Cult – Cigar Review

This week’s group cigar review is of the Cult.  This cigar is a fairly recent release and has a whole lot of hype around it.  The first things we noticed is Cult has a veiny wrapper and a fairly loose draw if cut too deep.  Once we had it lit, we were met with a sweet and creamy flavor with floral notes.  A couple of our sticks started burning poorly at this point and the flavor really went mostly flat in the second third.  It is worth pointing out that the wrapper leaf is very thin on this cigar.  Some rich flavors made their way back in toward the end of the cigar, but this was not the cigar we expected for the price of about $7 each.  AJ Fernandez has made better than this.

StraightUpCigars: Rating:
Flavor and Taste: 17/20
Construction: 7/10
Wrapper: 4/5
Price Point: 8/10
Would I buy a Box: 4/5
Total: 40/50
Terry1: Rating:
Flavor and Taste: 17/20
Construction: 8/10
Wrapper: 5/5
Price Point: 7/10
Would I buy a Box: 3/5
Total: 40/50
IamDarren: Rating:
Flavor and Taste: 15/20
Construction: 8/10
Wrapper: 4/5
Price Point: 6/10
Would I buy a Box: 3/5
Total: 36/50
GaryInfusion:Rating:
Flavor and Taste:16
Construction:7/10
Wrapper:4/5
Was it Worth the Price: 7/10
Would I Buy an Entire Box: 3/10
Total: 37/50

Feb 5 2013, 7:34 PM
GaryInfusion: OOO. Perfecto cold draw.
Feb 5 2013, 7:34 PM
GaryInfusion: OK, I’m ready to spark.
Feb 5 2013, 7:34 PM
StraightUpCigars: All right, all set up. I agree with Gary, hay smell with some sweetness. Always love the box press. Wrapper is a little loose in spots, but it only has the tiniest veins.
Feb 5 2013, 7:35 PM
StraightUpCigars: Draw is actually too loose after a shallow cut, oh well it will produce smoke
Feb 5 2013, 7:39 PM
GaryInfusion: WHOA, what is that taste? Almost like laundry detergent.
Feb 5 2013, 7:40 PM
GaryInfusion: Going backwards here. It took a few relights to getting going full.
Feb 5 2013, 7:40 PM
Terry1: I’m glad I read your post, Matt, before cutting. I just shaved off the end and my draw is loose. It could be underfilled to compensate for the extreme box press this cigar has.
Feb 5 2013, 7:42 PM
Terry1: I just get a smooth tobacco flavor on the cold draw. Lighting up.
Feb 5 2013, 7:42 PM
StraightUpCigars: Excellent. I think we’ll be fine, but I think you’re right the box press had an effect on the draw.
Feb 5 2013, 7:44 PM
GaryInfusion: Love the box press.
Feb 5 2013, 7:44 PM
StraightUpCigars: Bueler, Darren…
Feb 5 2013, 7:45 PM
GaryInfusion: Really easy going up the nostrils. Very nice aroma, man but that flavor is overpowering my black coffee.
Feb 5 2013, 7:47 PM
Terry1: I had the same issue as Gary. It took a couple of tries to get the cigar fully lit. Producing lots of creamy smoke now.
Feb 5 2013, 7:47 PM
IamDarren: finally online, the wifes laptop is dragging ass tonight. Easy draw, lighting up.
Feb 5 2013, 7:47 PM
StraightUpCigars: Me too.
Feb 5 2013, 7:49 PM
StraightUpCigars: Lots of smoke. You know, it’s funny I thought Gary was on crack, but I am getting a floral flavor which may be the laundry detergent he described. Earthy, toast, and floral, no spice yet. TONS of smoke. Maybe too much, hopefully it doesn’t overheat.
Feb 5 2013, 7:50 PM
GaryInfusion: Dang farmers I’ll slow down a bit. I’m already at the customary inch resting mode. Nice aroma, lots of cedar. Pretty good in the volume department.
