Diesel Delirium – Cigar Review

This week’s group cigar review is of the Diesel Delirium.  The name implies that it is going to be strong cigar, we’ll see.   The first thing we noticed is the nice looking wrapper leaf on this huge cigar.  It has a barnyard smell, but chocolate spice on the cold draw.  After cutting, it’s got a perfect draw – that’s impressive for a large vitola.  Once lit up, it has a sweet creamy and earthy flavor with some pepper, spice, and bitterness on the finish.  After a bit the pepper backs of and the cigar really mellows out.  Later on it transitions into a char and coffee flavor with cinnamon spice.  The sweet creamy flavor came back for the final third and the construction was perfect the entire time.  Overall, the flavors were pretty straightforward and this was not a complex cigar.  Even still, we did like the transitions and thought it was very balanced – not too strong of any one flavor.  It wasn’t as full bodied as we expected, but it does have a lot of strength, you may actually end up delirious at the end of this one.  It’s a somewhat pricey cigar, but there’s a lot of tobacco in there.  We think this reliable and balanced cigar is worth a try.

StraightUpCigars: Rating:
Flavor and Taste: 17/20
Construction: 9/10
Wrapper: 5/5
Price Point: 7/10
Would I buy a Box: 4/5
Total: 42/50

IamDarren: Rating:
Flavor and Taste: 19/20
Construction: 10/10
Wrapper: 5/5
Price Point: 8/10
Would I buy a Box: 4/5
Total: 46/50

Terry1: Rating:
Flavor and Taste: 17/20
Construction: 10/10
Wrapper: 5/5
Price Point: 8/10
Would I buy a Box: 3/5
Total: 43/50


