EP Carrillo New Wave – Cigar Review

This week’s group cigar review is of the EP Carrillo New Wave.  This one has a nice hay smell to it and the wrapper looks nice on 2 of the three sticks.  One had a lump and a crack in the wrapper.  Once lit up, we got some sweetness right off the bat which quickly resided and was replaced with an a dry and peppery smoke with some acidity.  Surprisingly, construction issues started on all three sticks almost immediately: uneven burn and cracking wrappers.  The sweetness would come back, but only if you refrained from puffing and let it rest.  It tended to burn very quickly.  Overall, this was no where near the other EPC cigars we’ve had.  The construction issues were fairly severe and the flavors just were not great (both problems are probably related.  We’d recommend passing on this one.

StraightUpCigars – Matt: Rating:
Flavor and Taste: 15/20
Construction: 7/10
Wrapper: 5/5
Price Point: 8/10
Would I buy a Box: 2/5
Total: 35/50

Terry1: Rating:
Flavor and Taste: 15/20
Construction: 8/10
Wrapper: 5/5
Price Point: 8/10
Would I buy a Box: 2/5
Total: 36/50

IamDarren: Rating:
Flavor and Taste: 13/20
Construction: 6/10
Wrapper: 5/5
Price Point: 7/10
Would I buy a Box: 2/5
Total: 31/50


