Camacho Diploma Maduro 07/05 – Cigar Review

This week’s group cigar review is of the Camacho Diploma Maduro in 07/05 vitola.  This is a nice looking cigar and has an earthy and spicy smell/taste to it.  The draw is very good after cutting it.   After lighting up, the skinny “fuse” end gave us all grief as it tunneled and burned improperly.  Once past the fuse, the cigar was very rich in flavor with a balanced mix between sweet and spicy.  The construction remained good for the rest of the cigar.  Overall, we really like the last two thirds, but the beginning left a bad taste in our mouths.  A standard robusto size would be better for this cigar.   This cigar also didn’t pack as much of a nicotine kick as many other Camachos.  We recommend it, but in a different vitola than the one we smoked.

StraightUpCigars: Rating:
Flavor and Taste: 17/20
Construction: 9/10
Wrapper: 5/5
Price Point: 7/10
Would I buy a Box: 4/5
Total: 42/50
Terry1: Rating:
Flavor and Taste: 16/20
Construction: 9/10
Wrapper: 5/5
Price Point: 7/10
Would I buy a Box: 3/5
Total: 40/50

IamDarren: Rating:
Flavor and Taste: 18/20
Construction: 9/10
Wrapper: 5/5
Price Point: 8/10
Would I buy a Box: 4/5
Total: 44/50


