CLE Cuarenta Habano – Cigar Review

This week’s group cigar review is of the CLE Cuarenta Habano.  This is a line of cigars from Christian Eiroa, formerly of Camacho.  This cigar has a pleasant cedary smell and an attractive looking wrapper.  It is worth noting that the wrapper leaf is very thin on this one and tends to unravel and or get marred during cutting.  Once lit, it had a rich flavor profile with many different flavors.  Creamy and charred oak with coffee and a spicy finish.  Other more subtle flavor notes were also mentioned throughout the smoke.  Overall, this was a good low strength and medium body cigar.  One out of the four suffered from severe construction issues, which sometimes happens.  We would recommend giving these a try as they are priced very reasonably.

StraightUpCigars: Rating:
Flavor and Taste: 14/20
Construction: 7/10
Wrapper: 3/5
Price Point: 6/10
Would I buy a Box: 2/5
Total: 32/50

GaryInfusion: Rating:
Flavor and Taste: 18/20
Construction: 9/10
Wrapper: 4/5
Price Point: 8/10
Would I buy a Box: 4/5
Total: 43/50

IamDarren: Rating:
Flavor and Taste: 16/20
Construction: 9/10
Wrapper: 4/5
Price Point: 8/10
Would I buy a Box: 4/5
Total: 41/50

Terry1: Rating:
Flavor and Taste: 17/20
Construction: 10/10
Wrapper: 5/5
Price Point: 7/10
Would I buy a Box: 3/5
Total: 42/50


