1844 – Cigar Review

This week’s installment of the group cigar review is of the 1844 cigar.  This is an inexpensive hand rolled that is only available in figurado sizes.  We were attracted to this cigar for two reasons, it’s cheap, and it’s made by A.J. Fernandez. The wrapper is an interesting variance of light to dark colors (reminds me of a brendel pit bull).  The draw is great after cutting, and the construction is solid.  Once we got it lit we were met with a slightly sweet earthy and cedary flavor with some pepper and spice.  The sweetness increased and some coffee reared its head towards the end.  Overall, we loved the flavor on the 1844.  One of the sticks had some minor construction problems, but other than that this is a must buy medium/full bodied budget cigar.
StraightUpCigars: Rating:
Flavor and Taste: 17/20
Construction: 10/10
Wrapper: 5/5
Price Point: 9/10
Would I buy a Box: 4/5
Total: 45/50

IamDarren: Rating:
Flavor and Taste: 17/20
Construction: 7/10
Wrapper: 5/5
Price Point: 10/10
Would I buy a Box: 4/5
Total: 43/50


Dec 18 2012, 7:41 PM
StraightUpCigars: The 1844 has a sweet and spicy smell, and lots of pepper flavor on the cold draw. Mine has a good draw prior to lighting. The wrapper is interesting, it has varying colors from dark to light. It looks like a brendel pit bull or something.
Dec 18 2012, 7:45 PM
IamDarren: yeah, it has a deep rich woody aroma to it. Agree to the pepper on the cold draw.
Dec 18 2012, 7:45 PM
IamDarren: mine is packed very tight and there is a couple small cracks in the wrapper
Dec 18 2012, 7:46 PM
IamDarren: im ready to light up
Dec 18 2012, 7:46 PM
StraightUpCigars: Me too. Lighting!
Dec 18 2012, 7:48 PM
IamDarren: easy to light with the tapered foot, getting a semi sweet earthy flavor up front.
Dec 18 2012, 7:49 PM
StraightUpCigars: This stick is really bold right away. Earthy with a ton of spicy pepper.
Dec 18 2012, 7:52 PM
IamDarren: starting to get more of a bitter chocolate now as the sweetness has built just a little. Also getting some pepper.
Dec 18 2012, 7:53 PM
StraightUpCigars: Mine has settled into more of a cedar flavor, the pepper has taken more of a back seat… thanks goodness!
Dec 18 2012, 7:55 PM
StraightUpCigars: Was this one you sent out?
Dec 18 2012, 7:55 PM
IamDarren: i should have waited, just as I was typing i noticed the bitterness subsiding. I am back to the slightly sweet earthy flavor now, maybe a little cedar in there.
Dec 18 2012, 7:55 PM
IamDarren: Yes, i sent this one. It was new this year on CI and after I found out that AJ was making it I had to try it.
Dec 18 2012, 7:56 PM
IamDarren: the wrapper on this one is San Andres Maduro.
Dec 18 2012, 7:56 PM
StraightUpCigars: I like the flavor right now. The first few puffs were unpleasantly peppery.
Dec 18 2012, 7:58 PM
StraightUpCigars: What are these selling for these days?
Dec 18 2012, 7:58 PM
IamDarren: average retail is 3 bucks a stick
Dec 18 2012, 7:59 PM
StraightUpCigars: Very nice!
Dec 18 2012, 8:00 PM
IamDarren: all the sizes are figurados and are 50rg and bigger
Dec 18 2012, 8:01 PM
StraightUpCigars: I love me some figurados, those and box pressed cigars. AJ has me covered ;
Dec 18 2012, 8:02 PM
IamDarren: i don’t know how he does it for the prices they are sold at
Dec 18 2012, 8:03 PM
StraightUpCigars: It is amazing. I wonder if that was part of a bigger plan to get popular and slowly raise prices. Maybe I’m giving him too much credit.
Dec 18 2012, 8:03 PM
IamDarren: just dropped the ash, burn is perfect. Mine has really settled down to a solid medium body. Im getting earth, leather, and a slightly creamy sweetness to finish it off.
Dec 18 2012, 8:04 PM
IamDarren: my guess is that he already sources so much tobacco for his more expensive blends that he can afford to put a little of it in his cheaper blends.
Dec 18 2012, 8:04 PM
IamDarren: he probably gets the bulk or wholesale discount
Dec 18 2012, 8:05 PM
StraightUpCigars: True, but is he still making the cheaper blends or are these leftovers from the good old days of cheap AJ cigars?
