Aging Room M356 – Cigar Review

This week’s cigar review is of the Aging Room M356.  It is a highly rated cigar, so we are looking forward to giving it a try.   The cigar has a very oily wrapper and a sweet tobacco smell, the draw is very good after cutting.  The cigar gets off to a great start – the flavors detected ran the gambit from charred oak, nutty, and woody, to sweet, creamy, and peppery.   The flavors continued to develop into a raisin-like flavor with more pepper and spice in the second third, then the cigar fell a little flat in the final third.  A couple of cigars suffered from very minor construction issues.  All in all, this is one of the best cigars coming out of the Oliveros factory.  With that said, it would be much better in a smaller vitola than we smoked (6×54).  It is a high strength cigar, so beginners beware.  We enjoyed it and the slightly higher price is justified.

StraightUpCigars – Matt: Rating:
Flavor and Taste: 17/20
Construction: 9/10
Wrapper: 5/5
Price Point: 8/10
Would I buy a Box: 5/5
Total: 44/50

IamDarren: Rating:
Flavor and Taste: 18/20
Construction: 8/10
Wrapper: 5/5
Price Point: 8/10
Would I buy a Box: 4/5
Total: 43/50

Terry1: Rating:
Flavor and Taste: 18/20
Construction: 10/10
Wrapper: 5/5
Price Point: 8/10
Would I buy a Box: 5/5
Total: 46/50


