Casa Fernandez Aganorsa Leaf – Cigar Review

This week’s group review is of the Casa Fernandez Arganosa.  We’ve had good luck with Casa Fernandez in the past, so we’re looking forward to this one.  It has a sweet and woody smell to it and a good draw after cutting.  The wrapper leaf is brittle, though.  Two of the three cigars had cracked wrapper leaves.  Once lit up, the cigar has a sweet peppery and woody flavor with a very spicy finish.  Later on, some coffee flavor made its way in.  All three of our cigars had burn issues ranging from cracked wrappers to uneven burns.  Overall, this full bodied and full strength smoke had an excellent flavor profile.  The construction issues are uncharacteristic of Fernandez cigars, but they wreaked havoc on this particular one.  It would have scored better without thee issues.  Still, a very good cigar that’s worth trying out.

StraightUpCigars: Rating:
Flavor and Taste: 19/20
Construction: 4/10
Wrapper: 3/5
Price Point: 10/10
Would I buy a Box: 4/5
Total: 40/50
IamDarren: Rating:
Flavor and Taste: 19/20
Construction: 6/10
Wrapper: 4/5
Price Point: 10/10
Would I buy a Box: 5/5
Total: 44/50
Terry1: Rating:
Flavor and Taste: 20/20
Construction: 7/10
Wrapper: 4/5
Price Point: 10/10
Would I buy a Box: 5/5
Total: 46/50


Jul 30 2013, 7:38 PM
IamDarren: just barely clipped the cap and the draw is perfect. I swear the cold draw tastes like hickory wood. Its got a subtle sweetness with a nice woody note.
Jul 30 2013, 7:39 PM
StraightUpCigars: The Casa Fernandez Miami has a great smell – sweet and spicy tobacco. The draw is a hair loose on mine after cutting. I do have a complaint, the wrapper leaf is VERY brittle. Mine has a couplee of chips out of it and is coming loose in other spots. Smells real good though
Jul 30 2013, 7:40 PM
IamDarren: i will try to be careful with mine. Looks like there is a tiny crack near the head but its double wrapped there.
Jul 30 2013, 7:40 PM
Terry1: Perfect draw on mine too. I understand where you got the hickory. To me I think of freshly shelled pecans. Kind of dusty with a hint of sweetness.
Jul 30 2013, 7:41 PM
IamDarren: shall we light er up?
Jul 30 2013, 7:41 PM
Terry1: That’s one of the dangers of shipping cigars without cello. Easy to damage.
Jul 30 2013, 7:42 PM
Terry1: Lighting up.
Jul 30 2013, 7:44 PM
StraightUpCigars: Me too.
Jul 30 2013, 7:44 PM
StraightUpCigars: I think the cello is a factor, but the wrapper is brittle feeling as well.
Jul 30 2013, 7:44 PM
IamDarren: very nice start. Creamy, woody, some sweet spice on the tongue. and a little pepper in the sinus…. ok make that lots of pepper in the sinus (seems to be building)
Jul 30 2013, 7:47 PM
Terry1: Looks like I’m having connection problems tonight.
Jul 30 2013, 7:47 PM
IamDarren: also starting to detect a hint of cocoa. Love the finish. Flavor lingers on the palate.
Jul 30 2013, 7:49 PM
Terry1: Wow that’s a spicy cigar! Lots of flavor dominated by pepper and wood with some sweetness. Good but bold.
Jul 30 2013, 7:50 PM
StraightUpCigars: Pretty good start flavor wise, I’m getting charred oak, pepper, and spice… very mild creaminess too.
Jul 30 2013, 7:50 PM
IamDarren: …a word of advice to all you cigar makers out there. DO NOT box press a highly fermented (fragile) wrapper. Not a good combo. Mine is developing a few cracks where the burn is starting to expand the foot. Nothing major but the burn line is being affected a little.
Jul 30 2013, 7:50 PM
StraightUpCigars: Mine is having burn issues right off the bat, I’m going to touch this up before it gets crazy bad.
Jul 30 2013, 7:53 PM
IamDarren: I do love cigars with this flavor profile though. Its strong and it lets you know it but the flavor is so rich and hearty that you don’t care.
Jul 30 2013, 7:54 PM
Terry1: Mine is burning uneven but not enough to correct yet. Love the flavors as long as I don’t retrohale. There’s almost a tug-of-war between the sweetness and the pepper. Pepper is winning at the moment.
Jul 30 2013, 7:55 PM
IamDarren: I love the retrohale. Honestly, its like biting into a perfect steak and then getting that hint of horse radish on top.
Jul 30 2013, 7:55 PM
StraightUpCigars: Mine is burning fast and hot, the wrapper is basically only held on the the bands at this point (I’ll leave them on as long as I can). With that said, the flavor is great, can’t get enough of it.