May 6 2014, 7:29 PM
IamDarren: oh, boy… lots of hype around this stick. Only one i bought that i haven’t smoked yet
May 6 2014, 7:31 PM
Terry1: Wow. I forgot this was a big cigar. It’s still in the cello and I’m already feeling the sweats.
May 6 2014, 7:31 PM
IamDarren: lol
May 6 2014, 7:37 PM
StraightUpCigars: Holy cow, this is a massive cigar…
May 6 2014, 7:40 PM
IamDarren: lol, thats what she said muah ha ha hah
May 6 2014, 7:40 PM
StraightUpCigars: Could see that coming from a mile away!
May 6 2014, 7:41 PM
IamDarren: great construction. A couple small veins but nothing too major. Nice pigtail cap.
May 6 2014, 7:41 PM
StraightUpCigars: The delirium has a nice looking wrapper leaf with only small veins. After cutting I’m impressed with the draw, it’s good for such a large stick. It has a sweet tobacco flavor on the cold draw, that caught me a little off guard.
May 6 2014, 7:41 PM
Terry1: Nice oily wrapper with a strong barnyard scent off the foot. Perfect draw after clipping the pigtail cap off. Getting a cedar note with a hint of spice.
May 6 2014, 7:42 PM
IamDarren: nice medium/easy draw after the cut and getting a spice/chocolate combination on the cold draw
May 6 2014, 7:42 PM
IamDarren: ok, now that you said it i do detect some cedar as well
May 6 2014, 7:43 PM
IamDarren: im am READY to get er fired up!
May 6 2014, 7:43 PM
StraightUpCigars: Me too.
May 6 2014, 7:43 PM
Terry1: Let’s light this sucker up.
May 6 2014, 7:47 PM
IamDarren: lots of spice, a little sweetness and earth. A slight char flavor is also present. Some underlying strength.
May 6 2014, 7:48 PM
StraightUpCigars: Mine is very earthy with some sweetness. I am getting a slightly bitter taste I haven’t figured out yet. Just a hint of spice on the finish. Somewhat of a mild start.
May 6 2014, 7:50 PM
Terry1: Took a minute or two to get this one going. Smoke production was a little light. I’m getting about the same flavors, spice, mild sweetness, earth. I’m glad you mentioned char. I got it real strong for a few puffs then it faded into the background.
May 6 2014, 7:51 PM
IamDarren: yeah, it seems to be fading on mine as well. The spice and the sweetness are starting to combine on mine to form something unique, can’t place it yet.
May 6 2014, 7:53 PM
IamDarren: starting to get a slight creaminess. The aftertaste is similar to when i used to mix coffee and milk. Slightly creamy with a boldness to it.
May 6 2014, 7:53 PM
StraightUpCigars: Mine is producing lots of smoke now, and more flavor. I wonder if that was why it seemed mild earlier, not enough smoke.
May 6 2014, 7:56 PM
StraightUpCigars: Mine just blew up with sweetness in the last few puffs.
May 6 2014, 7:56 PM
Terry1: Mine is smoking great now. The pepper is on the strong side for me. It’s hiding most of the other flavors I know are there. I do gets hints of some sweetness and a mild bitterness on the finish that Matt mentioned.
May 6 2014, 7:58 PM
IamDarren: yeah there is a very slight bitterness to it that im gonna assume is because this thing is laced with ligero and I have seen it before. However, the spice and creaminess are just enough to balance it out. Mine is hitting on all cylinders now.
May 6 2014, 7:58 PM
IamDarren: just dropped my inch long ash in the tray
May 6 2014, 7:59 PM
StraightUpCigars: I agree that it is very balanced. Nice blend of flavors, but not overly complex at the moment.
May 6 2014, 8:00 PM
Terry1: Yeah I agree. The pepper backed off about the time I posted how strong it was. I’m liking it much better now. I’m now just waiting for the mule kick in the gut.
May 6 2014, 8:01 PM
StraightUpCigars: It’ll happen somewhere in the next 8 inches of the cigar
May 6 2014, 8:03 PM
IamDarren: i tried taking some long slow draws and got a lot more spice, definitely a cinnamon flavor.
May 6 2014, 8:06 PM
IamDarren: mine still seems to be mellowing, not getting any bitterness now. not very complex but very satisfying. Still an underlying richness that i can’t place.
May 6 2014, 8:07 PM
StraightUpCigars: I agree, very satisfying smoke. I did not expect all the creamy sweetness on this one.
May 6 2014, 8:09 PM
Terry1: Mine is mellowing too for the good. I’m actually shocked by the change after how it started.
May 6 2014, 8:12 PM
IamDarren: agreed, might not be much complexity in each puff but the flavor is changing quite a bit as the cigar burns
May 6 2014, 8:13 PM
StraightUpCigars: Are these hard to find? I don’t see them on CI. What’s the cost per stick?
May 6 2014, 8:14 PM
IamDarren: my internet is crawling and i can’t load it. I know they are pretty expensive
May 6 2014, 8:14 PM
IamDarren: I think i got them from Cigar.com
May 6 2014, 8:16 PM
StraightUpCigars: WOW, over $9 each if you buy a fiver. Thanks Darren!
May 6 2014, 8:17 PM
IamDarren: looks like retail is $11 bucks
May 6 2014, 8:17 PM
IamDarren: you are welcome
May 6 2014, 8:18 PM
StraightUpCigars: The flavor is really thickening up, if you will. I’m getting a deep and dark char/coffee/earth mixture.
May 6 2014, 8:18 PM
Terry1: They are only $100 for a box 16 on CI. So something like $6.25. I find it strange they only come in one monster size.
May 6 2014, 8:19 PM
IamDarren: well if you guys remember the original Diesel was only in a Torpedo
May 6 2014, 8:20 PM
Terry1: That’s right. I forgot that.
May 6 2014, 8:20 PM
IamDarren: I get the impression with AJ that he actually takes the time to release a cigar in a size or sizes that provide the best smoking experience.
May 6 2014, 8:20 PM
StraightUpCigars: I do like the simplicity of 1 vitola per line, also makes you think they really picked the absolute best way to smoke that particular blend. On the flip side, this is one massive cigar that I would not typically smoke.
May 6 2014, 8:22 PM
IamDarren: starting to get some of the flavor you mentioned Matt. With all the ligero in this thing he must have really fermented and aged it as to not be too overpowering. Sorta like the Habano version of that Kristoff that we liked so much.
May 6 2014, 8:22 PM
Terry1: I agree mine is getting more of that char/coffee note, less sweetness.
May 6 2014, 8:23 PM
StraightUpCigars: God, those Kristoffs… some of the best cigars ever. I think we still have one for review that Terry sent out, no?
