Don Barreto – Cigar Review

This week’s group review is of the Don Barreto, a cigar blended by Oliva.  Oliva usually makes good cigars, so we’re intrigued by this cheapie.  It has a nice looking wrapper with a cedar smell to it.  After cutting, the draw is perfect.  Once we lit it up, we were met with a sweet cedar flavor and plenty of pepper and spice.  As we smoked, the pepper subsided and gave way to a cinnamon-like spice.  Later on, the pepper dominated again.  We loved the constant battle between sweet and spice throughout this smoke.  Overall, the Don Barreto had fantastic flavor, perfect construction, and an unreal price.  We highly recommend giving this budget stick a try.

StraightUpCigars: Rating:
Flavor and Taste: 18/20
Construction: 10/10
Wrapper: 5/5
Price Point: 10/10
Would I buy a Box: 5/5
Total: 48/50

IamDarren: Rating:
Flavor and Taste: 17/20
Construction: 10/10
Wrapper: 5/5
Price Point: 10/10
Would I buy a Box: 5/5
Total: 47/50

Terry1: Rating:
Flavor and Taste: 17/20
Construction: 10/10
Wrapper: 5/5
Price Point: 10/10
Would I buy a Box: 5/5
Total: 47/50


Jul 9 2013, 7:56 PM
IamDarren: got the cigar cut and ready. Decent construction, good draw. An earthy and spicy cold draw.
Jul 9 2013, 7:57 PM
StraightUpCigars: Yeah, nice looking wrapper, cedary smell, perfect draw after cutting. Lighting up!
Jul 9 2013, 7:59 PM
IamDarren: definitely getting some rich earth followed by cedar on the first few puffs. A pinch on sweet spice in the mix too.
Jul 9 2013, 7:59 PM
Terry1: Are you guys just starting?
Jul 9 2013, 7:59 PM
StraightUpCigars: Yep literally just lit. Don Barreto
Jul 9 2013, 7:59 PM
IamDarren: yes! glad you made it. Go grab the Don Barreto
Jul 9 2013, 8:00 PM
StraightUpCigars: Wow, nice start! Earthy with some sweet and spicy on the finish. Good one.
Jul 9 2013, 8:00 PM
Terry1: I’ll grab it. Be back in a few minutes.
Jul 9 2013, 8:02 PM
IamDarren: now im getting some pepper on the back of my tongue and the sinuses. Getting a bit stronger.
Jul 9 2013, 8:03 PM
StraightUpCigars: Definitely. I’m probably puffing a little fast myself. I need to slow it down.
Jul 9 2013, 8:05 PM
IamDarren: already tried that. pepper and spice are #1 and #2 flavor right now. Its still tasty and not overpowering, maybe a tad on the dry side though.
Jul 9 2013, 8:07 PM
StraightUpCigars: Really great smoke production. Another Nicaraguan tobacco cigar.
Jul 9 2013, 8:09 PM
IamDarren: hired help just got stuck on the way home so i have to go pick him up. Be back in 5-10 min.
Jul 9 2013, 8:09 PM
IamDarren: give Terry some time to catch up
Jul 9 2013, 8:10 PM
StraightUpCigars: He better smoke fast
Jul 9 2013, 8:10 PM
Terry1: Nothing like speed smoking a strong spicy cigar on an empty stomache.
Jul 9 2013, 8:11 PM
StraightUpCigars: This one doesn’t seem too strong… yet.
Jul 9 2013, 8:13 PM
Terry1: Nice looking cigar. Draw is about right. Lighting up.
Jul 9 2013, 8:14 PM
StraightUpCigars: Mine is mellowing a bit at the moment, really incredible mix of spicy and sweet cedar flavor. It tastes great!
Jul 9 2013, 8:15 PM
StraightUpCigars: Just lost the first ash and the burn is perfectly straight too.
Jul 9 2013, 8:18 PM
Terry1: Wow I understand you comments now. First few puffs I got that sweet, earthy note. Now after a few minutes I feel like I’ve had a couple of drops of Tobasco. Very spicey and peppery in mouth and sinus. Lots of smoke.
Jul 9 2013, 8:22 PM
Terry1: Pretty intense start. A real battle between the pepper and sweetness I can detect. Right now the pepper is winning. I’m hoping mine mellows in a couple of minutes.
Jul 9 2013, 8:23 PM
StraightUpCigars: Great description with the battle b/n pepper and sweetness.
Jul 9 2013, 8:24 PM
Terry1: Did we lose Darren? I just read above he had some bad weather moving in.
Jul 9 2013, 8:24 PM
StraightUpCigars: He said he had to go pick up an employee who’s car broke down. Said it would take about 10 mins.
Jul 9 2013, 8:28 PM
IamDarren: ok, im back. and the rain is just starting to let up so im good.
Jul 9 2013, 8:28 PM
Terry1: Perfect burn on mine. These are made by Oliva, right?
Jul 9 2013, 8:29 PM
StraightUpCigars: Are they really? That would explain the awesomeness in this stick.
Jul 9 2013, 8:29 PM
IamDarren: lol, im loading the Famous page now
Jul 9 2013, 8:31 PM
IamDarren: internet is tripping out with the weather, I think you may be right though Terry. Maybe Matt can look it up.
Jul 9 2013, 8:31 PM
Terry1: It is. I looked it up. I’ve always wondered about this cigar. I’m glad we tried it. So far it’s pretty good. The pepper has died down and now it’s sweet and earthy. I’m liking it.
Jul 9 2013, 8:32 PM
