Asylum – Cigar Review

This week’s group cigar review is of the Asylum cigar by Christian Eiroa.  We’ve enjoyed some of Christian’s other blends, so we’re looking forward to this one.  This cigar has a dark and oily wrapper with small veins.  It has a sweet and spicy smell to it.  After cutting, the draw is good.  Once lit up, this cigar has a very bold flavor profile right off the bat.  We got a chocolatey, leathery, and spicy flavor profile.  It was a nice mix of sweet and spice, neither overpowered the other.  It is almost as if the sweet and spice are doing battle, each puff had a little more of one or the other.  At the end of the cigar some bitterness crept in, but it did nothing to spoil the phenomenal flavor.  The construction was solid through the whole smoke.  Overall, the Asylum is a masterpiece of blending.  The flavor profile is complex and ever-changing, and every bit of delicious.  This is a must buy cigar and a tremendous value.

StraightUpCigars: Rating:
Flavor and Taste: 18/20
Construction: 9/10
Wrapper: 5/5
Price Point: 10/10
Would I buy a Box: 5/5
Total: 47/50

Terry1: Rating:
Flavor and Taste: 19/20
Construction: 9/10
Wrapper: 5/5
Price Point: 10/10
Would I buy a Box: 5/5
Total: 48/50

IamDarren: Rating:
Flavor and Taste: 19/20
Construction: 10/10
Wrapper: 5/5
Price Point: 10/10
Would I buy a Box: 5/5
Total: 49/50