Feb 12 2013, 7:34 PM
StraightUpCigars: This cigar has a cedary smell to it. I gave it a cut and the wrapper at the foot got a little messed up. The wrapper is also loose on one of the ends. That’s my only pre-light complaint, the draw is good.
[Delete]
Feb 12 2013, 7:35 PM
GaryInfusion: Nice cold draw. I’m sparking, FIRE IN THE HOLE!
Feb 12 2013, 7:36 PM
IamDarren: yeah i can tell the wrapper is pretty fragile, got some tiny cracks when i cut it. Draw is good. Slightly woody flavor. Lighting up
Feb 12 2013, 7:37 PM
IamDarren: nice and buttery smooth to start, already getting a bit of a spice kick too
Feb 12 2013, 7:38 PM
Terry1: Mine has no cracks and a perfect draw. Agree with the woody notes on the cold draw. Lighting up.
Feb 12 2013, 7:39 PM
IamDarren: a bit of info, the guy who started this line is one of the guys behind the Camacho line. CLE is his initials.
Feb 12 2013, 7:41 PM
GaryInfusion: Lit up OK. Had to re-flame it though. Nice dry nutty wood. Some coffee & spice hit my tongue also.
Feb 12 2013, 7:42 PM
StraightUpCigars: Very rich and chewy smoke, charred oak flavor w/ coffee and lots of spice. Real bold tasting cigar.
Feb 12 2013, 7:43 PM
IamDarren: flavors a definitely building. Very smooth and creamy on the initial draw then it transitions into coffee with ample spice and a bit of pepper on the retrohale. Very complex, im likin it!
Feb 12 2013, 7:44 PM
Terry1: Interesting flavors to start with. Spicey pepper in the retrohale, made my eyes water. Agree with a charred flavor as well as a dusty pecan.
Feb 12 2013, 7:46 PM
GaryInfusion: A tad too spiky through the nose. Nice mixture of flavorings going on
Feb 12 2013, 7:47 PM
IamDarren: you can tell its a habano, it nice and smooth up until you exhale through the sinus. I like it, gives you the option of a smooth medium bodied smoke or if you retrohale the body kicks up a notch.
Feb 12 2013, 7:48 PM
IamDarren: i am also noticing if i let it rest a bit longer between puffs it really settles down and i get more of the nutty flavor.
Feb 12 2013, 7:49 PM
GaryInfusion: Mine is burning perfectly. Tons of volume going on.
Feb 12 2013, 7:49 PM
StraightUpCigars: I got some sweetness on the last few puffs, pretty good!
Feb 12 2013, 7:50 PM
IamDarren: the first cigar that made me fall in love with habanos was the Padilla Habano made by AJ. This reminds me a lot of that cigar with more body and complexity. I hope it keeps it up.
Feb 12 2013, 7:51 PM
IamDarren: this cigar uses all Honduran tobacco btw.
Feb 12 2013, 7:52 PM
StraightUpCigars: That’s interesting, not too much honduran tobacco out there.
Feb 12 2013, 7:52 PM
Terry1: I took Darren’s advise and slowed down and the pepper eased up some and more of the nutty notes are coming through. I’m getting some sweetness on the finish. Cigar is burning great and producing plenty of creamy smoke.
Feb 12 2013, 7:52 PM
GaryInfusion: I think these go for $5-$7 for a single so I’m setting my price standpoint @ $6
Feb 12 2013, 7:54 PM
IamDarren: about 3/4 of an inch in and the burn is perfect. Lots of creamy smoke. The has has started to flower a little so i may tap it off.
Feb 12 2013, 7:55 PM
StraightUpCigars: I tapped mine off, it was starting to look like a lap burner.
Feb 12 2013, 7:56 PM
IamDarren: pepper has all but faded on my stick even in the retrohale. Im now getting a spice combination that is very good. There is also a little more sweetness.
Feb 12 2013, 7:57 PM
GaryInfusion: Yep, got the blooming flower too.
Feb 12 2013, 7:58 PM
GaryInfusion: Kind of like an AJ, started off a little harsh but settled in nicely. I’m getting nothing but Burnt Wood (or as you guys say “Charred Oak”) & Coffee.
Feb 12 2013, 7:59 PM
Terry1: I agree Darren. An inch in and the pepper is almost gone. It’s really settled down into a creamy cigar.
Feb 12 2013, 7:59 PM
IamDarren: yeah, definitely some big flavor changes in this one so far
Feb 12 2013, 8:00 PM
IamDarren: i would even go so far as to say that i think it is a little less creamy than at the beginning. The sweet spice combo is making it a lot lighter on the palate.
Feb 12 2013, 8:02 PM
IamDarren: I did a little digging. I guess Christian Eiroa owned Camacho with his father until 2008 when it was bought by Davidoff. This is his first solo attempt.
Feb 12 2013, 8:03 PM
StraightUpCigars: Mine has some bitterness making its way in that I could do without, I liked how it started better.
Feb 12 2013, 8:04 PM
Terry1: I’m liking the cigar more now than how it started. I’m surprised how much the flavors mellowed in such a short time. However if it stays this way for the next hour it’s going to get boring. Flavors are too light to keep my interest.
Feb 12 2013, 8:06 PM
IamDarren: He also released a Corojo blend that has gotten similar if not better reviews than this one. Might be one to look for.
Feb 12 2013, 8:06 PM
GaryInfusion: I’m well into the 2nd and still holding an ash. It mellowed, nicely. Coffee and cream with a tad of pepper. Maybe tart but I’m not getting much bitterness.
Feb 12 2013, 8:07 PM
IamDarren: no bitterness here, i am getting a little more coffee now
Feb 12 2013, 8:08 PM
IamDarren: im well into the second third, probably closer to the halfway mark
Feb 12 2013, 8:09 PM
IamDarren: some reviews claim that the CLE cigars have a bit of citrus. Im not picking it up yet but that may be the source of the bitterness.
Feb 12 2013, 8:09 PM
StraightUpCigars: That could be. I’m hoping mine clears out, I’ll try purging.
