Drew Estate Undercrown – Cigar Review

This week’s group cigar review is of the Drew Estate Undercrown.  This one is billed as a cheaper alternative to the Liga Privada line.  The perfect looking wrapper has a chocolatey and earthy smell.  The draw is perfect after cutting.  Once we got it lit it we tasted a rich earthy flavor with a faint sweetness and powerful spicy and peppery punch.  No shortage of flavor on the first third of this stick.  That bold flavor mellows out in the second and final third, but remains very tasty.  Overall, this one had an explosive start, but the ending left a little to be desired.  Very tasty stick with good construction, but they are a little pricey.  It is worth giving a try but there are better values for everyday smokes.

StraightUpCigars: Rating:
Flavor and Taste: 18/20
Construction: 10/10
Wrapper: 5/5
Price Point: 8/10
Would I buy a Box: 4/5
Total: 45/50

IamDarren: Rating:
Flavor and Taste: 18/20
Construction: 10/10
Wrapper: 5/5
Price Point: 7/10
Would I buy a Box: 3/5
Total: 43/50

Terry1: Rating:
Flavor and Taste: 17/20
Construction: 10/10
Wrapper: 5/5
Price Point: 8/10
Would I buy a Box: 3/5
Total: 43/50

Sep 19 2013, 7:39 PM
StraightUpCigars: Just got the LP Undercrown. I love the chocolatey smell and taste prior to lighting. Oily, near perfect looking wrapper. Good draw after cutting.
Sep 19 2013, 7:40 PM
IamDarren: Im also getting an interesting mix of herbs and spices. Makes me think it will be complex. Im ready to light up.
Sep 19 2013, 7:41 PM
Terry1: I agree. The wrapper has a chocolatey, earthy smell. Draw is good with tobacco and earth notes. Lighting up.
Sep 19 2013, 7:41 PM
StraightUpCigars: Lighting.
Sep 19 2013, 7:41 PM
IamDarren: torching
Sep 19 2013, 7:44 PM
IamDarren: definitely got the chocolate with an incredibly rich earthy note. Also getting plenty of pepper. Out of the gate with a bang.
Sep 19 2013, 7:45 PM
StraightUpCigars: Agreed. I am also getting a lot of spice on the finish. Good start.
Sep 19 2013, 7:45 PM
Terry1: Nice start with a spicy, peppery punch. Good amount of smoke. Earth and a slight sweetness linger on the palate.
Sep 19 2013, 7:46 PM
IamDarren: love the band on this stick btw. Simple but very elegant.
Sep 19 2013, 7:50 PM
StraightUpCigars: Yeah, nice band. I can’t get over how nice the wrapper looks, only very tiny veins.
Sep 19 2013, 7:50 PM
IamDarren: yeah very well constructed stick
Sep 19 2013, 7:51 PM
IamDarren: about a half inch in now and im picking up some sort of spice. Its got a dryness to it that makes me think of spiced tea. Its fairly tasty.
Sep 19 2013, 7:54 PM
StraightUpCigars: Yeah, mine is mainly earthy with a bunch of subtleties right now. I’m surprised how mellow it is.
Sep 19 2013, 7:56 PM
Terry1: Lots of earth and pepper in this first inch. I find I have to double puff this one. First draw only produces a light smoke. Burn is a little jagged. I’m liking it so far but I’m hoping the pepper mellows and allows other flavors to come forward.
Sep 19 2013, 7:57 PM
IamDarren: i still get quite a lot of pepper in the sinus but not much on the draw. I think mine is starting to mellow like Matts.
Sep 19 2013, 7:58 PM
StraightUpCigars: Do you remember how much these cost you?
Sep 19 2013, 7:59 PM
Terry1: Did I send this one out? I’m not sure anymore. We got a little crazy on cigar trades.
Sep 19 2013, 7:59 PM
IamDarren: i sent it out
Sep 19 2013, 8:00 PM
IamDarren: i got a deal on a fiver but i can look up the retail
Sep 19 2013, 8:02 PM
IamDarren: this is the Gran Toro 6×52 and retails for about 6.50 to 7 bucks a stick.
Sep 19 2013, 8:02 PM
StraightUpCigars: I’m getting a real rich, meaty flavor coming through. Liking it.
Sep 19 2013, 8:04 PM
Terry1: My cigar finally mellowed on the pepper. It’s still in the sinus, as Darren mentioned. I’m picking up a caramel sweetness now and some spices. Very nice transition.
Sep 19 2013, 8:04 PM
