Fonseca 5-50 Classic – Cigar Review

This week’s group cigar review is of the Fonseca 5-50 Classic.  The cigar has some positive reviews, so we’re looking forward to trying it out.  It has a nice looking Connecticut wrapper and the draw is a little tight on one of the sticks, but workable, after cutting.  Once lit, the cigar had an earthy and creamy flavor, very mild bodied, but also has a bitter finish.  This bitter finish continued through most of the most of the smoke.  The construction was very good and the draw opened up on my stick.  Unfortunately the bitter aftertaste really ruined an otherwise decent cigar.  They can be had very cheap online, but even still we cannot recommend this one.  Maybe next time!

StraightUpCigars: Rating:
Flavor and Taste: 12/20
Construction: 10/10
Wrapper: 4/5
Price Point: 8/10
Would I buy a Box: 1/5
Total: 35/50
Terry1: Rating:
Flavor and Taste: 11/20
Construction: 10/10
Wrapper: 5/5
Price Point: 8/10
Would I buy a Box: 1/5
Total: 35/50


May 28 2013, 7:53 PM
StraightUpCigars: All right, the Fonseca robusto has a light colored wrapper with a couple medium sized veins. The smell is a pleasant hay smell. My draw is a little tight, let’s see how it does after lighting before I get worried
May 28 2013, 7:55 PM
Terry1: Nice looking Connecticut shade wrapper. Mine is drawing fine but I get a slight chemical taste on the cold draw. Reminds me of paint thinner. Not a flavor you want to get out of a cigar.
May 28 2013, 7:56 PM
StraightUpCigars: That ain’t good. Not sure if it is power of suggestion, but I think I taste it too. Let’s light it up and see what it does.
May 28 2013, 7:58 PM
Terry1: Intial draws are producing lots of creamy smoke. Luckily it tastes like a cigar not a paint can. Getting some earthiness and mild tobacco notes.
May 28 2013, 7:59 PM
StraightUpCigars: Yeah I’m getting slightly sweet creamy and toasty flavors. Definitely mild to start.
May 28 2013, 8:02 PM
StraightUpCigars: My draw, while still a little tight, is adequate.
May 28 2013, 8:08 PM
Terry1: Into the first inch and the Fonseca is very mild with mutted flavors. Other than a slight sweet tobacco I get the toasty flavor you mentioned and green tea. The smoke itself is okay but the finish is quite bitter. Makes me want take a drink after each puff.
May 28 2013, 8:09 PM
Terry1: Construction wise it’s performing well, even burn line and solid ash.
May 28 2013, 8:09 PM
StraightUpCigars: Mine is virtually the same. Getting some woody flavor too now, but that finish is way too bitter for my liking.. especially at that point in the cigar.
May 28 2013, 8:10 PM
StraightUpCigars: Good point on construction. Mine is thoroughly packed and the burn line is very straight. It’s not burning fast, so there’s no excuse for the bitterness.’
May 28 2013, 8:18 PM
StraightUpCigars: My flavors are mostly the same at this point, not much new to report. The bitterness is getting better.
May 28 2013, 8:21 PM
Terry1: Nothing new here either. I’m about half way. The bitterness is a bit frustrating. I’m liking the mild flavors on the draw then five seconds later my mouth is filled with bitterness. For me the bitterness is about the same at this point.
May 28 2013, 8:24 PM
StraightUpCigars: Yeah, everytime I think its gone, it rears its ugly head again!
May 28 2013, 8:29 PM
StraightUpCigars: Construction is still good atleast.
May 28 2013, 8:31 PM
Terry1: I think if the flavors were bolder you wouldn’t notice the bitterness so much. Starting the last third and that chemical taste I got on the cold draw is comming through. There’s still a toasty/bready flavor but it’s faint and easily overwhelmed.
May 28 2013, 8:34 PM
Terry1: This is the first time I’ve had this Fonseca blend and it’s about the same as my experience with several of their other blends. Good construction but pretty much flavorless.
May 28 2013, 8:36 PM
StraightUpCigars: Yeah, it really didn’t offer much in those first two thirds except for bitterness. The flavor profile is enhanced a bit now (same flavors though) and I’d call it medium body. The problem is that that bitter finish is back and almost renders this one unsmokeable.
May 28 2013, 8:41 PM
Terry1: I just can’t wrap my head around the fact these are made by the same people as the Quesada and Casa Magna brands. They are almost polar opposites.
May 28 2013, 8:42 PM
StraightUpCigars: They really are.
May 28 2013, 8:44 PM
Terry1: I will say the final third is getting a little better. The flavors are starting to improve but I have about a half inch left to smoke. Too little too late.
May 28 2013, 8:46 PM
StraightUpCigars: Yeah, I like the main flavors, the nasty aftertaste is awful though.
May 28 2013, 8:47 PM
StraightUpCigars: Not sure what would cause that, but it ruined an otherwise decent cigar.
May 28 2013, 8:47 PM
Terry1: I have a feeling I’m going to be tasting this cigar for a long time tonight.
May 28 2013, 8:47 PM
StraightUpCigars: Yeah, I’ll use the brush your tongue trick tonight.
May 28 2013, 8:49 PM
Terry1: Okay I’m done. Agree, the cigar had some good mild flavors but overall not a good smoking experience with that bitter aftertaste.
May 28 2013, 8:50 PM
StraightUpCigars: Rating coming right up.
May 28 2013, 8:51 PM
StraightUpCigars: These were CHEAP cigars btw, $2 a pop or something.
May 28 2013, 8:51 PM
StraightUpCigars: Not sure what they retail for.
May 28 2013, 8:53 PM
Terry1: MSRP is like $7. That would be bad to pay that much for this cigar. 2 bucks is still a too much.
May 28 2013, 8:53 PM
StraightUpCigars: Scores would have been way worse had they been expensive. Worth a shot given some positive reviews out there, but I think our review will help balance that out.


Related posts:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This blog is kept spam free by WP-SpamFree.