Feb 5 2013, 7:52 PM
StraightUpCigars: Mine is starting to settle down after the first few puffs, now getting the creamy flavor Terry mentioned. A pleasant start, but the burn is already going askew.
Feb 5 2013, 7:53 PM
Terry1: Big blast of flavor up front. Hard for me to describe but I get some sweet cedar, earth and some of the floral you guys mentioned. Although I don’t associate it with laundry detergent. Mine is burning uneven.
Feb 5 2013, 7:53 PM
IamDarren: is it working now….
Feb 5 2013, 7:54 PM
GaryInfusion: What was the price point on this Darren?
Feb 5 2013, 7:54 PM
StraightUpCigars: Yeah, we got that post Darren.
Feb 5 2013, 7:54 PM
Terry1: It’s looking like the box press is going to cause trouble with the burn. One corner is not keeping up.
Feb 5 2013, 7:55 PM
StraightUpCigars: Totally with you Terry, the burn is already getting way off for me too, I just lit up 10 minutes ago.
Feb 5 2013, 7:57 PM
GaryInfusion: YEP, we have a runner and puffer. The wrap is puffing up about an inch behind the head.
Feb 5 2013, 7:57 PM
IamDarren: mine started out a bit harsh then mellowed out fast. Lots of smoke. my burn line is a litte wavy but not too bad.
Feb 5 2013, 7:57 PM
GaryInfusion: The detergent subsided, getting some strong pepper and a tad of licorice. Aroma is still pretty nice.
Feb 5 2013, 7:58 PM
IamDarren: sweet and creamy with a hint of mocha. Some spice and pepper on the retrohale.
Feb 5 2013, 8:00 PM
IamDarren: also getting something acidic on the finish, its sorta like cedar but hard to pick out.
Feb 5 2013, 8:00 PM
Terry1: Watch out for the ash. Half of mine just fell into my lap without warning.
Feb 5 2013, 8:03 PM
IamDarren: every few puffs the mocha just switches over to black coffee, might be heating up a bit. The draw is still very loose but my burn line is good and the ash is holding on.
Feb 5 2013, 8:04 PM
StraightUpCigars: My burn has actually evened itself out. It’s odd, most of the flavor has subsided on mine. It’s very mellow right now.
Feb 5 2013, 8:04 PM
GaryInfusion: You have to admit, this has some very unusually flavorings going on. I hit the midway point. The ring came off without a hitch
Feb 5 2013, 8:04 PM
IamDarren: wow i thought Matt was a speed smoker
Feb 5 2013, 8:05 PM
GaryInfusion: Manager to front cashier: We need a price check on A CULT.
Feb 5 2013, 8:05 PM
Terry1: I’m liking the flavors. There’s a slight pepper spice building on mine. My draw tightened a little making it just about right. The burn thou is needing another correction.
Feb 5 2013, 8:05 PM
StraightUpCigars: I’m an inch and a half behind Gary (please refrain from commenting)
Feb 5 2013, 8:05 PM
IamDarren: lol
Feb 5 2013, 8:05 PM
GaryInfusion: …………….
Feb 5 2013, 8:05 PM
GaryInfusion: and ………….
Feb 5 2013, 8:06 PM
StraightUpCigars: ha!
Feb 5 2013, 8:07 PM
IamDarren: im starting to think that outside temp has a lot to do with burn and even flavor. I was smoking in my truck the other day while i was checking cattle, as soon as i stepped outside the draw tightened up, it quit burning on one side and the flavor went flat.
Feb 5 2013, 8:07 PM
IamDarren: And this was one of AJs best sticks, it always performs flawlessly
Feb 5 2013, 8:08 PM
Terry1: This cigar is giving me cotton mouth. Makes me thirsty.
Feb 5 2013, 8:09 PM
StraightUpCigars: Agreed Terry, very dry smoke, not buttery like many we’ve had lately. Some flavor is creeping back into mine though.