Aug 13 2013, 7:45 PM
StraightUpCigars: Nice dark and oily wrapper w/ minimal veins. Incredible sweet and spicy tobacco smell on the wrapper.
Aug 13 2013, 7:45 PM
IamDarren: It might be worth noting before we start that this is also one of Christian Eiroa’s new blends along with the CLE line. And its a Nic Puro.
Aug 13 2013, 7:46 PM
StraightUpCigars: Perfect draw after cutting. This one is off to a good start. Ready when you guys are!
Aug 13 2013, 7:46 PM
Terry1: The band looks like something you’d tattoo across your back.
Aug 13 2013, 7:46 PM
IamDarren: getting a rich tobacco and spice note on the cold draw. Yeah i like the band too. Very unique, and eye catcher. Im ready to light up.
[Delete]
Aug 13 2013, 7:48 PM
Terry1: Getting a chocolate note. Draw seems good right now. Ready to light up.
Aug 13 2013, 7:48 PM
StraightUpCigars: Lighting!
Aug 13 2013, 7:51 PM
IamDarren: wow, mine is nice and rich out of the gate. Im getting leather and spice up front with a hint of coffee on the finish.
Aug 13 2013, 7:51 PM
Terry1: Liking how this one started. Very rich aroma. Notes of chocolate, spice, leather and even a little floral. Lot’s of creamy smoke.
Aug 13 2013, 7:52 PM
StraightUpCigars: I am getting a very dark earth flavor with lots of spice and pepper. No lack of flavor on this one… jeez.
Aug 13 2013, 7:52 PM
IamDarren: muah ha ha
Aug 13 2013, 7:52 PM
IamDarren: im also starting to get the chocolate with the addition of a bit of sweetness.
Aug 13 2013, 7:53 PM
IamDarren: pairing quite nicely with my beverage
Aug 13 2013, 7:55 PM
IamDarren: wow, lots of pepper through the sinus. Almost made me sneeze.
Aug 13 2013, 7:56 PM
Terry1: Not what I expected. I thought this would be a pepper bomb. It’s about the opposite. Rich flavors with some spice. The aroma is really fasinating. It reminds me of pipe smoke. It’s got that sweet tobacco smell.
Aug 13 2013, 7:57 PM
StraightUpCigars: My pepper has faded too. Sweet chocolate and cream now with a spicy finish.
Aug 13 2013, 8:00 PM
IamDarren: ok, im now in a half inch or so and mine is mellowing also. Still getting some pepper on the retrohale but the sweetness is picking up. Still getting the rich tobacco and leather followed by dark chocolate and spice. Very tasty.
Aug 13 2013, 8:02 PM
StraightUpCigars: I want to eat this cigar. Love the flavor.
Aug 13 2013, 8:03 PM
Terry1: It is tasty. Im getting more of an earthy note now. Spice and sweetness are still hanging around. Burn is perfect.
Aug 13 2013, 8:04 PM
IamDarren: and my ash is holding on perfectly. Very solid stick.
Aug 13 2013, 8:05 PM
Terry1: That’s funny because my ash fell off on it’s own while it was sitting on the ashtray.
Aug 13 2013, 8:06 PM
IamDarren: ok, i just tapped mine off and it didn’t take much effort, but the burn is perfect and i noticed a dark swirl of tobacco inside the ash. Interesting.
Aug 13 2013, 8:09 PM
StraightUpCigars: It’s hard to let this one rest, but I don’t want to overheat it. Really an exceptional cigar thus far.
Aug 13 2013, 8:09 PM
Terry1: I agree. I’m finding this is one of those cigars that rewards you when smoked slowly. Really nice flavors.
Aug 13 2013, 8:09 PM
IamDarren: the smoke seems to be getting even more chewy, if thats possible. The finish is nice and long. You were right Matt, it makes you want to eat it.
Aug 13 2013, 8:11 PM
IamDarren: We have had really good luck with Nicaraguan Puros. Must be a lot of good growing regions over there.
Aug 13 2013, 8:13 PM
StraightUpCigars: There was an article in Cigar.com about how hot Nica leaf is and the prices are skyrocketing.
Aug 13 2013, 8:14 PM
IamDarren: surprisingly this particular stick only retails for a little more than 5 bucks a stick. Of course i got them for less so this is a great value in my opinion.
Aug 13 2013, 8:14 PM
Terry1: Wow $5 is less than I would have thought. That is a good value.
Aug 13 2013, 8:15 PM
StraightUpCigars: Yeah, that’s a steal!
Aug 13 2013, 8:16 PM
Terry1: Just curious but I wonder why they put a date of the band.
Aug 13 2013, 8:16 PM
IamDarren: They were released last year.
Aug 13 2013, 8:18 PM
Terry1: So do you think they’ll change the date as they roll more each year or is this the “vintage” and never change.
Aug 13 2013, 8:18 PM
IamDarren: usually they only put the date if they are using vintage tobacco so it will be interesting to see if he changes it.
Aug 13 2013, 8:18 PM
Terry1: I’ll ask them next week.
Aug 13 2013, 8:19 PM
StraightUpCigars: I like when they’re dated. Smart move. That way I can tell how long they’ve been in the humi.
Aug 13 2013, 8:21 PM
IamDarren: I was debating whether or not to get another box of Diesel Unlimiteds but this cigar is really starting to sway me. You might see if they have a deal on a box Terry. I would love to have more of these for the right price.
Aug 13 2013, 8:22 PM
IamDarren: im not even to the halfway point yet. Lots of flavor and a nice slow burn… can’t beat that.
Aug 13 2013, 8:24 PM
Terry1: At the festival last year the boxes were at MSRP. It might be a state law of some type. I will check.
Aug 13 2013, 8:24 PM
StraightUpCigars: Yeah, the flavor has remained the same for this 1/3rd of the cigar. Sweet earth with coffee and spice. Mild bitterness too, which is actually tasty.
Aug 13 2013, 8:26 PM