Oct 21 2014, 7:39 PM
IamDarren: on the back of the band this one says 07/05. The robusto says Diploma on it. From what i gather, the blend is the same that just denotes the size.
Oct 21 2014, 7:40 PM
IamDarren: got mine clipped, draw is great. Getting a little spice note and a musty / earthy note.
Oct 21 2014, 7:42 PM
Terry1: Looking at this shape I was expecting a tight draw but the cigar proved me wrong. Perfect draw and I get a musty earthy note.
Oct 21 2014, 7:42 PM
StraightUpCigars: This Camacho Maduro 07/05 has a really nice looking wrapper leaf and good draw after cutting. It smells and tastes like spicy tobacco.
Oct 21 2014, 7:43 PM
StraightUpCigars: Lighting!
Oct 21 2014, 7:43 PM
Terry1: I’m ready to light up and start this journey.
Oct 21 2014, 7:43 PM
IamDarren: these are a Honduras Puro and they use a lot of high priming Corojo that is extensively fermented.
Oct 21 2014, 7:43 PM
IamDarren: lighting up
Oct 21 2014, 7:46 PM
IamDarren: lit up super easy, lots of smoke. Getting that unmistakable hint of tobasco sauce. Just the right amount of it. Getting a hint of sweetness along with a rich charred oak flavor on the finish.
Oct 21 2014, 7:47 PM
IamDarren: theres also a nice smoothness to it
Oct 21 2014, 7:47 PM
StraightUpCigars: I lit the “wick” and am tasting very rich and hay-like tobacco with some spice and pepper. It does taste like well fermented tobacco.
Oct 21 2014, 7:48 PM
IamDarren: ash is starting to flower
Oct 21 2014, 7:48 PM
Terry1: Easy to light with the narrow foot. Good draw with thick smoke. I’m getting a charred wood note with a little pepper and very light sweetness.
Oct 21 2014, 7:49 PM
Terry1: Ash fell off at a quarter inch. Hopefully it holds on longer as the gauge inches.
Oct 21 2014, 7:49 PM
StraightUpCigars: Mine is definitely running down one side quite a bit, going to correct it.
Oct 21 2014, 7:50 PM
Terry1: Mine is burning well but I can see a void in the center of the cigar.
Oct 21 2014, 7:51 PM
IamDarren: same here, tapped off the ash and it looks like an open mouth
Oct 21 2014, 7:51 PM
IamDarren: spice seems to be ramping up
Oct 21 2014, 7:54 PM
StraightUpCigars: Flavor is definitely increasing as it starts to burn into the thicker section.
Oct 21 2014, 7:57 PM
StraightUpCigars: The burn is fine now after that correction earlier. Sounds like that little fuse end caused us all some grief.
Oct 21 2014, 7:58 PM
IamDarren: none of the Camachos have a great burn. Most people say that there are usually only a couple in a box that burn really well.
Oct 21 2014, 7:58 PM
Terry1: It is rich with flavor. Pepper is building. There’s a leather note in the aroma. I’m liking it overall and I like the transition so far. I am getting a slight bitter coffee flavor on the finish that I’m hoping doesn’t take over.
Oct 21 2014, 7:59 PM
IamDarren: when i hit the transition to the larger rg the flavor really mellowed out. Sweetness has really picked up. Spice is still dominant but the pepper has faded out.
Oct 21 2014, 8:00 PM
StraightUpCigars: That’s exactly what I was about to type, the sweetness has ramped up on mine too. I like it better now than where it started.
Oct 21 2014, 8:01 PM
IamDarren: i think the spice may still be building but the transition came at just the right time. It was starting to get overwhelming. Now its just on par with the sweetness.
Oct 21 2014, 8:02 PM
Terry1: That’s funny, same here. As soon as you posted I got a more noticiable sweetness. Cigar is better balanced.
Oct 21 2014, 8:03 PM
IamDarren: this is probably more like where the Diploma would start. However, i kinda like the transition that this one had.
Oct 21 2014, 8:03 PM
StraightUpCigars: I bet that’s right.
Oct 21 2014, 8:05 PM
IamDarren: did you get your internet hooked up yet Matt?
Oct 21 2014, 8:05 PM
Terry1: Band popped off without incident. Burn is near perfect.
Oct 21 2014, 8:05 PM
StraightUpCigars: Yeah, it’s crazy fast. Went to cable and they offered the same price as the 4G internet we had before. Best part, still no contract.
Oct 21 2014, 8:06 PM
IamDarren: sweet, yeah i hate contracts.
Oct 21 2014, 8:07 PM
StraightUpCigars: I think this cable company is trying to get everyone hooked before Google Fibur gets to town.
Oct 21 2014, 8:08 PM
IamDarren: my brother in law said the same thing. Google fiber is coming to Wichita and the local cable company has lowered their pricing to compensate.
Oct 21 2014, 8:10 PM
IamDarren: I was told that there is fiber running to the wireless tower that i am pulling off of so they told me I should never go lower than the promised speed. Infact, the installer told me that if I were able to go into the router that i could bump up the speed a lot…. but he won’t tell me the password
Oct 21 2014, 8:11 PM