Feb 5 2013, 8:10 PM
IamDarren: it almost seems a little chalky, it doesn’t taste bad but when it coats the palate it saps all the moisture
Feb 5 2013, 8:10 PM
GaryInfusion: It’s becoming very spicy.
Feb 5 2013, 8:11 PM
GaryInfusion: Figures, Darren has to stick up for his buddy AJ.
Feb 5 2013, 8:11 PM
IamDarren: i think a little rest has helped these. I smoked one the day after i got them and it was a spice bomb.
Feb 5 2013, 8:12 PM
GaryInfusion: NO, it didn’t!
Feb 5 2013, 8:13 PM
StraightUpCigars: Hey now, leave AJ out of this You don’t earn his rep for nothing. Some spice has slowly crept into the flavor profile of mine, but it is very mellow right now still for me.
Feb 5 2013, 8:13 PM
GaryInfusion: I’d put this on the high end of the medium scale..
Feb 5 2013, 8:13 PM
GaryInfusion: Also I’m getting a headache
Feb 5 2013, 8:14 PM
IamDarren: lol, well the first half was spicey too. So far im surprised how mellow the first half is going
Feb 5 2013, 8:15 PM
GaryInfusion: For crying out loud…How much was it?
Feb 5 2013, 8:16 PM
IamDarren: what i paid or retail…. those tend to be pretty far apart sometimes
Feb 5 2013, 8:16 PM
StraightUpCigars: http://www.cigarsinternational.com/proddisp.asp?item=CS-CUL&stext=cult
[Cult Cigars – Cigars International]
Cult Cigars – Cigars International
Feb 5 2013, 8:16 PM
StraightUpCigars: $7 ish
Feb 5 2013, 8:17 PM
GaryInfusion: Thank you sir.
Feb 5 2013, 8:17 PM
StraightUpCigars: Terry is having i-net issues.
Feb 5 2013, 8:17 PM
IamDarren: welcome to the club
Feb 5 2013, 8:18 PM
Terry1: Got dropped but I’m back.
Feb 5 2013, 8:19 PM
IamDarren: hows yours performing Terry? Seems like we are all smoking different cigars.
Feb 5 2013, 8:19 PM
GaryInfusion: I said that to my last girlfriend
Feb 5 2013, 8:20 PM
StraightUpCigars: Key word: last.
Feb 5 2013, 8:20 PM
IamDarren: yep, meaning “ex”
Feb 5 2013, 8:21 PM
IamDarren: or “X” depending on how she handled it
Feb 5 2013, 8:21 PM
Terry1: I’m approaching the final third. The flavors have gone a bit flat in the last few minutes. I’m getting very little spice. The ash is really flakey. I have to keep tapping it off or else wear it. The burn and draw has been doing better.
Feb 5 2013, 8:23 PM
IamDarren: in case you guys are bored here is my new favorite commercial http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DT4ikdAS-P0
[Bear Does Laundry : Samsung Washing Machine Commercial – Adpressive – YouTube]
Bear Does Laundry : Samsung Washing Machine Commercial – Adpressive – YouTube
Play
Feb 5 2013, 8:23 PM
StraightUpCigars: Yep, some flavor is coming back into mine, though. Overall a bready flavor with mild coffee and a little spice.
Feb 5 2013, 8:24 PM
GaryInfusion: At least this is not a “steamer”. I’m into the last and the flavors are a little better. I’m getting loads of licorice and a good amount of spice.
Feb 5 2013, 8:24 PM
IamDarren: i just crossed the halfway mark (trying to smoke slow) and i agree with Matt. Mine is mellow but the flavor is there and its not too bad.
Feb 5 2013, 8:25 PM
GaryInfusion: I think I’m getting a headache because I haven’t drank in two days. Probably DT’s, I don’t have the shakes yet, probably tomorrow.
