Foundry – Cigar Review

This week’s group cigar review is of the new Foundry.  When you look up the Foundry you will find a bunch of fru-fru stuff about steampunk.  All we care about is the cigar!  Before lighting, we were impressed by the nice light colored wrapper and has an earthy smell.  Once lit, the Foundry had a nice creamy and cedar flavor with a little spice.  The flavor was muted in the second third and then introduced a bread like flavor towards the end.  Overall, this was a relatively bland and mild cigar that also suffered from some construction problems.  The first and final third were enjoyable, but it fell flat for the second.  It’s hard to recommend this one at the relatively high MSRP.  There is better out there!
StraightUpCigars – Matt: Rating:
Flavor and Taste: 16/20
Construction: 9/10
Wrapper: 5/5
Price Point: 7/10
Would I buy a Box: 3/5
Total: 40/50
IamDarren: Rating:
Flavor and Taste: 14/20
Construction: 5/10
Wrapper: 5/5
Price Point: 6/10
Would I buy a Box: 1/5
Total: 31/50
Terry1: Rating:
Flavor and Taste: 14/20
Construction: 9/10
Wrapper: 5/5
Price Point: 6/10
Would I buy a Box: 1/5
Total: 35/50


Jan 15 2013, 7:29 PM
IamDarren: well if they put as much work into blending this cigar as they did with the appearance it should be good
Jan 15 2013, 7:30 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: No kidding, feel the goosebumps on that wrapper leaf. Smells earthy. I love the gear band it has.
Jan 15 2013, 7:31 PM
Terry1: The first thing I’m going to do is remove that gear. Inventive marketing gimmick but hard to hold the cigar with it on.
Jan 15 2013, 7:31 PM
IamDarren: construction looks great. Im not getting much aroma from the wrapper but the cold draw is a nice sweet cedar note. Nice medium pull on the draw also.
Jan 15 2013, 7:32 PM
IamDarren: mine just slid off with the band all in one
Jan 15 2013, 7:32 PM
IamDarren: well im ready to light up when you guys are
Jan 15 2013, 7:33 PM
Terry1: Mine too. I was thinking the gear was plastic but it’s actually metal! I’m surprised.
Jan 15 2013, 7:33 PM
Terry1: Lighting up.
Jan 15 2013, 7:35 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: Lighting up too. I like how the band is not glued, it’s held on by the gear.
Jan 15 2013, 7:36 PM
IamDarren: nice creamy, slightly sweet cedar. Plenty of smoke. Its starting out a lot like a Montecristo, mild but flavorful. A little spice is also starting to creep in there.
Jan 15 2013, 7:36 PM
Terry1: I’m getting lots of smoke. First impression is a creamy cedar. Very smooth and mild to start with.
Jan 15 2013, 7:38 PM
IamDarren: so Matt whats the scoop on this new brand?
Jan 15 2013, 7:38 PM
IamDarren: dang, my ash just flaked off
Jan 15 2013, 7:39 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: Unveiled at IPCPR this year. It’s a General cigar product. That’s about all I know right now.
Jan 15 2013, 7:40 PM
IamDarren: smoke production is really decreasing, im now having to double puff to get a decent amount of smoke
Jan 15 2013, 7:41 PM
Terry1: Maybe its the cold but mine has lost all flavor and the draw is getting snug.
Jan 15 2013, 7:41 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: Mine has started out very creamy with some sweet cedar flavor. Just a hint of spice in there.
Jan 15 2013, 7:44 PM
IamDarren: burn line is getting off also. I tapped off the ash and while the outer layers are light a flaky the core is solid…. yeah i just tapped the rest off and its definitely starting to tunnel on one side.
Jan 15 2013, 7:45 PM
IamDarren: mine is also starting to tighten up, im now taking 3 draws to get much smoke.
Jan 15 2013, 7:45 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: When I first lit it, it looked like the burn was going to go astray, but it is holding strong for now.
Jan 15 2013, 7:47 PM
IamDarren: decided to go ahead and make a burn correction
Jan 15 2013, 7:47 PM
Terry1: My draw was getting so bad I had to use a draw poker. It’s smoking fine now. Still only taste bland tobacco. The burn is pretty straight.
Jan 15 2013, 7:48 PM
IamDarren: the burn correction really helped with the smoke output and the sweet creamy cedar and spice is back now.
