Camacho Triple Maduro 11/18 – Cigar Review

This week’s group cigar review is of the Camacho Triple Maduro in the 11/18 figurado vitola.  We’ve tried out this stick in a different vitola, so we’re looking forward to this one.  It has a sweet tobacco smell and perfect draw after cutting.  Once lit up, it’s got a rich and sweet earthy flavor with some pepper and spice that really lingers between puffs.  When we get to middle of the smoke and the thicker portion the draw really opens up and introduces a cinnamon flavor.  All of the sticks had construction issues, although nothing too drastic.  This is a very strong smoke, we could feel it afterwards.  Overall, we really liked the vitola and flavor, although the construction is a bummer.  We do recommend giving this one a try if you get the chance.

StraightUpCigars: Rating:
Flavor and Taste: 18/20
Construction: 8/10
Wrapper: 5/5
Price Point: 9/10
Would I buy a Box: 4/5
Total: 44/50

IamDarren: Rating:
Flavor and Taste: 19/20
Construction: 7/10
Wrapper: 5/5
Price Point: 8/10
Would I buy a Box: 4/5
Total: 43/50

Terry1: Rating:
Flavor and Taste: 19/20
Construction: 6/10
Wrapper: 5/5
Price Point: 9/10
Would I buy a Box: 4/5
Total: 43/50