Nov 18 2014, 7:40 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: The EPC New Wave has a nice looking wrapper leaf and a perfect draw after cutting. It’s got a musty hay smell to it.
Nov 18 2014, 7:43 PM
Terry1: Construction is usually good with EPC cigars. The New Wave looks well made and the draw is great with a mild hay note.
Nov 18 2014, 7:46 PM
IamDarren: Mine had a hard time slipping out of the cello. There is a small lump on the side of the stick up close to the head that now has a small crack in the wrapper. Nothing too major but not perfect construction with my stick.
Nov 18 2014, 7:46 PM
IamDarren: has a nice creamy hay note when i smell the foot.
Nov 18 2014, 7:46 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: Mine did too, Darren, barely slid out.
Nov 18 2014, 7:46 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: Lighting up!
Nov 18 2014, 7:47 PM
IamDarren: got mine clipped and ready to light
Nov 18 2014, 7:49 PM
IamDarren: Great caramel note right from the start. Very smooth silky textured smoke. A little spice on the finish.
Nov 18 2014, 7:50 PM
Terry1: The New Wave starts with a mild sweetness, the hay from the cold draw and a pepper zing in the sinus. Decent start.
Nov 18 2014, 7:50 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: Yeah, nice sweet creamy flavor, also getting some spice and a nutty flavor. Real pleasant start.
Nov 18 2014, 7:53 PM
IamDarren: im in about a quarter inch and the sweetness is dropping off a little. Picking up a dryer toasty flavor on the finish now with some pepper.
Nov 18 2014, 7:55 PM
IamDarren: yep, getting drier and spicier with each puff now. A bit of acidity coming in also. Probably more like a half inch in now.
Nov 18 2014, 7:56 PM
Terry1: I’m noticing less sweetness too. The pepper is building on mine. Burn is a little uneven.
Nov 18 2014, 7:56 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: Kind of unusual for a cigar to get drier as it goes on, I’m getting the same thing.
Nov 18 2014, 7:58 PM
IamDarren: gonna let mine rest for a min and see what happens
Nov 18 2014, 7:59 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: Dropped the first ash already. That exposed a little tunneling, hopefully that clears up soon.
Nov 18 2014, 8:01 PM
Terry1: Your acidity comment is a good description. For me it’s like part of the pepper note. Not exactly harsh or bitter but amplifing the zing. It’s getting a bit too strong. I’m hoping it mellows soon.
Nov 18 2014, 8:02 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: Atleast we’re all experiencing the same thing.
Nov 18 2014, 8:02 PM
IamDarren: rest helped a lot… more creaminess and less pepper zing.
Nov 18 2014, 8:04 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: Mine is burning so fast. This is a very light cigar, even though it feels well packed. Just airy tobacco leaves I guess.
Nov 18 2014, 8:04 PM
IamDarren: mine now has a half inch crack where the lump was. I can see there is a hole going through the binder.
Nov 18 2014, 8:07 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: I’m not oppsed to that bitterness right now, just hoping it dies out a bit.
Nov 18 2014, 8:08 PM
IamDarren: been reading some good reviews on the Man O War OCC edition. I haven’t always been a huge fan of the MOW line because of the strength and overpowering pepper but this one is supposed to be more creamy and well balanced.
Nov 18 2014, 8:08 PM
IamDarren: might be able to get a good deal on cigarbid. Too bad these only come in boxes of 10
Nov 18 2014, 8:08 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: Interesting. I always thought you were a huge fan of MOWs.
Nov 18 2014, 8:09 PM
Terry1: I tried smoking slower and a mild sweetness has returned. The cigar is burning and smoking great for me. Although it does seem to be burning faster than normal.
Nov 18 2014, 8:10 PM
IamDarren: crack kept going to the burn line on my stick. Not affecting the burn or draw at this point but i can definitely tell there is a big flaw in the binder. It looks to be folded over on itself under the wrapper.
Nov 18 2014, 8:11 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: Mine is less dry than it was before, I’m getting a syrup like sweetness now.
Nov 18 2014, 8:13 PM
Terry1: I was thining the same. More sweetness, less pepper. I detect almost a floral note every few puffs. I’m liking this half better.
Nov 18 2014, 8:13 PM
IamDarren: getting more sweetness on mine since i started smoking slower. Except for the first 1/4 inch i haven’t noticed any flavor changes in the first half of the stick. Im hoping for more complexity in the second half.
Nov 18 2014, 8:16 PM
Terry1: One side of the wrapper stopped burning. Time to correct.
Nov 18 2014, 8:16 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: Bummer. We’ve had way more construction issues than normal.
Nov 18 2014, 8:18 PM
Terry1: Yeah I paid a compliment at the start about EPC’s construction and jinxed us.
Nov 18 2014, 8:19 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: Lol, yep all your fault.
Nov 18 2014, 8:19 PM
IamDarren: Normally EPCs do have great construction. But with 2 out of 3 having wrapper and burn issues i think they didn’t get it right when they blended this stick. Im noticing that the wrapper on mine is Super fragile.
Nov 18 2014, 8:20 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: 3 of 3,
Nov 18 2014, 8:20 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: I’ve had tunneling issues.
Nov 18 2014, 8:21 PM
IamDarren: and im still not liking that dry pepper note on the finish. Its like they took the tobacco that gives their other blends their strength and used a Connie wrapper that doesn’t give this stick any body. So we are really left searching for the flavor.
Nov 18 2014, 8:22 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: Yeah, the sweetness has faded back away on mine. Pepper is strong now. I wish it would have stayed like it was on the first few puffs
Nov 18 2014, 8:24 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: Mine is actually not too many puffs from burning my fingers anyways. Combo of it being a very fast burner and me not going easy on it.
Nov 18 2014, 8:24 PM
Terry1: Mine is doing the same and I agree. I would have liked the middle third to last longer.
Nov 18 2014, 8:27 PM
IamDarren: still at least an inch left to go on my stick but its starting to heat up and that dry pepper is overpowering everything else.
Nov 18 2014, 8:28 PM
Terry1: I have about an inch left too and I’m noticing how spongy the nub is getting. And the smoke is getting hot. Lots of pepper.
Nov 18 2014, 8:30 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: Yep, tons of pepper!
Nov 18 2014, 8:30 PM
Terry1: And I’m getting the hiccups.
Nov 18 2014, 8:30 PM
IamDarren: i was already on the verge of a headache. I think im going to end mine while i can still stand it.
Nov 18 2014, 8:30 PM
Terry1: Yeah I think I’m finished with this one.
Nov 18 2014, 8:32 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: Me too, set it down.
Nov 18 2014, 8:33 PM
IamDarren: too bad, was hoping for a milder cigar that was full of flavor… kinda got the opposite
Nov 18 2014, 8:36 PM
Terry1: Kind of disappointing. We’ve had some great EPC cigars this is one I would pass on.
Nov 18 2014, 8:36 PM
IamDarren: i can forgive a little burn issue and a cracked wrapper but they really screwed up when they rolled my stick. When the binder is folded under the wrapper you need to get a new roller.
Nov 18 2014, 8:37 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: Yeah, that was a shocker. Hopefully we got a bad batch, I can’t imagine that was their intention with this blend. Not too good.


Related posts:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This blog is kept spam free by WP-SpamFree.