Don Lino Africa – Cigar Review

This week’s group cigar review is of the Don Lino Africa.  These are touted as rich flavor bombs, so we have our hopes up.  It has a veiny, but nice looking wrapper.   The smell is of sweet tobacco and it has a good draw after cutting.  This vitola is reminiscent of the Nub series, short and fat.  Once lit we were immediately hit with a creamy and caramel flavor with a bold spice and pepper finish.  The cigar really mellowed out for the final two thirds, though.  Understated sweet and toasty flavors dominated the flavor profile.  Overall, we loved the way this one started out, but it ended quite bland.  This mild body may suit some smokers, but it did leave us wanting more on flavor.  If you like mild cigars, you will find this one to be a bargain.
 
StraightUpCigars: Rating:
Flavor and Taste: 16/20
Construction: 9/10
Wrapper: 5/5
Price Point: 10/10
Would I buy a Box: 4/5
Total: 44/50

IamDarren: Rating:
Flavor and Taste: 13/20
Construction: 9/10
Wrapper: 5/5
Price Point: 10/10
Would I buy a Box: 3/5
Total: 40/50

Terry1: Rating:
Flavor and Taste: 14/20
Construction: 9/10
Wrapper: 5/5
Price Point: 10/10
Would I buy a Box: 3/5
Total: 41/50


