Espinosa La Zona Proxy No. 24 – Cigar Review

This week’s group cigar review is of the Espinosa La Zona Proxy No. 24.  This cigar has a rustic looking wrapper, and one sample had some cracks and chips in it.  It has a sweet cedar small to it and the draw was decent after cutting on one, the other had a very loose draw.  Once lit up, it has a very bold sweet and spicy flavor.  There is a well balanced vanilla sweetness and a spice that we can’t get enough of.  Later on, a floral note is present.  The flavor doesn’t transition the entire smoke.  Both of us had some minor construction issues that required burn corrections.  Overall, we loved the balanced and tasty flavor of this cigar.  It is very cheap online, so this is a must try stick.

StraightUpCigars: Rating:
Flavor and Taste: 18/20
Construction: 8/10
Wrapper: 4/5
Price Point: 10/10
Would I buy a Box: 5/5
Total: 45/50

Terry1: Rating:
Flavor and Taste: 17/20
Construction: 9/10
Wrapper: 5/5
Price Point: 10/10
Would I buy a Box: 5/5
Total: 46/50


Jul 15 2014, 7:44 PM
StraightUpCigars: The La Zona Proxy has an excellent sweet cedar smell to it. The wrapper leaf has several imperfections, though, cracks and small chips taken out of it. The draw is good after cutting.
Jul 15 2014, 7:49 PM
Terry1: My sample of the Proxy looks rustic but the wrapper is intact. Agree with that sweet cedar smell. The cold draw is very open, almost to the point of being like an open straw. I’m hoping is doesn’t cause any issues with the burn and/or flavor.
Jul 15 2014, 7:49 PM
StraightUpCigars: Let’s lighterup
Jul 15 2014, 7:53 PM
StraightUpCigars: Whoa, really like how this starts. Very bold, but balanced, sweet and spicy flavors.
Jul 15 2014, 7:54 PM
Terry1: First few puffs are nice. Getting lots of creamy smoke with that open draw. There is a vanilla sweetness, like an unfrosted sugar cookie, and some spice at the start. I’m liking it.
Jul 15 2014, 7:57 PM
Terry1: I don’t know much about the La Zona Proxy. I take it is an Espinosa blend. We did another La Zona cigar review earlier. Do you know if this is supposed to be a value/bundled cigar?
Jul 15 2014, 7:58 PM
StraightUpCigars: Sugar cookie is an excellent way to describe those first puffs. Mine has really mellowed and much of the spice is gone leaving creamy sweetness and some cedar flavor.
Jul 15 2014, 7:59 PM
StraightUpCigars: Yeah, it’s an Espinosa blend, I believe I got this real cheap. I’ll look it up now.
Jul 15 2014, 8:01 PM
Terry1: The spice on mine has mellowed too and I’m getting the cedar note.
Jul 15 2014, 8:02 PM
StraightUpCigars: Nicaraguan binder and a bountiful blend of carefully selected Nicaraguan Criollo long-fillers. I paid just over $2 ea for these!
Jul 15 2014, 8:03 PM
StraightUpCigars: They’re sold in boxes, but CI has them at $70/box, even cheaper on Cbid.
Jul 15 2014, 8:05 PM
Terry1: Wow, I thought it would be more. Great price point. The draw finally tightened up a little. There’s some resistance now. Burn is near even on mine.
Jul 15 2014, 8:09 PM
Terry1: This is one of those cigars that benefits from smoking slowly. I get a lot more sweetness if I wait on the draws. And I’m noticing a very light but pleasant floral, nutty aroma from the cigar as it rests.
Jul 15 2014, 8:09 PM
StraightUpCigars: You nailed it on the floral, I’m getting that too.
Jul 15 2014, 8:10 PM
StraightUpCigars: I’m having a real tough time smoking it slow, b/c this is a downright delicious smoke. You are right though, when I let it rest it is much better.
Jul 15 2014, 8:11 PM