Jul 30 2013, 7:57 PM
Terry1: Steak and horse radish is right on.
Jul 30 2013, 7:58 PM
IamDarren: looks like this stick was #12 in CA’s list for 2011.
Jul 30 2013, 7:59 PM
Terry1: The damage to your wrapper must have happened after I shipped them. They looked fine when I sent them. Sorry I must not have packed them tight enough.
Jul 30 2013, 8:00 PM
Terry1: This ash is one of the darkest I’ve seen in awhile. More black than gray.
Jul 30 2013, 8:01 PM
StraightUpCigars: This one is definitely not your fault at all Terry, and I am actually enjoying this stick. The problem on mine is not only the wrapper, smoke is leaking out mid-stick which means there is a binder problem too.
Jul 30 2013, 8:01 PM
Terry1: I hope I make it through this one. An inch in and I’ve already got the hiccups.
Jul 30 2013, 8:02 PM
IamDarren: well thats too bad. Mine is progressing well. Burn has straightened out and im getting close to the first band. Between the two bands they take up a third of the cigar.
Jul 30 2013, 8:04 PM
IamDarren: mine has mellowed a little in the second third. Pepper has really subsided and im picking up a lot more sweetness. Smoke output is fantastic.
Jul 30 2013, 8:04 PM
IamDarren: ash is very flakey though.
Jul 30 2013, 8:05 PM
Terry1: I was just going to post the same thing. Pepper suddenly fell off and now the sweetness is really coming through. Very flavorful.
Jul 30 2013, 8:06 PM
IamDarren: Wow, this is a Nicaragua puro…. Just goes to show you don’t need to ship in a lot of tobacco to make a great cigar.
Jul 30 2013, 8:06 PM
StraightUpCigars: I’m getting the hiccups now too Great, rich burnt coffee flavor at this point. I like it.
Jul 30 2013, 8:07 PM
IamDarren: getting a lot more complexity from the sweetness and spice. Agreed, getting a mix of coffee and spice that seems very unique.
Jul 30 2013, 8:09 PM
IamDarren: if it keeps it up im gonna have to give this one perfect scores in the flavor department. Ranks right up there with the San Lotano Oval IMHO.
Jul 30 2013, 8:10 PM
Terry1: Yeah flavor wise it’s as good as it gets. Construction may be the only issue. Mine so far is performing perfectly.
Jul 30 2013, 8:10 PM
StraightUpCigars: Mine is getting its third burn correction… we have a love-hate relationship
Jul 30 2013, 8:11 PM
Terry1: I’m not sure if this is a puro thou. It has a San Andres Maduro wrapper. Isn’t that from Mexico?
Jul 30 2013, 8:12 PM
StraightUpCigars: yes.
Jul 30 2013, 8:12 PM
IamDarren: you might be right. The normal Miami doesn’t have the Aganorsa Leaf.
Jul 30 2013, 8:12 PM
IamDarren: I am assuming the filler is still the same though.
Jul 30 2013, 8:15 PM
IamDarren: looks like they also make an Aganorsa Leaf Corojo. I bet that one is a pepper bomb.
Jul 30 2013, 8:15 PM
Terry1: So as soon as I say mine is burning perfectly one corner stops burning and it doesn’t look like it will self correct.
Jul 30 2013, 8:15 PM
Terry1: Typical with box press.
Jul 30 2013, 8:17 PM
StraightUpCigars: I’m actually entering the final third at this point. Is anyone else’s a fast burner?
Jul 30 2013, 8:18 PM
IamDarren: im past the halfway but not that far yet.
Jul 30 2013, 8:18 PM
IamDarren: pepper seems to be making a slight comeback.
Jul 30 2013, 8:19 PM
Terry1: I’m about to the second band. Seems to be burning fast.
Jul 30 2013, 8:20 PM
StraightUpCigars: That flavor is SO rich. About as full bodied as you can get, but without all the pepper of many modern day full bodieds.
Jul 30 2013, 8:22 PM
IamDarren: i guess im crossing into the last third. Just removed the second band. It does seem to be heating up a bit.
Jul 30 2013, 8:23 PM
IamDarren: resting smoke has increased
Jul 30 2013, 8:23 PM
Terry1: Bands came off cleanly. Agree on the flavor and the heat. I slowed down a little to see if it will cool off.
Jul 30 2013, 8:24 PM
Terry1: I’ve got one corner that doesn’t want to burn. Corrected it once and it looks like I’ll have to do it again.
Jul 30 2013, 8:25 PM
StraightUpCigars: It’s funny, I’m having the opposite issue. One corner that is speed-burning. I think my burn corrections are the reason I’m ahead of you guys on.