Dec 18 2012, 8:06 PM
IamDarren: well you are right, but i think that once people found out that some of the blends like the Padilla Habano were made by him the price rose to meet all the new demand. It could happen with this blend too but it hasn’t yet.
Dec 18 2012, 8:07 PM
StraightUpCigars: Maybe if we’d stop reviewing all of these diamonds in the rough we could keep getting them cheap!
Dec 18 2012, 8:08 PM
IamDarren: He has so many of his own blends now that it has spread out the demand a lot. I think thats the reason why the Liga Privadas are still so high. If you only make 2 or 3 great blends they are gonna sell for alot. If you start making 10 then the price will come down.
Dec 18 2012, 8:09 PM
IamDarren: You can still get the Diesel Unlimiteds for the same price as when they came out so im not too worried
Dec 18 2012, 8:09 PM
StraightUpCigars: Except in the case of the Tatuaje and other PJ lines. I guess the difference is that all of PJ’s lines are super limited supply.
Dec 18 2012, 8:10 PM
IamDarren: yeah, usually you either get quality or quantity but not both. AJ is one of the few blenders with both and he is making bank.
Dec 18 2012, 8:11 PM
StraightUpCigars: Rightfully so. When are you going to grow/produce your own tobacco/cigars?
Dec 18 2012, 8:12 PM
IamDarren: probably when corn drops to 3 bucks a bushel
Dec 18 2012, 8:12 PM
IamDarren: its over 7 now and you can make a pretty good profit
Dec 18 2012, 8:13 PM
StraightUpCigars: Man, I doubt that will ever happen. I think you are in the right business, demand for food is skyrocketing around the world.
Dec 18 2012, 8:14 PM
IamDarren: we are thinking about diversifying. Next year we are going to try planting canola for the first time. We have some cousins that farm in Nebraska and grow pinto beans. The more things you can grow the better off you are when one of them takes a nose dive.
Dec 18 2012, 8:15 PM
IamDarren: i just remembered that Gary was going to smoke the MOW you sent him tonight.
Dec 18 2012, 8:16 PM
StraightUpCigars: Nice. I think he said he was busy Tues nights, but I wonder if it’s tome to invite someone else in to join the 3 of us.
Dec 18 2012, 8:16 PM
IamDarren: my cigars just keeps getting better, the sweetness keeps increasing and the earthy flavor is now more of a sweetened coffee. Im really liking it.
Dec 18 2012, 8:17 PM
IamDarren: i didn’t know what you wanted to do so i didn’t send him any of my new sticks but if decide to thats fine with me. He is a very opinionated fella and would make the conversation interesting for sure.
Dec 18 2012, 8:18 PM
StraightUpCigars: Mine is pretty stagnant on flavor, earthy cedar with some pepper and spice on the finish. Stagnant is fine with me, in this case, because I am enjoying this cigar. Perfect construction too.
Dec 18 2012, 8:19 PM
StraightUpCigars: He sure is opinionated, but that would be fun! It would be weird having a 4th, you me and Terry have been at this for so long.
Dec 18 2012, 8:19 PM
Terry1: Hi guys! Whatcha smoking?
Dec 18 2012, 8:19 PM
StraightUpCigars: Hey Terry! 1844 tonight.
Dec 18 2012, 8:19 PM
IamDarren: lol, go grab one and join us
Dec 18 2012, 8:20 PM
IamDarren: im only about half way in
Dec 18 2012, 8:20 PM
StraightUpCigars: That’s what I was about to type
Dec 18 2012, 8:20 PM
Terry1: Wish I could. We’ve had a power outage for three hours. No Internet, TV, heat.
Dec 18 2012, 8:21 PM
IamDarren: damn that sucks, hope its not out for too long. Im sure its pretty cold there
Dec 18 2012, 8:21 PM
StraightUpCigars: Holy cow! Not a good time of year for power outages. Time to go for a drive in that new car
Dec 18 2012, 8:22 PM
Terry1: Power just came on. It’s in the 20s outside. Inside, with a fire, it’s still about 60.
Dec 18 2012, 8:22 PM
IamDarren: my wrapper just split near the burn line, doesn’t look like a problem though
Dec 18 2012, 8:24 PM
IamDarren: good thing you can make a fire if need be, I have a chimney but no fire place. I was told there was once a coal fired heater in my basement.