Feb 5 2013, 8:26 PM
IamDarren: so you decided to quit drinking, good luck with that
Feb 5 2013, 8:26 PM
StraightUpCigars: Agreed Darren, I think my expectations for this cigar may be watering down the reality, this has been a pleasant mild/medium cigar that I would gladly buy more of.
Feb 5 2013, 8:27 PM
StraightUpCigars: Finished 2012 taxes. SUC’s net income $550, net expense $250, net profit $300. Best year ever for us. I’ll make sure that translates to more cigars to you fellas.
Feb 5 2013, 8:27 PM
IamDarren: have i said how AWESOME you are Matt. You kick ass. Keep it up brother.
Feb 5 2013, 8:28 PM
Terry1: Mine is turning a little bitter. Checked for tar but didn’t see any. I can still get some of the same flavors as earlier but they are getting buried. Hopefully it changes back soon.
Feb 5 2013, 8:28 PM
GaryInfusion: Yeah thanks for the site to share my thoughts.
Feb 5 2013, 8:29 PM
IamDarren: yeah im still getting something acidic/bitter on the finish. I still can’t nail it down but it sucks that its right on the end and lingers.
Feb 5 2013, 8:29 PM
GaryInfusion: Mild/Medium? I guess you’re entitled to your opinion.
Feb 5 2013, 8:30 PM
IamDarren: I would say its mildly medium
Feb 5 2013, 8:30 PM
GaryInfusion: And there lies the problem with today’s society. YOUR opinion is wrong if you disagree….UNREAL
Feb 5 2013, 8:30 PM
IamDarren: today’s society can suck it as far as im concerned
Feb 5 2013, 8:31 PM
IamDarren: im out here in BFE (butt fucked Egypt) and i like it that way.
Feb 5 2013, 8:32 PM
StraightUpCigars: Ha, hey guys you kinda choked me up for about 2 seconds there. I wouldn’t be doing it without you 3. Anyways, yeah I would put it at mild/medium body, but medium/full strength. Meaning mild/medium flavor, but medium/full nic kick. And while I’m typing, F society, I like Missouri more and more every day
Feb 5 2013, 8:33 PM
IamDarren: I just wish i had a fiber optic cable running next to my place then i would be set
Feb 5 2013, 8:33 PM
StraightUpCigars: My wrapper is cracking ;( this cigar has a thin wrapper leaf.
Feb 5 2013, 8:34 PM
StraightUpCigars: It sure is pretty wrapper leaf though, except when it cracks
Feb 5 2013, 8:34 PM
IamDarren: mine just did the same thing, its pretty small so i think i will just burn through it
Feb 5 2013, 8:35 PM
GaryInfusion: OK, I’m nearing the end. Definitely a semi-quick burner.
Feb 5 2013, 8:35 PM
IamDarren: just cause you are a semi-quick smoker
Feb 5 2013, 8:35 PM
Terry1: I’m finally feeling a little nic buzz. Luckily I’m just about done. I slowed my smoking down some and the bitterness is not as heavy. Overall I liked the flavors.
Feb 5 2013, 8:35 PM
GaryInfusion: Not really. The first third went quick. It slowed down a bit.
Feb 5 2013, 8:36 PM
IamDarren: i was just kidding, i used to give Matt a lot of shit so now its your turn
Feb 5 2013, 8:37 PM
IamDarren: im just now approaching the last third
Feb 5 2013, 8:37 PM
StraightUpCigars: Ash on the basement couch, luckily Susie doesn’t come into the cigar room The flavor is ramping up right now and I am loving it! Sweet coffee and plenty of cigar left, keep it coming Cult!
Feb 5 2013, 8:38 PM
IamDarren: same here, spice is kicking it up a notch, getting a nice sweetened coffee flavor with no bitterness on the finish.
Feb 5 2013, 8:38 PM
Terry1: I agree Darren. Just in the last couple of minutes mine is tasting like yours.