Aug 19 2014, 7:40 PM
IamDarren: just clipped, love the smell of this thing. I swear the cold draw tastes like dried apricots!
Aug 19 2014, 7:41 PM
StraightUpCigars: I love the nice dark wrapper leaf and good draw after cutting. Really neat vitola! I am tasting a sweet chocolate on the cold draw.
Aug 19 2014, 7:45 PM
Terry1: Yeah the wrapper is dark. Gives it a rich look. Draw is good on mine and I get a sweet earthy note. Ready to light up and see what this cigar is all about.
Aug 19 2014, 7:46 PM
StraightUpCigars: lighting!
Aug 19 2014, 7:46 PM
IamDarren: lets do this thing!
Aug 19 2014, 7:50 PM
IamDarren: mmmmmm….. starts out rich and sweet, nice deep earthy note. Then transitions to black coffee on the finish.
Aug 19 2014, 7:50 PM
Terry1: Initial puffs are really nice. Lots of sweetness, earth and a pepper punch in the sinus. Some other notes that I can’t quite identify yet. Overall a good start.
Aug 19 2014, 7:51 PM
StraightUpCigars: Nice start! Sweet earthy flavor with some pepper lingering. I like it.
Aug 19 2014, 7:52 PM
IamDarren: yep you are right, pepper is starting to tingle my tongue.
Aug 19 2014, 7:52 PM
IamDarren: decent draw, plenty of smoke
Aug 19 2014, 7:52 PM
IamDarren: starting to get a lot more pepper in the sinus
Aug 19 2014, 7:54 PM
IamDarren: that earthy note seems to be very deep and complex. Getting that ripe fruit taste mixed in there as well.
Aug 19 2014, 7:55 PM
Terry1: I’m tasting that black coffee note on the finish. The sweetness is a little tricky to identify for me. It’s not vanilla or honey but closer to a fruity floral note.
Aug 19 2014, 7:55 PM
StraightUpCigars: Yeah, a tangy sweetness.
Aug 19 2014, 7:56 PM
IamDarren: where are you guys at on strength / body?
Aug 19 2014, 7:57 PM
StraightUpCigars: I’d call it medium body. No doubt in my mind this will be full strength given it’s a camacho
Aug 19 2014, 7:57 PM
IamDarren: body seems to be creeping up quickly, the pepper and coffee are slowly building.
Aug 19 2014, 7:58 PM
Terry1: I was going to say it’s a slow burner but mine is completely out. Relighting. I’d say medium as well on the body.
Aug 19 2014, 7:58 PM
IamDarren: smoke production has fallen off a little on mine. Just had to double puff on that last one.
Aug 19 2014, 7:58 PM
StraightUpCigars: I reviewed a short robusto of this stick a couple of years ago http://straightupcigars.com/camacho-triple-maduro-cigar-review/
[Camacho Triple Maduro – Cigar Review]
Camacho Triple Maduro – Cigar Review
Aug 19 2014, 8:00 PM
IamDarren: lol, just goes to show how often i look at the sitemap. We have reviewed a lot of sticks. Guess it was bound to happen, although this is a very different vitola.
Aug 19 2014, 8:01 PM
IamDarren: i have had a lot of construction issues with the triple maddy, seems like my chance of getting one with poor construction is about 50/50
Aug 19 2014, 8:01 PM
StraightUpCigars: Oh yeah, this is a wild vitola and I’m glad we’re reviewing it.
Aug 19 2014, 8:03 PM
IamDarren: One of the others i sent is the 07/05 vitola. Got a good deal when they were getting rid of the old inventory and I haven’t decided which size i like better.
Aug 19 2014, 8:04 PM
IamDarren: starting to get a bright cinnamon flavor mixed with the pepper. Really making the tongue tingle.
Aug 19 2014, 8:05 PM
IamDarren: kinda like red hot candy
Aug 19 2014, 8:05 PM
IamDarren: burn is getting wonky, going to do a touch up
Aug 19 2014, 8:05 PM
Terry1: Everytime I set the cigar down I’m noticing I have to double and triple puff to get it smoking again. I’m puffing on it a couple of times a minute. Not sure why it acts like it wants to go out.
Aug 19 2014, 8:06 PM
Terry1: Mine is getting a wonky burn too. Still liking the maduro flavors.
Aug 19 2014, 8:07 PM
IamDarren: i think because of all the extra fermenting maduro tobacco is not very combustable.
Aug 19 2014, 8:07 PM
StraightUpCigars: Mine is still straight enough. The ash doesn’t hold on long, watch out!
Aug 19 2014, 8:09 PM
IamDarren: one side of mine flakes off easily and the other is hard and wants to hold on, hence the lopsided burn. Hopefully it burns through it.
Aug 19 2014, 8:10 PM
StraightUpCigars: I’m getting that cinnamony flavor too. Good flavor is making up for the unreliable construction so far.
Aug 19 2014, 8:11 PM
Terry1: The pepper on mine has backed off. It’s still there just not in your face screaming for attention. That fruity sweetness is more noticible now. I’m liking it. Looks like I’m going to have to correct the burn.
Aug 19 2014, 8:11 PM
IamDarren: agreed, as i cross into the second third i can feel the body picking up. Starting to sip on the drink more often.
Aug 19 2014, 8:13 PM
IamDarren: its worth noting that these were made back when Christian was still the blender. I haven’t heard if the new ones are still the same or have been reblended by Davidoff.
Aug 19 2014, 8:14 PM
IamDarren: the draw is opening up now that im into the 54 ring gauge and smoke production has increased.
Aug 19 2014, 8:15 PM
StraightUpCigars: Good observation, my draw has opened too.
Aug 19 2014, 8:15 PM
IamDarren: cigar is loosing the earthiness and is now being dominated by sweet cinnamon. Nice transition.
Aug 19 2014, 8:16 PM
StraightUpCigars: You’re right guys, nice transition with less pepper now. Fun smoke so far.
Aug 19 2014, 8:16 PM
Terry1: Wow I just had a major site failure. SUC stopped responding and I got logged out. Took me a few tries to get back on. Weird. Glad to be back.
Aug 19 2014, 8:17 PM
IamDarren: glad to have you back
Aug 19 2014, 8:17 PM
IamDarren: any flavor changes?
Aug 19 2014, 8:19 PM
Terry1: My cigar is producing a ton of smoke now that I’m at the bulge. You’re right the ash is really flakey. Gotta be careful. For me it’s tasting about the same but I am picking up that cinnamon note.
Aug 19 2014, 8:20 PM
StraightUpCigars: SUC gremlins kicked you off.
Aug 19 2014, 8:21 PM