Jan 15 2013, 7:49 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: I wonder if the cold has anything to do with the issues. I’m down here in the basement and not having draw or flavor problems.
Jan 15 2013, 7:50 PM
Terry1: I’m wondering that as well. It’s only thirty in the man cave. I’ve smoked other cigars this past week and although the draws were fine the flavors were muted.
Jan 15 2013, 7:51 PM
IamDarren: im in the big heated shed and its 65 in here, as long as i can keep mine burning well the flavors are decent.
Jan 15 2013, 7:52 PM
IamDarren: the ash is shaped like a bullet on mine. The wrapper and binder is burning a lot faster than the core.
Jan 15 2013, 7:52 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: 65?!?! That’s 10 degrees warmer than my basement
Jan 15 2013, 7:52 PM
IamDarren: we have geothermal heated concrete floor in the shed
Jan 15 2013, 7:52 PM
IamDarren:
Jan 15 2013, 7:53 PM
IamDarren: i don’t normally come out here because its a quarter mile from the house so i have to get in the truck and drive out here
Jan 15 2013, 7:54 PM
IamDarren: the ash on the side of my cigar that is tunneling is black which makes me think its not rolled very well. There is one type of tobacco on that side that is burning faster.
Jan 15 2013, 7:55 PM
IamDarren: im really hoping for a flavor transition because im getting bored, its very one dimensional at this point.
Jan 15 2013, 7:56 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: Bummer. I will say that my binder and wrapper are burning a little faster than the core, like yours.
Jan 15 2013, 7:56 PM
Terry1: Mine is burning well. Even with a minimal cone in the center.
Jan 15 2013, 7:57 PM
IamDarren: hows your guys humis holding up, mine has dropped to 66rh.
Jan 15 2013, 7:58 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: I like the flavor on mine, sweet and cedary with some coffee and a mildly spicy finish.
Jan 15 2013, 7:59 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: My to be smoked box is at about 64% while my storage boxes are holding out at 68%
Jan 15 2013, 8:01 PM
IamDarren: i can feel the body increasing as i cross the halfway mark, i don’t know about coffee but the spice is definitely picking up.
Jan 15 2013, 8:02 PM
IamDarren: gonna have to make another burn correction, it looks to be burning about a half inch further on one side
Jan 15 2013, 8:03 PM
Terry1: I’m starting to get some of the cedar again and I get just a touch of spice. To be honest, I’m really disappointed right now. This cigar, for all the marketing hype, tastes like a low budget bundle cigar. I’m really hoping something changes in the next third.
Jan 15 2013, 8:08 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: Hopefully this one picks up the slack for you guys.
Jan 15 2013, 8:09 PM
IamDarren: despite the radical burn mine is producing a decent amount of flavor. I think the sweetness is increasing again and giving it a floral quality. The spice seems to fade in and out giving it a little more complexity.
Jan 15 2013, 8:12 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: Looking them up now, “a cigar created by Michael Giannini of Team La Gloria Cubana”
Jan 15 2013, 8:15 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: This review doesn’t really give any information about smoking characteristics, and it’s the only one I found http://www.stogieguys.com/2012/09/09252012-cigar-review-foundry-talbot.html
[Cigar Review: Foundry Talbot | The Stogie Guys]
Cigar Review: Foundry Talbot | The Stogie Guys
Jan 15 2013, 8:17 PM
Terry1: Okay I’m getting some of the spice now and just a touch of a bitter black coffee.
Jan 15 2013, 8:18 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: That’s good. Has the smoke production picked up at all? Mine is like a smokestack at the moment.
Jan 15 2013, 8:19 PM
IamDarren: Looks like Michael is in charge of PR and Marketing: http://lagloriacubana.com/the-lgc-team/founding-members/michael-giannini/
[Michael Giannini | La Gloria Cubana Cigar | La Gloria Cubana]
Michael Giannini | La Gloria Cubana Cigar | La Gloria Cubana
Jan 15 2013, 8:20 PM
Terry1: It’s been smoking well since I used the draw poker and the burn is still even with a strong ash.
Jan 15 2013, 8:21 PM
IamDarren: i kinda think they went about it the wrong way with this cigar. First make a great blend and then build the look around it. Unless the last couple inches wow me i won’t be able to rate this cigar very well. Just based on flavor it has been good but very one dimensional and at times boring.