Feb 5 2013, 8:39 PM
StraightUpCigars: The darn wrapper leaf has all but disintegrated with two inches of cigar left (1 smokeable).
Feb 5 2013, 8:39 PM
GaryInfusion: OK, I’m done…..I just have this bad film left in my mouth. Should I kiss the GF goodnight
Feb 5 2013, 8:40 PM
GaryInfusion: I didn’t have any wrap problems after the first.
Feb 5 2013, 8:40 PM
StraightUpCigars: I’d tell you where to kiss her, but then I couldn’t post this on the review
Feb 5 2013, 8:40 PM
GaryInfusion: I got to keep this one so I better not.
Feb 5 2013, 8:40 PM
IamDarren: if she doesn’t want to kiss your lips tell here to swallow something else
Feb 5 2013, 8:41 PM
StraightUpCigars: !
Feb 5 2013, 8:41 PM
IamDarren: what…
Feb 5 2013, 8:41 PM
GaryInfusion: It seems we agree on the attributes towards the end.
Feb 5 2013, 8:43 PM
Terry1: Just about done. No wrapper issues with mine. I agree with Gary. My mouth tastes like the ashtray. Chalky and ashy film.
Feb 5 2013, 8:43 PM
IamDarren: we all know im a kinky perv so Gary might as well know it too
Feb 5 2013, 8:43 PM
StraightUpCigars: Yeah, nothing new there. Susie just sent me this: http://www.buzzfeed.com/daves4/people-who-are-having-a-worse-day-than-you
[19 People Who Are Having A Way Worse Day Than You]
19 People Who Are Having A Way Worse Day Than You
Feb 5 2013, 8:44 PM
GaryInfusion: Darren, just stay away from the cattle and you’ll be alright.
Feb 5 2013, 8:45 PM
IamDarren: yeah Matt could brag about it until he got engaged and now he has to keep his mouth shut
Feb 5 2013, 8:45 PM
StraightUpCigars: Whole different ball game now!
Feb 5 2013, 8:46 PM
IamDarren: hows your ankle doing, is that chain starting to dig in.
Feb 5 2013, 8:46 PM
GaryInfusion: Let me set up my ratings for this stick.
Feb 5 2013, 8:46 PM
IamDarren: dragging that ball around all day must hurt
Feb 5 2013, 8:47 PM
StraightUpCigars: Lol, there’s a ball there but no chain yet
Feb 5 2013, 8:48 PM
IamDarren: lol, nice
Feb 5 2013, 8:49 PM
StraightUpCigars: She’s great. We may do are going to do a week semi-backcountry camping come march. If only we could find a battery powered hair dryer
Feb 5 2013, 8:50 PM
IamDarren: i want one of those 2 cycle blenders.
Feb 5 2013, 8:51 PM
GaryInfusion: I wish The Cult smoked as good as it looked.
Feb 5 2013, 8:52 PM
IamDarren: i will agree my expectations were higher for this stick. The overall flavor isn’t bad but its definitely not a favorite.
Feb 5 2013, 8:53 PM
StraightUpCigars: Mine had its fair share of construction issues and was boring in the middle, but at the end this is a top notch stick flavor-wise.
Feb 5 2013, 8:53 PM
StraightUpCigars: It’ll be tough to rate this one.
Feb 5 2013, 8:54 PM
GaryInfusion: I felt it had too much flavor, if that’s possible. Just that first third wasn’t right.
Feb 5 2013, 8:54 PM
GaryInfusion: Maybe over fermented, not sure.
Feb 5 2013, 8:54 PM
IamDarren: well i have at least an inch left and im starting to get a new flavor, maybe leather. Seems to be replacing the coffee somewhat.
Feb 5 2013, 8:54 PM
Terry1: The box for the Cult is great. Not sure I could smoke an entire box of 24 to get it thou.