Jun 11 2013, 7:53 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: The Aging Room 356 looks like a real treat! A few medium sized veins in the oily wrapper. Nice sweet and spicy tobacco smell from the wrapper. Very tighltly rolled, but the draw is good after cutting. Can’t believe how heavy in the hand this cigar is!
Jun 11 2013, 7:55 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: Glad you could make it Darren, this one does look like a 2 hour cigar!
Jun 11 2013, 7:56 PM
Terry1: Yeah it’s a big. Nice sweet aroma from the wrapper. I agree between the tight roll and weight you would think it would have a tight draw but mine is perfect. Just getting a light hay flavor off the cold draw. Ready to light up.
Jun 11 2013, 7:57 PM
IamDarren: Very nicely constructed cigar. Love the look of the wrapper. And i especially like the mix of spice and caramel on the cold draw. Lighting up!
Jun 11 2013, 7:59 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: Lots of flavor! I’m getting peppery, toasty, and nutty flavors right off the bat. There are other things going on there too.
Jun 11 2013, 8:00 PM
IamDarren: perfect draw, lots of smoke, this thing is tasty right off the bat. Im getting a very rich earthy base with a creamy/nutty flavor and a little zest on the finish. Very tasty.
Jun 11 2013, 8:00 PM
Terry1: Nice start! Getting a mix of sweetness and pepper. I agree it’s starting complex and flavorful.
Jun 11 2013, 8:04 PM
IamDarren: also getting a nice long finish with a bit of charred oak. Going great so far.
Jun 11 2013, 8:04 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: I thought it was interesting they had the ratings of the cigar right on the cello
Jun 11 2013, 8:05 PM
IamDarren: If I saw that in a B&M it would be enticing. Good marketing idea.
Jun 11 2013, 8:07 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: Especially on a cigar that is otherwise not well known.
Jun 11 2013, 8:07 PM
IamDarren: maybe its just me but the sweetness is taking more of a Raisin flavor. Maybe thats the zest im getting near the finish.
Jun 11 2013, 8:08 PM
IamDarren: its an interesting flavor combo, but working well so far.
Jun 11 2013, 8:09 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: I’d agree with that. Mine is mellowing out big time. What a good stick so far.
Jun 11 2013, 8:11 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: Just a side note, the ash doesn’t hold well when you drop it
Jun 11 2013, 8:12 PM
IamDarren: yeah i was wondering, it looks a little flaky. Burn line isn’t perfect either but its manageable so far.
Jun 11 2013, 8:12 PM
IamDarren: Hows yours Terry?
Jun 11 2013, 8:12 PM
Terry1: Draw and burn on mine is about perfect. Lots of smoke and flavors. The pepper on mine has gone from that stinging sensation to more of a background heat. The smoke is creamy and sweet with notes of roasted nuts and toast. I’m liking this a lot.
Jun 11 2013, 8:13 PM
IamDarren: nice! Its definitely a complex cigar and we have a long way to go.
Jun 11 2013, 8:16 PM
Terry1: This size is the Mezzo which is 6″ by 54. I’m surprised that it’s a Dominican puro. It’s supposed to be a limited release but it’s still widely available after two years on the market.
Jun 11 2013, 8:16 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: I was just about to type that size, I’m looking it up. You can read minds.
Jun 11 2013, 8:17 PM
IamDarren: I just tapped off the ash, about one inch in now. Flavors are getting more toasty.
Jun 11 2013, 8:17 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: The story doesn’t add up. “The tobaccos were originally intended for use in another line, but there simply wasn’t enough of it to meet production demands.” Hmmm, but they’re still available.
Jun 11 2013, 8:18 PM
Terry1: I know, I was thinking the same thing. Just how “limited” is this release.
Jun 11 2013, 8:19 PM
IamDarren: yeah… why not just jack up the price a little to trim the demand.
Jun 11 2013, 8:19 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: Because you can purchase similar tobaccos and continue making them
Jun 11 2013, 8:21 PM
IamDarren: thats true. I sometimes wonder if a cigar line that has been out awhile really tastes the same as the original. From year to year im sure even the same exact tobaccos taste a little different. Im sure they substitute tobacco all the time without anyone knowing it.
Jun 11 2013, 8:22 PM
IamDarren: well since i tapped off the ash mine is getting really lopsided so im going to do a burn correction.
Jun 11 2013, 8:22 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: The manufacturers have the perfect excuse though: “you’re older cigars are just aged, that’s why they taste different”.
Jun 11 2013, 8:24 PM
IamDarren: i always get a little suspicious when they start selling a cigar that is supposed to be better because they let it sit in the aging room for several years. My thinking is that it wasn’t good enough so they put it back and waited another year or two.
Jun 11 2013, 8:24 PM
Terry1: In my opinion if they use the word “limited” in their marketing then the tabacco better be limited and run out at some point and the line retired. I wonder what they determine to be a limited run…50,000 cigars, a million?
Jun 11 2013, 8:26 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: That’s a very good point Terry. I know Pete Johnson numbers and hand signs some of his boxes.
Jun 11 2013, 8:26 PM
IamDarren: lol, no doubt. When AJ came out with the Diesel Unlimited i kinda thought they were shooting themselves in the foot.
Jun 11 2013, 8:27 PM
IamDarren: what did they use for the wrapper on this stick?
Jun 11 2013, 8:28 PM
Terry1: I’ll I can find is Habano ligero.
Jun 11 2013, 8:29 PM
IamDarren: i wondered. I think that wrapper has become one of my favorites. One of the reasons I thought of the Diesel Unlimited was because the wrapper looks and tastes very much the same. Very rich and sweet with just the right amount of spice.
Jun 11 2013, 8:32 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: I like Habano wrapped cigars. Pepper and spice with some sweetness, usually.
Jun 11 2013, 8:32 PM
IamDarren: Usually when they use a ligero leaf they have to ferment and age it longer. AJ actually calls his a Habano Maduro wrapper because of how dark it gets from fermenting.
Jun 11 2013, 8:34 PM
IamDarren: I think I just got to the halfway point. Lots of flavor still. Might have mellowed back out a little. Getting more sweetness again and less of the charred oak.
Jun 11 2013, 8:34 PM
Terry1: Around the halfway point too. Burn is still perfect. That heat I’m getting reminds me of cinnamon. Makes my mouth and sinus burn a little. I’m starting to get more earthy and floral notes now.
Jun 11 2013, 8:39 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: My burn is perfect as well. Mine is getting a little more spicy and interesting. This is a strong cigar IMO.
Jun 11 2013, 8:40 PM
IamDarren: huh, interesting… This is made by Oliveros and was intented to be part of the Swag line. Kinda glad they didn’t because I think it might have scared some people away.
