Cohiba Red Dot – Cigar Review

This week’s group review is of the Cohiba Red Dot.  It is the non-cuban version of the revered Cohiba name.  These aren’t cheap, so we have high expectations.  The Red Dot has a veiny and mottled wrapper leaf and a cedary smell to it.  After a deep cut, the draw was still too tight, we are hoping it will open up later in the cigar.  The flavors consist of earth, cedar, some bitter char, and lots of spice.  Unfortunately the draw never did open up on either of our sticks, so we struggled to get smoke the entire time.  A cigar at this price point should not have draw issues.  Overall, these did not make for an enjoyable smoking experience and are not recommended.
Terry1: Rating:
Flavor and Taste: 12/20
Construction: 6/10
Wrapper: 5/5
Price Point: 5/10
Would I buy a Box: 1/5
Total: 29/50
StraightUpCigars – Matt: Rating:
Flavor and Taste: 14/20
Construction: 7/10
Wrapper: 4/5
Price Point: 5/10
Would I buy a Box: 1/5
Total: 31/50


Mar 5 2013, 7:48 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: The Cohiba Red Dot has a fairly mild cedar and spice smell to it. I used a cutter on it, and cut fairly deep, but the draw is still a little tight. We’ll have to see how it smokes. I’m lighting up.
Mar 5 2013, 7:49 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: Oh, notes on the wrapper, it has a fairly veiny and mottled wrapper leaf. Not much too look at to be honest.
Mar 5 2013, 7:50 PM
Terry1: Clipped mine. The draw is on the snug side. Getting a faint vanilla note along with some cedar. I’m hoping the draw opens up. I’ve clipped about as much of the head as I dare.
Mar 5 2013, 7:54 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: Got mine lit up. Th flavor right now is bitter char and earth with a little spice on the finish. Not off to the best start ever, we’ll have to see how it develops. The draw is too snug, and looking at the cut foot you can see why… layer upon layer of tightly packed tobacco.
Mar 5 2013, 7:55 PM
IamDarren: hey guys, just got in. Got a cow that im gonna have to watch so im not gonna make it. Hope you guys enjoy the Cohiba!
Mar 5 2013, 7:55 PM
Terry1: Smoke production is on the lighter side because of the tight draw. Getting a mild tobacco flavor, cedar and some mild spice.
Mar 5 2013, 7:56 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: It’s amazing how white the ash is, ghost white.
Mar 5 2013, 7:56 PM
Terry1: Hey Darren! Cow watching sounds about as much fun as watching paint dry. Hope it all turns out good for you and the cow.
Mar 5 2013, 7:58 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: Bummer. Thanks for letting us know, hopefully all turns out well with the heffer.
Mar 5 2013, 8:03 PM
Terry1: This cigar has a lot of potential but the draw is killing it. I’m having to puff two or three times to get any smoke through. But I’m getting some good flavors: spice, cedar and a hint of vanilla that’s keeping me from tossing it.
Mar 5 2013, 8:05 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: Completely agree, the draw is killing an otherwise good cigar. Mine has lost the initial bitterness and is earthy and cedary with spice on the finish.
Mar 5 2013, 8:11 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: I just got done using both hands to pinch and roll the hell out of this thing. It did help a little.
Mar 5 2013, 8:12 PM
Terry1: I just tried a draw poker. It helped a little. The flavors in the last few puffs have really faded. It’s probably the cigar overheating with all the puffing I have to do.
Mar 5 2013, 8:14 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: The flavors really have not changed much from my last report, which is a bit of a bummer to be honest.
Mar 5 2013, 8:20 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: It’s funny, even though this is tightly packed and has a plugged draw, I think
Mar 5 2013, 8:20 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: I’m already at the halfway point.
Mar 5 2013, 8:22 PM
Terry1: This cigar is a workout! I tried to smoke slower and it seemed to help the flavors. They’re really faint but I get the cedar, earth, slight spice and some bitterness is creeping in.
Mar 5 2013, 8:24 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: Ha! Mine too. This one does have all right flavor, but the construction problems are inexcusable for a cigar in this price range.
Mar 5 2013, 8:25 PM
Terry1: I agree. You should expect much better from a cigar with the Cohiba band on it.
Mar 5 2013, 8:26 PM
Terry1: Maybe they’re trying to mimic the construction problems of real cubans.
Mar 5 2013, 8:26 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: Nice one
Mar 5 2013, 8:27 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: Oh, that last draw was BITTER!
Mar 5 2013, 8:28 PM
Terry1: So I see from the forum you had quite the cigar haul from the auction. I think you broke my record.
Mar 5 2013, 8:28 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: It’s not over, I have til tomorrow night with free shipping ;
Mar 5 2013, 8:28 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: I’m done with Cbid for a long time after this!
Mar 5 2013, 8:29 PM
Terry1: LOL. That the blessing and curse of having a week to bid.
Mar 5 2013, 8:31 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: Yeah, I tend to go a lot crazier when shipping is already paid for. I have gotten some crazy deals though, even got fivers of Morro Castle and LEC “Fubar Fuerte” for just $5 each
Mar 5 2013, 8:34 PM
Terry1: Wow that’s great! I’m about ready to start aquiring cigars but I think I’ll wait and see what you’ve got for review sticks before I start. Should be a good summer for cigars then.
Mar 5 2013, 8:35 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: Yeah, we are going to be good for a while with these. I’ll be sending them out shortly after getting them.
Mar 5 2013, 8:38 PM
Terry1: I will complement Cohiba for the burn. Mine has been fairly even this whole time.
Mar 5 2013, 8:39 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: That’s a good point, mine has too. I’m in the final third and it has mellowed into a an earthy and cedary flavor without the bitterness it had earlier. Unfortuntely the spice is gone.
Mar 5 2013, 8:40 PM
Terry1: Interesting, in the last few puffs I’m getting a hint of mint. I just wish the flavors were more bold. As is I’m not inclined to try these again.
Mar 5 2013, 8:42 PM
Terry1: I had some bitterness earlier but it’s gone on mine as well.
Mar 5 2013, 8:42 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: I’m with you. I’m surprised this one fell in the mild/medium body category, I was expecting a lot of spice and pepper. Really doesn’t have an strength (nic kick) either.
Mar 5 2013, 8:45 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: The draw has finally opened up now, and it is a better cigar when you can taste it.
Mar 5 2013, 8:49 PM
Terry1: I wish mine would open up. I’d like to enjoy at least the last inch. Is this your first Red Dot? I’m curious if a different size would be better.
Mar 5 2013, 8:49 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: It is my first. It is also worth noting that these have a lot of age on them… 1 to 2 years.
Mar 5 2013, 8:54 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: Mine’s about tapped out, I’m ready to rate it and put this the myth of the Red Dot to sleep.
Mar 5 2013, 8:54 PM
Terry1: Yeah I’m ready too. Mine never did open up.
Mar 5 2013, 8:57 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: This one really disappointed, there is no way I can recommend trying it at the MSRP of around $20. That’s absurd.
Mar 5 2013, 8:57 PM
Terry1: Wow I think that’s lowest I’ve scored a cigar. What a shame. The super tight draw killed any enjoyment from this cigar
Mar 5 2013, 8:58 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: I think your ratings more accurately represent out experience, I went too easy on it, I’m going to edit mine.
Mar 5 2013, 9:00 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: That cigar was a bummer. Hopefully next week’s will be better!


Related posts:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This blog is kept spam free by WP-SpamFree.