Dec 18 2012, 8:26 PM
StraightUpCigars: My 1844 is actually becoming sweeter now. A sweet coffee flavor. That’s kind of unusual considering I’m approaching the final third.
Dec 18 2012, 8:27 PM
IamDarren: huh, mine must have just transitioned a little sooner than yours
Dec 18 2012, 8:30 PM
StraightUpCigars: Remind me next time to do code changes before smoking a cigar, this is proving to be difficult right now
Dec 18 2012, 8:30 PM
IamDarren: lol, is this one affecting you a little?
Dec 18 2012, 8:31 PM
StraightUpCigars: A wee bit We have had some ad changes. No more perfect ashtray, but am finalizing a deal with Signal Cigar co. That will would be nice, it would pay for 2012 and then some. Hit refresh.
Dec 18 2012, 8:32 PM
StraightUpCigars: I may still move some stuff around, it is a BOLD ad.
Dec 18 2012, 8:33 PM
IamDarren: yeah, very classy. i like it
Dec 18 2012, 8:33 PM
IamDarren: as long as you don’t put up a big Thompson add i think we are fine
Dec 18 2012, 8:34 PM
StraightUpCigars: Lol! Famous smoke would be more likely. That would break the bank, though
Dec 18 2012, 8:36 PM
IamDarren: i liked the links to the daily deal sites but it doesn’t seem like we get much use out of the video
Dec 18 2012, 8:36 PM
StraightUpCigars: I wish we still had that cigar monster feed on the sidebar, I liked that. I need to see if someone has put out new software.
Dec 18 2012, 8:37 PM
StraightUpCigars: Great minds…
Dec 18 2012, 8:37 PM
IamDarren: lol
Dec 18 2012, 8:38 PM
StraightUpCigars: The software no longer functioned with the latest wordpress firmware. I need to look around for a replacement.
Dec 18 2012, 8:38 PM
IamDarren: the earth is definitely back now and is mixing nicely with the coffee, although im glad that the bitterness has not returned yet.
Dec 18 2012, 8:39 PM
StraightUpCigars: Stay away bitterness! I really like mine right now, it has increased to a medium/full body. Good stuff.
Dec 18 2012, 8:40 PM
Terry1: I was reading the last bit of dialoge. If Gary wants to join in the group review thats okay by me. We could even change the night we do it. The restrictions I had that made Tuesday work for me are gone. Just about any night will work for me now. The only immediate problem I see is getting him into the cigar loop. I usually buy three cigars for review. I’ll have to buy five packs now.
Dec 18 2012, 8:40 PM
IamDarren: im good so far, almost all of mine are fivers or teners
Dec 18 2012, 8:42 PM
Terry1: Yeah but you have this giant tower humidor now. My humidor looks like a fat chick in skinny jeans.
Dec 18 2012, 8:42 PM
IamDarren: lol, nice mental picture
Dec 18 2012, 8:42 PM
IamDarren: i think you need to buy yourself a new Christmas present
Dec 18 2012, 8:42 PM
Terry1: I’ve been looking.
Dec 18 2012, 8:43 PM
IamDarren: i think i got an email deal from cheaphumidors, if you want i can forward it to you
Dec 18 2012, 8:43 PM
StraightUpCigars: Lol! I totally agree Terry, it will take a bit to get get him on the same page with review cigars. I usually just have 3 cigars too. I’ll ask him if he wants to sit in for a few weeks and we’ll see how it plays out.
Dec 18 2012, 8:44 PM
StraightUpCigars: Do the CH 10% off coupon codes work on the tower humidors?
Dec 18 2012, 8:45 PM
IamDarren: it didn’t work on the bigger humidors but there was an option to put in my own price and see if they would accept it so i ended up getting at least 10 percent off.
Dec 18 2012, 8:48 PM
IamDarren: well i just found my tower humidor on their site but they have removed the option to make an offer.
Dec 18 2012, 8:48 PM
StraightUpCigars: Sounds like you bought at the right time!
Dec 18 2012, 8:50 PM
IamDarren: they are selling it for 599 which is still a good price. Other sites are listing it over 1000 with free shipping but it only costs about 200 to get it shipped
Dec 18 2012, 8:52 PM
IamDarren: damn, about 2 inches to go and the wrapper just split again.