Apr 23 2013, 8:09 PM
IamDarren: i have mine. Love the smell of the wrapper. Sweet and nutty.
Apr 23 2013, 8:10 PM
StraightUpCigars: The Don Lino Africa has a sweet tobacco smell to it, a fairly veiny wrapper and a perfect draw after cutting.
Apr 23 2013, 8:10 PM
IamDarren: yep, super easy draw with a bit of spice on the cold draw
Apr 23 2013, 8:11 PM
IamDarren: decent construction. Very bold band, i like it.
Apr 23 2013, 8:12 PM
StraightUpCigars: I like it too. I can handle the super plump cigars when they are this length, reminds me of a Nub. This one should be interesting.
Apr 23 2013, 8:12 PM
Terry1: Easy draw on mine. Some kind of nutty note on the cold draw. Interesting short fat shape. Let’s light up.
[Delete]
Apr 23 2013, 8:13 PM
IamDarren: just looked up the info. quite a lot of different tobacco in this puppy.
Apr 23 2013, 8:13 PM
IamDarren: lighting up
Apr 23 2013, 8:15 PM
IamDarren: wow, quite the flavor profile. Caramel, bold spice. Slightly dry finish with a bit of pepper.
Apr 23 2013, 8:16 PM
Terry1: Okay this will sound wierd but I get roasted marshmallow in the initial puffs with some pepper.
Apr 23 2013, 8:16 PM
StraightUpCigars: Now this one is unique. Lots of spice, toast, dry smoke with a peppery finish.
Apr 23 2013, 8:17 PM
IamDarren: its kinda hard to describe it, but i can see that Terry. Its sweet and smooth at its core but there is a layer of pepper and spice that coat the mouth on the finish. very unique.
Apr 23 2013, 8:18 PM
IamDarren: “These tasty Nicaraguan indulgences are exotic blends of premium tobaccos from Africa, Honduras, Nicaragua, and the Dominican Republic.”
Apr 23 2013, 8:18 PM
Terry1: Wow, lots of pepper. Retrohaled a small amount and it made my eyes water. My nose is burning now.
Apr 23 2013, 8:19 PM
IamDarren: lol, yeah it kinda comes out of nowhere considering how smooth the initial smoke is
Apr 23 2013, 8:20 PM
StraightUpCigars: I’m getting a creamy flavor now too. Really well balanced flavors.
Apr 23 2013, 8:20 PM
IamDarren: did you guys notice the foot. There was a an s-shaped swirl of dark tobacco in the core.
Apr 23 2013, 8:21 PM
StraightUpCigars: I can see that in the ash.
Apr 23 2013, 8:21 PM
IamDarren: wow, did you guys see the CI page. These are on sale for 42 bucks a bundle!
Apr 23 2013, 8:21 PM
IamDarren: http://www.cigarsinternational.com/cigars/10437/don-lino-africa/
[Don Lino Africa – Cigars International]
Don Lino Africa – Cigars International
Apr 23 2013, 8:22 PM
StraightUpCigars: I cannot believe the burst of sweetness I just got on the last puff. I think we’re onto something here.
Apr 23 2013, 8:23 PM
IamDarren: yeah mine is actually almost too sweet if that is possible. It kinda overshadows all the other flavors.
Apr 23 2013, 8:25 PM
IamDarren: pepper is almost gone and the spice is mostly on the finish and the retrohale at this point. The sweetness is definitely different than most “candy bar” type sticks. It almost has a dairy quality too it… like vanilla ice cream or something.
Apr 23 2013, 8:26 PM
Terry1: Mine only has a little sweetness. Pepper has mellowed some. Toast and some tannins are getting in the mix. Mine seems to be going in a different direction. I’m going to try to smoke slower.
Apr 23 2013, 8:26 PM
StraightUpCigars: Same here Terry on the slowing down, I need to as this one will be easy to overheat.
Apr 23 2013, 8:27 PM
IamDarren: Gary would have to give it a 5 min. rest at this point… i couldn’t wait that long.
Apr 23 2013, 8:28 PM
StraightUpCigars: lol!
Apr 23 2013, 8:29 PM
Terry1: Mine is starting to burn up one side. So do you think we can get one ash from this stick?
Apr 23 2013, 8:30 PM
IamDarren: just lay down on your back and don’t take it out of your mouth
Apr 23 2013, 8:30 PM
IamDarren: ok that just sounds wrong…
Apr 23 2013, 8:30 PM
StraightUpCigars: Yeah…
Apr 23 2013, 8:30 PM
Terry1: How bad would that be if the ash fell off in your mouth.
Apr 23 2013, 8:31 PM
StraightUpCigars: Especially on the last cigar we smoked!
Apr 23 2013, 8:31 PM
IamDarren: just got a gag reflex…
Apr 23 2013, 8:32 PM
StraightUpCigars: a TT maduro reflex
Apr 23 2013, 8:32 PM
IamDarren: im not putting no ash in my mouth… ok that sounded wrong too
Apr 23 2013, 8:32 PM
Terry1: Okay I’ve slowed down and now the cigar is getting better. I get the sweetness you were getting. I thought I might have been rushing the cigar a bit.
Apr 23 2013, 8:33 PM
IamDarren: mine is still overly sweet. Almost all the complexity is gone. im about ready to switch back to water.
Apr 23 2013, 8:34 PM
IamDarren: burn is good, probaby about an inch in or close to 2/3 mark. Ash is holding strong.
Apr 23 2013, 8:36 PM
StraightUpCigars: My first ash just fell. The cigar has mellowed out, but I enjoy the sweet toasty flavor.
Apr 23 2013, 8:36 PM
Terry1: My ash just fell off too. Same toasty sweet flavor. Still some pepper in the sinus but not near as strong as before. Burn evened out.
Apr 23 2013, 8:39 PM
IamDarren: yeah but if the ash did fall off it would fall right on the cigar itself
Apr 23 2013, 8:40 PM
Terry1: Took the band off since it covers a big chunk of the cigar. Came off easily.
Apr 23 2013, 8:41 PM
IamDarren: the last puff brought back a little spice. Its starting to get more of a bready texture to the smoke. More chewy than before. Still pretty mellow.
Apr 23 2013, 8:42 PM
IamDarren: my ash just dropped on the floor and exploded… be careful
Apr 23 2013, 8:45 PM
IamDarren: cigar is transitioning now. Its lost a lot of the sweetness just in the last couple draws. And I just got a little bitterness in the finish.
Apr 23 2013, 8:45 PM
StraightUpCigars: Mine is building flavor now as well. I like where this is going.
Terry1: Shall we tackle the national debt now?
Apr 23 2013, 8:50 PM
StraightUpCigars: Lol!
Apr 23 2013, 8:50 PM
IamDarren: fire everyone in Government and start over
Apr 23 2013, 8:51 PM
StraightUpCigars: I was just gonna say: impeachment.
Apr 23 2013, 8:51 PM
Terry1: I try every time I vote.
Apr 23 2013, 8:55 PM
Terry1: The flavors on my cigar are really starting to mellow. Still get some sweetness and spice but overall just a creamy tobacco flavor. I’d like a little more of the boldness we were getting earlier.
Apr 23 2013, 8:55 PM
IamDarren: sweetness is back, but i am definitely getting a baking spice note now. Its still very mellow. Im hoping the last inch ramps up.
Apr 23 2013, 8:57 PM
StraightUpCigars: The sweetness is different for me now though, more of a chocolate vs. caramel.
Apr 23 2013, 8:59 PM
IamDarren: honestly, i have been thinking this whole time that there is something missing. I like sweet smokes but there hasn’t been enough other flavor to back it up.
Apr 23 2013, 9:00 PM
IamDarren: i do get some bitterness from time to time but its not the bitterness you get from dark chocolate or coffee.
Apr 23 2013, 9:08 PM
IamDarren: im about ready to put mine down. I pretty much at the nub and haven’t gotten any new flavors.
Apr 23 2013, 9:08 PM
Terry1: I’m at the nub too. Ready to put it down.
Apr 23 2013, 9:10 PM
StraightUpCigars: Ok, rating it now.
Apr 23 2013, 9:13 PM
IamDarren: not bad flavor just not my cup of tea i guess
Apr 23 2013, 9:14 PM
StraightUpCigars: It was a very mild cigar (did not start out that way). I think these will be right up someone’s alley, they aren’t my favorite though.
Apr 23 2013, 9:14 PM
StraightUpCigars: Great value, though.
Apr 23 2013, 9:15 PM
Terry1: Agreed. More of your average cigar.


Related posts:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This blog is kept spam free by WP-SpamFree.