Jan 15 2013, 8:25 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: There was an inch or two in the first third that put me to sleep, but it tastes great right now, IMO. Mine will score all right. I’ll be curious to see what they actually sell for, but $7.50 msrp isn’t bad.
Jan 15 2013, 8:28 PM
Terry1: Into the last third and the wrapper just popped. I’m not going to get negative about it since it’s probably more the cold affecting the wrapper and not the wrapper itself.
Jan 15 2013, 8:28 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: Just in case you guys missed it, NY is banning handguns with more than 7 rounds, all mag-fed rifles, and most modern shotguns. It will be interesting to see what the White House’s proposed bill is.
Jan 15 2013, 8:30 PM
IamDarren: what if you already own one? I assume it will just be on new sales.
Jan 15 2013, 8:31 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: Grandfathered in. You have to register it, pay a $200 annual tax, and the ATF can check in on you to see if you still have it at any time. Non-transferable so you cannot sell it or pass it to your children.
Jan 15 2013, 8:32 PM
IamDarren: no shit, wow thats pretty extreme. They would never pass a law like that in the southern states.
Jan 15 2013, 8:33 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: Definitely not, the only thing we would have to worry about is a federal law.
Jan 15 2013, 8:33 PM
IamDarren: time to form up the militia
Jan 15 2013, 8:34 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: Lol, I hope not.
Jan 15 2013, 8:34 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: SUC battalion.
Jan 15 2013, 8:35 PM
IamDarren: lol, well they can’t rewrite the constitution and get away with it. And there are a whole lot of people who think “the right to bear arms” means any weapon they choose.
Jan 15 2013, 8:35 PM
Terry1: The last third is actually getting flavorful for me. The spice is picking up and there’s a slightly sweet bready flavor. And I detect a hint of mint. Too bad I had to smoke an hour to finally get some flavors.
Jan 15 2013, 8:36 PM
IamDarren: ok, i will agree that in the last inch or so mine has improved. But im with you, its not worth the previous 4 inches to get to this point.
Jan 15 2013, 8:37 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: Totally with you on the bready flavors. There is also something hard to discern, I think it may be the mint you mentioned.
Jan 15 2013, 8:46 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: I have about a half-inch of smokeable left. The burn on mine is still razor sharp. I wish you guys could have tried out my cigar tonight.
Jan 15 2013, 8:48 PM
IamDarren: im just finishing up, the last inch was pretty good. I got some of the same flavors you mentioned. I really wish the whole cigar could have been like the end.
Jan 15 2013, 8:49 PM
Terry1: Agree. I’m going to set mine down. What’s left of the wrapper has flaked off. The last third was better.
Jan 15 2013, 8:50 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: Right on, where is yours at Darren?
Jan 15 2013, 8:50 PM
IamDarren: i think i am finished
Jan 15 2013, 8:50 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: Ok. I’m going to rate it here in a min.
Jan 15 2013, 8:52 PM
IamDarren: did you guys see my post on the forum about Movie 43. Check out the trailer: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6VneW1vtcWY
[Movie 43 – Official Red Band Trailer – YouTube]
Movie 43 – Official Red Band Trailer – YouTube
Play
Jan 15 2013, 8:52 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: Yeah, I did, I didn’t want to watch it at work though
Jan 15 2013, 8:55 PM
IamDarren: well at least i have a really cool ring/band to add to my collection
Jan 15 2013, 8:56 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: Lol! Could be worse.
Jan 15 2013, 8:56 PM
IamDarren: and i would bet that if i had a couple more to smoke that the construction wouldn’t be so bad.
Jan 15 2013, 8:56 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: Overall, this one lost me for a little bit but did taste good at the very beginning and end. I’d have another. Love that wrapper leaf with the dimples
Jan 15 2013, 8:58 PM
IamDarren: yeah it certainly had a great look to it. And the wrapper leaf looked to be aged nicely.
Jan 15 2013, 8:58 PM
IamDarren: well guys, i have to go back out and check the cattle again. Its been fun. You should get my cigars later in the week.
Jan 15 2013, 8:59 PM
Terry1: I’m not likely to buy this one but I’d try it again if I ended up getting one in a sampler. I’d try it when the weather’s warmer. Maybe I’d get a different experience.
Jan 15 2013, 9:00 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: Fair enough. We’ll see if they are ever even released to the public after our review
Jan 15 2013, 9:00 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: You guys are great, see you next week (or on the forum).


Related posts:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This blog is kept spam free by WP-SpamFree.