IamDarren: to be honest I had one the day after they arrived and it was slightly bitter and overpowering. Its amazing what a little humi time has done for these.
Jul 9 2013, 8:34 PM
IamDarren: might just be me, but im now getting a strong cinnamon flavor. Maybe the mixture of the sweetness and pepper combo. tasty.
Jul 9 2013, 8:34 PM
StraightUpCigars: I love this cigar. I can feel some strength now. I just removed the band.
Jul 9 2013, 8:35 PM
Terry1: Unfortunately I shop with my eyes with the online stuff and I am infuenced by pretty bands and marketing hype. This one never jumped out to me enough to buy. To be honest, I hate the band and the name. This one has been a good surprise.
Jul 9 2013, 8:36 PM
IamDarren: mine is also burning quite well which is impressive considering its probably like 100% humidity out right now and it even got a little mist on it.
Jul 9 2013, 8:38 PM
Terry1: I’ve got to give a thumbs up to Famous. I recently ordered several cigars from them and they threw in an Undercrown toro as a free sample. First time I got more than I ordered.
Jul 9 2013, 8:39 PM
IamDarren: really?!? yeah that has never happened to me. Prop to Famous.
Jul 9 2013, 8:40 PM
StraightUpCigars: No way?!?! I’ve NEVER had that happen. They like you.
Jul 9 2013, 8:40 PM
IamDarren: and it wasn’t even a cheap house brand or something. Impressive
Jul 9 2013, 8:41 PM
Terry1: Exactly. Suprised me!
Jul 9 2013, 8:41 PM
IamDarren: im nearing the band and the pepper is starting to take over. Strength has been steadily increasing.
Jul 9 2013, 8:42 PM
Terry1: I’m nearing half way and I’m noticing the strength a little. Good flavors right now. A nice balance between the pepper and sweetness.
Jul 9 2013, 8:43 PM
IamDarren: band came off super easy
Jul 9 2013, 8:43 PM
StraightUpCigars: Mine is the perfect mix of earth, coffee, and spice. Great transitions and perfect construction.
Jul 9 2013, 8:44 PM
IamDarren: damn, thought it was over and now the rain is picking up again. Time for round 2
Jul 9 2013, 8:45 PM
Terry1: Amazing they can make a good complex cigar for less than 3 bucks. How do they do it?
Jul 9 2013, 8:47 PM
IamDarren: lol, its funny looking back. I almost didn’t buy them because of very conflicting reviews. Guess i better go with my gut more often. Hopefully the last third does’t suck…
Jul 9 2013, 8:47 PM
StraightUpCigars: It doesn’t, trust me
Jul 9 2013, 8:48 PM
StraightUpCigars: I’m with you Terry! I just read in Cigar.com mag an interview with DPG and he talks about the skyrocketing price of Nicaraguan tobacco. Under $3 for this cigar is a steal.
Jul 9 2013, 8:49 PM
IamDarren: a box of 20 robustos is on sale for 50 bucks. Thats only 2.5 a stick. Hard to find another deal like that.
Jul 9 2013, 8:49 PM
StraightUpCigars: Gary would have loved this stick… good smoke “volume”
Jul 9 2013, 8:50 PM
IamDarren: good ol Gary. He emailed me last week. Its too bad I think he is a decent guy but just goes a little overboard on his opinions.
Jul 9 2013, 8:51 PM
StraightUpCigars: I wish I could agree, he spewed some waste over there on the horse racing forum. Oh well, I wish him the best.
Jul 9 2013, 8:54 PM
Terry1: I took off my band. No problems. Burn is still even. Lots of tasty smoke. I am noticing the pepper building a little more now.
Jul 9 2013, 8:56 PM
IamDarren: into the last third now. pepper is coming and going. Flavors are still pretty darn good.
Jul 9 2013, 8:56 PM
Terry1: The strength is getting up there. Must be lots of ligero in this one.
Jul 9 2013, 8:56 PM
StraightUpCigars: Just really rich flavor at this point. Day old coffee flavor… which I kinda enjoy
Jul 9 2013, 9:00 PM
IamDarren: yeah ok, pepper just let up and i got the coffee flavor. Nice
Jul 9 2013, 9:01 PM
StraightUpCigars: Mine’s burning my fingers and I had to set it down. I wish I still had some left!
Jul 9 2013, 9:01 PM
Terry1: I agree. I thought the pepper was comming back but it settled down quickly. I get the coffee too. A nice mocha flavor when the sweetness is there.
Jul 9 2013, 9:08 PM
Terry1: I’m almost done if you want to rate it.
Jul 9 2013, 9:08 PM
IamDarren: yeah im savoring the last half inch or so
Jul 9 2013, 9:08 PM
StraightUpCigars: Sure thing, give me a sec.
Jul 9 2013, 9:11 PM
StraightUpCigars: There’s just nowhere to take points off. There’s so much delicious flavor, nice transitions, flawless construction, incredible price. This cigar embodies what we are looking for on SUC… the ultimate value smoke.
Jul 9 2013, 9:11 PM
Terry1: I agree.
Jul 9 2013, 9:11 PM
IamDarren: yeah i only took off a couple for the overpowering pepper in the middle but it was darn good overall.


Related posts:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This blog is kept spam free by WP-SpamFree.