StraightUpCigars: Lol! At this point, there’s no need for a peak speed of 1GB, even if Google is the same price I think a lot of people will stick with the “local” cable company. Google ahead of its time on that one.
Oct 21 2014, 8:11 PM
Terry1: I’m liking the second half much better than the first. The transition did keep my interest but I’m thinking I’d rather have whatever tobacco leaves they left out to make the taper left in.
Oct 21 2014, 8:12 PM
StraightUpCigars: I agree Terry, I am enjoying this one now. Wasn’t a big fan of the start.
Oct 21 2014, 8:13 PM
IamDarren: Terry, did you look to see if you had a Diploma… if not i can send you guys one in the next trade. Im thinking now i may have bought that box after i sent the last trade.
Oct 21 2014, 8:14 PM
Terry1: We smoked a Camacho a few months ago. Was that the Diploma? It was really dark and had a slight taper to it.
Oct 21 2014, 8:14 PM
IamDarren: whew! that resting smoke is potent. Had it in my mouth and inhaled through the nose. Almost burned my nose.
Oct 21 2014, 8:14 PM
IamDarren: Nope, that was the Triple Maduro. All corojo maduro filler.
Oct 21 2014, 8:17 PM
Terry1: I don’t think I have one. I’ve only got another Camacho Triple Maduro from a Famous sampler.
Oct 21 2014, 8:20 PM
StraightUpCigars: Mine has a dark roast coffee flavor right now, real rich. It also has a really strong and lingering pepper flavor.
Oct 21 2014, 8:21 PM
IamDarren: starting to get more of the dark coffee flavor now. Its not overpowering. Very balanced flavor right now, liking it a lot.
Oct 21 2014, 8:23 PM
Terry1: I’d agree with the richness and coffee. Maybe a little sugar added to take the edge off. A pepper tingle in the sinus. I’m liking it too.
Oct 21 2014, 8:23 PM
StraightUpCigars: Strength doesn’t seem too bad for Camacho, but I’
Oct 21 2014, 8:23 PM
StraightUpCigars: ve got a little buzz going
Oct 21 2014, 8:24 PM
IamDarren: got a couple inches left and im getting a buzz also
Oct 21 2014, 8:24 PM
Terry1: Me too. Starting to feel it a little.
Oct 21 2014, 8:30 PM
StraightUpCigars: Where’d you buy these Darren?
Oct 21 2014, 8:32 PM
IamDarren: I got a box of these and the triple maduros when they were phasing out the old brand and switching to the new boxes. Infact I think i got the deal in an email from Cigar.com. They cut the box price down to like 60 bucks a box on the remaining inventory. Considering the normal price i jumped on it.
Oct 21 2014, 8:34 PM
Terry1: Nice. Great tasting cigar. Although I feel a little cheated with that first third.
Oct 21 2014, 8:34 PM
StraightUpCigars: So, under the new branding this is the Diploma, but in a vitola no longer available?
Oct 21 2014, 8:37 PM
Terry1: I’m confused about the Diploma too. I see the new labeled version listed as Diploma in multiple sizes.
Oct 21 2014, 8:39 PM
IamDarren: you guys are right, i honestly don’t know if this one is technically a diploma. The ones i didn’t send you say Diploma on the band instead of 07/05
Oct 21 2014, 8:40 PM
StraightUpCigars: Hmmm, BNB still has these for sale: http://www.bnbtobacco.com/camacho-corojo-diploma-07-05-21ct-box/
[Camacho Corojo Diploma 07/05 21ct Box]
Camacho Corojo Diploma 07/05 21ct Box
Oct 21 2014, 8:41 PM
IamDarren: yep, that is what we are smoking so it must still be a Diploma.
Oct 21 2014, 8:41 PM
IamDarren: well, mine is almost done fellas. Flavor is still great. No bitterness and the pepper has not increased in the last third.
Oct 21 2014, 8:42 PM
StraightUpCigars: I set mine down a couple minutes ago. I am most impressed that there was no bitterness at all. Good stick.
Oct 21 2014, 8:42 PM
Terry1: I’m nearing the end too. The last third had great flavors, well balanced.
Oct 21 2014, 8:44 PM
StraightUpCigars: Here comes some ratings:
Oct 21 2014, 8:44 PM
Terry1: And I’m surprised the strength didn’t really hit me. I have a buzz but it’s manageable. We’ve smoked a lot stronger cigars like The Bull.
Oct 21 2014, 8:44 PM
IamDarren: I think this vitola offered up a lot of complexity and flavor transitions. Most people would probably like the robusto better, but the first third of this one wasn’t bad, just a little overpowering
Oct 21 2014, 8:46 PM
StraightUpCigars: For me the, “wick” end was just silly on this vitola. It caused unnecessary burn issues and didn’t take advantage of the fine tobacco in the cigar. I really liked the rest of it though. Maybe if you clip off the wick
Oct 21 2014, 8:46 PM
Terry1: I’d be more willing to buy a box of the robusto size. I think you’d get more of that sweet spot.
Oct 21 2014, 8:47 PM
IamDarren: I agree, sometimes a more balanced flavor profile is better than more flavor transitions


Related posts:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This blog is kept spam free by WP-SpamFree.