Dec 18 2012, 8:53 PM
IamDarren: flavor is still pretty darn good though, pepper is starting to make a come back
Dec 18 2012, 8:54 PM
StraightUpCigars: Great flavor, great construction over here. Maybe a 1/2 inch of smokeable cigar left.
Dec 18 2012, 8:56 PM
IamDarren: just found this one on ebay, looks like a good deal for the size: http://www.ebay.com/itm/Retail-Display-7-Mahogany-Finish-HUMIDOR-New-/170961751338?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item27ce1d4d2a
[ Retail Display 7 Mahogany Finish Humidor New | eBay]
Retail Display 7 Mahogany Finish Humidor New | eBay
Dec 18 2012, 8:57 PM
StraightUpCigars: I have seen those before. I like the looks but they are actually too small. I question their quality as well/
Dec 18 2012, 8:58 PM
IamDarren: i think you could do a little fabricating and put a lot more shelves in there. Thats what i did in mine. They don’t need to be on a 45. if you put them flat you can stack them and fit twice as much.
Dec 18 2012, 8:58 PM
Terry1: I’ve been trying to get my wife to let me buy the end table type. I’d even buy a new lamp to put on it. The problem is she doesn’t see the need to collect more cigars. She says I have enough. What does she know?
Dec 18 2012, 8:59 PM
StraightUpCigars: she doesn’t know squat!
Dec 18 2012, 8:59 PM
StraightUpCigars: I like the end table ones too.
Dec 18 2012, 9:01 PM
IamDarren: ebay actually has some nice end table models, i like this one. looks like its built well: http://www.ebay.com/itm/Holliday-Special-The-Lauderdale-End-Table-Humidor-Complete-with-Accessories-/300823985121?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item460a81bbe1
[ Holliday Special The Lauderdale End Table Humidor Complete with Accessories | eBay]
Holliday Special The Lauderdale End Table Humidor Complete with Accessories | eBay
Dec 18 2012, 9:01 PM
StraightUpCigars: Mines about toast. This one was very consistent, but did finally have a transition in flavor at the end. It went out with a bang, like every cigar should. It was a great stick!
Dec 18 2012, 9:02 PM
StraightUpCigars: That one looks really well built,
Dec 18 2012, 9:02 PM
IamDarren: i have about a half inch left and the wrapper is about to fall off. flavor is still great
Dec 18 2012, 9:02 PM
StraightUpCigars: I like the ones with the glass tops, though!
Dec 18 2012, 9:03 PM
Terry1: I like the solid wood tops. I know too many people who would not approve of my cigar smoking. No way I could display anything,
Dec 18 2012, 9:03 PM
IamDarren: but most of them don’t have as much storage. 380 with free shipping for that much storage is pretty good i think.
Dec 18 2012, 9:04 PM
StraightUpCigars: True, true.
Dec 18 2012, 9:04 PM
IamDarren: and i like the inset piece of spanish cedar on the door, looks like it might seal pretty well
Dec 18 2012, 9:05 PM
StraightUpCigars: I think it will. Is that a plug in the back, or an open hole?
Dec 18 2012, 9:05 PM
Terry1: I was looking at that too. Hopefully it’s some type of plug.
Dec 18 2012, 9:06 PM
IamDarren: looks like the same as mine, it has a hole that you put a 2 outlet plug into. I did silicone around mine because it was not a super tight fit.
Dec 18 2012, 9:07 PM
IamDarren: here is the same one for 320 with free shipping. now thats a deal: http://www.ebay.com/itm/The-Lauderdale-500-Count-Cigar-Humidor-/300832846448?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item460b08f270
[ The Lauderdale 500 Count Cigar Humidor | eBay]
The Lauderdale 500 Count Cigar Humidor | eBay
Dec 18 2012, 9:08 PM
StraightUpCigars: Somebody else liked it, 1 sold.
Dec 18 2012, 9:08 PM
Terry1: Looks better than another cooler.
Dec 18 2012, 9:08 PM
StraightUpCigars: lol!
Dec 18 2012, 9:09 PM
StraightUpCigars: I’m gonna rate, use the restroom and be back in 5
Dec 18 2012, 9:10 PM
Terry1: Looks like a good cigar. I’ll have to smoke it and leave a comment when the review is posted.
Dec 18 2012, 9:10 PM
IamDarren: if mine had been constructed as well as yours it would have been a 46. I have smoked a couple already and they didn’t have this problem so i think it shouldn’t be a problem.


Related posts:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This blog is kept spam free by WP-SpamFree.