Feb 12 2013, 8:11 PM
IamDarren: no wind here tonight and the resting smoke is wafting my way, i have to say it smells quite good.
Feb 12 2013, 8:12 PM
Terry1: I’m about halfway. Luckily the flavors are more pronounced. Getting the coffee, cream, pecans and a touch of spice. Good flavors. No bitterness or citrus for me.
Feb 12 2013, 8:15 PM
IamDarren: Matt, you may already know but there is a big cigar festival in Texas on April 20th. Here is a link if you are interested: http://www.seriouscigars.com/texas_cigar_festival
[ Texas Cigar Festival ]
Texas Cigar Festival
Feb 12 2013, 8:15 PM
StraightUpCigars: Purge helped. My smoke production has gone down too. I think if I chew it it will help.
Feb 12 2013, 8:15 PM
GaryInfusion: I just snapped off a few photos. That’s one strange looking ash.
Feb 12 2013, 8:17 PM
GaryInfusion: About to hit the last 3rd soon.I got a little puff in the wrapper but that won’t change my construction rating.
Feb 12 2013, 8:18 PM
StraightUpCigars: Why do I get the bitterness when Gary is the one speed smoking over there?!?!
Feb 12 2013, 8:20 PM
IamDarren: one benefit of having more reviewers is that we will get a better feel for the quality control. Its just to bad that you got the poor stick. Maybe they missed a stem or something.
Feb 12 2013, 8:22 PM
IamDarren: mine is still quite good, similar to what Terry described. Almost at the last third now. I am hoping that the body starts ramping up a little.
Feb 12 2013, 8:22 PM
GaryInfusion: Yeah I’m getting hit with Black Coffee (hold the sugar please) and some bitterness is coming in.
Feb 12 2013, 8:23 PM
StraightUpCigars: The head of this cigar is hideous now It already had issues from the cut, but now I’ve been chewing… this thing won’t win any beauty contests!
Feb 12 2013, 8:24 PM
Terry1: I’m liking this cigar. It’s a lot different than the maduros and connecticuts I typically smoke. No flavors changes here. The band came off easily. Construction wise, mine is performing well.
Feb 12 2013, 8:24 PM
GaryInfusion: I’ll post my “ASH” pictures in the forum.
Feb 12 2013, 8:26 PM
IamDarren: yours or your girlfriends?
Feb 12 2013, 8:27 PM
Terry1: LOL Couldn’t resist, could you Darren.
Feb 12 2013, 8:27 PM
IamDarren: i think i may have mixed a little too much Jack tonight i hated to leave a couple extra swigs in the bottle.
Feb 12 2013, 8:29 PM
StraightUpCigars: I’m jealous, I’m plum out. Usually I mix one up after the cigar
Feb 12 2013, 8:30 PM
GaryInfusion: I’m into the nectar. It’s pretty good through the nose now.
Feb 12 2013, 8:30 PM
GaryInfusion: No gar buzz to speak of though
Feb 12 2013, 8:31 PM
StraightUpCigars: Smoke production is improved and so is the flavor, although I still have an underlying bitterness. I’ve tried everything, I think I just got a bum stick this time.
Feb 12 2013, 8:31 PM
GaryInfusion: Man, nothing but complaints out of you tonight
Feb 12 2013, 8:32 PM
GaryInfusion: Perhaps it’s the bum behind the stick.
Feb 12 2013, 8:32 PM
StraightUpCigars: Ouch!!!
Feb 12 2013, 8:32 PM
IamDarren: OH! ouch…. lol
Feb 12 2013, 8:33 PM
IamDarren: he’s probably just bitter that he is giving away a totally awesome box of Recluse cigars when he could have hoarded them all to himself.
Feb 12 2013, 8:34 PM
IamDarren: boy did the comments come pouring in on that one
Feb 12 2013, 8:34 PM
GaryInfusion: I got about an inch left, gonna take out the roach clip.
Feb 12 2013, 8:35 PM
GaryInfusion: Nothing really changed much once you got past the 2nd.
Feb 12 2013, 8:36 PM
IamDarren: i was hoping it would pick up a little but even if it doesn’t this has been a very good cigar. Im now getting some cedar and a very sweet coffee. Still medium bodied.
Feb 12 2013, 8:37 PM
GaryInfusion: I got a full hour of smoke time so that works for me.
Feb 12 2013, 8:37 PM
StraightUpCigars: People are so goofy. We’ve got a ton of comments on the box of recluse, but only a couple on the screwpops. Free is free, why wouldn’t you enter both? Not worth people’s time I guess.’
Feb 12 2013, 8:38 PM
GaryInfusion: You can send me both, I promise I won’t complain.
Feb 12 2013, 8:39 PM
StraightUpCigars: Neither would I, Darren was right I wouldn’
Feb 12 2013, 8:39 PM
StraightUpCigars: t be giving them away if I didn’t have to/
Feb 12 2013, 8:39 PM
GaryInfusion: OK, I’m done. A very nice stick.
Feb 12 2013, 8:39 PM
IamDarren: No one will know if the box only has 20 in it instead of 24
Feb 12 2013, 8:40 PM
Terry1: I’m enjoying this cigar more than I thought I would. The way it started I didn’t think I would last long but once it mellowed out it became a very enjoyable smoke. I’m getting towards the end and I’m barely starting to feel the nicotine.
Feb 12 2013, 8:41 PM
StraightUpCigars: Very low strength, I agree. I guess I bit down b/c I ended up with a big stem in my mouth. I’m finito with this one.
Feb 12 2013, 8:46 PM
StraightUpCigars: I’m not, but some of the abreviations are still a foreign language to me.
Feb 12 2013, 8:47 PM
GaryInfusion: Are we ready to rate? I think I have the format right this time
Feb 12 2013, 8:47 PM
IamDarren: got a half inch left but i am satisfied, go ahead
Feb 12 2013, 8:49 PM
Terry1: I wonder who got the bad stick?
Feb 12 2013, 8:51 PM
StraightUpCigars: Mine was just a dud. Poor construction and wrapper led to flavor issues which were compounded by stems and then the price… if only I had one cigars!


Related posts:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This blog is kept spam free by WP-SpamFree.