on the Garo is near perfect. Ash just dropped off.
Jun 25 2013, 8:02 PM
StraightUpCigars: I just lost my ash too. Great draw, intense flavor, but not overly strong either. I’d call it full bodied.
Jun 25 2013, 8:13 PM
Terry1: Flavors are starting to change a little. I’m getting more of the earth, less of the sweet and spice. There’s also a slight bitterness like black coffee on the finish.
Jun 25 2013, 8:14 PM
StraightUpCigars: I completely agree. I do feel like it is hitting its stride though, kind of settling into a flavor profile. Love the spice, and the bitterness isn’t too bad right now.
Jun 25 2013, 8:17 PM
Terry1: Wow! I just looked up how muc these are. I can’t believe this is a $1.50 stick! How is that possible? Now I’m really impressed.
Jun 25 2013, 8:18 PM
StraightUpCigars: Doh! I think I paid more than that on the bid site Amazing deal for sure.
Jun 25 2013, 8:21 PM
StraightUpCigars: Mine is SO good right now. Bitterness calmed down after a short rest. I think this may be the value cigar of the month!
Jun 25 2013, 8:24 PM
Terry1: I agree! Construction has been near perfect on mine. Good flavors, nothing offensive. Medium so far in strength. This will go on my must buy list. I could see smoking this on a regular basis.
Jun 25 2013, 8:26 PM
StraightUpCigars: If I had to come up with a complaint it’s that it smokes a little fast. Even that is a stretch though as the first two thirds lasted 40 minutes.
Jun 25 2013, 8:39 PM
Terry1: I’m getting close to the end and I keep waiting for the cigar to turn bad but it’s still tasting great. Burning cool down to the nub. Even burn, tight ash. Good cigar at any price. Great cigar at what CI is selling them for.
Jun 25 2013, 8:40 PM
Terry1: Good idea. I’ll see what they want. I’ll be a middle man if they only want one tie, for example.
Jun 25 2013, 8:40 PM
StraightUpCigars: Sweet. I am with you on the cigar, this was an excellent smoke and I’m disappointed its coming to an end.
Jun 25 2013, 8:42 PM
StraightUpCigars: It’s always fascinating to me that tey can make this good of a cigar so inexpensive, while still turning a profit. Then you try some from “those other brands” and they just are not anywhere near what you would expect for the price.
Jun 25 2013, 8:44 PM
Terry1: I agree. I have the opinion, like most smokers, that you get what you pay for. But the Garo is the exception. We’ve had many cigars that were much more expensive that didn’t smoke as well as this one.
Jun 25 2013, 8:46 PM
Terry1: I hate to set this one down but it’s getting too short to hold. I’m ready to score when you are.
Jun 25 2013, 8:46 PM
StraightUpCigars: I just surprised that brands like this with such good cigars don’t reach out to us to do reviews. It is the cheapest form of advertising and won’t add to their overhead.
Jun 25 2013, 8:47 PM
Terry1: I also wonder if CI bought the remaining inventory that wasn’t moving and once they are gone they’ll be replaced with inferior cigars.
Jun 25 2013, 8:48 PM
StraightUpCigars: That’s a good and concerning question.
Jun 25 2013, 8:48 PM
Terry1: No changes this time. I think you scored it right.
Jun 25 2013, 8:49 PM
StraightUpCigars: Overall, this cigar is an incredible value. The only points I could knock off is on the flavor. It did not transition after the end of the first third and there was a slight bitterness. These are petty gripes though, this is one of my favorite budget smokes we’ve reviewed.


Related posts:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This blog is kept spam free by WP-SpamFree.