Jul 30 2013, 8:28 PM
IamDarren: good thing we place more emphasis on flavor than construction. My burn is lopsided again but i haven’t made any burn corrections.
[Delete]
Jul 30 2013, 8:28 PM
IamDarren: we haven’t reviewed any other Casa
Jul 30 2013, 8:29 PM
StraightUpCigars: We will now.
Jul 30 2013, 8:29 PM
IamDarren: Fernandez cigars yet right? It looks like many of their cigars have high ratings
Jul 30 2013, 8:29 PM
Terry1: The cone on mine is on the side that’s not burning, like all the ligero was put on one side and not the middle.
Jul 30 2013, 8:29 PM
IamDarren: check out the Arsenio Maduro: http://www.stogiereview.com/2010/12/15/casa-fernandez-arsenio-maduro-robusto/
[Casa Fernandez Arsenio Maduro Robusto « The Stogie Review The Stogie Review]
Casa Fernandez Arsenio Maduro Robusto « The Stogie Review The Stogie Review
Jul 30 2013, 8:29 PM
Terry1: Didn’t we review the Copacabana? This one is much better.
Jul 30 2013, 8:31 PM
StraightUpCigars: It is, was that a Casa Fernandez?
Jul 30 2013, 8:31 PM
Terry1: Yes it was. It was there cheaper blend.
Jul 30 2013, 8:32 PM
Terry1: Strength is full now. Good thing I’m getting close to the end.
Jul 30 2013, 8:34 PM
Terry1: It’s getting spicy again. I can feel it in my throat.
Jul 30 2013, 8:34 PM
IamDarren: check this out: http://www.neptunecigar.com/pr/casa_fernandez_taster_6cigar_sampler.aspx pricey but very tempting.
[ Casa Fernandez Taster, 6-Cigar Sampler ]
Casa Fernandez Taster, 6-Cigar Sampler
Jul 30 2013, 8:35 PM
StraightUpCigars: Mines spicy but not peppery with coffee and char flavor, full bodied, full strength… and burning my fingers I’m drawing the line at 5 burn corrections, so when this thing is near finished.
Jul 30 2013, 8:36 PM
IamDarren: i slowed down and mine has settled down a little. Still got about an inch left.
Jul 30 2013, 8:36 PM
Terry1: I’ve made three corrections to the same corner.
Jul 30 2013, 8:37 PM
IamDarren: im about ready to make one. One side is about a quarter inch behind the others.
Jul 30 2013, 8:40 PM
Terry1: Mine is getting too short to smoke. Good bold flavorful cigar. Strength is there but manageble. Certaintly worth trying.
Jul 30 2013, 8:41 PM
StraightUpCigars: That sampler you posted is badass, but too pricy. I think it is over the MSRP of each individual stick. Fernandex doesn’t like us though, I’ve contacted them like 6 times about review sticks
Jul 30 2013, 8:41 PM
IamDarren: i might have found a better one: http://www.atlanticcigar.com/Assorted-Samplers/Atlantic-Cigar-Casa-Fernandez-Flight-Sampler-8-Pack.asp don’t know much about a couple of the blends though… JFR?
[Assorted Cigar Samplers Casa Fernandez Flight Sampler 8-Pack]
Assorted Cigar Samplers Casa Fernandez Flight Sampler 8-Pack
Jul 30 2013, 8:43 PM
IamDarren: mine is just starting to burn the finger tips. About ready to finish er up.
Jul 30 2013, 8:44 PM
Terry1: JFR is Just For Retail. Looks like a house blend of some type. Might be worth trying.
Jul 30 2013, 8:45 PM
IamDarren: wife just got home with some groceries. Im gonna call it quits. Give me 5 or 10 and i will rate.
Jul 30 2013, 8:48 PM
StraightUpCigars: My personal stick was one of the worst constructed sticks I’ve ever smoked. With that said, it was freakin delicious! I still highly recommend a purchase on these, despite the hassle to smoke it.
Jul 30 2013, 8:50 PM
IamDarren: agreed, i think the flavor overshadows the construction issues… at least for me
Jul 30 2013, 8:51 PM
IamDarren: sorry guys but i gotta run. That was a damn good stick. Thanks again.
Jul 30 2013, 8:52 PM
Terry1: I agree. The flavors were something special. See you later Darren. Glad you liked it.
Jul 30 2013, 8:52 PM
StraightUpCigars: Really good pick up on these Terry. The issues were certainly nothing to do with shipping, they were all construction. I really enjoyed it a lot, the only time I could see not wanting this stick is on the golf course or in a bar where construction is more important.


Related posts:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This blog is kept spam free by WP-SpamFree.