5 Vegas A – Cigar Review

This week’s group cigar review is of the 5 Vegas A.  This one is a unique perfecto vitola that we can’t wait to try, let’s see if this fairs better than the AAA did!  The wrapper is a really nice looking dark leaf and has a minty tobacco smell to it.  The draw is decent after cutting and the cigar is very thoroughly packed with tobacco, this would be a difficult vitola to roll properly.  Once lit, we got a delicious combo of earthy, woody, coffee flavors with a spicy and sweet finish that really lingers.  This is one of the best tasting cigars we’ve had in quite a while.  On top of that, the construction was near perfect and the price is very cheap.  You will love this cigar, there is not a better value out there!

StraightUpCigars: Rating:
Flavor and Taste: 18/20
Construction: 10/10
Wrapper: 5/5
Price Point: 10/10
Would I buy a Box: 5/5
Total: 48/50
Terry1: Rating:
Flavor and Taste: 18/20
Construction: 9/10
Wrapper: 5/5
Price Point: 10/10
Would I buy a Box: 5/5
Total: 47/50


May 7 2013, 7:40 PM
StraightUpCigars: I got the A clipped and the draw is good, a little on the loose side though. I am getting a minty tobacco smell from the wrapper. Curious to hear what you smell.
May 7 2013, 7:43 PM
Terry1: Glad I’m not outside tonight. We’re having a major rainstorm.
May 7 2013, 7:44 PM
StraightUpCigars: I kind of enjoy lighting up a cigar and watching a storm.
May 7 2013, 7:46 PM
Terry1: Very interesting shape. Looks really hard to roll. My draw is on the tight side. I might have to clip a little more off but I’ll wait for now. I only smell the typical barnyard off the wrapper but I can detect a little mint on the cold draw.
May 7 2013, 7:46 PM
Terry1: Lighting up.
May 7 2013, 7:48 PM
StraightUpCigars: Lit up real easily with the small foot.
May 7 2013, 7:51 PM
StraightUpCigars: This thing is a little flavor bomb! Coffee and toast flavors with pepper, spice, and sweetness on the finish.
May 7 2013, 7:51 PM
StraightUpCigars: The flavor really sticks to your tongue and lasts between puffs.
May 7 2013, 7:52 PM
Terry1: Draw was too tight so I clipped more off. It’s better but still on the snug side. I get some earthy, woody, coffee notes with a touch of caramel sweetness. Good start. I’m interested to see if the flavors or intensity change as we smoke through the different ring gauges.
[Delete]
May 7 2013, 7:53 PM
StraightUpCigars: You can definitely dictate the flavors on this one based on how many puffs you take. It’s pretty peppery if you puff hard, but once it cools down its more mellow.
May 7 2013, 7:53 PM
Terry1: Flavoer does linger. I’ve been smoking large ring gauge cigars lately. This one actually feels funny in my mouth it’s so small.
May 7 2013, 7:56 PM
Terry1: Haven’t had any pepper at all yet. Smooth and creamy. The coffee note is what I’m picking up the most.
May 7 2013, 7:56 PM
StraightUpCigars: The smoke production on mine is insane, its pouring out of the resting cigar.
May 7 2013, 7:59 PM
Terry1: Mine plugged up enough I had to use a poker. Cracked the head a little but shouldn’t cause a problem. Now the cigar is smoking like it should. Lots of smoke. It seems to have gotten sweeter. The pluged draw may have heated it up too much.
May 7 2013, 8:01 PM
StraightUpCigars: That’s good you got it going. Mine is really delish right now. It’s mellowed into a coffee and sweet tobacco falvor with a spicy finish. I’d call it medium full at the moment.
May 7 2013, 8:04 PM
Terry1: I’m getting into the large bulging part, that’s what she said, and I agree it’s really smoking well. I’m getting a little of that spice you mentioned. Very nice coffee flavors coming though.
May 7 2013, 8:06 PM
StraightUpCigars: That is definitely what she said.
May 7 2013, 8:09 PM
StraightUpCigars: I started to tug on the band and it slid right off cleanly.
May 7 2013, 8:10 PM