Jun 11 2013, 8:41 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: This is probably the most expensive Oiliveros cigar ever made!
Jun 11 2013, 8:41 PM
IamDarren: Ok, the last couple puffs have brought back the zest and with the sweetness its really coming across like mint. What do you guys think?
Jun 11 2013, 8:42 PM
IamDarren: maybe somewhere in between mint and cinnamon….
Jun 11 2013, 8:42 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: Mine’s coming through as floral like Terry mentioned earlier. No mint yet.
Jun 11 2013, 8:42 PM
Terry1: Yeah I can taste a little mint. Maybe this is the cigar you can smoke then kiss the wife and not have her gag.
Jun 11 2013, 8:43 PM
IamDarren: just removed the band… guess they didn’t spare any expense on this one, there is even more info under the band.
Jun 11 2013, 8:44 PM
Terry1: That’s interesting. Band come off without incident. Looks like they are catering to the social media.
Jun 11 2013, 8:45 PM
Terry1: Smart use of of the band.
Jun 11 2013, 8:45 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: Use your new “smart” phone Darren
Jun 11 2013, 8:45 PM
IamDarren: i was wondering how that worked. Do you have to download an app for that.
Jun 11 2013, 8:45 PM
IamDarren: ?
Jun 11 2013, 8:47 PM
Terry1: We’re getting through this cigar faster than I thought we would. It looks like it might last about an hour.
Jun 11 2013, 8:49 PM
Terry1: I’m starting to feel some strength now.
Jun 11 2013, 8:49 PM
IamDarren: I still have a whole third to go so im betting it goes an hour and fifteen at least.
Jun 11 2013, 8:50 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: I don’t know how that works. Yeah, I’m picturing a 9:15 closing time on this one. I have a little more than the final third left.
Jun 11 2013, 8:50 PM
Terry1: Yeah you may be right.
Jun 11 2013, 8:51 PM
IamDarren: i do think that Oliveros needs to work on their burn a little. Every Oliveros I have had needed at least one burn correction and never burned straight. Might be a binder issue..
Jun 11 2013, 8:52 PM
IamDarren: agree on the strength. Mine is really picking up now. Getting a little heat and pepper. Starting to feel it in my gut.
Jun 11 2013, 8:54 PM
Terry1: I know we rate on box purchase but personnaly I’d rarely buy a box because of the cost but this cigar I would seriously consider buying a box. I like this cigar enough to put into a regular rotation.
Jun 11 2013, 8:55 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: It is very good. I’m curious how the smaller vitolas smoke.
Jun 11 2013, 8:55 PM
IamDarren: CigarInspector did a review of the Robusto and gave it a 9.4 so they must be just as good.
Jun 11 2013, 8:58 PM
IamDarren: if you trust his reviews anyway
Jun 11 2013, 8:58 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: I was just about to look up a review of his we don’t agree with, but I won’t bother
Jun 11 2013, 9:00 PM
IamDarren: i do remember him leaving a nice comment on one of our reviews so i have to give him a little credit
Jun 11 2013, 9:00 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: I just had to remove his link b/c I recently saw he had removed ours at some point. Lame.
Jun 11 2013, 9:01 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: He certainly wasn’t the only culprit, hence the short blogroll section
Jun 11 2013, 9:02 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: New Hobbit trailer is out. http://movies.yahoo.com/blogs/movie-talk/dragon-hobbit-trailer-offers-first-look-mighty-smaug-185944514.html
Jun 11 2013, 9:03 PM
IamDarren: i was totally let down by the first one. They didn’t spend near enough time on it. For me it didn’t compare to The Lord of The Rings.
Jun 11 2013, 9:04 PM
IamDarren: Im kinda excited about the new Super Man.
Jun 11 2013, 9:04 PM
IamDarren: have either of you seen the new Star Trek? Thats another one I want to see.
Jun 11 2013, 9:05 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: I didn’t like the first star trek. (putting my flame shield on now)
Jun 11 2013, 9:06 PM
Terry1: I haven’t but it looks good. I liked the first one but I was getting a bit lost with all the time travel.
Jun 11 2013, 9:08 PM
IamDarren: Since i got the big screen i haven’t had the urge to go back to the Theater. The last movie I saw in the theater was The Hobbit in IMAX 3D. It was choppy and gave me a headache. Since then I have no interest in 3D.
Jun 11 2013, 9:09 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: 3D stinks IMO. It probably doesn’t help that I have to use 3d often at work so it’s old tech for me.
Jun 11 2013, 9:10 PM
Terry1: Nearing the end. My cigar is losing most of it’s flavor now. I’m about ready to set it down. I liked it right up to this point.
Jun 11 2013, 9:11 PM
IamDarren: At least a good half inch of smokable cigar left here. Flavors are still good but getting a little muddled.
Jun 11 2013, 9:13 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: Mine has some left. It is a full bodied mess of flavors at this point. I think the tar build up is hurting it. I’m sure I sound like a broken record… but these damn large RG cigars.
Jun 11 2013, 9:14 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: This is a VERY strong cigar IMO. I’m swimming, but have been able to cope so far.
Jun 11 2013, 9:14 PM
IamDarren: So far the Diesel Unlimited is the only stick that I like thats a 54 RG. And yes, i sound like a broken record as well. Im an AJ freak
Jun 11 2013, 9:15 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: I haven’t read it yet, but there is an AJ interview in the new cigar magazine
Jun 11 2013, 9:15 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: Edit: catalog, not magazine
Jun 11 2013, 9:15 PM
IamDarren: I just read one about the new Oval Bull. Probably the same one.
Jun 11 2013, 9:17 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: Mine’s close enough I’ll rate it now.
Jun 11 2013, 9:17 PM
Terry1: Whew, my head is swimming. Got to full strength at the end.
Jun 11 2013, 9:17 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: Me too.
Jun 11 2013, 9:17 PM
IamDarren: me three…
Jun 11 2013, 9:18 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: Forgot to mention I did a burn correction a few mins ago.
Jun 11 2013, 9:18 PM
IamDarren: yeah i will have to subtract a few for the burn.
StraightUpCigars – Matt: In summary, the flavor of the first two thirds excellent while the final third suffered. This cigar would be ideal in a smaller vitola which won’t build up tar. The price is high, but the flavor makes up for it. Minor construction issue. This one is not for the faint of heart, VERY strong nic kick.
Jun 11 2013, 9:21 PM
Terry1: Good summary. I agree.
Jun 11 2013, 9:21 PM
IamDarren: yeah if you are someone who cares mostly about flavor and doesn’t mind a high price and a few construction issues then this is a good stick for you.
Jun 11 2013, 9:22 PM
IamDarren: Probably the best Oliveros cigar I have had.
Jun 11 2013, 9:22 PM
StraightUpCigars – Matt: Same here.


Related posts:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This blog is kept spam free by WP-SpamFree.