Terry1: Same here. If I’m not typing I’m puffing. I’m liking this cigar.
Jul 15 2014, 8:12 PM
StraightUpCigars: My burn is godawful though, I need to correct it. Honestly, with these flavors, I can live with it.
Jul 15 2014, 8:13 PM
StraightUpCigars: So my wife “makes” me watch Bachelorette. Everytime the farmer from Iowa (that got kicked off last night) was on, I thought of Darren
Jul 15 2014, 8:15 PM
Terry1: Lol. I just about spit water on the laptop. That’s funny.
Jul 15 2014, 8:15 PM
Terry1: He must be harvesting something. I haven’t noticed him around for a couple of weeks.
Jul 15 2014, 8:15 PM
StraightUpCigars: Lol! Which part, that I watch Bachelorette, or that Darren’s “proxy” is on the show?
Jul 15 2014, 8:16 PM
StraightUpCigars: Yeah, I have a feeling he’s not getting any screentime at all this summer.
Jul 15 2014, 8:17 PM
Terry1: That Darren’s proxy is on show.
Jul 15 2014, 8:18 PM
StraightUpCigars: That must mean you watch it too
Jul 15 2014, 8:19 PM
Terry1: No I don’t and if I did I wouldn’t admit it.
Jul 15 2014, 8:20 PM
StraightUpCigars: I am cracking up. You’re the first person I’ve told! I’ll learn from this mistake…
Jul 15 2014, 8:21 PM
Terry1: That’s alright. There’s a lot worse on. My daughter has me watching Catfish. It’s a facebook dating show.
Jul 15 2014, 8:22 PM
StraightUpCigars: I feel for you. That’s got to be awful.
Jul 15 2014, 8:23 PM
StraightUpCigars: Atleast it’s not Honeybooboo
Jul 15 2014, 8:23 PM
Terry1: Yeah fat hillbillies acting stupid. Not for me.
Jul 15 2014, 8:24 PM
StraightUpCigars: Same here. I see enough of those on the drive to work.
Jul 15 2014, 8:25 PM
StraightUpCigars: Mine is burning normal again after a correction. It’s similar to how it started now, sweet cream balanced with a super rich and buttery charred cedar flavor.
Jul 15 2014, 8:25 PM
StraightUpCigars: Noticing some pepper now too.
Jul 15 2014, 8:28 PM
Terry1: Internet dropped me for a minute. No transitions but the flavors are very nice. I’m getting more pepper too. Burn is still straight. I’m already thinking of ordering more Proxys.
Jul 15 2014, 8:31 PM
StraightUpCigars: Yeah, this one is definitely worth another purchase (although I have to refrain for now).
Jul 15 2014, 8:31 PM
StraightUpCigars: Band came right off. They do burn fast, but there’s a time and a place for a quick smoking robusto.
Jul 15 2014, 8:36 PM
Terry1: Popped my band off without any problems. Spice is really ramping up on mine. So is the heat. The strength is good for me too. It’s maybe a medium. Flavorful and easy smoking. Works for me.
Jul 15 2014, 8:44 PM
StraightUpCigars: Yeah, the heat ramped up on mine too. It’s probably so short I shouldn’t be smoking it anymore anyways though
Jul 15 2014, 8:45 PM
Terry1: I’m having to wait longer than I usually do to keep the cigar from burning my tongue. The loose draw has become a problem. I think I’ll set mine down now.
Jul 15 2014, 8:46 PM
StraightUpCigars: Me too, rating it now.
Jul 15 2014, 8:49 PM
StraightUpCigars: My thin and cracked wrapper held up fine while smoking so it only resulted in one point off. The poor burn got two points off. Other than that, this was an excellent cigar! Love, love, the flavor, although not entirely complex. The price can’t be beat. This is a must try!
Jul 15 2014, 8:50 PM
Terry1: Overall an easy to recommend cigar. Good flavors at a great price point. I think just about anybody would enjoy it. Great pick.


Related posts:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This blog is kept spam free by WP-SpamFree.