May 6 2014, 8:23 PM
IamDarren: yeah i think he sent us the GC series, right?
May 6 2014, 8:24 PM
Terry1: I did but that was for your enjoyment. I reviewed it a while ago. But if you want to do a group review I’m up for it.
May 6 2014, 8:25 PM
StraightUpCigars: Ah, http://straightupcigars.com/kristoff-gc-signature-cigar-review-2/
[Kristoff GC Signature – Cigar Review]
Kristoff GC Signature – Cigar Review
May 6 2014, 8:25 PM
IamDarren: im finally at the half way mark and am starting to feel very relaxed…. oh yeah
May 6 2014, 8:25 PM
Terry1: It’s still my favorite cigar. I’m about ready to buy my third box.
May 6 2014, 8:26 PM
IamDarren: Wow, you must smoke those at least once a week
May 6 2014, 8:26 PM
StraightUpCigars: He seems like a great guy too from you said Terry, plus I’m still tickled he stopped in to post on our review of a Kristoff.
May 6 2014, 8:27 PM
IamDarren: yeah i got a lot of respect for the guy. That was the only cigar maker to ever comment on our site
May 6 2014, 8:27 PM
Terry1: Yeah I’m disappointed he hasn’t committed to this year’s festival. I hope he comes.
May 6 2014, 8:28 PM
StraightUpCigars: True, it’s surprising no one else comments on their own cigars. Hats off to him.
May 6 2014, 8:29 PM
IamDarren: well im loving this cigar, mine still has a decent amount of sweetness. Also getting a floral quality to it now.
May 6 2014, 8:30 PM
IamDarren: the habano spice im getting in the sinus is just right
May 6 2014, 8:31 PM
StraightUpCigars: That spice really is picking up, isn’t it? It’s almost like a faint tobasco flavor.
May 6 2014, 8:32 PM
IamDarren: i like that it is so well balanced, nothing is overpowering
May 6 2014, 8:33 PM
Terry1: Same here. I’m enjoying this one much more than I anticipated. Maybe the best Diesel I’ve tried.
May 6 2014, 8:35 PM
IamDarren: i can agree with that. Just wish they were 3 or 4 bucks a stick so i could stock up
May 6 2014, 8:35 PM
StraightUpCigars: So… much… cigar left
May 6 2014, 8:35 PM
StraightUpCigars: No shortage of value. This one isn’t quite as strong as I imagined either, I think it’s the size that gets people (I can relate)
May 6 2014, 8:37 PM
Terry1: They have them on Cigarbid. You might score a good deal with some luck and patience.
May 6 2014, 8:37 PM
IamDarren: thats funny, i pulled up the cigar reviewer the other day and was thinking that the size value might not be the best way to calculate it. However, this vitola supports it for sure.
May 6 2014, 8:39 PM
StraightUpCigars: Forgot to post, I had to do a burn correction about 10 mins ago. It’s perfect again now. I’d be impressed if it stayed perfect the rest of the way.
May 6 2014, 8:40 PM
IamDarren: mine has been excellent, surprising from how much ligero is in this puppy
May 6 2014, 8:41 PM
IamDarren: i am actually starting to feel it now, kinda sinking into the chair… how about you guys?
May 6 2014, 8:42 PM
Terry1: Mine has been burning perfectly. I often wonder who decides on the marketing. With the size and the full rating I would have passed on this one. It’s really more of a medium-full. And yes I’m starting to feel it.
May 6 2014, 8:42 PM
StraightUpCigars: Yeah… mine is creeping on me. Still though, there’s been some cigars I’ve had in the recent past that kicked my ass WAY more than this one.
May 6 2014, 8:43 PM
IamDarren: true
May 6 2014, 8:43 PM
StraightUpCigars: That’s a good question Terry, I wonder if it’s AJ himself, or if his operation has gotten so large others make decisions like this.
May 6 2014, 8:56 PM
Terry1: Finally made it to the band. Came off without incident. No change in the flavors and the strength is still manageable.
May 6 2014, 8:57 PM
IamDarren: my band actually just slid right off
May 6 2014, 8:58 PM
StraightUpCigars: I like conspiracy theorists, I’m one too. It is known that they purposely degrade the performance of older phones with the new software releases… not a doubt in my mind they use similar tactics with computers.
May 6 2014, 9:00 PM
StraightUpCigars: My band would have slid off, but it got wedged in the wrapper. I
May 6 2014, 9:01 PM
StraightUpCigars: I REALLY like this cigar right now. Funny thing is that it is no different than it was 30 minutes ago, but I was worried that bold flavor would have kept on getting bolder… to the point of unsmokable bitterness. That’s not the case. Good cigar.
May 6 2014, 9:02 PM
IamDarren: i was hoping for another big flavor change in the last third (which there is still plenty of time for) but i have to say that so far it has been very well balanced and enjoyable.
May 6 2014, 9:03 PM
IamDarren: probably the best Habano flavor profile that i have ever had
May 6 2014, 9:04 PM
Terry1: Agree. I’ve been expecting another pepper blast at the end like the beginning but so far it’s been sweet and creamy. Good cigar.
May 6 2014, 9:15 PM
Terry1: Amen to that. I’m about done. This was a big cigar! Strength has finally hit the full side. No flavor changes. Good to the end.
May 6 2014, 9:16 PM
IamDarren: agreed, starting to get that ligero punch with each puff now. Begging to heat up too.
May 6 2014, 9:16 PM
IamDarren: i may just end it a bit early, after an hour and forty five min. i can afford to leave the last half inch
May 6 2014, 9:17 PM
StraightUpCigars: Mine’s super close to being done too. Rating now.
May 6 2014, 9:19 PM
StraightUpCigars: This one’s rating are a little harsh, but I didn’t see a way around it. It liked the flavor a lot, although it’s not complex so I couldn’t put it higher. Construction extremely good, just 1 burn correction. Price is high, but it’s a lot of cigar. I liked it a lot, just not one that I would buy a ton of.
May 6 2014, 9:20 PM
IamDarren: just my personal preference but when i have to choose between complexity or balance i choose balance. And i think that is true for the whole Diesel line. They aren’t super complex but they deliver every time.
May 6 2014, 9:21 PM
Terry1: Agree. I’d have a hard time buying a box but it was a good cigar. Thanks Darren for the cigar. Not one I’d normally try.


Related posts:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This blog is kept spam free by WP-SpamFree.