Terry1: Mine came right off as well. I’m loving the sweetness and coffee notes. Spice is more noticable now. And I’m surprised the burn is about perfect. With the shape I kind of expected burn problems. So far so good.
May 7 2013, 8:11 PM
StraightUpCigars: I really enjoy this vitola. It provides a nice variety of flavor and is very unique.
May 7 2013, 8:16 PM
StraightUpCigars: Pretty good smoke time out of a smaller cigar. I’m at halfway.
May 7 2013, 8:16 PM
Terry1: I like the name of the size, animal. Looks like they’re around $5 a stick. Good value for good tasting cigar.
May 7 2013, 8:17 PM
StraightUpCigars: Yeah, that’s a steal for this cigar. Excellent flavor and unique vitola.
May 7 2013, 8:20 PM
Terry1: I expect the second “half” will smoke quicker as it tapers down. I’ve got a robusto in my humidor. I’ll have to smoke it this weekend and see how it compares.
May 7 2013, 8:20 PM
StraightUpCigars: Yeah, you’re probably right. I can’t believe the smoke production on this, huge clouds.
May 7 2013, 8:26 PM
StraightUpCigars: Mine is still burning evenly. That pepper is back in full swing. I’d still call this medium/full bodied, but it’s getting closer to full.
May 7 2013, 8:29 PM
Terry1: Mine is losing some of the sweetness as the cigar tapers down. Mostly a black coffee flavor now. I agree very flavorful. I thought it might mellow out some by now. I’m not getting much of the pepper you are getting. There’s a little kick but not much for me. Not complaining thou. I’m enjoying the cigar as is.
May 7 2013, 8:30 PM
StraightUpCigars: I really like this one, it’s boxworthy
May 7 2013, 8:33 PM
Terry1: I agree. Glad I was able to try it.
May 7 2013, 8:34 PM
StraightUpCigars: Just found another good cigar box guitar video, I uploaded it here.
May 7 2013, 8:35 PM
Terry1: Not sure where here is. The link didn’t go through on my end.
May 7 2013, 8:36 PM
StraightUpCigars: Sorry, its on the sidebar if you refresh.
May 7 2013, 8:36 PM
Terry1: There it is! Thanks.
May 7 2013, 8:37 PM
Terry1: I like the chickens. Damn it sounds good!
May 7 2013, 8:39 PM
StraightUpCigars: That chx coop cracks me up!
May 7 2013, 8:40 PM
Terry1: Where the heck is the pickup. Inside the box?
May 7 2013, 8:40 PM
Terry1: Heck, now there’s a Utah swear!
May 7 2013, 8:41 PM
StraightUpCigars: I don’t know jack about guitars, other than I like the way they sound
May 7 2013, 8:42 PM
StraightUpCigars: Putting the finishing touches on this cigar. Real meaty and buttery flavor at the end, an excellent ending to an excellent cigar!
May 7 2013, 8:44 PM
Terry1: Yeah I’m getting towards the nub. I agree, the cigar turned savory towards the end. Nice transition from start to finish.
May 7 2013, 8:45 PM
Terry1: Other than the draw which I was able to fix, this turned out to be a nice flavorfull smoke.
May 7 2013, 8:47 PM
StraightUpCigars: I really likes this one, will rate it in a min.
May 7 2013, 8:48 PM
Terry1: And for the size we got an hour out of it. Good value.
May 7 2013, 8:49 PM
StraightUpCigars: I tried my damndest to find a place to take points off, but this one is a real winner. Cheap price, good construction (on mine) and smoke time, excellent flavor and transisitons. Loved it.
May 7 2013, 8:50 PM
Terry1: Totally agree. I’ll have to pick up some more.
May 7 2013, 8:50 PM
Terry1: And it stayed cool to smoke right down to the nub.
May 7 2013, 8:51 PM
Terry1: Did you or Darren pick this one out?
May 7 2013, 8:51 PM
StraightUpCigars: Good point, even with all that smoke production and heavy puffing, it didn’t overheat.
May 7 2013, 8:52 PM
StraightUpCigars: This was one of mine. (I think I redeemed myself finally
May 7 2013, 8:52 PM
Terry1: Yeah good pick! Thanks for the cigar. Darren missed out this time. Luckily he has one to smoke later.


Related posts:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This blog is kept spam free by WP-SpamFree.