IamDarren: im having trouble nailing it down. I let it rest for a min. and the first puff i got a blast of cocoa and spice. The next draw produced a deeper, richer flavor but still had the same nuance… this sucker is complex.
Sep 19 2013, 8:05 PM
IamDarren: burn is a little lopsided but manageable
Sep 19 2013, 8:07 PM
Terry1: Mine is lopsided too but not needing correcting yet.
Sep 19 2013, 8:08 PM
IamDarren: off topic, but i was wondering when you reviewed the Camacho Triple Maduro, Matt? I found one in my humi earlier this week and it was sublime. Im guessing its been in there at least a year. Kinda forgot I had it.
Sep 19 2013, 8:09 PM
StraightUpCigars: My burn is still good, ash drops off quickly, but that’s all right.
Sep 19 2013, 8:09 PM
StraightUpCigars: I think I reviewed that one about a year and a half ago – somewhere in that time frame.
Sep 19 2013, 8:09 PM
Terry1: I’ve got a year old Camacho too, I’ll have to dig it out and try it if it’s that good.
Sep 19 2013, 8:10 PM
IamDarren: With all the closeout deals going I had to get more of them. It really surprised me.
Sep 19 2013, 8:12 PM
StraightUpCigars: Nice, yeah I remember that being a good one. I don’t think I’ve ever had a bad Camacho.
Sep 19 2013, 8:14 PM
IamDarren: The best deal I could find on them was a box….so i said screw it, they will probably be gone now that the Company is doing a 180 and changing all the blends. That is the most I have ever paid for a box even at about half msrp. I will send you guys one in the next trade.
Sep 19 2013, 8:15 PM
IamDarren: im at the halfway point and my stick has mellowed even more. Only a slight hint of pepper at this point. Starting to pick up a slight creaminess. Still getting that super unique mix of spice.
Sep 19 2013, 8:16 PM
Terry1: Just over halfway too. Burn corrected itself. Still very flavorful and so far no strength. I’m liking it.
Sep 19 2013, 8:17 PM
StraightUpCigars: You are building up quite the collection over there Darren.
Sep 19 2013, 8:17 PM
StraightUpCigars: I’m really surprised at the lack of strength. Not a bad thing, I just expected a strong and full-bodied smoke.
Sep 19 2013, 8:17 PM
IamDarren: yeah thats probably the best word to describe it… collection. I definitely buy more than i smoke.
Sep 19 2013, 8:18 PM
IamDarren: i have really discovered how much aging helps those stronger, fuller bodied sticks. At least now I have the room to leave more in the humi for extended time.
Sep 19 2013, 8:19 PM
StraightUpCigars: That is definitely the beenefit of the huge humi – aging.
Sep 19 2013, 8:20 PM
Terry1: Humidors are like closet space. If you have the room you’ll fill it up.
Sep 19 2013, 8:20 PM
IamDarren: yeah, i found out what plume was awhile back. At first I freaked out and thought i had a mold problem until i did some research.
Sep 19 2013, 8:21 PM
IamDarren: seems to only happen to the cigars without cello
Sep 19 2013, 8:24 PM
StraightUpCigars: Huh, that’s interesting. Back to thee age old cello debate.
Sep 19 2013, 8:26 PM
IamDarren: i still like to leave it on. They still age with it on but you don’t have to worry about mold or bugs. Some people wait until the cigars get plume to smoke them but i don’t want the worry.
Sep 19 2013, 8:28 PM
IamDarren: I think it was an AVO that I bought as a fiver. It was in one of the first samplers i ever bought so its been in there for like five years. It was good but not any better than when i first got them.
Sep 19 2013, 8:29 PM
StraightUpCigars: This is one slow burning cigar! I’m just a little past halfway!
Sep 19 2013, 8:30 PM
Terry1: Wow I must be speed smoking tonight. Made it to the band. Band came off cleanly and easily. I’m starting to feel some strength now. Getting more of the earthy notes now.
Sep 19 2013, 8:30 PM
IamDarren: im about a half inch from the band, just starting to think about taking it off
Sep 19 2013, 8:31 PM