Terry1: Mine has consistant flavor and I’m loving it. I’m hoping it doesn’t change.
Aug 13 2013, 8:26 PM
IamDarren: it almost tastes salty, just a hint on the finish.
Aug 13 2013, 8:27 PM
IamDarren: just dropped the second ash in the tray. I would say I am now at the half way mark.
Aug 13 2013, 8:27 PM
IamDarren: can’t believe its taken 45 min. to smoke 3 inches.
Aug 13 2013, 8:28 PM
StraightUpCigars: I’m a little past halfway. I need to slow it down, b/c I just got a head rush
Aug 13 2013, 8:30 PM
IamDarren: yeah, really starting to salivate now. Feeling it a little.
Aug 13 2013, 8:31 PM
IamDarren: im already thinking about my rating… i don’t know where im gonna take any points off if it keeps it up.
Aug 13 2013, 8:32 PM
Terry1: I’m starting to feel it a little as well. Surprised it didn’t hit me earlier.
Aug 13 2013, 8:33 PM
Terry1: It may be my imagination but I can taste a little bit of clove on the draw.
Aug 13 2013, 8:34 PM
IamDarren: now im gonna have to go try some clove becuase i have been thinking that there is something else in there as well.
Aug 13 2013, 8:35 PM
IamDarren: complexity on this stick is off the charts
Aug 13 2013, 8:35 PM
Terry1: I’m reading about the Asylum Straight Jacket that was released at this years IPCPR. It’s blended for strength. I think I’ll stick to this one.
Aug 13 2013, 8:36 PM
Terry1: Darren do not send me one. LOL
Aug 13 2013, 8:36 PM
IamDarren: and they have an Asylum 13 thats also supposed to have more ligero
Aug 13 2013, 8:36 PM
IamDarren: oh where is your sense of adventure
Aug 13 2013, 8:37 PM
StraightUpCigars: The straight jacket sounds a little over the top
Aug 13 2013, 8:37 PM
IamDarren: i was just getting ready to send you guys a Punisher… jk
Aug 13 2013, 8:40 PM
StraightUpCigars: My burn is getting a little wavy at the start of the final third, let’s see if it fixes itself.
Aug 13 2013, 8:45 PM
Terry1: So Darren are you going to make it to the festival?
Aug 13 2013, 8:46 PM
IamDarren: i better not, we have quite a bit of spraying left to do if it ever quits raining.
Aug 13 2013, 8:47 PM
Terry1: You will be missed.
Aug 13 2013, 8:47 PM
Terry1: Just popped the band off without any problems.
Aug 13 2013, 8:48 PM
StraightUpCigars: Mine came off easy too, I had to straighten the burn though.
Aug 13 2013, 8:48 PM
IamDarren: thanks Terry, i know its always more fun to go to events with a friend. Do you know anyone else who is going.
Aug 13 2013, 8:48 PM
StraightUpCigars: What a perfect time to be in CO too. I hope you have a blast Terry.
Aug 13 2013, 8:51 PM
Terry1: Yeah my best friend is going. He’s more excited to go than I am. (He has on oppressive wife who hates cigar smoking.) He’ll be a mess by the end of the day.
Aug 13 2013, 8:51 PM
IamDarren: lol, well thats great. You can show him the ropes.
Aug 13 2013, 8:52 PM
StraightUpCigars: Is Glen Case going to be there again? Speaking of that, don’t we have a Kristoff lined up for review?
Aug 13 2013, 8:53 PM
Terry1: He’ll be there. I think I sent you guys a GC Signature but it wasn’t for the group review unless you want to review it.
Aug 13 2013, 8:56 PM
Terry1: Into the last third and a sudden bitterness has reared it’s ugly head. I may have smoked too fast. I’ll ease up and see if it goes away.
Aug 13 2013, 8:56 PM
IamDarren: I still have a good inch left and im not getting any bitterness yet.
Aug 13 2013, 8:57 PM
StraightUpCigars: I have some bitterness, but it’s still tasty. I’ve really slowed it down. Have about 1/2 of smokeable left.
Aug 13 2013, 9:00 PM
Terry1: Purged the cigar and let it sit for a minute and the bitterness is almost gone. I think I got greedy and smoked to fast. Hard not to with such a tasty cigar.
Aug 13 2013, 9:00 PM
IamDarren: i think mine has been steadily mellowing. Not getting any pepper and the sweetness is more of a cocoa now.
Aug 13 2013, 9:01 PM
StraightUpCigars: I agree, the pepper has all but faded, which is odd towards the end of the cigar. Just a rich, meaty core flavor with a hint of spice. So good.
Aug 13 2013, 9:01 PM
Terry1: And I will add, for me, the strength is just above medium. Not too bad for the flavor you get.
Aug 13 2013, 9:03 PM
IamDarren: yeah even if mine turned hot and bitter at this point i wouldn’t take anything off of the rating. I have already had almost an hour and a half of awesome flavor.
Aug 13 2013, 9:05 PM
IamDarren: it would be really interesting to see if the flavor on the corona (4×44) is as good as this.
Aug 13 2013, 9:06 PM
Terry1: I hate to do it but I’m going to half to set this one down. Great cigar!
Aug 13 2013, 9:06 PM
IamDarren: i can rate whenever you guys are ready
Aug 13 2013, 9:06 PM
StraightUpCigars: I wish there were a scientific way to test the different vitolas, but our palettes are different from night to night.
Aug 13 2013, 9:07 PM
StraightUpCigars: I actually just plopped mine in the tray, my fingers were getting charred
Aug 13 2013, 9:10 PM
IamDarren: love this cigar. Glad you guys liked it too.
Aug 13 2013, 9:12 PM
StraightUpCigars: It was a GREAT cigar. Delicious flavors, well balanced, right amount of strength. I did have 1 burn correction, but neither of you guys did. Overall, a steal at $5 a stick.


Related posts:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This blog is kept spam free by WP-SpamFree.