Terry1: lol they did. I thought I was done for the night.
Aug 19 2014, 8:22 PM
IamDarren: It turn out the filler in this stick is mostly Corojo maduro. I think that is where the cinnamon is coming from. Love how the extra fermentation has tamed it enough to bring out so much sweetness.
Aug 19 2014, 8:24 PM
StraightUpCigars: This is really well blended. That ash is the worst I’ve seen though, it sticks out like an unkept afro.
Aug 19 2014, 8:25 PM
IamDarren: lol, no doubt
Aug 19 2014, 8:25 PM
Terry1: Pepper is making a comeback. Lots of complex flavors for me. Hard for me to pinpoint individual flavors but I am liking it. And I’m starting to feel this cigar. I’m afraid the last third is going to kick my ass.
Aug 19 2014, 8:26 PM
StraightUpCigars: This is one of the most complex mixes of flavors, sugary sweet with cinnamon and then earth and pepper.
Aug 19 2014, 8:27 PM
StraightUpCigars: Glad we could all make it this week. I apologize for the last minute notice in the previous weeks, I hate doing that but work ran real late.
Aug 19 2014, 8:28 PM
IamDarren: im already starting to feel a little nicotine, agree on the flavor, super complex and tasty. Makes up for te poor burn.
Aug 19 2014, 8:30 PM
Terry1: Gremlins got me again. Band popped off cleanly.
Aug 19 2014, 8:31 PM
StraightUpCigars: So my reason for missing two weeks ago was a pretty good one, we were operating a large drone flying over chiprock piles in a quarry to estimate their volumes. It was a huge success, so I think that work will continue. This is what we were using http://manufacturing.materialise.com/sites/default/files/public/AMS/img_7692.jpg
[http://manufacturing.materialise.com/sites/default/files/public/AMS/img_7692.jpg]
manufacturing.materialise.com/sites/default/files/public/AMS/img_7692.jpg
Aug 19 2014, 8:35 PM
IamDarren: that thing looks impressive. How fast does it fly?
Aug 19 2014, 8:36 PM
StraightUpCigars: I can’t remember how many knots, but it would have been around 100mph
Aug 19 2014, 8:37 PM
IamDarren: wow, so what does it use to measure, does it have a high speed camera? or some sort of radar?
Aug 19 2014, 8:38 PM
StraightUpCigars: It has a lidar-like capability to measure elevations and takes good photos too. Sadly, the US has already missed the boat on these things b/c of the legal grey area. We’re the only country in the world where it’s not strictly legal to use them. Gatewing that makes that one has cornered the market and they’re European. China has the quadcopters down pat.
Aug 19 2014, 8:39 PM
IamDarren: i was reading up on the quads, i hear they are really easy to fly, especially if they have gps. The main downfall is they don’t run long on a charge. I would think that thing could cover a lot of area before it has to land.
Aug 19 2014, 8:40 PM
IamDarren: im finally into the last third and my drink is almost gone, this thing is a slow burner for sure
Aug 19 2014, 8:41 PM
StraightUpCigars: Yep. I’m getting a nice charred wood flavor now and that strength has hit full force. Camacho striked again.
Aug 19 2014, 8:42 PM
StraightUpCigars: Email me if you get serious about buying a quad and I’ll spew everything I know and give some advice.
Aug 19 2014, 8:43 PM
IamDarren: you got it, thanks
Aug 19 2014, 8:45 PM
IamDarren: my ash is still holding at an inch, impressive after the first two thirds’ ash
Aug 19 2014, 8:45 PM
StraightUpCigars: That is impressive, mines still a flake.
Aug 19 2014, 8:46 PM
Terry1: The strength is really ramping up. Time to get some sugar in me. I’m getting past the bulge and moving into the tapered part again. I’m now double puffing again to keep it smoking. Whatever was in the bulge part should have been put into the rest of the cigar. It seemed to smoke better in bulging part.
Aug 19 2014, 8:46 PM
StraightUpCigars: Gremlins have carried Terry away.
Aug 19 2014, 8:47 PM
IamDarren: mine is still burning nicely and smoke production is good. I like that its still burning slow and cool. Not getting any tar buildup or dry heat like some sticks do at this point.
Aug 19 2014, 8:49 PM
StraightUpCigars: Mine is going pretty good too. I did like the fatter section better like Terry, I think this may be one of the rare sticks that is well suited for a large RG.
Aug 19 2014, 8:49 PM
Terry1: Mine went out again. Third relite for me. Luckily it’s not affecting the flavors.
Aug 19 2014, 8:50 PM
IamDarren: the other Camachos i sent definitely burn a lot better. I think that is just the downfall of so much maduro tobacco
Aug 19 2014, 8:52 PM
IamDarren: I think the 07/05 Maduro is their Anniversary blend, and the Robusto is the coveted Diploma blend.
Aug 19 2014, 8:52 PM
Terry1: I’d have to agree. I’ve smoked several other Camachos and didn’t have the burn issues I’m getting with the Triple Maduro.
Aug 19 2014, 8:54 PM
StraightUpCigars: This is one slow smoking cigar. I still have a decent amount left. That char flavor really coats the palate, I like it.
Aug 19 2014, 8:54 PM
IamDarren: gonna go tuck in my son, be right back
Aug 19 2014, 9:00 PM
StraightUpCigars: Mine’s slowly coming to an end, I think I’m ready to rate it.
Aug 19 2014, 9:00 PM
Terry1: Since the last relite my cigar is burning fine now. The strength is finally hitting full. Still producing some nice flavors. I’m just about done too.
Aug 19 2014, 9:01 PM
IamDarren: Took a couple puffs, mine is almost finished. Good all the way to the nub.
Aug 19 2014, 9:05 PM
IamDarren: Glad I got a box. Its great to have one about once a month for a change of pace
Aug 19 2014, 9:05 PM
StraightUpCigars: Pretty good scores for a stick with construction issues! That flavor really makes up for it. I’d recommend them.
Aug 19 2014, 9:06 PM
Terry1: I’d recommend them too as long as you know the construction may be an issue. Great flavors!


Related posts:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This blog is kept spam free by WP-SpamFree.