IamDarren: just one tiny dab of glue, came right off
Sep 19 2013, 8:34 PM
StraightUpCigars: Mine just came right off too. Well done.
Sep 19 2013, 8:37 PM
IamDarren: think i might be starting to get a little nic kick. The cigar is still so mellow and tasty that i don’t mind it at all.
Sep 19 2013, 8:41 PM
StraightUpCigars: Yeah, I am finally starting to feel it too. This is after an hour of smoking, so I would consider this a fairly low-strength cigar.
Sep 19 2013, 8:44 PM
IamDarren: starting to think about how im gonna rate this stick. Its a really good cigar with good construction but I keep thinking that i have had a lot of 4 to 5 dollar cigars that would compare to this one.
Sep 19 2013, 8:44 PM
Terry1: I have about an inch left and the strength is ramping up some. Still burning well and still flavorful.
Sep 19 2013, 8:45 PM
IamDarren: i think it was intended to be an every day smoke for people who love the Liga line but can’t afford them every day. But to me i would have trouble affording this one every day.
Sep 19 2013, 8:46 PM
IamDarren: im in the last third and the strength is picking up really fast. Pepper is back again.
Sep 19 2013, 8:46 PM
StraightUpCigars: I see what you are saying Darren. There were some great complexities in the first third, but the second third was… dare I say it… a little boring. Still tasty, but I expect a lot out of this stick, both for the name and the price.
Sep 19 2013, 8:49 PM
IamDarren: i guess when i get in this price range i expect WOW and i got Good to Great.
Sep 19 2013, 8:50 PM
Terry1: This is the only Liga Privada I’ve tried so I have nothing to compare it to. I liked the taste of the Undercrown. I was happy with the transition from the pepper bomb it started out as. The price is a little high but the Undercrown is a lot easier to find.
Sep 19 2013, 8:51 PM
Terry1: As an everyday type of smoke I’d say there are other cheaper alternatives.
Sep 19 2013, 8:52 PM
IamDarren: I can’t say that I have had the Liga Privada but i did score some Puros Huerfanos a year ago that were supposed to be comparable. I think they are very similar to this cigar.
Sep 19 2013, 8:54 PM
StraightUpCigars: Mine has had perfect construction, which is a huge plus. Not every cigar in this price range can say that.
Sep 19 2013, 8:57 PM
StraightUpCigars: The pepper is back on mine, and some bitterness has also come into play.
Sep 19 2013, 8:58 PM
IamDarren: yeah im just getting ready to set mine down. Not completely nubbed but close enough. Don’t want to ruin the nice flavor coating in my mouth.
Sep 19 2013, 8:58 PM
Terry1: I’m down to the nub. A agree with the construction. It was near perfect. Flavorful to the end. Stength got a little high for me in the last third but managable. Good cigar. I liked it. Thanks for picking this one Darren.
Sep 19 2013, 8:59 PM
IamDarren: Im certainly glad i got them. A nice treat from time to time.
Sep 19 2013, 9:00 PM
StraightUpCigars: Yeah, this was one we HAD to try out. Thanks Darren. Good smoke. I’ll do some ratings.
Sep 19 2013, 9:03 PM
IamDarren: If price is of no concern then this stick is a must try. Keeping the SUC motto in mind I just can’t give it a higher rating.
Sep 19 2013, 9:04 PM
Terry1: Good point. Overall a good cigar but a little overpriced. We’ve had better cigars at lower price points.
Sep 19 2013, 9:04 PM
IamDarren: Some cigars are just priced for people that don’t care about cost. It doesn’t mean they are wrong for doing it if enough people are willing to pay it i guess.
Sep 19 2013, 9:05 PM
Terry1: I think Darren said it best. It’s a nice treat from time to time.
Sep 19 2013, 9:05 PM
StraightUpCigars: Yeah, this one had an amazing first third, good but pretty stagnant second and final third. Price is high. You guys are right, it’s worth trying and having one every once in a while.

Related posts:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

Spam Protection by WP-SpamFree