Feb 5 2013, 8:55 PM
IamDarren: A+ on the band as well
Feb 5 2013, 8:55 PM
GaryInfusion: Well, I’m not rating the box or the ring
Feb 5 2013, 8:55 PM
StraightUpCigars: Anyone have a deal they want to try at cigar.com? I’ve got 10% off.
Feb 5 2013, 8:56 PM
IamDarren: i think i was gonna get some of those Cusanos… let me check.
Feb 5 2013, 8:57 PM
GaryInfusion: My rating came in below 40
Feb 5 2013, 8:58 PM
IamDarren: yep, on clearance. Cusano habano LXI. I really like those and they are super cheap. I would be willing to pay for 5 if you want to split them
Feb 5 2013, 8:58 PM
IamDarren: http://www.cigar.com/sales/index.asp?t=clearance
Feb 5 2013, 9:02 PM
Terry1: Shall we rate the Cult so I can go brush my mouth?
Feb 5 2013, 9:02 PM
GaryInfusion: With what brillo?
Feb 5 2013, 9:02 PM
StraightUpCigars: All right, I’ll see what I can find there. Yep, doing ratings now.
Feb 5 2013, 9:02 PM
IamDarren: it kinda depends what you think is an average smoke. 40 = 80/100 which is a good smoke in most reviews.
Feb 5 2013, 9:03 PM
StraightUpCigars: Grr, you’re gonna make me reformat that Gary, you’re on my shit list
Feb 5 2013, 9:04 PM
GaryInfusion: Next time bro!
Feb 5 2013, 9:07 PM
StraightUpCigars: I actually really liked the ending to this one. Too bad it didn’t smoke like this the whole way. Dry smoke is unusual, but I won’t count it against it. Construction was my biggest complaint. AJ has made better.
Feb 5 2013, 9:07 PM
GaryInfusion: We’re all pretty much in agreement toward the end.
Feb 5 2013, 9:07 PM
GaryInfusion: I’ll have the format right next time Matt.
Feb 5 2013, 9:07 PM
StraightUpCigars: You’re fine, just being lazy
Feb 5 2013, 9:08 PM
Terry1: Thanks for the cigar Darren! Interesting pick.
Feb 5 2013, 9:08 PM
IamDarren: I think the Perdomo and CLE are better sticks so we can look forward to that.
Feb 5 2013, 9:08 PM
StraightUpCigars: Really glad to have reviewed that one, and I think our review will be contrary to many out there. Gotta keep em honest!
Feb 5 2013, 9:09 PM
StraightUpCigars: Jeez next time you make an order from CI… http://www.cigarsinternational.com/prodDisp.asp?item=sp-ca40
[Intro Offer: FC# 11 Sampler – Cigars International]
Intro Offer: FC# 11 Sampler – Cigars International
Feb 5 2013, 9:10 PM
GaryInfusion: Yeah thanks Darren. I still have many left that you guys sent me so I’ll be doing some solo reviews in the forum.
Feb 5 2013, 9:11 PM
IamDarren: any time fellas, its nice to keep trying new and different stuff.
Feb 5 2013, 9:11 PM
GaryInfusion: Yeah I got most of them with the free mini box humi about a year back under my GFs name.
Feb 5 2013, 9:11 PM
GaryInfusion: That Torrano 90 was just about one of the worst gars I had in years.
Feb 5 2013, 9:12 PM
StraightUpCigars: Good one Darren. See you guys next time!
Feb 5 2013, 9:12 PM
IamDarren: am i missing something…. look at the MSRP
Feb 5 2013, 9:13 PM
Terry1: I’m going to head inside. See you next week. Enjoyed smoking with you guys tonight.
Feb 5 2013, 9:13 PM
IamDarren: yep, its been as blast as always!
Feb 5 2013, 9:13 PM
GaryInfusion: OK gents. See you around in the forums. Thanks again Darren. Take care Terry & Matt.


Related posts:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This blog is kept spam free by WP-SpamFree.